(2008/11) November 2008

peanut, if my bb fuss during feed .. and refused to drink for a long time .. I pass to my maid to feed. Hehe. Maybe change pple carry n feed, he happy liao then will start to drink after awhile.

I called up the bb clinic abt supporting bb, holding his thighs on the potty, she says too young to toilet train him. Let him poo whenever he wants.

Happy..
*counting** 100days=3.5mths.. hopefully i haven turn siao by then.. But if she really improves then i wil definitely go temple thank god liao. This morning cried until my mil said she see me cry she also wan to cry.. haiz..

Jo
actually my mil does most of e feedings and she's able to tame her easier thou ther are some difficult times as well.. i'm jus so sad i can't tame her as well as my mil.. how to bring her out long and feed her when my mil is not around...

mummies: My baby has problem getting into deep sleep. very often he woke up in between his sleep and cry. Is this normal? what can I do to let him sleep better? Anyone with same experience?

poohbeary
v normal.. but issit during daytime or at nite? my bb usually wakes up v easily in daytime, startled by sounds easily.. so we let her sleep on tummy, like tt she can sleep better

just brought my bb for her jab this morn. so scary to see e needle poked into her thigh.ouch!

lovedogs,
can i ask bout bringin the pump out for expressing? today is the first time i brot my pump out to express (did it in the car!). i just put the pump funnel in a ziplock bag and but in a cooler bag (using allerhand) and a sterilized bottle to store e milk. only aft i come home then i wash and sterilize e bottle. is that ok? what if i need to express more than once when i am outside? can i use e pump again w/o sterilizing it? when i am in office i can stil soak in hot water but when outside can't..can advise?

realized my ice pack started to melt quite a bit already when i reached home which is about 5 hours since i went out..

re: pumping of milk
thanks for all e encouragement mummies, there is an increase in e amt pumped today especially on e hours which i have never previously pumped before. i was only gettin like 5-10ml past 2 days but managed to get 40ml today. happy at the improvement. will keep it going!

can i ask if i will still need to pump the other side which baby did not latch when i return to work? i intend to let baby latch when i am at home when i return to work and pump only at work..

poohbeary,
my baby also tends to wake up quite easily durin her nap but only at home. outside she happily sleeps for long time even with loud music blasting. can be quite challenging for me as i am alone at home most of the time. and i normally have to quickly do e chores, eat, etc. plus now i hv to try to pump too to get my supply of EBM. but i tried to play some music (quite loudly in fact) during e afternoon for her nap and she has managed to sleep quite well. but in her rocker, not her cot. thinkin of getting a CD player to play music in my room durin her afternoon nap and see if she can sleep just as well.

shop4stuffs

my bb is on FM. Weight:4.8kg at week 4. Dont have his present weight. Drink every 2hr.

Enne

Do take care and be strong. Will pray for your son.

Jo,

u let ur maid feed bb huh? i have not let maid feed baby yet....she has been here for more than 1 month liao... ihave not even ask her to heat up my EBM, or make milk for my elder gal... I dunno why but i juz dun feel comfortable letting the maid touch my kids... am I strange or am i being nasty? so far i have only asked her to feed my elder gal her meals twice...and i was pumping milk next to her keeping a close watch. Can I ask how u ladies can let maid handle your kids huh? I juz cannot overcome this yet leh? although maid seems ok... and has a 5 yr old son herself.

peanut,

hhmm..could it be ur bb has been used to latching on? thats why rejecting bottle?

haru,

i nvr bring pump out to pump in public before. I find it so inconvenient. I will rather tong for many hours, reach home then pump. Last time when I went back to work, I have 2 sets of funnels. But i only bring 1 funnel to office. The thing is after i pump once before lunch, I will drive to my mum's place to deliver EBM for my gal then. I will wash and sterilize in my mum's place and bring it back to office for another pumping session towards the end of the day. Later I only pump once in office, it was so much easier... Suggest u can buy another spare funnel...wont need to wash and sterilize so often. I put the funnel in a lock and lock box. bottles with sealing discs in a ziplock bag.

poohbeary,

do u have beansprout pillow on your bb? it shd help....i also try to watch TV loud loud with bb on his rocker in the living room... heehe...so he can get used to loud noise and zzzz...

