(2008/11) November 2008

gin78: oh sorry, correction. i shd not say "will induce". but it can induce labour. it's a uterine tonic. according to the literature, it's safe to take after 36 weeks & can ease your labour. thanks, i been on MC for more than 2 weeks already. counting down 7 more weeks.

fifi: actually i also got discount cos i have kk jr's club mbrship but i didn't bring my card tt day. anyway, it will be good for Bear cos i hit almost $50 & so the lady gave me the VIP card. otherwise it wld have been much less & no VIP card. i like your description of minkybear

happy: piang. but then again, by the time my 3 come out, they will probably weigh collectively more than tt. oh ya, forgot u also live in punggol. w 3 dogs

re: Raspberry tea
I read from some website and books that it will trigger something.. i cant rem it clearly but i have been avoiding raspberry content since preg..
May need to check with gynae then..

gin78,
i think we will be rejoicing if e rumours are true!!

greengrape,
haha, think its nothing to worry about. its normally for the baby to be moving more at this stage of pregnancy. maybe just getting in the olympics spirit too!!

Haru

Glad that the active moving is nothing to worry about.

childbearing incentive
Read in the Oct08 MTB thread that the 'rumours' may only be implemented from 1 Oct. Guess most of us in the Nov08 thread will benefit.

really pray hard it will benefit us...wow, I love to have 4mth maternity..hahahaha

Fifi..I pay u tonight k.

Btw anybody interested in taka voucher? I have $70 to let go, can give 10% discount.

Morning all!

Today is my off so lazing at home, but need to work fr 7-9pm tonite blah..:x

Yah also waiting for gd news fr the Rally :p hopefully the childcare leave is true for the daddies even those in private sector!!

DMK: Gd that your test result was ok! Take care...

Alibaba: Don't overwork!

Yup the last lesson quite interesting, 'playing' with the doll, tho I was quite clumsy oops hopefully when bb is born, wouldnt be so awkward when changing diaper and bathing....

Sunshinekid, added you in MSN too

greengrape,

4 mths PAID maternity? wow!!! HOORAY!!!! best is to have another option of no pay leave up to 6 mths!!!
i hope it is confirmed!

will it be announced in the PM's rally tonite at 8pm?

Olwen,
I took durians, not sure if this is the case, bb has grown to 840gms @26wks but still below 900gms mark. Overall, I am happy that he grown. My gynae also ask me if I need rest due to my border line bp and she also mentioned, it could be due to stress @ work. I have to keep my head cool to prevent high bp. Need to inform gynae once bp goes high.

gin78,
I oso heard that raspberry tea is to be taken @ the last mth. Similar to coconut drink.

glad_gal,
Yes, the last lesson, playing with the doll and some dolls had broken limbs or hands. Guess, we've to be gentle. ;p

Greengrape,
Glad to hear that we are entitled if the rumour is true.

Re: 4 mths maternity,

wah! 3 months am dying liao now give 4mths ah? i rather that one month give to father leh.. so we have 3 months and papa have 1 month :D

Kash

Too much rumours flying around in SMH. Guess need to wait till tonight rally.

Just read in Oct08 thread, the latest 'rumours' is that the childbearing incentive may be only for 2009 MTB

hiz~ went for my appt last friday and BB weighs 1.1kg at 28wks+ while i've gained 9.5kg in total.. must be all the staying at home and doing nothing makes me gain more weight..

alibaba, so gd.. can see ur cute son's face.. my gal position still couldn't do the 3D scan..

olwen, thanks for ya wishes =)

maternity:

hope that HB get to have leaves too even in private sector.. and gin u're right, must die die get a government job =P

Morning all,

Alibaba & Dmk,
No wonder didnt see all of you in class. Yesterday was on bathing the bb and also learning to carry bb. By the way make up class will have to wait for Sept when she start a new class.

Incentive by government hope it is true. must try to catch tonight's speech.

Auggy bear, can send me the hospital pack list? Thanks. By the way did you attend the anternal class at TMC yesterday? tot it is you bt i nt confirm. So didnt smile or say hi. Super unfriendly sorry. Me v bad with face recognition. :p
Hope you all have a nice day. Later me going for photo shoot will nt be able to post. catch you all tomorrow

Cross our fingers for good news in tonight's speech.

