(2008/11) November 2008

for CNY outing (visiting relatives), are you mummies bringing out your breast pumps? I have medela eletric dual pump..thot of bringing but bulky ...

happy

hhmmm wondering where ur doggie caught the sickness... must be very sad for your family. I remember u have 3 dogs correct? how are the other 2 dogs reacting?

joyce

i envy u leh, takes only 15 to 20 mins to express... i take 30 to 35 mins on a dual pump!! i am going crazy.. .then after that, still have to do the "milk management"... pour them at the right amt, label and put in the fridge. If needs to freeze, even more troublesome.. hiaz.. few times i was so tired i will spill the milk while pouring esp from bottle to milkbags for freezing...

bluebear,

bo pian leh, the cc we like is air conditioned. in fact all kinderlands are aircon... My gal got her 1st dose of Pneumococcal at 6 weeks old! heehee... i super KS and gave her 4 jabs! For my boy, I intend to bring him for his 1st dose when he turns 3 mths as well... coz since his sister going to CC, better get him vaccinated asap.

bear
oh no, cannot use cloth nappy to swaddle as it is not big enuff. I use the blanket they use in the hospital to swaddle ur bb when u were still in the hospital. I bought quite a lot of them during my gal's time. They are good for swaddling. U need to make sure it is big enuff... another good one will be the carters or fox type of blankets as they are also quite big. U can buy the hospital swaddle blanket frmo Mrs Wong. I bought during my antenatal class in my 1st pregnancy... If u have got the blanket but forgotten how to swaddle, and if u are also going to the same PD as me, u can ask the nurses to show u

Happy 2009 mummies!!
Quite some time since logged in...

Sabre, Snnowy: was also having problems when bottlefeeding baby for past few days, as he prefers the breast sigh! I am using Avent teat 2 now. Sometimes when he is in a better mood or really hungry, then he will drink. If not, he will scream and wail when I give him the bottle. But he is all right to drinking bottle at night, so that is quite puzzling to me! Now increase his bottle feed from once to 3 times, so that he would get more used to the bottle gradually. Must be really patient man! Sometimes so wasted the EBM when he refuses to drink...:x

Shop4stuffs,
My bb is 8 weeks 4 days old. Drinks abt 80ml in the daytime, night time abt 100 ml. Diaper changes every feed or when he poos. Using Nepia, Momypoko and Huggies ultra.

Happy
So sad to hear about your dog's passing

Sleeping babies
Hmm, is my baby the only one who fusses when she sleeps? In the middle of the night, she could cry (more like uncomfortable kind of whimpering), sometimes I would try to push my nipple to her but she's not interested. I wonder if it's because there's wind in her stomach. Are all the other babies who sleep throughout the night sleeping peacefully and quietly?

Joyce:
I dun have that many days till work liao. Going back next week.

Bear:
Ok I try. I now express 2 letdowns in about 12-15 mins.

Sleeping at night:
My baby can stretch 5 hrs at night. 10pm feed to 3am then about 7am again. FM or EBM makes no difference for my baby.

Swaddle:
I use the babymall ones. Nappy too small.

Bear,
thanks for ur encouragement. i woke up every 3-4 hours last nite to pump. if baby is about to have his feed, i will just quickly pump the side which i am not latchin her on. just so that my breast(s) is pumped every few hours. so far, managed to get 40mls on one side. a slight improvement. will keep going for the next few days especially since hubby is home to help out.

my baby can now sleep about 6-7hours at nite but sometime that is after latchin on rather than taking EBM. so her long sleep can start anytime from 8pm. last nite she slept from 930pm - 330am.

re:brining pump out
mummies, i bot a cooler bag to store EBM for when i go out or when returning to work. wondering if i can store my pump funnels in the same bag. must i put it in a ziplock bag first?it will make it cold too, isnt it? i will only store the motor for e pump in a separate bag. is it ok?

also thinkin if i can just soak in hot water when i need to use the pump more than once if i return to work..?

re: pumping

am also trying to pump often to increase supply cos am also pumping 10-20 ml only so far
but am worried that after I pump, there wont be enuf milk left to latch baby when she wakes for her feed. cos I noticed that she doesnt stay satisfied for long after that latch.
does any mummy hv this problem?

