(2008/11) November 2008

RE: NEW BENEFITS
Ya 4 mths maternity might as well change to other incentives like childcare subsidy, free insurance for baby, more baby bonus..nowadays everything so expensive...or a yr supply of diapers..hehehe

green grape: aiyo, anor peanut you. anyway, just my 2 cents worth, don't be too sure abt how many children u want first. u might find the 1st one so adorable tt u want anor one exactly like him/her

Jenn: she is joking abt giving me her son lah. but she really did tell the midwife tt he looks like alien. hmmm... maybe if your minnie turn into a mickey, i can buy some stuff over from u?

fifi: aiyoh, excitable young mummy. well, lilian gave u the answer already. happier now, right?

Bear: whether take medicine or not, u must still rest. don't play play. u already having braxton hicks every now & then.

Lilian: wah, clever girl. now u make everybody here so happy. if doesn't materialise tonite, tomoro u better hide away & don't come into forum

Jo: but sooo big leh. i can imagine how painful the perineum cut will be.

Bear: i agree w vincy! don't give up cody. cannot finish telling u how i envy u having husband who loves dogs. my husband is not animal lover so i've never been able to bring my boy home to stay overnite. when my whole family mourned him passing away in 2005, he said "dog only, what." pls don't give up cody!

& the breastfeeding, also must persevere. my MIL V V agst breastfeeding but my mum & i insisted so at least i went on for almost 9 mths. since u're not under scrutiny all the time like we desk-bound ppl, u really must try to breastfeed. plus, don't forget tt expensive pump u bot!

Yen: wow! 123 when the hi is 130, sounds dangerous. pls do take care.

u really v loved leh. MIL & mum cook good stuff for u & also encourage u to breastfeed. i think everybody here wants to have your mum & MIL
who will look after your baby when u go back to work?

lilian,

hope your source is reliable..i will be so happy if paid 4 mths (or 16 weeks only?) ML. then 6 days CC leave! great! any increase in paternity leave?

Mildy,

i also hope immediately effective else bo hiao as this is also my last leh...

bear,

dog and baby can live together... no problem one...most impt is how the adults (humans lah) manage only. my dog recently was diagnosed have some bacteria infection of the ears....family doctor fren who doesn't like dogs told my dad will transmit to human. But eventhough thats the case, we nvr consider giving up my dog. juz that we humans must make sure we wash our hands properly after handling the dog, before touching my toddler. Ignore ur MIL....

Olwen:
I read Lilian's post I'm happy. I read dimpledot's post in Oct thread, I'm oso happy. But I read Diane's post in Oct thread which says confirm we dun get, I'm sad.

jo> tink u gonna like me cut down on carbo stuff.. else too big bb hard to deliver le wor...

bear> initially i seen GP , take medicine but din get well but worst... got cold even.. so see chinese sin seh on saturday! still .... haiz...
now i am coughing as if coughing my throat out~ CMI!!

fifi,
Re raspberry tea, i was told by my fren during baby shower yest.

Sunshinekid & olwen,
thanks for the info.

Altough the 4mth ML is good overall, I cried when my hubby told me just now. I am missing my $20K+ paid leave. Shd not have quit no matter how bad the wkg environment was. Sob Sob. Hubby has to consoled me that I will be getting them for my next pregnancy.

Karen,
Source nvr mention wor. I guess whether t 4th mth can b flexible or not will depends on your company. For eg my coy dun allow the 3rd mth to b taken separately.

Olwen, if u dun see me here tmr... u noe why. Haha.. Anyway, my source quite reliable la.

Kash, nothing said on PL leh.

Yen, we onli bot t 'tissue like' cloth. 6pcs for $3.80. I kept asking my hb, u sure tis one can use for bathing? Looks like tissue lay.
Ya, $9 for a towel sounds ex!
Anyway, i'm all confused abt t stuff she selling. Too lazy to chiong to t front to find out.

gin, i understand how u feel.. but come to think of it although this amt of paid leave is gd for us to use but what's more impt is BB is fine and growing well right =) dun think too much abt e past le.. jia you!!

gin78:
Dun cry dun cry... if the wkg environment is bad, no amt of paid leave can make up for it. Anyway, also not confirm that we will get it anot. Seems like 4 mths is confirmed... juz when is the implementation date... if suay suay that Diane in Oct thread is correct, then we oso dun have... so near yet so far.

