(2008/11) November 2008

Dmk, i dont put pic in my face book so no point anyway i hardly update it. wait for Alibaba to intro us next week ba poor girl sick nw hope she get better soon.
Auggy bear is nt in our class she is the later class. oh n i nv buy anything from the teacher yesterday. and yes they massage the breast v rough. and i got a girl doll was throwing it around with my hubby. self entertainment.

Auggy bear, sorry was v sian after the class liao n plus i waited for a super long time for the stupid toilet. :p so that is really u next time i will say hi.. hhee i wasnt sure la.

When are they implementning the stupid 4mths! sigh... wait ba....neck n hands all v long liao

Fifi: I only know I want to bf as long as poss bah and even when go back to work. Just wondering if really need PIS coz if I can express at night and in morning & store them, then mabbe at work, I dont need to spend so much time pumping since I will have 'supplies' already so there is no need to pump both at the same time?! I wonder if my 'thinking' is correct...:x

Bear, bath thermometer I think is to measure the temp of the water when bathing bb. In Mrs Wong's class, she said is abt 37 deg (body temp), some pple use the wrist to 'test' lah but to be very sure, can use the bath thermometer.
And alamak, didnt know got free one fr Wyeth

I got a call from them, but the lady only inform that I can call their toll free line on any queries.
Bought the Avent bath/room thermometer from Mrs Wong class sighz..along with the towel, tissue she recommended!

Baby23, thanks for the info on the cheaper Medela.
So did u get a Medela pump too?

Rally: Hmm I guess the details will be revealed later by DPM this wk? Really hope it is effective immediately...yah a bit surprised no paternity leave, or govt feels that the increase to 6 days of CC leave is reasonable liao.

<font color="ff6000">teenyweeny, haru, glad</font>
Ya, great if we can arrange to go to the BF workshop together! If we gather more mummies, they might start the class earlier. It seems like only mumsfairy's workshop offers "live" demo by BF mummy which is not just theory. I did not join any antenatal classes but heard that BF is an important topic and lots of mummies give up due to insufficient knowledge and guidance.

glad:
At work if dun express means less demand on the body -> less supply.

If you want to by Medela, I suggest you compare overseas prices. SG cheapest is First Few Years but they are also not authorised dealers (i.e. their supply oso import from US). If you need more info on where to search if you want to consider importing, let me know.

<font color="119911">National Day Rally</font>
Whoa, i guess everyone's excited over the news eh! I was too excited to jot down everything, hubby was also waiting for him to annouce if there's any paternity leave..

<font color="ff0000">nikki, haru, glad</font> <font color="119911">Breast Feeding Workshop</font>
Yeah, i'm also concerned about BF cos i spent abit on the pump and intend to BF as long as i can go 'MMmmmOOooooooooo'

I heard that some mummies gave up cos they just couldn't produce milk, so i wouldn't mind all the advise and help i can get

Hiyah, why not roll out in full confirmation now make us wait in anticipation and so gan cheong wait not immediate we lose out.
1648041.gif

Bear> ya, like what FiFi mentioned, it's to be thrown into the bath tub to test the temp.
u will learn in Mrs Wong's class in Sep! u cooking? how u feeling better? or still sick? i just bought the swaddleme, small size, did i buy the wrong size? hmmmmm....

teenyweeny> no prob! remember to call tmr.

Fifi> i think the free bath thermometer is not the same one as u bought from Mrs Wong's class lah. i like the one from class, flower shaped, so cute! I didnt buy much, just the towel, the cleaning wipes &amp; the baby wrap.

Bladers:
No that is taking about the growth dividends, U-save, etc. They say on average each household gets $5K from these since last year.

Maggie: I never say anything about bath thermometer leh.

Glad: I think the "infant care leave" is aimed at the fathers... but its unpaid lor.

hey morning mummies!

this morning felt so fresh and happy with yest good news, hopefully it will be immediate effect, anyway cc subsidy and bonus will be annouced 5 days later.

glad gal,
yes,i had decided on medela PIS, wanted to buy so much on last sunday, but HB said no hurry, as other outlet sell cheaper then taka.

fifi,
Do let me know too, if u got lobang on importing PIS from US ya. Thanks.

Enne:
JL normally sells 3 x 80s at $5.50.

Baby23:
I bought from Hackley. If you confirm buying, I can send you a 5% discount. Note that you buy from US no warranty ok &amp; you need to get an adapter.

In addition, the difference between buying from US and local auth dealer is the country of manufacture. If from local auth dealer, servicing in future would cost $50 for labour. If imported, it would be $100. Note that places like first few years are not auth dealers and oso sell imported sets. Their warranty is by their own shop only and not the service centre.

Good morning, ladies.

olwen,
Yup. I've been monitoring 2x daily.
My mum will look after my baby when I'm back to work. My MIL is looking after 2 schooling kids of my BIL.

Lilian,
Ya, hubby commented. I say just buy lar..hehe..later oso realise so ex. Luckily we only buy 1 towel and 2 packs of the tissue like cloth.
I've not gone to the taka fair yet. Hope to buy tis wkend.

AuggyBear,
Thanks. I've received the hospital list.

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another stroller for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.

Seems like it gonna be a rainy day...

Alibaba> Hope u r better 2day...

Minkybear> K lah, wait for Alibaba to introduce us this sunday

Can anyone advise how much does the Avent bath/room thermometer from Mrs Wong class costs?

Baby23:
Yes I bought from that company. You need to request for the pricelist. And yes, need to call to order. Yes, adapter can buy from FFY/Medela Service Centre (original adapter $80-$85) or buy those adapters from any DIY shop or import.

Vel:
I hope oso with immediate effect. The incentives not bad lah.