Poo poo:
I sit my baby on my lap facing me and support her back and head. That way she can poo finish in 1 go rather than poo little bit little bit. But I dun intend to hold her thighs on a potty till she is older.

Kash:
You let her try bit by bit and see if she can do it. If she can manage, then just trust her. You will feel very relaxed gradually when you see your maid handling your child well.

Jo,
My mil also train my bb by holding her by the thighs and poo into the potty. She say like tat cleaner.But for me, i jus let her lie on her back and jus slightly lift her legs and make the sound for her to poo. Now tat the mummies mentioned abt back not strong yet, i better tell her to stop till she gets bigger.

Poohbeary,
My bb also diff to get into deep sleep. Can only sleep less than half an hour in the day usually. But like Haru, if we are out shopping and she's in the carrier, she can sleep and sleep and only wake up for feeds.

Calendular cream,
Mummies, jus to share. i find that the california calendule cream is very effective for my bb's skin. She got lots of rough patches on her face due to milk stains. i jus apply it on her and the next day i can see great improvement. Been over a week liao, her face cleared of the rough patches.
I think my bb allergic to mustela cream, her diaper area got red and inflammed after use. I'm applying the calendula cream on her now. Getting better. So hard pain to see those red patches on her skin.

Haru,
I dun bring pump out, very mafan and i won't be relax enough to have milk to flow out. Keke.
Anyway like today i was out for 6 hrs so i latch bb before going out and once back i pump. Sometimes i latch bb and pump on the other side. Can get more this way(4-5 letdowns 100ml) but very tiring cos mine is a manual pump. today jus pump w/o latch can only get 60ml. Let's jiayou for more milk production.

Re:Baby fussing,
My baby also fussing at night. Sometimes in the day also. Yesterday I tried just letting him cry and I just pat him and talk to him, cause I really don wan him to get use to being carried to sleep. He cried, stop, cried and stop den drink milk, from 5+am to 8am. Then finally fall asleep all the way till 11am. Really hope that he can sleep by himself asap, so tired ar..

Anyway, so happy today. Managed to pump out 160ml of EBM in the morning. Hope later at night can pump out the same amount or more!!! haha.. Mummies, maybe u can try drinking holicks to increase ss. Cause I'm only drinking a cup of holicks a day and den pumping twice den the rest latching on only..

Anyone using Avent Uno Pump? Any comments? Am thinking of buying one, very tiring using the manual one.

hubby asking if i can eat kway chap (ie. intestines, etc) as i am BF? he wants to bring me for kway chap breakfast if i can have it.hahaha...

lovedogs,
i dun have a maid but i can totally understand how u feel.coz i will feel e same if i had a maid too. will prob just ask her to do the chores but when it comes to caring for child, i would rather do it myself includin changing dirty nappies!

so i will still need to put the sterilized bottles in a ziplock bag before i pump e milk into it? my cooler bag is quite small so if i need to store the funnels in a lock and lock container will definitely need a bigger bag or i will just have to carry e pump in a separate bag. is it ok just to sterilize the funnel in hot water in e office if i only bring one set?

Re: pumping in public
i agree, kinda troublesome to pump outside when i already have to latch baby on. if i am alone, definitely impossible to do so..i also tell hubby will try to keep our outings short. if not i will have no choice but to pump in e car, nursing room after latchin baby on.

Babyzel,
do you mean that you latch baby before you go out and then u didnt latch her even when out until 6 hours later?=O

Sabre,
thats great!! i have only managed to achieve 160ml once so far..the day right after e end of my confinement.haha..but keep positive that i will be able to achieve that amount again soon.=> are you a SAHM? i think i pumped like 6 times today already. really want to get supply going for when i need to pump at work.

mosh,
me me! i have no complaints about e pump. easy to wash, set up and use. it can also be used as manual but after tryin it once, i gave up. if you are switching from manual to electric, you will find it a breeze to use!