Jenn, fifi,
thanks for the consolation. Actually I dont think the extra month will help alot in boosting birth rate. I rather they have more paternity leave too, so hubby can share the load.

Anyway, Im gog to cook a nice meal for hubby tonite cos he passed his acca papers

gin, no prob~ i hope so too for hubby to have more leaves made compulsory for all, even private sectors... congrats to ur hubby, mine still waiting for his p/t deg results..

Gin,
yup yup.. Wish they could implement more benefit for daddy like what u said, paternity leave.. So that daddy can have more bonding with the bb.

Lilian,
If what u said is true, then all of us here will be very happy
Indeed, any form of benefits will be good for us, esp working parents.

Baby Benefit
I like Lilian's post as well, (as long as we can get it.)

Bladders,
don't think the fourth month ML can be change to incentives, unless your company allow you to trade in your leave for money.
I feel the reason why the govern add the fourth month ML is because nowadays with both parents busy working, the work life and family life has become imbalance. The birth rate decrease not mainly because pple cannot afford the money especially among the highly educated, its because pple feel they cannot afford the time to bond and educate the kid.

Bear,
Ignore your MIL.
Tell her dog n baby can be good buddy!
My gal is so happy with the company from my 3 doggies.

gin,
dun feel sad lar.
If u are nt happi working there,no pt staying jus bcoz of the pay.Baby will be affected too.
So dun tink and jus enjoy the preg and motherhood later.
This is the most wonderful phrase to go thru for a woman.No words can be used to describe the feeling when u see the baby.

joyce,
you are oso a SAHM?
Got some benefits us lar... the CC subsidy and baby bonus lo.At least if we send our #1 to CC, gt some saving.

Lilian,
really??? *fingers crossed*

anyway, i already told boss that i will nt be taking maternity all in at once as i would like to come back to work ad hoc-ly to make sure my work is still kept in order!in not it will be pretty tough to catch up on work left untouched for 3 months. so its 4 months, its just a bonus as i can take more time off work to spend with baby esp during initial 6 months or so if i spread it out well.

i think more paternity leave is on the top of the list for most couples. guess most wives feel that the responsbility to look after baby seems to fall on their shoulders since husbands do not get leave. and hence the hesitation to start a family..

Hey mummies
I dun think ML will be 4mths ya cos companies are already coping hard with the shortage of staff when mummies go on ML. I hope govt give us more infantcare and childcare subsidies. More childcare leave for daddies will be great too.

Joyce
Do U need the desitin cream urgently?
I have a tube to spare U if U do. A forummer here sold me her one creamy tube and one half used original one last week.

joyce,
i have been taking coconut not regularly but occasionally from quite early. mainly coz its soo yummy and refreshing!heee...

Happy,
Where u stay? me b.batok.. yup yup, a SAHM for almost a yr loh.. Oh, hv CC subsidies, then still not bad. ANy idea how much is the baby bonus?

Sunshinekid,
ic.. hv to wait till 36th wk, so still long way to go. Thought can start after 3rd trimester?

Bluebear,
thanks so much for your offer. Me not urgent lar, cause wanna prepare for my no.2.. cause when i bf my no#1, he poo after EVERY feed till he has diaper rash and this cream works wonder! So i sure need more for my no.2. tnks huh.

Haru,
u take for refreshing huh.. Ya, is shiok to drink esp in a sunny day or after some spicy food..

<font color="119911">SAHM</font>
Whoa, so how many SAHMs do we have here?

I'm now thinking what jobs are there that will allow me the flexibility of time to stay home make some $$ and be with my lil precious..

<font color="119911">Baby Bonus</font>
Yeah, I'd agree if they can throw in more benefits for Daddy, it'll be even better!! *fingers crossed*

<font color="ff0000">joyce</font>
How many of the Desitin do you need? I've got 1 extra =)

GreenGrape
I use sparingly for my#1. Only when there's any rash or signs of rashes going to develop. So for me, one tube can last up to three to six mths or even more

Greengrape,
it really depends on how badly is the diaper rash.. but on average, an 8oz tube can last at least 1-2mths bah.. that is what my usage during my no.1

Sunshinekid,
think better wait a while more then consume.. But once a while will drink for cooling effect.

