(2008/11) November 2008

kash, my #1 not in carseat yet... so i carry her.. #1 in car seat... maid sit in the passanger seat infront... what we plan is 2 carseat side by side at the 2nd row.. i'll sit with my gals in the 2nd row and maid seat infront since both hubby and i dun mind... ours is a MVP... if i want i can ask the maid seat 3rd row oso...

poohbeary, is the water too hot or too cold? the 1st few days my gal oso cry at every bath time... then my mum think maybe is the water too hot.. so she put more cold water... then my gal stopped crying dat time liao...

re maid: guess as #2 grow older... i will slowly like maid take care abit... but not now...

bear,

from my worst experience when i had #1, i massaged so hard until bruises on my breasts... it did not work...only latching helped that time. She cleared my blocked ducts in 1 session! The pain will still be there for a few days but at least the breast soft liao... but my boy can't latch for long and he nvr ever clear my breast before...hence, this time, i really hope and pray no blocked ducts...

amore, triangel,

my #1 is 19.5mths now..and was told she is still too young for booster seat. Hence bo pian.. ours family sedan, so 5-seater only...can't ask maid to sit in the boot! hahahaha...

triangel,

do u find it a chore lugging along the maid when u go out shopping? I brought my #1 out by myself...and leave maid at home. I feel "restricted" and a sense of "lost freedom" if i lug along a maid. and i find it strained and weird if we both walking and I dun talk to her. But i honestly do not have much things to talk to her except household chores etc...

karen,

i believe their patterns changes all the time leh.... i believe ur bb shd be alright... dun worry so much..

fifi,

i am keen to get more desitin creamy. 4 more tubes. please advise payment. thanks

amore,

do u ask ur maid to cook? so far I only ask her to cook dinner. Nvr for lunch as I normally tapao for her and myself. Siong to tapao for her everyday also...

Can i also ask if my maid doesn't eat pork...yet my dinner comprises of 1 main pork dish and 2 veggie dishes... then must i still specially ensure for that meal i have fish or chicken for her? This is causing me so much headache coz I eat pork quite regularly....

kash, opps typo there.. i carry #2 in the car... #1 in carseat...

cooking - my mum does the cooking.. maid help prepares the ingredient... when maid 1st came.. she dunno how to cook.. so my mum teach her... so simple dishes maid will cook.. those diffcult ones my mum will cook...

my maid oso dun take pork... normally we'll have a meat dish, veggie and soup... if we only have pork for the meat dish, my mum will usually ask my maid to cook egg or open a can of sardine.. my mum oso complain to me no pork very diff to cook... soup not as tasty when we use chicken bones..

I feel so want to give up breastfeeding. These few days, baby has been crying after latching on for 10-15mins. When i offer my breast to him again he will latch and cry latch and cry. And just now he just cry and cry, not wet diaper and I just nursed him also. I really dunno what's wrong and can't make him stop. Even more stress when I'm currently staying with my PILs, they will keep wondering whether I've got enuf milk. I know he is gaining weight, so he should be getting enough. But sometimes after feeding him, he still will open his mouth want to suckle something but offer him breast he will cry. Any mummies know what is wrong?? Can help me?? I seriously don want to give up breastfeeding for now, but he's making me so stressed out...

Good morning, mummies

<font color="ff0000">Happy New Year to U all, the year 2009 will be an exciting and challenging year for our babies and us.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
U are not alone. My bb is also like yours the past few days been crying. I tried to burp him and air comes out, then latch him again. I notice my bb is super agitated these days and also needs to be fed every 1-2hrs again. There are times that I just fed him and feel that my breasts are soft(no milk) and still he wants to drink some more. U try to burp your boy, it should work.

Dun give up unless your milk ss is low. Keep trying and hang it there ;)

Kellymom on fussy bbs:
http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/fussybaby.html

I may be moving in to stay with my PILs soon cos we still can't get a place in Cherie's Heart, so will be staying with them from Sun nite to Thu nite, easier for me to drop my #1 to his childcare ctr, which is opposite my PILs place. This week I'm trying out to send #1 myself, taking bb along cos I have no maid. I really dun feel like staying with them cos I dun like their house, plus there's no broadband there.. so I can't surf net
, MIL cooks but her food is very salty.

<font color="0000ff">Plugged Ducts and Mastitis</font>
This page from kellymom.com is very informative, do check it out.
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/mastitis.html
<font color="0000ff">Yoyosan</font>
Try to latch your bb with the bb's nose/chin pointing towards to blocked ducts area, but the key is to continue nursing bb frequently, massaging will help too. For me, it helps.

