(2008/11) November 2008

brot baby out for a stroll today and went to starbucks for breakfast with hubby. (second time trying out our stroller!) but she woke up aft an hour and cried. so quickly came home to feed her. she's sleeping now..=P

bluebear,
can you put my baby name as just "Heidi" on the list? realized its pretty long to put her full name..thanks!!

i am tempted to try e Fenugreek supplements from GNC too but not sure if my supply wil decrease dramatically when i dun take it once i start consuming it?

Fifi,
really?alamak, i didnt buy it on offer leh plus have to pay for delivery. paid total of$68.90. arriving on Friday, so looking forward!! today is classic example, couldnt nurse outside coz no nursing room. had to rush home to feed baby..=Z

Bear,
i see!hahaha..silly me. i just started single sided feeding so wil try to pump other side soon. hopefully the supply wil continue to increase. breasts seems to fill up pretty quickly now. my parents are already on standby to get a mini fridge at their place to help me store my EBM for when i return to work,haha..i told them hope tt i will have so much supply that we need another fridge!

olwen,
ur sis is really sweet..ur darlings are very blessed. =>

gladglad,
u can just use wet wash cloth to clean the tongue if there is alot of white residue from milk.

Re: pumping of milk
mummies, if you pump ur millk in the morning then what happens if baby needs to feed? sorry for the silly question, seems to be a strategy game to plan pumping and latching on..hehehe..

Karen,
i share the same view as you..but i think to feed at short intervals too often might mean that baby is not actually hungry but we just assume they are hungry when they could just need something else when they cry eg. tired, overstimulated, etc.. so far my baby's interval is min 2 hours, sometimes she can stretch for 3 hours or slightly longer even at night tho i direct latch. so far so good!

my baby's jaundice also didnt go away a week after her phototherapy and sunning her. so i brot her back to PD where they did blood test and found it its just BM jaundice. noticed her eyes esp was still quite yellow. if you are concerned, just make an appt to see PD ya?

hehhehehe...I just woke up.. Cos baby was fussing in the middle of the night, so slept late..

fabbie,
I don't pump at night de.. I jus simply turn to my side and let baby latch on..den i can doze off while doing so too...

bluebear,
Ya lor, still very very frequent.. Thats why i stop changing his diaper everytime he poo. The stools are yellow and soft soft de lor.. Not really considered watery la..

glad gal,
I do clean his tongue sometimes, just using water and a cloth lor..

Karen,
We're the same!! hehee..

Re:Jaundice,
I also recently never sun him liao.. Cause wake up late, den early morning very tired. See how much his lvl will drop when i go c doc on sat lor..Without sunning..

Recently my let-downs feelings is damn strong la, sometimes pain too. But nowadays I don have engorgement pains liao..Hengs...

Enne,
Sorry to hear abt your baby's condition. Hope your baby will be well soon and please take good care of yourself.

Sabre,
My let down also come with sharp pain sometimes. When i nurse bb on one side, the pain is quite immed on the other side and milk starts leaking. So wasteful.

My bb is coming to 7 weeks and luckily her feeding hours is changing to 4 hourly for the past 2 days. Finally! My bb used to be awake for milk every 2 hourly and i was so sleep deprived.
Just went shopping with bb at orchard yday to get a baby carrier from beco. I used it immed and was quite good since the weight of the baby is evenly spread on my body and is quite easy to hold bb in it.Going to use it again when i bring her to sentosa this coming sat.

CC
haha im using tollyjoy.. im not into those breast pads. so i see which one cheap i buy. Now then i know whats the real use of it. I guess now i must strict myself at night before sleep pump. HOpe later i dun have to wake up in the middle of the night like today to pump milk.

Fifi
Medela cloth one is it more expensive mah? like that must buy 2 pair leh. one wash one wear. hehe

Karen
Try to suntann more lar. but dun drink too much water if ya gal for jaundice. AS long is not she is not too yelloish i think is quite okai. IM quite lazy too to suntan her hhee. but when i see doc. doc say is mild so no need to suntan. 1 or 2 weeks later will go off le ^___^

Lilian
Oh nursing tea? i didnt heard about it. Haha Btw. i still have pregnant milk. wonder could i finish it off still? Hahaha i have to thank god that her eye brows are so perfect and nice when she was birth.. Is good for her that next time no need to trim. hehhee Okai. im drinking soup sometimes like 1 day 2 times.. or maybe 1 day 1 time. and i drink alot of milo and longnan(which is not too sweet) cus im always thirsty! hehe

Sabre
Ever since my baby bite my nipple till sore and i pump till bleed i have stop latching my baby le, till my breast fully recover then i will let her latch on. hehe maybe should try your method hor. hehe

BTW anyone drinking DOM??