HAru,
Oh, today i went shopping with my girlfriends, never bring bb. So i latch her b4 going out then latch and pump at the same time when back 6 hrs later. If bb is out w me, i will latch if not bring FM, also depends on plc i'm going if there's easy availability of nursing rms.

haru,
ya I'm a SAHM. For now, since I'm breastfeeding.. Until he is 6 months old den I'll go back to work again. I don't pump as much as you, but maybe because I'm always latching him on, and sometimes his feeding timing is haywire de.. But pump so much end up he only drinks like 80ml only.. Cause I don really store BM, so usually I keep max 2days..

shop4stuffs,
The rotavirus de is oral med. I'm taking it for my boy. To be taken when he is 3 months and 5 months. If you're intending to send your child to childcare or maybe ur home got a lot of kids, or a lot of people den maybe you should take the rotavirus ba.. But in the end its up to you la, I'm taking it anyway la..

Happy Blessed New Year - 2009!

Bear,
Thks for the info on Enne n Bb L. Pls let me know how I can help.

Enne,
Pls take care of yourself. I feel really sad when I read Bear's posting cos I can understand yur pain. My J2 was hospitalized in KKH b4 too. May God grant you strength and a speedy recovery for yur bb.

Babyzel,
i see! did u feel very engorged since u did not latch or pump for 6 hours? =P

lovedogs,
so ur son also sleeps in e rocker during the day? my daughter seems to enjoy that esp with loud music blasting away but i am wondering if its ok to let her nap in rocker all e time..

Sabre,
then there is no hurry for you to start expressing. you can always start before returning to work.=> i am also latchin her on all e time except for one feed whereby my hubby gives her EBM. right now i have about 30 bags in freezer, half of it 60mls (2 bags for when she can take 120ml) and other half is 100ml which i am starting to use up for her daily nite feed.

haru
My girl sleeps in the rocker in the daytime sometimes too. My husband also thinks it's not too good for her because the position doesn't look good for her neck/head.

Haru,
Ya i feel engorged and breasts become quite hard. So it was a relief when i let bb suckle & pump when i get home. I got myself another pump today, same as urs cos the manual one too tiring when i latch & pump. It works better than the medela mini electric which i used previously.

On average, how many hrs does your bb sleep in a day? Now at 2mths 2 wks, my bb sleep pattern changed. She only sleep like 11 hrs or so. Daytime she hardly sleep cos she can't seem to go into deep sleep and wakes up very often. Now she only really go into deep sleep from 2am and wakes up around 11 pm. In between wake up for feed then sleep again. If that's going to continue, i sure will die of fatigue when i go back to work in a mth time.

Babyzel
From 2am till 11pm? Huh?

My girl is the same age as your girl, and yes, sleeping pattern also become like this. Her only proper deep sleep is from 8pm till about 7am. She does sleep in the daytime but average about 3 hours. She is sleepy a lot of time but hardly goes into deep sleep. I read that babies at this age still needs about 16 hours of sleep leh.

EBM:
mummies who expressed bm: how do you bring your EBM out? (sorri i might have missed out if anyone posted this b4)..

Qns:
-what kind of cooler bag do u use?
-how long can EBM last in the cooler bag?
-how do you warm up the EBM? (do u bring a container out to put the warm water?)
-Is the EBM u bring out freshly expressed or thawed? Any difference?

Hope some mummies here are able to share.
Cos i would like to bring my gal out.. but dunno how to bring out the EBM.. and everytime has to rush home b4 her next feed. thanks!

Bear,
Pls let us know how we can help.

Enne,
Be strong. Your baby need you. Pls take good care of yourself also.

Yoyosan,
Normally i will defroze the EBM, transfer it into the milk bottles and heat it up using food warmer. Once it is warmer, i will put it into the bottle warmer and bring it out.