Fifi, nw can't be stylish liao i cut my hair now look tu tu wahaa..although hubby was nice he say i look cute with the pumpkin head. Bleach:p

Dmk, you were in class oh didn't knw i still nt sure hw you look like haha bt i was sitting behind looking bored as usual. me nt good with lectures,either fall asleep or talking wahaa..bt ya bb doll was fun, can anyhw wrap and bend :p

mummies: i found JJmom! she has gone over to oct mums thread. i got curious cos greengrape said they were discussing & went in to check. there she was.

Yen: don't stress. is your bp hereditary or caused by pregnancy? i was so stressed & worried in the 1st 5 mths tt during my DS, dr loh said the babies were slightly smaller than single babies. now it seems they r growing better. actually they r not say v big, abt same size as yours but he is happy cos after all, the nutrients r shared & he doesn't want them to come out too early. so, just relax. & if she is willing to give u MC, shd just take it & rest.

hui: i agree leh. papa must also play a part. if they make it compulsory tt employers must give the papa, it will benefit everybody.

greengrape: maybe part but i'm quite sure a big chunk will be effective from 1 sep or 1 oct cos dr loh was v sure when he spoke to me on saturday. then again, he only told me the part tt i was concerned abt.

all our mummies here must be v cross w the ping pong girls now, caused us to miss hearing this impt news immediately

Alibaba, hw your doc take the photo really v clear and nice. mine came out looking abit scary... :p i guess is the angle ba. my baby making kallang wave in my tummy haa.. v cute. can see my tummy going up and down, up and down haa..

fifi & haru, a very belated Happy Birthday to you 2!

fifi, met u last Friday .. didnt know it's your birthday.

alibaba, hope u recover completely soon! If u really feel bad, please go home rest bah.

Went for gynae checkup last Sat ... bb weighs 1.31kg and my total weight gain is 11.1kg @ wk 28 day 7. 82 more days to go ...

childbearing incentive: Wow 4mths maternity leave? Really? I will miss the National Day Rally Speech today cos got antenatal class.

auggy_bear, can you send me the items to bring for delivery too? [email protected]

Jenn: good good. u must eat well since u r alone at home w only little doggie to accompany u. hmmm... if u all think the baby looks cute in 3D scan, wait till he/she actually comes out. then again, my godson's mother was v horrible. she told the midwife my godson was an alien & told her to take him away.

dun tink can go half day liao.. few stuff are still pending..

hui> u can link to my multiply account meh?? if can do so. actually i oso duno ! haha

minkybear> DMk said she nv see u..den u nv see her. Are both of u in the same class?? fainted..
yah, i tink i have to join the sept class for replacement...

jenn> ur gal so shy ah... btw gender still cant see yet??

I read the benefits from www.momsinmind.com:

Red raspberry leaf tea has been used for thousands of years and has earned the reputation of being the "supreme" herb for pregnant women. It can relieve almost any discomfort of pregnancy from morning sickness to leg cramps. It has also been shown to strengthen & tone the uterine wall and help to make delivery easier and speedier by helping the uterus contract more efficiently and helps expel the placenta after.

Raspberry leaf has a rich concentration of vitamin C, E, A & the B complexes. It also contains calcium & iron in one of its most absorbable forms. These are all nutrients which are very important during pregnancy.

Historically women have taken raspberry leaf tea throughout their pregnancies up to and including childbirth. You may choose to drink our Mothers' Nutritious Tea 4 Two during your pregnancy but add more red raspberry leaves to your Tea 4 Two Herb Blend in your final month of pregnancy. This would be great for drinking during labour & right after.

To make a tea, pour 1 cup boiling water over 1 to 2 teaspoons of herb and steep for ten minutes. Strain.

During the first trimesters, drink 1 cup per day. During second trimester, drink 2 to 3 cups per day. In the final trimester, drink 4 to 5 cups per day. Using a teaball would be useful. You can also drink it HOT or chilled/

Alibaba, 3.30pm class on sunday right? then should be same lor. just that i dont remember hw she look :p Dmk post your pic then i knw who u are wahhaa...

minkybear> i am jus plain lucky. cos bb jus nice in right position. wahaha.. previous appt oso no luck.. WAH.. ur bb so active! kallang wave somemore like national day.