<font color="0000ff">Yen</font>
Hi, nice to see U back again. Take care and it's not easy taking care of bb alone. Do try to rest in betw. and enjoy your bb

<font color="0000ff">Bear</font>
Pls keep me in the loop for Enne's bb's condition. I have PM U last Fri.

<font color="0000ff">Joyce</font>
Hee I was quite free that evening so I searched the net and post that pic also. DOM- I also have 3 bottles but I dun intend to sell them. So is yours sold already?

<font color="0000ff">Kash</font>
I also like U, feel very tired with the milk management part.. I even split my milk several times, drop my sterilizer, drop my glass bottles and they broke and I have to clear up the mess of milk and broken glass bits in the middle of the night

I have tried to bring bb and #1 out at the same time but just short trip to my mum's place or my PIL's place or to the coffeeshop or Junction 8(Bishan), I will sling bb and hold my #1's hand. So far still ok. This weekend, I intend to bring them out again further to Harbourfront.

<font color="0000ff">Fifi</font>
U started work already rite? How's your pumping schedule like at work? I'm thinking of going back to work soon as economy is so bad now ya. Did Alyssa enjoy her swimming session? Where did U bring her to swim?

Gd am mommies,

Sorry to interrupt. Understand that some of you are intending to do TBF and I have a medela PIS advanced edition to let go as I hv stopped bfg.

Willing to let go at cheap price.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

Happy

No wonder u said expensive.. mine normally ard $70-80.. so far have not exceeded $100..

Triangel

Ya, mine will oso continue to suck.. I really dunno how to stop him.. I would prefer him to suck pacifier than the fingers..

Sabre,
my baby does that sometimes too, then i just give her other breast. she normally cools down then.

Re:Breastfeeding
realy tired to latchin and pumping at e same time. thinkin of just latchin during the day and pump only at nite when i give her EBM..then go back to work then try to pump. coz everytime i wanna pump, its either very little or i am distracted halfway coz of crying baby since i am alone at home. but if i do that will i really have no supply when i pump at work??

Kash,

oic...my #1 is going to 3 this apr.

haha...we r facing the prob... me too, do not hv much things to talk to maid except hooushold chores etc.. she is only with me for 3mths. and my hubby dun feel comfortable if i leave maid &amp; bb at home with him. so no choice..has to bring her along. also good in this way...she can helps to carry things &amp; my #1 when she is tired and lazy to walk.

cooking :
yes, very siong to tapao everyday. do u leave ur maid &amp; bb alone at home when u go tabao lunch? as for me...i dun want to leave her &amp; bb alone at home. if i were go taobao..i need to bring her &amp; bb together...so troublesome. so i drop the idea. and asked her to prepare lunch &amp; dinner although she cant cook well.. simple meals is fine with me.

re: maid meals
also causing me headache due to "pork"...hv to ensure there is something for her to eat everytime...

Kash,
re : maid meals
i think we r facing the same prob as our maid came fr indonesia...
my maid like to eat rice... as for me...i can go without rice for lunch or dinner. cos of her...i hv to eat rice nowsdays. sometime i feel like going back to work... so that i dun hv to think of her meals everydays...

poohbeary,
i am now tryin to get baby used to sleepin in e day in her cot as well. dun want her to get used to sleepin in rocker only. altho she does suddenly wake up and cry more often when she sleeps in her cot coz more freedom of movement hence she jerks and wakes up and cry easily.

Re:returning to work
was telling hubby last nite that i really wish i could be a SAHM despite the fact that its prob more tiring being at home all day caring for baby than being at work. hubby says i am the one having separation anxiety, not our baby! =P even though i am sure my parents will do their best to care for her while i am at work, i know that their parenting style will be different no matter what. but thank God that my mum is receptive to what i tell her and she will try to adopt the methods and practices i do with my baby. i guess i just dun want to miss her daily development..think i will have a discussion with boss and see if i can work from home for at least a day or two a week at least till she is about a year old.

Breastmilk supply:
korlian dai... getting lower &amp; lower.. now in morning can only get 60ml, other times of the day 30ml each time.. can ony manage to provide her 1 feed of Bm these days.. Jus bought fenugreek but havent seen much result after 3days. Am pumping 5times each day, know its not enuf but too lazy to wake up middle of the nite lei...