happywifey,
if i know that baby will need a feed soon, i will only pump on the side which i am not latchin her on. and then switch sides for the next feed/pump. only at nite when i give her EBM then i pump both sides. i try to coincide the timing of expressing near her feed as much as poss. sometimes cannot coz she can last quite long while i try to pump every 3 hours.

my bb is stil super cranky during feeds.. yest she was like dun wan milk! screamed e moment i pop e teat into her mouth... Today so far for the last 2 feeds at least stil finish after coaxing for a while (and by my mil somemore lor..) I tink i'm going to keesiao v soon... Really wonder wats e reason.. like tt i also dun dare to bring her out for long, hav to go out straight aft a feed and come back before e next.. Sigh.. why my bb like tt...

glad_gal,
At least he not totally rejecting, so not so bad ma.. My boy that day was totally don wan bottle at all lor.. Slowly will improve de..

Karen,
My baby also fusses during sleep at night de. In the day also. Sometimes he just need some comforting or maybe bad dreams ba..

Happy and blessed 2009 to all!!

brocoli
Jadon is 5.6kg when we last weigh him on 22-Dec. He is down with cough yesterday and been drinking less, hope his weight will not go down.

cutiemum
Ya boy! Sometimes when he make a fuss, I wonder to myself why I get myself into this kind of trouble my having a child....keke...worst still when hubby can still sleep thr the night and not help out lor!!

Happy
Sorry to hear abt your dog passing!! It must be really traumatic! I wish I will not have to go thr that, but got to face up to reality that their life span is so much shorter....I have got 2 dogs and I always prayed that they can live to a ripe old age. Condolence to you!

Bringing bb out
So stressful to bring Jadon out, once he cry, he will cry very loud and non-stop, so hard to appease him. Bought him out just now and he started crying and screaming for a while, everyone started turning and looking at us...like we torture him like that...sigh...everytime bring him out, will make sure we buy and do our things chop chop, cause he doesnt seems to like crowds and its more difficult to coax him when compared to at home.

Hi mummies, how's ur 2009 shaping up so far? we finally got the guts to bring Zach out for a shopping trip. i needed to get a new hp but while i was purchasing it, baby started wailing! hb also dunno wat to do.. in the end the sales lady pitied me and hurry through the sales. managed to feed him FM cos i dunno how to bring EBM out. he drank so fast that he merlioned.. sigh.. he seldom merlioned one, only twice so far. see liao i very heartpain.

Haru, Fifi, jia you! hope ur EBM will increase lot lot! hahaha..

Peanut, eh the teat size correct bo? my baby 3 wks plus we already using 1mth + teat size. Mrs Wong said we shdn't use the teats according to age but according to the bb's sucking ability.

Kash, thanks for telling me abt the swaddle. The thing is we don't slp in aircon, hence if i use those blankets, it will be very warm right? also thanks for telling me how to bring EBM out just now. dun mind me asking a dumb qn, i need to have an ice pack inside the cooler bag?

Fifi, the babymall blanket u use is the same type as i bought?

shop4stuffs, my bb is 5 weeks old, drinking 100 ml ebm every 2-3 hrs. diaper change normally abt 3-4 hrs. using Goon NB.

All of us are mommies of newborn gals or boys. we know the pain, the hardship and the joys of being a mum. I would like to ask all of you to spare a moment for our dear Enne.

Enne has been missing in action since the birth of her 2nd son L. On the day of his discharge, Enne realised that baby L was drowsy but she thought it was normal. But that night he didn't wake up for his milk and was running a fever. Enne rushed him to KKH and it was the start of her nightmare.

After one whole day of tests, baby L was diagnosed with a twisted intestine. the tissue had began to die and he was immediately operated upon, the necrotic tissues were removed. Since that day, baby L has undergone 3 operations. Currently, whatever bits of his small intestine is left is outside his body as the doctors are trying to monitor to see if it can perform its function of absorbing nutrients. All this while since birth, he gets his nutrients from an IV. If this continues, it will put a strain on his liver. He is supposed to go for another op tomorrow to put his intestines back but he developed a fever today. Hence the op has been postponed.