Jo: 1.31 kg! sure bo? piang. u better cut down the durians otherwise u'll be the next mother w 4.2 kg baby like happy's relative.

Hi guys.. couldn't wake up today. sigh... coughing like mad the whole night. i think my cough has degenerated to bronchitis.

Re: New benefits
Eh, 4 mths maternity?! how am i ever gonna finish using it? i already have probs using up 3 mths! Sigh.. even got paternity leave also no use cos my hb is self employed. cannot enjoy such things. I wish they give us free childcare/ infantcare!

DMK, hope all's well with u today!

Alibaba, poor u.. u got take any meds?

alibaba, yup~ shy gal.. Dr Ang as usual say BB still look like a gal lor.. lol~ he nv mention the weight alright anot though.. just say 1.1kg..

olwen, scared all the weight gained goes to me lehl.. coz lazing at home ma =P y ur godson's mum said that wor??

GreenGrape, sigh I did have the suspicion that it may not be applicable to us..
but well i guess we can still enjoy the benefitis for subsequent children if really only for deliveries in 2009...

Going to Taka fair later to get my Pigeon sterilizer and other stuff..hope won't spend too much hee..

olwen: no wonder! tot didnt see JJmum for sometime liao...was wondering what happen!

ok, i just checked PMO. rally speech still not out yet. i guess really got to wait till tonite to hear it. me go lie down & come back later. everybody have a good lunch.

How can they do this to us? They shld make it immediate effect mah. Just like how they did for other stuff. Last time they even backdate.

aiyah Bear workaholic. told u to rest. tell u & alibaba, no employer is going to thank u for being so hard working.

Jenn: aiyah, my godson's mum talks a lot of nonsense. when i was having so much problem conceiving, she even asked me whether i wanted to adopt my godson. siao. u mean u r not entirely sure whether your bb is really a minnie??? but u bot so many girl things already!

glad gal: yah boy. lemme go check her due date. she's probably one of those like pkum, edd straddling both oct & nov.

fifi: haha. young mummy you, so excitable. relax. wait for the full details to come out tonite. anyway i told u all one impt part abt the NICU already, right?

Bear,
why would you have problems using the Maternity Leave? This is the best opportunity we have to bond with the kid and learn the journey into motherhood.

Glad-gal
I plan to have only 1 kid, just to experience motherhood. Hubby left the decision to have kid or not to me, he does not care. So don't think will get to enjoy the benefit for deliveries in 2009 or later

olwen, well~ Dr Ang nv gave me a definate 100% is gal lor.. just say looks like a gal to him every appt.. so how? have to take it as a gal ma =D lol~ ur godson's mum must be joking ba..

Olwen:
Whatever perks they give no use if not applicable to us mah... Anyway if really 2009 then I feel its very unfair. Juz coz our babies are "done deal", i.e. give or dun give, we will still deliver the babies does not mean they dun contribute to increasing Singapore's birth rate mah. Incentives shld be given to all Singaporean parents lor, not juz to entice those who have yet to conceive. As if those who already conceive dun need the benefits for our children. We face the same joys and hardships as the parents who have yet to conceive.

Olwen, in a way i m my own boss... i gotta make sure my research moves along wat. oh well.. might go and see the doc later but i dunno if i wanna take the meds.

Greengrape, cos i m still studying mah. can't be away from my studies too long. no point me coming back to sch for classes when i m on maternity leave lor. so i m gonna take only 8 wks of maternity first, then the last 4 wks i will use it another time.

Aiyo, if the benefits really going to take effect only in 2009, I will be very sad man!! This should be my last pregnancy liao. Pray very hard it will take effect asap.

Will be going for my checkup this Wed. Hopefully baby is growing on par. How heavy shld the baby be at 26wks ah?

sunshinekid,
wow if only effective in 2009 i also very sad. cos this might also b my last pregnancy liaos. n we just miss by a bit. hope the government will steady steady start with effective from today onwards. wkakakka....

Enne, I'm in 28wks+ liao... think gynae dun wanna commit to saying 100% is a gal ba.. the 20th wk detailed scan also couldn't see coz she happened to go into sleeping position with legs crossed..

I'm going for my checkup tomorrow evening.. also anxious to know bb weight...

Jenn-ohh.. okie.. shy shy baby la.. hee..

all anxious abt t baby incentives??

