(2008/11) November 2008

Haru
I think u & your hb are a vy loving couple, so sweet!! Now with your baby coming along, it makes the family even more complete!

Oh yes, it does makes a great difference on the weighing scales right? That's what i told my hubby too!!

hi joyce,
hmm,i think so. just normal water to wash when shower i guess? i am quite clueless myself!hahah..

cookieoreo,
i might just continue to take soya milk even after delivery. i tried eating cornflakes tis morning with chocolate flavoured soya milk, yummy! =P

Wow Haru
What did u buy for ur hb huh? Care to share share? Hee.....

My hb bought me a Baby G watch while shopping last weekend. Out of the blue, he says, A, this watch is veri nice, try it on lah.. And thereafter, he says get it lor, since u like it.. :p Mayb he thought that he has oredi settled the "push" present liao. ^_^

Lilian
my Asta look big? hehee.. umm.. i dun tink so ba, mayb cos i took the shot close up tts y?

Minkybear
aiyor how come u fell down... hope its not a hard fall? mus b careful lei.. Since u overdue liao din e doc say need to induce? or else bb bigger & bigger more difficult to natural..

bear
ur due date end nov isn't it? mus everyday tell little bear to hang on inside. this was wat i did last time to nini and she listens to me!! wahhaaaa...

maple
me is csec.. missy stil shave almost everything for me.. cos she said after delivery we'll hav e menses then it'll be cleaner without e hairs standing in the way tsk tsk

Sunshinekid
hehe...then you must hint to your hubby that the Baby G is not the "push" present. He need to prepare another one.
What color did you get for the Baby G?

cookie, haru

yes yes, for dr chan's patients, dun need the antiseptic wash. juz water will do
his stitching skills really very good. same day wont feel pain also...

i juz went for my checkup today. Dr Chan very proudly told me that no one can tell i gave birth to 2 babies before as the wound has no scars! hahaha...he said his stitching is different from 90% of other gynaes... and he said whether wound heals fast, cut is nice or etc, depends on what kind of "tailor"! damn funny...

and yes, he has his own delivery ward... room 8.. i gave birth there...outside got his big name even when the midwife brought me in. But i think other regular gynaes in gleneagles also have their own. but he is damn expensive...i juz complained to his staff why last year and this year increase so much again...hiaz!

joyce,

yes yes, our gynae's stitching is different, so no pain and heal very fast...also juz water wash can liao... that's why i went back to him for my 2nd child.

bear,

hang in there... ur baby shd be out in these few days

sunshinekid,
nothing much really, it is just a Casio G-Shock watch to replace the Casio which my hubby lost recently. it is the latest model and its sold out at most dept stores and he has been wanting one for a while. => hahah, are you eyeing on something else for your "push" pressie??

me munching on steamed man tous and iced milk tea...greedy me!!

lovedogs,
wow, so he really has his own delivery room?? is room 8 on the 5th or 6th floor? hubby is hoping we can get a room on the newly refurbished 6th floor.=P

oh, does the episiotomy hurt?=Z

Hi Mummies, face green green liao, juz went to Parentcraft to massage engorged breasts, pain like mad. Can only expressed 20ml every 3hrs, nurses will supplement with fm.

Peanut> i juz found out the tube in my throat was to help me breathe during GA.

Mothers who did c-sect> how long does it take for the wound not to hurt?

Today i buay ta han went to wash hair and shower, still in hospital, tml will go home with jaydon, he is staying one more day for juandice.

Are u gals talking about Dr Chan Kong Hon?

Yes yes, agree his stitching is v good. I had him for my #1, C-section. I recovered v fast, and now, after 6 yrs, the scar is hardly visible, unless u look so closely.. But hey, come on, it's also hidded by pubic hair lah.. Heheheh..

Indeed, his pricing is so high! I changed gynae becos I wanted to try VBAC v badly, and also his fees plus waiting time, hubby and I cannot take it. :p His PR skills also #1 leh, can yak with anyone.

"Push" present:
Hehe.. I did ask for either a LV bag, or a diamond ring. He says wait and see how much bonus he has first. ^_^ My Casio Baby-G is just an "appetiser", I hope! Hahahah.

hi mummies, I'm from March 2009 MTB thread. Dropping by to share with you that Tollyjoy will be having a warehouse sale next week 21 - 23 Nov. Held at 29 Changi South St 1. 11 - 7pm.

brocoli,
oh dear, you feeling ok? u still in pain now? rest well ya...

sunshinekid,
so you were also Dr Chan's patient? =D i didnt know that the stitching will normally be so visible. makes it sound like e cut is quite a deep and long cut...ouch! do u get a jab to numb before episiotomy??