Sabre,
i am still tryin to master technique to feeding while lying down! any tips? =P

Babyzel,
they sell Beco in e stores here?? i got my BIL to get it from e states for me, should be receiving within e next 2 days. glad to hear that it is good!! is it easy to put baby on it and strap it to yourself?

fabbie,
i was drinkin DOM initially but it made me soooo hot that i pleaded with hubby to let me stop drinkin it.hee...

Haru,
Ya they put up a booth at orchard hotel yday and today. They sell it for $210. How much u paid for yours? I got it at $190 cos i bought 2 pieces, another for my sis. First try a bit diff but subsequently it becomes easy. Very comfortable to wear.I bought the carnival design.

Haru
Hmm, but when she is super grouchy and sleepy at the same time, my baby likes to drink a little and then fall asleep. Don't know how else to make her happy. It seems to work well.

Babyzel
My let down is like that too! Can soak a whole breastpad. But I love the feeling because it means milk's coming in. Hee.

babyzel,
i dun noe yet coz my BIL paid for me first, will have to check with him. think its about that price coz i think no sale price for my carrier too. i will see which design he chose for me. =p

Re: milk bags
mummies, anyone using milk bags already for storage of milk? can recommend any milk bags?

Karen,
ya, i know what u mean..sometimes, desperate measures needed esp when we run out of idea what baby wants. oh well, we wil learn more as we go along ya? =>

babyzel,
the milk leak i still ok, just that it always leak on baby's clothes!! And the pain is even worse than engorgement lor...I feel super weak for that moment..

Fabbie,
wa so young know how to bite liao ar.. my baby is always pull n tug at my nipple. Wondering when i will bleed lor.. damn pain la..

I don like the taste of DOM. So never drink, although my MIL stock a lot.. Somemore sometimes baby feed hourly so I don dare to drink too..

Haru,
hmm.. something like hug bolster like that lor.. just hug him close to u then direct him to latch on.. super comfortable to use this position...

haru
infact 1 mouth slip of DOM ok liao right? i think can drink with water leh. lolx. I didnt know DOM was like "on the rock" I pour like 1 whole small cup and just "tar" wah.. my mouth damn hot sia! lolx.

Karen,
Ya it sure is a good feeling. At least there's milk.

Haru,
Since u got it from states it could be slightly cheaper than get it in Spore.

Sabre,
I also hate it when the milk leak onto my clothes and bb clothes. Thus i always get a hanky ready when BF.

By the way i understand that Freshly expressed BM can be stored for up to 10 hours at room temp, if u all feed bb, do u all still warm up the milk or feed at room temp?

DOM>
i took once awhile only.. tah one small cup. later my face all red... recently my neck v itchy.. duno izzit got rashes or wat... i drank one cup.. my neck oso turn red... now i darent take it..

i'm now like a monkey.. keep scratching my neck... -_-" any remedy to ease the itchness!! buay tahan...

Hi Haru, i heard lansinoh milk bags are good...

Fifi: where are you ordering the milk bag from? what brand are you looking at?

Karen: Karen, I just noticed that after Dr A deliver you at 1.28pm..I called him at 1.30pm and he asked me to rush down to hospital and my baby was delivered at 8pm that day. I have the same delivery date as you..hahah imagine, Dr A picking up my phone right after delivering your baby.

My baby Evangeline now having problem sleeping at night too...got blocked nose with mucus...sigh...i Guess we all have the same issues of baby waking up numerous times in the night...

I now having too much milk i guess...after feeding evan BM..within an hour to two hours, my breast starts to engorge again...super sian...no milk panic, got too much milk also not happy hahaha.....

I noticed some of you started bottle EBM to baby..I am hesitating to give or not as i noticed most of your babies can sleep more during night when given EBM as we will be able to tell how much to feed and to give full feed. BF will be difficult to stretch baby more during night....Should I start bottle feeding? can advise?

fabbie,
i dilute a small amt with water and "tah"..if not very hard to swallow it down..bleh..

babyzel,
i tot fresh EBM can only leave at room temp for 4 hours?

Blessedmum,
Evangeline looks sooo happy after her bath!!!

fabbie:
I bought 4 pairs from US. Since can wash, its not really expensive. But if buy from Singapore its not cheap lah.