But i prefer to latch on if they are nursing rooms around.

need your view on pacifier. Im abit reluctant to give pacifier to my gal but my inlaws wanted to give it to her esp when she cries. What are the pro and cons of pacifier? Any comments?

kash
no lah i long time no latch liao loh... ebm & fm in bottle all along.. strange thing is she rather take water than milk, place e water bottle she sucks, put in the milk bottle then cry again.. But i avoid giving her too much water cos not advisable for small bb mah..

jus now brought her to marina sq, in e mall she fuss, outside open air she slept, tink she prefers natural air haiz.. but managed to feed her within 15mins while she was in a daze.

haru,
cos i want to see hw much he is drinking, so i feed him ebm once a day lor...wa u got so much stock liao ar...

mosh,
i m givin my boy pacifier, but sometimes he don even wan it lor. when he cries, he rather latch on than take pacifier... But sometimes its helpful when he make a fuss outside..

my boy jus took his 1st jab at GP today.. paid $105 for jus one jab wor. Is the price reasonable?

he is now week 7+ weight 5.2kg & 58cm.
recently his merlion alot of milk. kinda worried. GP told me bb tummy got gas.. asked me to give colic drops. have been giving him sometimes.. seems like dont work.. Doc asked us to monitor.. else have to bring him to PD for check..

re:Frozen EBM
initially i store my EBM in milk bag size. about 120-160ml. now i need to take out give bb in case expired & throw away. Usually we shld bring the EBM from freezer to fridge for few hours to defroze. before warming up for bb.. But currently, he drank about 100ml. den the left over can i still keep in the fridge & give bb for next feed within 24hr? & the leftover combine with other day's milk?

I seldom login to SMH. Really bz as I'm alone @ home with no help after my CL left.

shop4stuffs,
My boy is using Pet Pet(S) in the day and Mamy Poko(S) at nite before he sleeps (10 or 11pm).
I changed his diaper every 4-5 hours in the day unless he poos.
After he sleeps for the nite around 10+ or 11+pm, I will only check when he woke up around 4, 5 or 6 am.

He is drinking 100-110 ml every 3-4hrly and is 9 wks and 2 days old. I gave both FM and BM. 2 feeds of breast feed (either latch or pump) and 5 feeds on formula (Friso).

He weighs 4.2kg @ 7wks5d and 55cm long.

Enne,
Sorry to hear abt ur bb. Hope he can recover soon.

Poopoo and pee,
I've trained my boy whenever I open his diaper, so far so good but his aiming not really zhun. ;p
I say "shh, shh".
Poo, I'm still trying to train him.

fabbie,
I've asked Dr Keoy clinic @ level 3 TMC. For 6 in 1 is $190+ including consultation. Rota virus, I din ask.
My PD charged $115/dose for 6 in 1 and $90/dose for rota virus (oral med). She charges 5-in-1 $90/dose. All prices include consultation.

Happy New Year mummies and babies!!.. time flies very fast huh... 2009 is here.... and soon we will all be planning our babies 1st bday!!!

enne, sorry to hear abt ur boy.. pls take care...

bear, i would like to help too... pls keep me inform on how are we going to help her... thanks...

peanut, when ur gal in MS... is it becoz cold? or does she have congested nose? coz when in air-con their congested nose will get worse...

mosh, regarding paccifier... my #1 was given 1 when she young.. good is she can fall asleep very fast sucking her dummy... but once they get hooked.... when drop they will wake up crying looking for it... and she had it till she's ard 1YO then i wean it off from her... the weaning process was quite bad for her.. as i remove it totally... it took her about 1 week to get used to w/o having dummy...

mummies who latch bb, is ur bb taking bottle? my gal dun really like drinking from bottle leh... drink very little when drinking from bottle...

alibaba, for what i know.. u can combine diff day milk... but must follow the date/time of the earliest milk...

peanut,

actually drinking water is good. As i did not feed my gal water last time, she ended up refusing to drink water when she grows older...now also must coax like mad and she will drink a little only. hence, if ur gal likes water now... it is not a bad thing...

fifi,

now only let her do chores..but she already seems busy as well... also, when we are around, i told her no need to carry baby unless i asked her for help. So, she has only carried my boy i believe less than 10 times. however, i do ask maid to hold my gal's hands when we walk to the carpark etc... coz I have to carry baby. Another thing abt maid is that I cannot get used of the idea that I have to bring her out. So far only brought her to my mum's house. And in the morning, when I send my gal to my mum's place, I will bring her and bb along for the car ride there, then car ride back with bb. coz I will not leave her alone with bb at home. However, I left her alone at home 3 times liao... but i locked my bedroom door. can i ask do u allow your maid to eat and use anything u all have at home? or u buy seperate for her?