<font color="ff6000">jynnsan</font>
Me too, jus started ML and resting to get ready for BB's arrival. Becoming lazy and also felt lost not doing anything.. Gotta walk more as Dr commented BB still not engaged.

Haru,
I had a C-section while a patient of Dr Chan. No, for C-section cut, I dun think it's long. I measured before, it's exactly 12cm.

For my #2, I swithced gynae to Dr Paul Tseng whom I adore as well, hahahah.. I didnt have any episiotomy under Paul Tseng as I didnt even have any cut nor tear!

Mummies who went for c-sect..

Can advise.. Epi csect or GA csect is better or faster recovery?? I still contemplating between the 2 and need to confirm with gynae tomorrow wor...

I thinking of epi csect so can see bb immediately but I scared I be scared or HB be scared.

How's the recovery between the 2? I know GA csect for my #1, when I wake up.. I keep crying coz very painful lo.. or maybe my threshold of pain is low..

how much milk can yo mummies pump in a day?? I was hoping for more supply each time so need not pump so many times a day.

My first morning pump about: 120ml, subsequent about 60ml each..and every 2-3 hrs interval.

What about u mummies...how do u increase milk supply..?

Heya! tried to nap a bit.. last night can't slp well cos of the contractions..

I really dun want bb to come out leh.. Doc said bb will be just below 3kg if come out now. want him to gain a bit more wt then come out. i dunno what to do also.. contractions still 30 mins apart. not pain at all. I m telling him to stay in there longer.. sigh...

Greengrape, no he didn't say anything.. he said its our body training us not to slp so much.. so when the bb comes u already got experience liao.

Brocoli, how u feeling better?

haru, u so nice leh.. i m saving up for a nicer Christmas present... hahaha...

Sunshinekid, ur hb so sweet.. buy u push present without u asking for it.. some guys are just DENSE!

Haru
Yeah, I think I am very blessed. That's why I say, small babies have got its good points too. My baby was small at 2.46kg, so very easy to come out. But I guess it's also becos she was in the right position etc too.

brocoli..around 5 to 7 days for me. After 1 week can squat up n down, run around also can..heehee

Kash..can invite me to yr blog bo?

Cc at day 20, my morning is 90ml, 3hr interval is around 50to 60ml. I just bought the milkgoat lactation tea today to help increase my supply.

U can eat threadfin or salmon fish to increase milk supply. Papaya threadfin bone soup also..but I dislike the fishy taste..

cookieoreo, what pump you buy from US? Is it PISA?

Bear, Dr Lim said your contraction is due to body training us not to sleep too much ah?! so funny of him. my hand joint painful he joked tt it is due to counting too much money.

Brocoli,
Hope that your engorgement can recover soon! Try to latch on or pump often to avoid engorgement again.. Wow, u so fast go shower n wash hair liao!! Think u are the fastest mummy who go for shower n wash hair while still in the hospital.

cc,
breastmilk work this way. Demand=supply. So the more time u latch baby on or pump, the more milk will comes in.. Actually there is this fernugreek that sold at GNC, is said to build up breastmilk.. But i think u still stick to the demand=supply is better lar.

bear,
just let little bear decide when he wanna come out.. Just let natural take its course k... Dun too stress on this.

Krystel, no lah.. he saw my eyebags lor.. asked me if i was slping well.. i told him how to slp properly? then he said it is nature's way of training us to get ready for the slpless nights ahead.

Oh wanted to tell u i m sure u can tahan the VE.. heh...

hello mummies, congrats to all who popped.
Also thanks for the well wishes.
My labour is super long and i regretted to go for induction which ended up in c-sect. my gynae also never check where my boy is facing and he turn the wrong way which make my labour even tougher.
i should have waited. Anyway, kayden is healthy, that's all that matters. But somehow unable to go natural still upset me alot.

I'm now trying very hard to bf my bb but he refuses to latch on. I'm now at my wits end. Tomorrow going to look for lactation consultant at tmc, hopefully can retrain him to latch on to my breasts. Currently trying hard to express out my bm. now, only able to express out 20ml per pump both breast combined with massage only and bb is so hungry and keep crying. I had no choice but to supplement with fm as kayden needs 40-50ml per feed. Anyone had any advise on how to increase bm. Currently pumping abt 5-6 times a day. I'm also taking papaya fish soup, fish essence, milo with oatmeal. Now trying fenugreek. took 2 caps. how many fenugreek can i take per day, anyone knows?

My fingers joint are also aching.. wound still pain cause i'm allergic to certain painkillers. Can only take panadol to relieve my csect wound pain. Really a struggle. So tired too. The first day back home, i really dislike kayden and refuse to look at him and push him away when he refuses my breast. Now better le as i tell myself to express the milk out instead of stressing myself too much. My mom is not supportive as well. Nearly got myself into postnatal blues. Sorry everyone, need a place to vent my frustrations here.