I hate the taste of DOM!

Babyzel:
4 hours. Not 10.

BlessedMum:
I am looking at Lansinoh from drugstore. Other places also have but price like similar.

I tried giving EBM at night. Made no difference. I think if formula then got diff.

Re: BM Supply
Just did one of my first proper express without latching first. Got 180ml for 10mins of expressing both sides. But this is after 4.5 hours.

Enne, what happen to your bb? U must be strong enuff yah? He needs your care very soon when he goes home.

Lilian, cutiemum, I giving up on bm too ... But will still continue to let bb latch on and pump till as long as I can.

milk supply: I told my ML my milk supply went down and she calculated that I gained 13kg on myself and she said maybe bcos I eat too much during pregnancy (which is true) and got fats in my breast and causes low milk supply (she said something like tat ... make sense?)

nipple/teat confusion: My bb often wails when he suck pacifier for awhile or when he drinks his milk. Issit bcoz he is confused of ipple/teat/pacifier?

Alibaba,
I am also scratching myself everywhere!!! But to me, this is not unusual. For my 1st 2 pregnancies, right after i del, I will start to develop feng mo (or hives). It gets so bad that I become veri moody, as it's very itchy. For my #1, it lasted 9 mths, and for #2, it lasted more than 1 yr, till i went to see Eu Ren Sang. I am so fearful i will kana hives again. AT the moment, i only feel itch.. but no signs for hives yet.

No remedy lor, just stop scratching, and I will apply medicated oil at times.

milkbags
I am using Playtex to store my milk. It's pretty good. I used those wires to fasten it.

bluebear, i changed the teat to pigeon ones... and she's drinking better.... though still fuss a little... but better than when using avent ones...

re Bebe Au Lait nursing covers > i noticed the website got 3 types... wat is the diff huh?

fifi, i need to get toothpaste from drugstore. have pm u..

blessed mum, wow.. ur bb so cheerful.. and u managed to capture all those expression!

jo, my gal oso the same when i started her on FM... give her milk bottle teat... she suck suck awhile the make noise...

sunshinekid, eh i oso kenna feng mo for this 1... did not have it for #1... it came on alternate days.. esp at nite... becoz of this i have to stop my massage... the massage lady told me it's coz of our hormonal change.. was searching for more info.. some pple say is coz we bf... then i started to drink MIM nursing tea and it stopped.... not sure it will work for u??

Amore
U mean u have drank the MIM nursing tea and it stopped?? Amazing...

I havent gone to Eu Ren Sang yet, cos I will be given those powdered medicine and i am worried that it goes into the breast milk. For my #2, even after I stopped breastfeeding for sometime, the feng mo was still around. It was indeed a very agonising and distressing period for me. Yes, it gets esp bad at nite... I was itching so badly it affected my mood, morale, and all...

Thanks for your input, maybe I will try the tea. Does it increase bm ss as well?

sunshinekid>
i guess it's feng mo.. there's red patches around my neck.. v itchy.... i try to wipe with wet warm clothe & apply powder. it doesnt seem to go away... haiz.. mil jus boiled Jin ying hua for me to wipe.. hope it will get better!!

cutiemum,
did u managed to BF for ur #1?

I juz ordered nursing tea from MIM. If it doesnt work 4 me, then i tink i'll give up.
My MIL came over juz now, kept asking me whether its time to BF my girl :S She's pro-BF cos my SIL BF for 9 mths.
Then a while ago, my CL asked me if wanna give bb some water coz she's constipating n i dun have enuff BM to offer her.
Walao... Tats how we get post-natal blues rite?? wahaha...

BlessedMum, bb Evan so cute, so many expression! U r realli blessed with a beautiful gal.

Babyzel:
I think different climate. KK's advice is

4 hrs for room temperature
48 hours for fridge
3-6 months for seperate door freezer or deep freezer

If frozen then brought down to fridge to thaw, can keep 24 hours.

anyone breast itchy? my right is so itchy!!! but my left is fine. anyone having the same problem?! been pumping and is so itchy at times.. even i wear a bra and my breast pads.. is itchy too =(

both breast i treated to same way.. like wash and clean and put nipple cream too. weird ah

Just came back from hospital yesterday. Now having engorgement, super painful. Got a manuaL breastpump but can't get any milk out. I wonder what went wrong. Gotta go and get a electric one tml. Today milk keep leaking.

sunshinekid,
I'm having itch around my tummy too. Don't know y...