amore,

at least u wean u elder 1 at 1YO. I din bother, only tried to wean at 16 mths. But it was easy which really surprised me. I juz decided to try 1 nite not to give her the pacifier when she goes to bed. She nvr fuss or ask for it. Juz as usual flipped around for abt 20 mins and dozed off. (She also takes abt 20 to 30 mins previously with pacifiers). For my boy this time, I plan to try to wean off at abt 12 to 13 mths as well... but pacifiers really sooth them down and make our lives so much easier.

haru,

i am not sure whether hot water is sufficient. u can try buying sterilizing tablets? I have nvr used it before but seen my colleague using it.

yoyosan,

i try my best to answer ur questions... below is what I do...may not be the best way, but juz to share wif u:

Qns:
-what kind of cooler bag do u use?
I have 2. 1 is a hello kitty another one I bought from Kiddy palace - can also get in robinsons, taka etc
can last as long as the ice packs within the cooler bag do not melt.
-how do you warm up the EBM? (do u bring a container out to put the warm water?)
u can bring hot water out; or ask for a bowl and hot water from a restaurant etc.
i normally bring out fresh EBM. But shd be no difference.

Alibaba,

During my gal's time... i nvr reuse the thawed EBM. If she can't finish at 1 feed, I will throw away within 45 mins...

Re: Frozen EBM

Just in case some of u are not aware. the nutrients content in frozen EBM are much lesser than fresh EBM. If I remember correctly, I was told the antibodies all gone liao in frozen EBM. Howevre, PD once told me no matter what, frozen EBM is still better than FM. So if u have frozen stock, use it before giving FM. But if you have fresh EBM, always use fresh EBM and not frozen ones

yoyosan, when i bring EBM out, i'll store in the milk bottle, heat it n put in the thermal bag. if it gets a little cold when i need to feed, i'll ask for hot water in a resturant to heat it up.

what kind of cooler bag do u use?
I used normal cooler bag and place 2 ice blocks in.

If its freshly expressed bm, 24hrs. if its thawed bm, do not store more then 4hrs.

I'll try to warm it b4 i'm out n ask for hot water from resturants.

I used to bring out thawed BM. As long as used within 4hrs.

mosh, I used paci on both my kids. It really helps the bb to soothe themselves and save u alot of headeache. Only thing I hate abt paci is that when it dropped out of their mouth when they are fast asleep, u'll hav to wake up n pick it up for them.

alibaba, u can keep the leftover for 24hrs in the fridge as long as u seperate it b4 feeding.

bibi,kash,misaryeo,

thanks for sharing the info. Will try out and hopefully bring bb out. But need the hb to be around to warm the milk.

Re: EBM
(THis is what i found on babycenter website)
- The process of freezing destroys some of the antibodies in milk, so don't freeze any that you plan to use within the time limits. But frozen breastmilk is still much healthier and offers more protection from disease than formula milk does.

And don't ever save partially drunk portions for later use - health professionals recommend throwing out any milk that's left in the baby's bottle.

Alibaba:
For me, i will thaw whatever amount in the milk bag. Then give only the required amt that bb drinks. The remainding thawed milk (which is not heated), i will keep it to combine with the next feed. But will have to use opened thawed milk within the next 12 hrs (this is from the lansinoh research).

Seems that different books/website states different kind of duration.
But go according to your bb's body. They will show signs of whether they could take the recommended duration, or shorter.

me never pump since tis morn coz when to church n walk around till 5pm. came back pump one side only like 10ml. but keeping positive. telling myself if supply not stable will delay returning to work.

lovedogs,
so u bring 2 separate lock n lock containers for e 2 sets of funnels to work is that rite? n another cooler bag to store e EBM? sorry for e many questions, just that i hv no clue wat to bring to office when i return to work..=P seems like i hv to lug around quite alot of stuff..haha

Happy New Year everyone,
does anyone have a Maclaren Quest Sport they want to part? Item has to be relatively in good condition.
Please let me know

sabre
thanks. how much does it cost you, where u took it?

mosh
my boy use pacifier too. sometimes he will reject too. from my understanding, as they grow up, they will reject automatically too. now is to satisfy him so that he can have a good sleep as ample sleep allows the baby to grow

alibaba
my 1st jab cost $150 at GlenE, Dr Gong.