Anyway, here's a pic of my bb kayden
1868260.jpg

dreamyjo,
thanks for sharing e pix of your lovely Kayden!! hey, dun be discouraged that ur birth plan did not go as intended ok? most important is that both you and kayden are doing well. and dun give up with BF. just remember that mummy's milk is God's way of feeding our babies. am sure you will have success soon!

Dreamyjo, hey gal, cheer up! remember how much u wanted to see ur boy? not going natural doesn't mean u are a lousy mummy.. please rem that wat's most impt is your and ur baby's safety.. if c-sec is neccessary, don't berate urself!

Ur mum not supportive of bf-ing? oh dear u gotta stand firm. Tell ur mum u want the best for him, just like she wanted the best for u. I think u need to pump more often leh... bb needs to latch on abt 10-12x a day but u only doing half.. even if u don't express a lot of milk, by increasing the frequency, u are telling ur boobs to produce more. try pumping more often...

hiya dreamjo,
dun stress yourself too much. for first time mum is always like tat when things just doesnt to b turning out the way u planned. I think u got upset in the beginning when ur natural plan turn out to b c-sect, but the key point is to deliver bb safely into this world tat matters most.

Bb has problem latching due to? do you have short nipples? or is bb having nipples confusion as u already feed the bottle? u can try using nipple guards to latch bb. latching on will produce more milk. if u are pumping then massage your breast, a hot shower or use a hot towel over your breast will also help. try pumping regularly at every 2 to 3 hrs interval. dun give up, all of us is here to support u.

kayden is such a cute boY! dun dislike him, cos he loves u so much and needed u so much.

if latching your boy is painful try the football hold which is better for mummies tat c-sect.

hi dreamjo

thanks for sharing Kayden's pic. He is really very cute! Don't think too much abt the c-sect. what is more impt is baby and mummy is healthy. and after this 9 months, finally our labour of love is out in this world.

I can see that you have been persevering to get the BM. Maybe you just need a little bit more time to get the flow to come. Give yourself a pat on the shoulder. Things will get better and be positive. Cheer up k. Take one thing at a time. Remember, you need a good rest too for the BM to come.

Finally have time to come in today!

Haru: That's nice of you to get hb a present!!
My hubby's bday coming, but coz still confined at home, thinking of ordering The Patissier cake for him. Nvr tried before but heard rave reviews abt it :p Anyone tried it??

Brocoli: Hope your engorgement goes away soon! Latch on more if poss? I find that most effective for me.

cc: I am only pumping once a day. Usu only 80-120 ml. Quite lazy..prefer to latch on frequently for now. Will pump more during my 3rd wk so that I can start storing EBM and try to bottlefeed once a day.

Dreamjo: That's a lovely pix of Kayden!

Don't get too stressed ok. Was abit blue initially when baby sometimes cldnt latch on but was lucky he managed to after a while though now he would still fuss and cry at times. But must tell myself not to get upset! My 1st few tries at expressing also abt 20-30ml but will slowly increase. Jia You ok! I always think of baby during expressing and I find it helps to certain extent.

Post-natal massage by Mona: 2nd time today. Can't see effects yet but tho she is soo petite, she has great strength, 'massage' my aches away haa..

Who's next to pop?? I am losing count!

dreamy: i pump about 300ml or so a day, i am also looking to increase milk flow to supplement baby. Extremely tiring as I do it every 2-3 hrs pumping out...my baby latches on me but i worry she is not taking enuff as i cant see the amt. she consumes..so i prefer pumping.

The fish i take is dialect called 'ngor her' which will increase milk flow...but i wish i had more milk than this..

glad: ur massage issit all ina row...like 5 days in a row? my massage lady doing 5 days in a row...she does not much that much strength tho..

dreamjo

dont be discourge k..Kayden so cute. Now u at day 5? is normal..at day 5, I only manage to pump 20ml per 3hrs n is my 2nd baby...It will increase der if u pump or latch regularly.

Most impt is dont be overstress by the BM...drink more water, rest more, relax..then yr supply will go up. At this current stage..give FM till yr supply is there...

Actually BM will only establise after 1 mth leh..dont be over stress by yrself.

cc ngor her = threadfin fish..heehee
Me also around 300ml per day.

glad..really har..hee, me arrange for thurs, but today I visit my gynae..she say must after 1 mth..but hor , she say I no need massage, cause nothing to bind... hmmmm now thinking whether should i massage bo.

Dreamyjo
Baby Kayden is very cute! Don't be discouraged yah, even if he doesnt want to latch on, u can always do exclusive pumping! I for one didtn latch my #2, so i pump and pump and pump..... throughout the day. Glad to say, I cld achieve quite alot. So I believe u can too!