My reliable source confirmed t 4 mths paid ML.

Other stuff - Increase CC leave to 6 days. Introduce new Infant care leave. More bb bonus and CC subsidy etc.
Source say all these should be effective immediate.

Wishes do comes true!

Bibi, I will b taking single-bedded room. Hb wants to stay with me.

Ladies who attended Mrs Wong's class - She taught us how to clean bb's face using cooled down boiled water with cotton wool rite? For how many wks r we suppose to do this? I asked my mum abt it, but she doesn't even know muz do it tat way.

Yen, where were u sitting on Sat? Me also v clumsy when handling t toy bb. Gd tat Mrs Wong wants t guys to do most of t practice. I tink her intention is gd... & inline with our PM's wish to get daddies more involved in childcare. Hahah...

olwen, tat's wat the gynae calculated lah ... over the past 3 wks, I gained ttl of 2.1kg and bb gained abt 500gms. Think I bound to have a big bb.

Sleepy after lunch ... zZZZzZ

Lilian, wah ur baby incentives sound very gd! i hope it comes true! looking forward for the childcare benefits and also the extra money!!

My MIL is on my case again.. she is hinting for me to abandon my dog. keep saying why must have a dog at home, bb more impt than dog. i very annoyed leh!! i told her my dog came first so bb is 2nd.. Also she was surprised that i wanted to breastfeed my bb.. she asked me how i m gg to express my milk and isn't it better for the bb to be drinking FM. hear liao super fan.

Alibaba,
Your bb's 3D scan is so clear. Can see all the features.

Jenn,
Same, we got a shy bb. I think most gynae won't confirm 100% on gender. Always say most likely onli.

Bear,
My Mil is also not tat pro on Bfing, but the strange thing is that she Bfed all her children. So irony right?

Bear because their generation, they are discourge by letting baby drink BF, & we should use the time to pu back our body lo. That y older generation alway discouraging us now. Just like last time 2 child policies , now the more the merrier, generation changes ma.

Before my gal is born, i was also affected by the elderly nagging whether can my dog be together with the baby, astmatic lah, dog fur no good, dirty lah, jealousy. But after my gal is born, I am so surprise & touch by the gentleness of how my dog play & handle my gal. N they are good friends & companion now. So is really very hard to determine now...ask her dont be so nagging lah...dont worry about stuff that might not happen...

olwen,
Thanks. BP is caused by pregnancy not hereditary. I didn't take the mc cos too busy at work tat time. I promised to take my bp daily if bp goes hay wired, need to see gynae immediately. Need to take medicine to control my bp if that happens, otherwise confine to bed rest (gynae will give me HL). 2 days ago shoot to 123/66..if reach 130=> considered as high.

Lilian,
I'm sitting the row behind you counting from outside the kids toilet(3rd couple). I also like the seat outside the toilet(ur seat). Yes. Agreed, that daddy should try. Hahaha..Hubby tried and he look so serious. After that I tried too. As usual we are late cos couldn't find parking lot and I go up 1st then my hubby came in after he park the car.

I asked my mum on the cool boil water with cotton wool. She told me that's for new born but I didn't ask her until when we need to stop doing that. She says after her delivery, KK nurse will come and teach her how to bathe bb. I guess we will be taught again after we delivered in TMC. If I rememeber, Mrs Wong mentioned TMC will give bb bath samples when discharged. We bought 1 bath towel and 2 wash cloths for bb bath. My hubby found the bath towel expensive for $9. Did you buy any?
Bath accessories seems is Avent body wash foam and others are Johnson and Johnson products (bb oil, balmer cream for bb bottom etc).
I also have a doubt, the vera/balmer cream for bb bottom suppose to use every time after bath or only when have rashes? I rem use Destin cream only when bb bottom had nappy rash.

How nice..4mths ML, 6 days of CCL, infant care leave...more child care subs..

Snnowy, Bear
Both my mum and my mil encourage breast feeding. In fact, they told me to breast feed for 3 mths (till maternity leave is over). If maternity leave is 4mths, I guess, they will tell me to breast feed till 4mths lor.

Lilian
Taking that your rumours are all true, any idea if the 4th month is like the 3rd month, meaning it's flexible and we can take anytime up till when bb is 6 months old? Or we MUST take the full 4 months immediately after we have given birth?