After delivery, my tummy is still very big. Just like pregnant lady. My tummy is even bigger than my boobs...
Now i'm still having urine leakage. Urine just flow out by itself. I wonder what happen.

Haru, Sunshinekid, Amore, Lilian: thanks for the compliments. Not easy to capture those expressions. Cause she seldom smile, only smile in her sleep..only one day i managed to capture her smile when she is awake...only that day..

Fabbie: Yup I have itchy breast too, even wearing bra and breastpads...you must try to clean your nipples and air dry them before wearing bra...keep changing breast pads once they are wet. I tried to find out the cause and after changing pads frequently, it got better...you try it.

Fifi: Oh i am looking for lansinoh lobang...is it cheaper at drugstore...count me in if you are purchasing them. As for EBM, really doesn't work ah...sigh...i tried tonight and see if can stretch her further...dun wan to use formula leh...wait she does not wan BM liao..like that time when my nipples are sore and no milk coming in, i gave her similac...she keep asking for more and more and i realised after a fren told me that not to use similac bacause it is sweet...no wonder my baby drinks more than 60ml for no reason...so i went to buy enfaclac...it is better.

Mildy: yup my girl has pimplel ike rash on her face too...PD says it's normal and will go off by itself..she told me to use cooled boiled water to clean her face after feed to keep the face clean...so no worries.

i just had dinner..had to carry baby to make her sleep coz she was fussing aft feeding. and everytime i tried to put her in cot, she cries again. so bo pian carry her and waited for hubby to eat then pass to him to take over. he just managed to put her in her cot..

I've given birth on 1 Dec to a baby boy ( Weight:3.2kg Height: 49cm) and discharged today. On TBM,Baby weight dropped to 3kg Is it normal?

Noticed confinement lady has been feeding water to the baby and my milk supply not in yet. Been asked to supplement with FM by the CL, should i do it?

<font color="119911">Bluebear</font>
Thank you for your well wishes.

<font color="ff0066"> Feng Mo / Hives</font>
I also get this occasionally. The goal of treating most cases of ordinary hives is to relieve symptoms while the condition goes away by itself. The most commonly used oral treatments are antihistamines which will be prescribed by your doc. Juz remember to inform him tat your are BF-ing.

I will also use salt to bathe myself then apply some prickly heat powder after. Juz dun use any cream on the hives or scratch it (I know it's hard not to scratch cos it's super itchy) as this will cause it to itch more and spread over a wider area. HTH's.

<font color="ff0066"> Baby pimples</font>,
This is normal and occurs most commonly due to leftover milk on BB's skin. Juz wipe BB with a damp cloth after feeding and keep the area dry and clean. The pimples will resolve itself after a few days.

<font color="ff0066"> Bibi</font>,
Welcome back! Dun worry yah. Sometimes due to 'trauma' during the labour, the bladder like kinda cannot control the pee, so will leak out. Start doing some kegel exercises to strengthen your pelvic muscles. But if after 1-week, this doesn't improve, it's best to consult your gynae yah.

For the electric pump, the LC recommend getting either Ameda or Medela dual electric. She said the Medela Mini Electric is only useful for occassional use. And each time cannot use more then 5-10mins each side, each pumping session as this will cause the nipples to tear at the 'joint' area between the nipple and aerola.

<font color="ff0066"> Breastmilk Storage Bags</font>,
I have 6-boxes of the discontinued Avent Milk Bags available for sale @ $15 per box. Each box contains 100-pc liners. I dun need it cos not going to store alot of BF as I'm a SAHM so will direct latch BB. If any of you are interested can PM me yah.

Blessed mum,
Ur baby is so cute!!

Haru,
my baby also, once put him dwn he cry. Worried that in the future have to carry him slp liao lor..

<font color="ff0066"> Blessed Mum</font>,
Your BB's pics are all sssoo cute!!! Can;t help but smile big big...
I simply love the way she smiles and tat toothless grin.

<font color="ff0066"> Bluebear</font>,
The 7-day package wz Maya Mummy Massage is $500 inclusive of binding &amp; massage oil. Each session is 1.5-hours.
Will definately post in my feedback after my sessions. Hope it will be good lah. I wanna get back a flat tummy leh. *LOL*

Dymples, Bluebear
Tomorrow is my last day with Maya. I dun usually leave the binding on for 8 hrs, cos I feel itchy. I reckon it's the skin not able to breathe. Maya is quite okay, I cant compare becos this is the first time I am having a postnatal massage. Anyway, my tummy is almost flat, just need to do some abs exercise to tighten the muscles. After 3 kids, I have also lost some elasticity at the tummy.. sigh.

