(2008/11) November 2008

Jo,
I was advised to give barley water (must be chinese barley) to my tod whenever she has fever. But can't remember the reason.

Nap
Nat has stopped taking her am nap for the last 4 weeks. Instead of napping at 4pm, now she naps at 3pm, for about 2hours. By skipping her am nap, she gets cranky by lunch time. To fight her crankiness, I bring her to her bed at her usual am nap time of 10.30/11am n let her laze ard for abt 30 min. After her short rest, she is usally more cooperative during her lunch feed.
I think whether the tod takes 1 or 2 naps, it is the total no. of sleep-hours in a 24hr period that counts.

kelianz moomummy
i'll lose my cool if nini does that at nite.. so u jus pretend to sleep thruout when he's awake or u played with him?

Jes
no i dun nap with nini.. for her daytime nap she sleeps on the giant rocker and then i'll go do watever tings i wan to do.. only free time lei...

peanut
me not kelian lah,got used to it liao.wahahaha..
me dun play with him at all. i'll pretend to sleep unless he climbs down the bed himself to walk around in the room. usually, i'll just sit on my bed and see him walk walk here, walk walk there lor.. then after abt 1 hour plus, he'll get tired and bored from all the walking and squatting and will climb into my arms for a cuddle and fall back asleep on the bed.

moomummy
cos u and me different character! hahahaa.. u're patient whereas i'm impatient and more hot tempered..
But good ting he's not those wake up disturb u guys and crying type.. at least u can see see him and rest ur eyes sometimes.. hope he'll outgrow this habit soon

peanut
yah, let us pray hard for our kids to sleep thru the nite soundly every nite!!

Going home soon. have a nice evening ladies!

<font color="aa00aa">hi mummies..</font>

<font color="ff6000">i saw this brochure from toysrus last wk &amp; was very tempted to get the motorcycle for my elder son, Mav as he simply love anything associated with uniforms groups such as police officer, army officer &amp; even firemen..</font>

<font color="119911">not sure if i shd..so was wondering if mummies here with battery operated vehicles such as car or motorcycle can advise me if i shd go for this motorcycle (from toysrus) or car (got to source on my own) instead?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Now Toys R Us selling at S$69.95..</font>

3735019.jpg

hi mummies: took yesterday off to bring kai out &amp; he had made his own plans w his grandma! duh. our kids r growing up so fast. think only aly_nat can empathise w me on this point.

snnowy: yah, ignore such ppl. i'm still in serangoon but my place is v near kovan. if i'm not lazy which i am, i can even walk to chillipadi's house, 15 mins. i miss her &amp; her hubby's cooking leh.

Jo: poor lucas, maybe after he recovers can bring him to TCM physician. my big boy started at this age, i think it does help. then when he was 4, my mum started giving him bird's nest. honestly, my children r eating me out of house &amp; home cos my MIL likes to give them v good stuff to eat. she secretly feeds them pearl powder behind my mum's back. 1 small packet costs $10.

will be dropping by Taka tonight hopefully. anybody want to go?

Olwen,
n what did u do? Let him go ahead with his plans w G'ma? Next time make appointment w him lah. For me, I'm likely to ask Aly to change plans, n then bribe her wth her favorite makan. Otherwise, she will sulk n say I dun respect her decision. 8 yr olds - "shake head".

Lucas is having his fever 38-39+ degree ... his head always feel so hot. Tried to sponge him with ice water middle of last nite and leave wet towel on his forehead .. somehow subsides .. then morning his temperature rises again. The doc only gave paracetamol and the medicine to put in his buttocks only. Dunnoe if I shld bring him to the doc again. My hb even thought need to admit him.

Jo
it all arises aft he took the MMR jab??
u mentioned the doc say this fever (viral) will hover for ~3days is that so then today is day # wat? As per doc's advise if the fever stil does not subside aft e timeline then better bring to doc again ba..

peanut,
He took his MMR jab on 27 Feb. Then last Monday, he got sore throat, fever and pus in the nose and almost recovered by weekend. But Sunday his fever came.
The doc never mentioned how long this fever will last. But was it moomummy who mentioned yesterday viral fever will last 3-4days?

Jo, someone mentioned that MMR vaccine may 'weaken' the immune system of the child... Maybe tat why ah Lucas caught t virus. I think as long Lucas is alert, he should b fine.

jo
Per doc advise MMR side effect will appear after the jab or 1 week later.. .. &amp; true enough T got slight fever after the jab &amp; also got fever 38+ after 1 week too.. the fever takes about 3-4days. now subside. Last time T kanna before viral fever...can go up to 39+40 degree.. doc gave brufen for him. &amp; advise can only gave 1 time (this medicine is strong for young child but if fever too high den mus give) i tink it take almost 1 week to really subside wor. u try give him soak in warm water for at least 20mins .. tat is wat we always did when he got fever.. quite effective. &amp; yah like wat lilian mentioned.. he mus be still playing &amp; alert.

jo
yes, i mentioned that the viral fever will last for about 3 to 4 days. the doc also mentioned that if the fever dun goes off after 3 or 4 days, have to bring him back for further consultation. After his viral fever subsided, he started to have rashes on his body and had diarrohea too. but these went off after a few days too.
my boy had fever last week too, which is abt 2 weeks after his MMR jab. it lasted for about 3 days. temperature hovered ard 38 - 39 degrees. his appetite was not good, but he was pretty alert and playing quite alot too. so we din bring him to the doc, only gave him paracetamol.