Dreamyjo
I also pump 20ml per 3hr, and my big baby need to supplement another 40ml of fm. The lactation consultant keeps asking us to just supplement him with glucose but he cries till the nurse also bo bian, come and ask me to allow fm. Since yesterday, Jaydon also dun like to latch, so my husband went home to get the pump and i juz pump whatever i can. My folks are also not supportive of bf, but i juz ignore their nagging bc i noe stress will be detrimental to my milk level. Btw my eyes swell up as i was allegic to the painkiller given, then had to ask for a jap to reduce the swelling. Dun give up or feel sad, let's encourage one another in breastfeeding.

Joyce
I showered bc i was lying on the bed so much bc of the pain of the stitches that my butt got rashes and my back itch like mad. Then the blood flow also quite heavy so for my mood's sake i decided to shower.

Vincy
Thanks for the assurance, juz need to tong one week then can latch bb without feeling the pain liao.

Actually the pain from the womb contraction was quite bad bc very near the stitches so i haven't been sleeping well at nite. Took extra painkiller at nite. Motherhood is really special, after gg through so much i am juz so kum tong when i see jaydon.

my hubby loved the pressie!!yipee!!

actually i really can't wait to pop now..hahah..hubby also anticipating baby's arrival.

Enne> i was on c-section GA. i went into the op at 9am, was woken up by nurse at 9.45am. then i was very awake the whole day. A lot of people told me that GA will make you very drowsy and stuff. But after going thru, i feel that it's really ok. After the op, i feel a bit "sng sng" in my tummy area, pain is not much at all. My threshold of pain is very very low. Even when i pierce my ears, i also cry! :p

I think Dr Adrian will advise you accordingly.
My fren who gave birth on sat, went thru a lot. i think if i were to deliver after her. i would be very scared by now. She went to induce delivery at 8am. put on epi at 12noon, then gynae suggested c-section at 4pm. By then, my fren already had lunch at 2pm, plus op theatre was booked till 9pm, so she had to endure till 9pm. the scary part is, since she already on epi, doc went on to start the op. My fren screamed when the Doc start to cut, she can feel the knife blade cutting on her. The anesthetist was on standy by, quickly knocked her out with GA. Then when my fren finally woke up, she was too drowsy and stuff from the effects of epi and GA combined. she couldnt carry the bb or eat.

Dreamyjo> dun be too stress over the ss of BM. when u are too stressed or feeling low, ss will decreased. try to fight the hormonal change that u are going thru now. i also get about 20ml EBM initially and now i'm getting about 300ml everyday now. I think if i can try to express every 4 hour, i can get more. i'm quite lazy, i dun wake up at night to express. heheheh.

Any mummies have swollen lumps at the armpits? No matter how i massage the lumps are still there. Is it normal for the breasts to remain hard even after expressing?

Amooks> What i went through was similar to ur friend, i already had epi and gas before, except that my gynea predicted i will struggle if csect under epi. That is why i went under GA. When i wake up, i couln't even remember i'm there to deliver bb and i couldn't feed my bb. But i'm juz thankful that bb is well.

hello everyone, me back at home. went to do CTG in Mt A just nw, dilate 1 cm only so nurse send me home. Baby is alright also. bt having show again and mild contraction after i got back home. now monitioring the contraction. didnt last more then five mins.. so i guess i will have to wait again. Tomorrow will go see gynae to get some advise from her. She still prefer i go natural so she send me home after realising that i didnt dilate enough. so i guess we wait again...

Alibaba is on her way in.. likely to pop tmr! her contractions are getting stronger and her gynae told her to ward herself in tonight.

Brocoli, hang in there. lumps at the armpits? something wrong with ur lymph nodes?

Congrats to mummies who had popped. Had been bz with my boi.

Kash,
Yes. I'm using Desitin bought from the US spree. Now, his bottom is much better. I've also applied johnson baby powder to keep the area dry. Luckily, is not so red now and the little dots have vanished. I'm using Huggies Ultra Dry (NB). Brought him to see PD and was advised to open up his diaper and let him lie on his chest.
Drypers will caused bottom to be red also, gosh, I've 2 pkts of S size from my frenz.

Kaoz.. i just received an sms from Alibaba! she popped at 2225hr! wat a short labour, cos she smsed at 8plus saying she gg to the hospital already. Baby Trysten is 3.04kg!

Vincy: ya haha..called threadfin...wasn't too sure of its english name so dun dare to say..i tink codfish is gd too..but have yet to eat codfish.

minky: can send home even if slightly dilated? I was 2cm dilated and next one hr i realised i was fully dilated..watch out for the stomach cramps..

glad: I lost confidence in myself after i realised in hospital BB had not enuff to drink as I didnt have enuff breastmilk then..am always worried she didn't drink/ insufficient to drink...i wld really love to latch her on too...but now pumping..