Fifi,Spin-rumours.. coz a lot of speculation now ler.. some say immediate effect some say most likely Jan 2009.. nobody can cfm.. this fri we will know hor? I will be very sad too.. I think we all LUGI if its true.. pray its not lo.

It has been a while since i have come into this thread. Think most of u wld have forgotten me. Just tot i wan to share abt BF issues.

Glad,
Fifi is right. The less u pump at work (or not pumping at all), the less the supply, the more the likelihood that u will need to give up earlier or even supplement with formula. Not to forget that ur child will have increase in demand as they grow older (and grow spurts too). So what is enuf in the 1st 2 mths may not be enuf by 3rd mth. Just to share my experience, Initially when i went back to work, i can pump quite a bit bcos my body still in tune with my baby's 2-3h feed. Once i was more or less settled at work, the BM supply oso dipped bcos my body was programmed to think that my baby now only drinks every 6-8 hrs. And not to mention abt stress at work (stupid colleagues knocking on the door while u r pumping), not enuf water n food intake.... so eventually supply just dwindled. Luckily, i managed to do tandem pumping in the 1st 3 mths of my maternity. So i have quite abit of backup, and i manage to tide over until my girl is 6mths old n started on solids. Her demand for milk sort of stablise and i managed to BF her till 2. Lots of hard work n inconveniences but well worth it. 1st child BF till 6 mths fall sick easier than the 2nd one.

Re :pIS Warranty
Not to worry too much. If u take care of the pump well. Meaning not dropping from heights, let milk ssuck into pump etc.. Shldn't be a problem. I have the older version since my 1st child (she's 4 this yr). I have no problem and i'm going to use it for my 3rd. Just need to get new valves n membranes for the pump and maybe a new cooler bag.

Re: breastfeeding
As a 3rd time mum, i will truthfully say, breastfeeding is not easy. This is esp so for most mothers who do not have great supply in the 1st 1 mth. Somehow u just feel that there's nothing coming out and the baby is hungry n crying n is getting u all nervous. If family members do not understand or if mummy is just too tired, it is likely that we will succumb to formula and that's when the cycle starts. No latching on, body didn;t realise need to produce, even less milk produce. Time to breastfeed, no time, give formula again. That's how some mothers fail.

enne,
chun bo? hopefully it is not true lar, otherwise all mummies here will be v disappointed de. I pray that it will be immediate effect!

Spin-Yeah lo.. aiya hope won't be disappointed.

baby23-hope the rumour is wrong la.. aiya.. let's all pray hard!!!

fifi,
i will see anyone else order from US,then i will tobang them, as i nvr try order myself from oversea b4,not a risk taker too, otherwise if anything goes wrong,hb will put the blame on me.
I heard that mums &amp; babes is the authorise dealer for medela, wondered does any capital mall has the outlet, as i hv $600 capitalmall voucher to spend.

baby23:
Hard to get pple to tonpang coz who wants to be responsible for such an expensive item for you. In addition, ordering for you = have to pay extra for GST. So help you = more work, more stress and pay more for their own pump. If you dun want to do it yourself, then buy from singapore lor.

Enne:
I pray hard that its 1 Sep lor. I think the press conference is today.

good morning everyone!

Were the new maternity policies all implemented with immediate effect in 2004? I thought they were implemented in Aug after the National Day rally. If that was true, then they should implement it immediately this time round too, isn't it? Hmm...

Dear Ladies,
Gd morning! What a nice day to sleep in!

Let's hope they implement the new perks for maternity benefits immediately. But worrying that currently though getting 3 mths maternity leave, some bosses are already not happy. Imagine 4 mths maternity leave and they may find means and ways to let you leave the company once they know about your pregnancy..

<font color="ff6000">B2BM4</font>
Ya, I'm worried on BF issue that's why I think it's betta to attend a workshop so that we know what to expect.

<font color="ff6000">Breast Pumps</font>
Medela seems to be a popular brand but heard that Ameda is not bad also. Anyone can comment on Ameda? Thxs!

hi nikki,
sure! i will be happy to go for the BF workshop together. =>

teenyweeny,
hahhaah..so funny leh you..ya, think we will feel a lil like a cow initially!keke..

hi B2B3M4,
thanks for the sharing. wow, u r expecting the 3rd one, girl or boy? i also heard that PIS is very stable won't spoilt easily as far as we handle it properly. A good and reliable breast pump is very important, as sometimes we can't bf due to sore nipple, and we need to express milk for the baby frequently,and this PIS can express more milk in shorter time.

Good morning mummies-to-be ...

maternity benefits: Lets pray hard it starts immediately ... but it still depends if individual companies were to follow it and when they will implement it?

Baby23:
Yah PIS is supposed to be very durable. That's why they can offer long warranty (1 yr from auth dealer). The cheaper Medela models some offer only 6 mths.

Actually hor, if you really want PIS, buy from US really cheaper lor. You will save about $200. If suay suay anything wrong, you send for servicing $100, you still have $100 savings. Just that you muz put in some effort lah.

But really up to you.

--

What I hope is this: BB bonus and ML implement 1 Oct (as before). The childcare leave and infant care leave implement 1 Jan coz its by per year so start new year easier for HR.

fifi
yalor, so so much cheaper and tempting, but i m not a risk taker lar, somemore i heard no warranty if order from US, haiz just spend a bit more to buy in sg, afterall it is all for the baby, baby is ex n precious, must invest!

ithe cc leave and infant care leave only implement 1 jan then hubby cannot take it to help when i deliver..=<

anyway boss says company still flexi for any arrangements with or without e implementation. =D

Got an embrassing question to ask you all...*blush*
How you all going to do the "deed" to have a second kid when your first is sleeping with you? or do you take the kid out of the room first? Just curious...