Hives
Wah.. didnt know so many pple are suffering with me leh. When I asked around the last time, no one shares my agony at all. They all find it strange that I have that post delivery. mOst pple have rashes during pregnancy, not after.

I am always given Piriton to relieve the itch. IT does help, and v safe for breastfeeding. Just that it will make one v drowsy. Last time, I can get it off the counter, but few days ago, when my hb went to get it for me, he was told it's now a controlled medicine. So i guess must go and see doc liao.

hamedah
U mean u are able to solve our hives problem ah. Why not share it here..

Hello! finally have time to come in... managed a bit more slp today.

Re: pumping at night
I pump at 12mn, then 3am, then 6am... no choice, cos to establish milk supply for the first 2 wks u need to keep pumping lor. i m getting better (i hope) at emptying my boobs totally. hope supply will all go up for all of us.

Greengrape, ur CL sounds like us. ya its normal for bb to lose some wt initially as they are in a waterlogged env. bb can tahan 3 days without any food or water. Also u might have colostrum but u can't see it cos it comes in small amt.

Re: teat/ nipple confusion
those mummies that are on TBF shd just stick to it.. for my bb, he had nipple/teat confusion at Day 5! but it isn't impossible to go back to the nipple aft bottle feeding.

Re: Breast pumps
If u guys are getting the Medela PIS, pls bear in mind that the funnel of the pump has sizes on.. its 20mm, 24mm (comes with the pump), 27mm and 30mm. I am currently using 30mm. if u use the wrong fit, ur nipples will kena the abrasion!

Re: itchy boobs
I clean my boobs aft each pump but my nipples still itchy leh.. u guys will scrub the nipples?

Blessedmum, Evangeline looks so chubby!

Dymples, how heavy is ur bb? may be u giving her too little milk?

<font color="ff0066"> Sunshine</font>,
Thks for the feedback on Maya. Wow!! You lcuky to have flat tummy after 3-kids leh. Currently, me still look like 4-mths preggie lor.
I wanna fit into my jeans by my BB's 1st mth party on 20 Dec. heheheh...

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
I also dunno if I giving her too little milk cos hv not pumped for almost a week liaoz. All I know is, I've got lots of wet and dirty diapers to change. About 8x a day wor. *faintz*
But BB Janessa has put on weight. Her birth wt was 3.1kg and last weds, she's already 3.5kg. Is 400g increase good for 2-weeks old?

BlessedMum
Piew you make my day happy! Im glad im not the only one! Right.. air my breast. okai. will do it. Thanks for the advice.. pimple like rash on your daughter's face.. i do have too! but they say most likely is due to their skin is peeling off. =)

Bear
I started to scrup my breast too! but still the same =(

GreenGrape
Baby tense to lose weight is normal de =) Just make sure your milk is MILKY can liao.

Btw.. anyone shaving off the whole head of your babies hair? I really cant bear to see my baby shave everything off. =( But seems like my MIL wanted to do it. Any GOOD recommend to shave baby's hair?

my baby woke up 3 times for feed last nite. then she vomitted when i fed her tis morn. somehow when she vomit tends to b in e morn. me typing w one hand now coz carrying her to sleep.

Sabre,
ya, i keep tryin to put her down so she can fall asleep on her own but she wil cry instsntly or within minutes. but nite time seems easier to put her back to her cot to sleep leh...its tiring n i cant do other stuff while carrying her.

sorry to intrude on this thread. I have 2 brand new packs of Nepia diapers (size S : 4-8kg; 54 pieces per pack) for sale.

Original price $15 each. will let go for $14 each, self collect @ potong pasir, or can delivery if in hougang/kovan/potong pasir area.

Pls PM me if interested! Thx

gd morn mummies,

Vomit>
my boy vomitted alot after his feed.. he did burp in between.. but seems like still puke alot.. esp last night.. haiz.. duno y.. burp him liao. &amp; put him down on his bed, he will tend to stretch himself &amp; puke! changed him liao. he puked again.. jus one night i changed 6 tops for him. the last round. he puked &amp; kanna abit of his top.. i gave up.. wipe off with hankie. &amp; hope he will slp.. it's another sleepless night for me... tired..