You mentioned that you sponge Lucus with ice water? the doc told me to sponge my boy with warm water instead. he advised me to sponge him under his armpits, between the joints of his limbs, his neck...etc. but i also wiped his whole body which helps too.

Re: Viral Fever
This is wad my PD and the KK hotline nurse told me. Viral fever will last up to a week and can be very high. Paracentamol/medication can bring down the fever but it will go up again. This is normal. Just sponge the child and try to keep the child hydrated. If paracentamol/medication cannot bring down the fever at all, child has decreased activity and sleeps too much, must bring to see PD again.

jo and moomummy: yeah my PD also recommend warm water. cause cold water will shocked bb. hope he get well soon. that time brandon got the viral fever, also up and down. he is totally finished with his fever about 4-5 days. no appetite, soft soft like that.. my mom ask me to cook porridge. boil soup like lotus soup and cook with the porridge till soft soft, add fish/ minced pork give bb eat. n i boil barley every day to replace his water intake.. heaty.. that what my mom say. take care!

buttock: my boy's buttock very red.. not like those normal diaper rash.. got a few bump. going to bring him see doc later.

Mummies ... my hb got the idea of sponge Lucas with ice water leh ... whats more ... in our air-conditioned room leh. Think we are the culprits of him not able to recover!

Jo,
The last time R had viral fever it took about 1-2 weeks. The first fever came and was on and off for 4 days. Then was fine for few days before it came back again for another 3-4 days. But then R was still ok, can play despite the fever so it didn't get me too worried. For the fever to subside, i gave paracetamol every 4 hrs and iprobufen every 6 hrs. Hope Lucas get well soon.

ah Jo, like tat Lucas might catch a cold leh...
That time when K high fever, we were sponging her at KKH, the senior nurse scolded us for letting K wear a wet blouse (due to t sponging). Ask us quickly chg her to a dry blouse else she will catch a cold.
Also cannot sponge too long leh. Limit to 20min issit, mummies?

ah lian,jo,
yeah, dun sponge for too long, 15 mins to 20 mins should be sufficient. I did it religiously for every 2 hours that time coz darius cannot sleep well at all. the doc did say tat air-conditioner can help bring the temperature down abit, but I did not want to take the risk. so only turn on the fan and let it oscillate to have better ventilation in the room..

jo: don sleep in air con le.. my son when he sick, we didn sleep in aircon.. cause i feel the air circulation the germs is within the room.. n coldness, scare catch cold.

lilian: as for sponging, i sponge him if too hot.. how long i don think got more than 5 min. hehe.. actually, my PD say the best way to bring down temp is to let him sit in the bathtub filled with warm water and sponge him. but if ur home got old pp, they don like the idea of bathing when sick. but i don care, cause i think doc know what they are advising.. my MIL say must wear long sleeve long pant no fan. my PD say wear loose clothing don wear too thick will bring up temp.. but not singlet la. i follow the doc way

umm... sounds horrible like aft MMR sure wil kena sick.. haiz.. my gal not even fully recovered from her cough somemore.. Tink i'll delay e jab for a while.. at least aft i come back from Beijing in late Apr.. Dun wan to be away when she's sick...

ermmm
i took T to take MMR when he is perfectly ok . free from illness &amp; also next few weeks have no function.. try to give them barley water or bao sheng before the jab.. we do give barley water when he got fever also.. probably help abit to defend the virus bah..

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

I told my hb no more ice water for sponging and use only warm water which he dun really believe it can keep temperature down. But I dun care and told him dun ever try his method again.

I sponge Lucas for abt 5mins only. Then juz leave a wet towel on his forehead and I fall back to sleep liao. I know I'm a Cant Make It Mummy but simply too tired.

Alibaba,
I still haven't bring R for her MMR.The after effects of MMR sounds scary. She was sick when her jab was due and i have delay till now. Like u said, better bring them when no functions n they healthy. Bringing her to Phuket in May so i think got to send her for her jab early apr or end mar.
Congrats on ur 2nd boy!! Can pass down clothing n toys..

Peanut,
Which LNT branch u bringing A to for the trials? I called up LNT toa payoh but the person said no trials available.

actually it isn't the temp of the water that is bringing the kid's temp down but the water evaporating from the skin. I do know that if the fever is too high (40 and abv) the hospitals do use cold baths. My sis kena that before cos she is allergic to paracetamol (&amp; all fever meds) so the hospital dunked her in ice water. her temp was abt 40.6 deg then and she was delirious. Ice water is only used when no other means can bring the temp down. If ur kid is happy and cheerful i won't worry too much abt the fever. even if u wanna hospitalise ur kid, think they also dun want cos fever is actually a sign that ur body is fighting the infection.