Enne has been at KKH everyday. At night she still takes care of her elder son Lego. To me she has been a super duper mum. I don't think i can tahan seeing my newborn being poked with needles, having his blood drawn, not to say undergoing not ONE but THREE operations. Baby L has been either in NICU or the high dependency ward since that fateful day.

Please, please pray for both Enne, Baby L and her whole family. Pray that they find strength in each other, that Baby L fights and recovers, that our dear Enne has the strength to be the super Mom she already is.

I wanna do something for her.. if u want to join me, pls let me know. my email is [email protected].

Didn't login for some time liao.. Doesn't feel gd recently. Having fever every other day due to blocked duct i guess. My nipples super sore and i don't dare to latch on. Rash also never fully recover. No rash but still very itchy. And i have different type of rash at different area. So sian.
Having heachabe very often also.

My ss is also like taking rolling coaster. sometimes both side less the 10ml and somtimes can go up to 110ml. Most of my ss is only from the right breast. Left breast maximum only 30ml. Any mummies experience that also.

My boy demand always fluctuate. Tat night he was drinking 100ml every hour, for 3 hrs in a row. And i also latch him for 3 hrs in a row. I also don't know how much he need. Difficult to predict.

Happy New Year!

<font color="ff6000">triangel</font>
Polyclinic charges $326.10 for 6 in 1 jab.

Any mummies here can advise reviews on the strollers that you are currently using? Thxs!

Bear
So sad to read about Enne's baby L's predicament. I too can't imagine my girl having to go through operation after operation. Or seeing him poked with needles. Bear, let me know what I can do to help.

hey mummies who gave their statistics.... i believe some on BM is it...coz if on FM, wont be feeding 2.5 - 3 hrly rite? can mummies on FM make yourself known again...my apologies.... coz not comparing with bb on BM or EBM as its different...thanks

hi Bear,
oh dear, really saddened to hear about Enne and her baby. sincerely hope everything will be fine really soon for her baby. can imagine the pain and heartache she and hubby must be going through. please tell her will keep her baby and her in our prayers. do let us know if there is anything we can do.

goin to bring my baby for her 6-in-1 jab tom morn. wil bring along pump as i would like to pump to keep the momentum going even tho amount is not alot. all e more reason to keep pumpin even if we have to go out.

Cutiemum, Triangel, Lilian, Jo, Carol, happy

so far i only gather all of your info as on FM but need to confirm if really on FM or not. Thanks

Any more mummies on Formula milk? If yes, would appreciate if you share your info... ^o^

thanks for other mummy on BM who provide info but im collating for FM...so sorry...coz diaper feeding interval and diaper change interval differs between BM and FM
so sorry

maybe some1 on the BM side can assist in collating as i believe more on BM then FM hehe.... gd gd...jia you jia you...

Bear,
Thanks for informing ue on Enne's situation. Really sad and feel strongly for her. I will love to help in anyway possible.

bear,
feel so sad to hear about Enne's baby. Hope that he will get better soon, and Enne to be strong. She's really a great mom, have to take care of #1 and still go KKH everyday. Even baby's cries may break a mom's heart, don say having to see him with needles around. God bless both of them, and anything i can help pls do let me know ya..

Enne..
pls stay strong..be positive &amp; talk to bb L to tell bb L to be strong &amp; overcome this..hope that he will get well very soon..

Bear..
thks for sharing abt Enne..sorry i didnt hv time to send email to u but pls keep us in the loop &amp; thks in advance for the arrangement for Enne &amp; her bb..i will try to log in to chk as often..cheers~

Sad to hear abt Enne's bb problem. Hope he can recover soon.

shop4stuffs, my bb on FM. I last weigh him a wk ago is 5.5kg.

discharge: I think I'm having a problem. I have stopped bf 5wks after delivery. Since 5th wk till now 9th wk, I still having discharge. Lochia stopped and after abt a wk, I feel like mense discharge and true enuff I went to toilet and found all blood. Then for next 1-2days, I will have little discharge then stopped for a wk and this repeats again. This has happened 2-3 times already. Is there anything wrong? I called up the clinic and the nurse ask mi to monitor ... if it happens again, go see the doc. Has anyone encountered this?

bear
teats not e problem, tried changing a few but dun work. Anyway i jus went to the doc cos she having bit of flu and he said most likely its her behavior and i've to live with it until things improve.. change milk powder also no use one.. Sianz.. this morning i fed until i broke down again.