<font color="ff0000">Gin78</font>
Ya lor, i also agree with the rest.. $$ cannot compensate for the unhappy working environment. Besides, i'm sure u'd realise that its a blessing in disguise when the 'lil on arrives!

Greengrape-so far, I finished up abt 3-4 tubes for my boy.. initially I applied each time I changed his diaper but as he grew older, can apply only when there's sign of rashes coming up.

Sunshinkid-Yeah try not to consume too much now, heard its quite 'liang' wor..

<font color="ff6000">Alibaba</font>,
Wow, yr 3D scan is v clear! BB v adorable! Did u pay extra for this?

<font color="ff6000">Yen</font>,
BF workshop- Mumsfairy actually conduct the workshop. I'm rather impressed that they actually conduct a "live" demo as well which I think it's informative for 1st time mummies. But the next class is about early Oct. Think I'll go for it.

<font color="ff6000">Milderina</font>,
Bathing during confinement-Hock Hua sells the herbal pack at $1.30(M'sia) &amp; $2.00(S'pore) each. Was told that the $2.00 pack herbal is more concentrated.

greengrape,
For me,I oso apply the cream when there is a sign of rashes,rashes developed and night time.
So a tube last me abt 3-6mths.
For normal usage,i got the drapolene cream which is cheap and good.

Yen,
abt ur qn on balmer cream hor.. It can b used aft every bath. Mrs Wong says use Desitin onli when have rashes. Yest I went Taka to buy Avent balmer cream &amp; Liquid Talc. The balmer cream cost $13+.

joyce,
i stay at punggol but currently staying at twn.Will be back next mth.
I believe there is CC subdisy and more baby bonus ba... we jus got to wait for the news tonight.

teenyweeny,
there are quite a no of SAHM at tis thrend

MInkybear> dun worry lah, ur new haircut is very nice! so cute! i going to cut short when near to my EDD.

All mummies> call this number if you interested... 1800-688-6886 Wyeth Nutrition

They are giving away FREE bath thermometer...just call and ask them for it and they'll send to you by post.

i just called them.

Desitin: Only used when there is sign of rashes.. Cause it is not those mild type.. For changing of diapers, can use normal drapolene or any other brand of diaper cream.

Lilian

is it more worth it to use Desitin since it cost less than the Avent balmer cream?

Any side effect of Destin cream if used every diaper change?

Greengrape,
Cause desitin is not those mild type, only apply when there is rashes. You can get drapolene at watson, guardian or even supermarket (baby corner).

kash so fierce
takes no nonsense from MIL.

gin78: wah, u r hi income earner. nvm, u'll still get child care leave.

lilian:

oh yah, i went into oct thread to c who r these ppl spreading this info &amp; one of the gals is organising a BP of cheap newborn clothes. v cheap. u all can go in &amp; c. can't remember what's her name.

Greengrape, actually desitin is not selling cheap outside. last time when my PD sold me, it cost twice the amount that i bought from overseas spree.. no side effect lar, but no point to use when there is no rashes.. If u want to prevent, maybe u just apply a few times instead of every diaper change

Joyce,
If nothing goes wrong with the shipment, I shld have extra. How many do u need? I record first. Once I get the shipment (which sumhow is still stuck with Drugstore under "processing"), I will confirm with you.

Re: Desitin
Next time we need, we can always start another spree. Maybe in end Sep/early Oct I may start another spree too for avent BPA-free bottles. If drugstore is selling them &amp; I find no cheaper alternative. We can always order desitin together.

<font color="ff0000">nikki</font>
You have the link for Mum's Fairy? I think i wanna attend the workshop too!

<font color="119911">Antenatal Classes</font>
I attended the 1st 2 of my classes and was so disappointed =( the speaker was not as engaging and it was not as interactive as i expected. Booo... Mine is at Mt A. I shld have signed up for the TMC one ...

<font color="119911">Desitin Cream</font>
Oh dear, that means i've stocked up too many creams already!

<font color="119911">SAHM</font>
More SAHM = we can organise more stuff like, baking, scrapbooking etc...