Kash
so far i did leave my bb alone with maid ley and i dont lock our room door. leave alone coz i felt bb now only drink and sleep so not so much of a problem. but i instructed no bathing when im not around. as for room, we do have valuables but i didnt thought of it coz usually only a few hours moreover she needs to clean up the room or wash the bathroom too..hhh...troublesome ley

plates and cups, she have her own, but i think sometimes my family members do take and use too. for food, i dont buy separate, i let her eat whatever she wants. we have expensive stuff like condeceyps, birdnest, abalone etc in the fridge and cupboard but i dont take stock too ley.but i bot her toothbrush, soap, shampoo. she hand wash her clothes (she hand wash bb clothes and hubby expensive shirts too and floor mat

Survey
Hi mummies, respond doesnt seems to be so good ley...somemore some mummies never respond if they are on BM or Fm...anyway, if you want the statistic, do drop me a mail [email protected]

BABY GOT STARTLED WHILE SLEEPING / RING RASHES
Hi mummies, need your advice urgently....

1)went to a kids party and brought bb along. host pull a pop and bb who was sleeping got startled and had his mouth and eye wide open in fear and cried very loud. but only for awhile and then went back to sleep. will there be any future problems., im very worried. need to see pd? thanks mummies

2) my bb got some rahes between the neck and the chin (folded part) and it seems like a ring...what is this? need to see Pd? thanks mummies

kash: My 2 maids look after my baby...bath, feeds, sleep with baby...i let them take care only when they are clean and not sweaty, other than that I am fine. Better to get ur maid to help if she can handle baby well, otherwise u will tire yourself out taking care by urself...

Like now i bend my back to talk to baby i get major backaches..so I wld rest and sleep whenever i can and let maids help out.

shop4stuff: I am taking rotavirus for baby..abt 4th mth when she goes for her 2nd 6-in-1 jab its oral so no harm taking...

Poohbeary,
My baby also making "noise" during his sleep in the night, he also have the habit of stretching himself alot, i also do not understand why?
Anyone having this problem too?

kash, my maid dun take care of #2.. but she help to take care and play with #1... my #1 oso 1 kind... very fussy, like to choose the person to feed/change/bath her... most of the time she dun like the maid to do for her... so bascially my maid's job is keep an eye for #1 when #1 is at home and housework when #1 is in CC...

as for going out... we dun like the idea of maid at home alone .. dunno wat she's will.. so we will bring her out with us.. so she'll have to carry things or push the stroller..

shop4stuffs,
my GP charge me $90 for one dose.

Jynnsan,
my baby also likes to stretch himself. And after stretching den he will wake up and will cry liao..

Sabre,
Exactly, especially during the night time. Most of the days the maid and myself not able to sleep at all. Not able to figure out anyway to improve his sleep.

Do you mummies bring your baby out shopping now? I noticed that whenever my baby return home after the whole day activities outside, he will not be able to sleep well the entire night. Maybe should heed advice not to bring baby out till he is 3 months old...

jynnsan,
i hv brot my baby out quite alot n sometimes for whole day. but still manage to make her sleep in e nite. altho she does tend to stay awake aft we come home if its not her bedtime yet.

Enne: Sorry to hear...hope your bb recover soon. You must take gd care of yourself ok.

Jynnsan, my boy super likes to stretch himself, that's why he is growing longer and longer!

Btw, can I check: what is the longest time your baby last till the next feeding (excluding those who sleep thru the night)?
Yesterday, I latched baby on at 6pm. He drank abt 30 min. Then at 9.30pm, he cried so loud so we wanted to feed him him but he refused to drink from both bottle/breast, and after coaxing him, he fell asleep. We have to wake him up at 2.30am, coz I was so scared he would be too hungry. So that means it was like 8 hrs interval he went w/o milk! Normally longest interval is abt 4 hrs for him. We brought him out for abt half a day, so dunno if he was too tired out to even drink...