Thanks for letting us know abt Enne's case. Sad a small bb has to suffer so much.. hope his situation wil improve v soon.

Krystel
re. my bb making lots of noise at nite:
aiyah change diaper no use one.. jus learnt a few of my frens' bb also same case and understand its normal wil usually go off after 3rd mth or so.

Does anyone carry bb, holding his thighs and let him sit on the potty to poo? My bb is already 9wks old and since 5th-6th week old, my MIL say train him like that and also wont poo until his backside dirty. We went back my parent's place and first time they saw how we poo the bb and they stopped us .. saying bb so small, bones also developing ... carrying the bb like tat on the potty not good for his spine development cos bb head and body is bending forward. Very pek chek ... when two different families taking care of baby .. much of conflicts ard. Any advise?

peanut, my boy also have the same problem during feeding. Some days he can be very guai but on other days he can fuss for half hr before drinking. We think it's his behaviour too. Maybe u and MIl take turn to feed him so that u got time to rest .. wont stress out.

Jo
at least some days ur bb guai.. my bb fusses almost every feeds so its really frustrating and tiring one.. i keep tinking y i so suay other bb can drink so steadily but mine so cranky.. these few days worst sometime pacify for more than 1hr also can't feed her then in e end hav to throw away e milk.. Somemore we hav to place her on e rocker to feed, no longer can carry her during feeds now.. Got phobia whenever her mum mum time approaches cos even thou we know she's already hungry, she'll stil cry when we try to feed her

bear,

u r welcome. yes u need to put ice packs in the cooler bag. Can last very veyr long one... i tried to put the icepacks in the cooler bag and did not take out... after 12 hrs then it started to melt abit only.. v good.

thanks for sharing the info abt enne... it is heartwrenching to read abt it.. i already dropped u an sms.. please let me know what you are planning...

peanut,

how abt changing positions of feeding? will it help? how's her flu?

Jo

i am not sure whether your MIL or ur parents comments are correct. But i personally find that your bb is too young to be trained on potty. THey must at least be able to sit up straight and stable without support to even consider starting training on potty. That's my personal POV though.... i think u shd ask ur PD...

poo poo: havent use potty yet, isn't it too early? we always let her lie down, open up e diaper and get her to umm umm.. Aiyah backside dirty then use wet tissue to wipe lor not much hassle one wat.. anyway no matter how she pangsai stil need to wipe e backside wat..

kash
as mention now feed her put on rocker liao cos she doensn't wan to be carried while feeding.. so its definitely not e position problem.
her flu not too bad but doc say better delay her 2nd mth jab appt in case she gets more cranky aft e jab

hi all just to check

Anyone took 6 in 1 and rota virus in TMC? how much is the cost like? is there a package or something like that? Thanks.

Another thing is these few nights my bb did not wake up middle of night for milk.. like yest she drank at 11pm and next feed only at 730 this morning, somemore waken by my mil to drink one.. thou some of u may say wah so good like tt can rest a lot, but is it normal for a young bb like her? A bit strange rite..

Bear, thanks for sharing. I will pray for her and family. Please let me know if i can help in any way.

shop4stuffs, my bb is on FM. Weight now at 8 weeks 2 days estimate 6+kg. drinking 120ml every 3hrs. Diapers change after every 4 hrs. using pampers and nepia S size.

bear,
Thanks for sharing abt enne's bb.Sad to hear tat.
shld we help her to lessen the heavy medical bill.wat you all tink??

peanut,
I do hear of some cranky babies with feeding or sleeping from my frens too.Normally it goes away after 100days. You just 'tong' till tat day.*hugz*

jo,
Personally,i agreed with your parent.Baby is too young to be toilet trained.If you wanna make bb poo,jus make the umm umm sound.
If you realli wanna train early,do it onli when he is able to sit up.

fabbie,
I am taking the 6in1 package at my PD clinic but nt in TMC.
My package cost $440 including consultation.But nt inclusive of rotavirus etc... onli the basic compulsory jabs.