Gd luck.. gotta fly.. super busy!

jo, tink use room temp water (tap water) oso can, just make sure it isn't too cold.

we all know it's not easy for us mummies when the kids fall sick. u take care too.

jo
yah stop using ice water liao... even my sil (ex kk nurse) mentioned if bathe bb with cold water, later bb will get fits. sooo she suggest warm water is good enough.. sponging> &amp; is use one bucket of water to sponge him. mus keep raising the towel with water squeese dry den sponge bb de. sponge bb armpit, neck, forehead for about 15mins. i still find soaking bb in his bathtub most effective la...

agreed with bear
as long bb is alert &amp; happy. u must not worry too much.. my sil told me, after everyting probably bb got better immunity

thanks babyzel
i tink u shld bring R for the jab earlier or after the trip. else if bb sick during holiday will be quite difficult.

bbzel
yah i'm bringing her to the one at TPY.. I jus called to confirm abt the trial.. tink its full already tts y they told u that..

Peanut,
I called 2-3 months back, the lady told me they do not conduct any more trial lessons.She bluffed me, gonna call her back again.

Welcome Darlest.

Alamak!! ALIBABA!!! forgot to congrat abt ur 2nd boy!! heez... do u stil need my hand-down clothings from Nini?? gosh.. tink i better find some other frens to quickly giv away.. die die dun wan giv my hub's cousin..

nut> thanks ah... i tink i dun take ur nini's clothes la... i am not thinking about #3... or u keep it &amp; tell ur mil that u gave away liao. ahahha..

MMR jab delay:
ANy mummies here doing the same thing as me?
HAiz.. now she not yet recovered.. mid apr me going to beijing.. then late May thinking of bringing her to Bintan.. going by this rate.. tink its safer to jab her in Jun?? By then she's in her 20th mth liao.. very late hor.. how ah.. haiz....

If not then its early May.. but ther's a risk since they can get sick 1 or even 2 weeks later! A bit risky for our Bintan trip planned on e 3rd week of may....

welcome Darlest!

peanut,
i tink the MMR jab can be slightly delayed bah coz my husband's niece only got the jab when she was about 28 months. her PD din want her to get the MMR jab earlier becoz she wasn't talking alot yet when she was abt 15 months or so. Can check with your gal's PD to confirm.

moomummy and peanut: I haven let Brandon take his MMR jab yet. that time when i met PD i did mention to him about not talking cant take jab. but he told me is rumor and not scientific truth. he did mention delay of MMR will lead to prone to measles etc that is protecting with the jab.. am still in doubt..
any suggestion. I probably may let him take the jab end of mar. brandon is not talking much.. just babbling.. he can only say mama..

peanut: so shiok, go beijing then bintan..

jo: u can go to www.babycenter.com.sg website to look for fever/sponging. and u can show HB that ice water is nono.. at least can show him u know. there got a lot of relevant info, i always go down there to find info if i in doubt. is very useful.

diaper rash?: brandon's backside is not diaper rash, is eczema.. doc say he is allergic to DESTIN. the zinc oxide too strong for him. haiz..

toilet training: now brandon is diaper free! except for meal times, nap time and bed time. and also outing.. we tried and let him diaper free.. he actually can control his bladder.. but at times there are oops.. and when we brought him to toilet n shhh... he will. but if he struggles and shake his head.. means don want.. so clever!

alibaba> the GUG trial was ok, not bad. but Darwin cant sit still. he was walking everywhere, cant concentrate. The teacher say it'll take them a few lessons to listen.
u going?

Jo> take care. Darwin got fever after the MMR jab, 5 days later, for 3 days, just like what the PD says. Hope Lucas get well soon. i think should give some braley water. Darwin takes barley once a week.

mmr: mmr jab is related to egg. my friend says if bb is allegic to egg, cannot take mmr jab. i yet have try give him the whole egg yet.. has all of mummies start to give bb the whole egg?

whether your bub takes the MMR jab at 15 months or later, do remember that this is one of the complusory jab under the National Immunisation Program. At P1 school registration, u will be asked to provide bub's immunisation cert. MMR is routinely given at 1-2 years old, with a booster dose at P1 or 2. Gee, sounds like a long time still, isn't it?

Hi, Darlest.

hi moomummy, babyzel &amp; aly_nat,

Thanxs for welcome-ing me =)

hi lynn, my gal is also due for her mmr soon. but i decide to delay till she 2 years old. coz i chanced upon a thread regards to vaccinations &amp; the info there shaken me &amp; i decide to take a seat back in vaccination. one of my gf giv her gal mmr when her daughter is 2 yrs old. she just told the pd tat she not comfortable to give her gal the jab at tat point of time &amp; the pd said didnt object. &amp; the jab must be given when the baby is healthy, no flu, no fever &amp; etc.. duno wat the rest of the mummies tots..

my gal also still blabbing. only know how to say dad dad, mama, letter A, baby &amp; purple. watever she want she will point, if dont want she will shake her head.