Bb no wan milk:
getting worst since yest.. cry e moment we pop in milk bottle. Yest only drank abt 400ml and since 10pm till this morning 730 no drink liao.. No choice 8am forcefeed with teaspoon and at e last 50ml let her hav e teat again and she finally finish.. Haiz really tiring.. Imagine initially when she discharged from hospital her appetite so damn good now e opposite.

triAngle
did u try diff types pf pacifiers? my bb only agree to take e 3rd one tt i tried on her.. Nuk.. e one with brown teat - fren recommend tt cos its softer and e shape is designed to be like nipple.

Bluebear:
I brought her to both Harbourfront and Plaza Sing to try. She loves it so much that we decided to buy the tub and use at home instead. A lot of water but at least we can use the water for our bathing, washing floor, etc. I think my bill will prob still be less than if I keep bringing her to Hwa Xia. I feel that the exercise helps her legs to be stronger and I hope she can develop motor skills faster/better.

I try to pump 3 times at work. Cannot manage 4 even though she drinks 4 times when I am at work. Nonetheless, yesterday, I managed to meet the amout she drinks with the 3 pumps (although my 3rd pump was delayed coz held up at meeting). I also had some excess from the morning/night expressing after latching. Today however, my first pump was very little. Dunno issit coz morning I pumped more.

Just now I called home and managed to talk to Alyssa over the phone. So happy. My maid put the phone near her and she just coo coo gaa gaa into the phone. So sweet.

Haru:
I also dun feel like going back to work. When I hug her in the morning, I feel so sad that I have to leave her for so many hours. But I tell myself, nevermind, I have lots of leave for the rest of this year to spend with her. Can still journey with her throughout her first year although its not every day. Rather than spend 4 months with her, after that, not so much time to spend with her for the rest of the year.

hi Fifi,
thats good!!! is the amount you managed to pump at work more than what you pumped at home? my office is an open concept office so i will not have any nursing room to use. Guess I will just use a screen and cover so that i can express the milk. think i will be wearing button shirt for quite a while as it makes pumping easier. are you using a dual or single pump? can i ask what time do you pump at work? really hope that i will also be able to pump sufficient for my baby's day feed when i am at work. what i manage to pump at home currently (one breast) during the day is so little.

so sweet!! ur heart melt when you hear her voice right?=D how old is Alyssa now?

triAngle
remm its e type with brown teat not those normal transparent ones.. And also try to hold it in e mouth for a while til ur bb secure e sucking or else they'll keep pui out e dudu

can i find out what brand of rocker you are using? my neighbour bot us the Lucky brand rocker which we are using now but am planning to get another one as will be putting it at my parent's place.

anyone using the playpen already for your 2 month old? i am thinkin of getting a playpen instead of a cot to put at my parents place for when they are babysitting for me..

peanuts/triangel

i m using the NUK, but not the brown 1, it the transparent type.. Actually for my bb, sometime he will suck the pacifier, but sometime he will reject it.. so headache..

Haru:
I pump in the storeroom or a clean bathroom at the moment. Nursing room under renovation. Cannot pump in office too. Not convenient.

Alyssa is 9+ weeks. I am using Medela Freestyle.

This is my day for your guide:

Approx 6.30am - Try to latch Alyssa if she is willing. Express after that. If she is too sleepy and refuse to wake up, then just express for her to take when she wake up. If she wakes up before I leave the house, let her latch also to drain the remainder that pumps cannot remove. If she latch already not enough, then give her some from the amount I express also. [Milk for her this feed and freezing.]

Between 9-10am: Express to coincide with Alyssa's feeding (abt 9.30-10am). [Milk for next day]

Before lunch: Express to coincide with Alyssa's feeding (about 12.30pm). [Milk for next day]

Between 3-4pm: Express to coincide with Alyssa's feeding (about 3pm). [Milk for next day]

About 5-6pm: Alyssa feeds but hard for me to express.

Between 7-8pm: Express when I reach home and latch Alyssa as well. [If 3 expressing enough for her 4 feeds, freeze. Else milk for next day and freezing.]

Before sleeping: Express once more. [Freezing]

Middle of night: Express if have the energy or if very full. Else just sleep.

*Mondays usually have to use some frozen milk as I latch more on weekends so less freshly expressed milk.

*Fridays usually freeze the milk as Saturday I can latch her.

Joyce,
thanks for the info.
No wonder my breast is nt tat soft if i use pump.I believed i hav mastitis coz i developed fever twice with red breast.I din see doc ley.I took panadol and the fever was gone the next day.

haru,
I am using fisher price swing and a rocker (cloth like sarong with holes) bought at kiddy palace. My boy prefer the rocker coz is more cooling

I am using the playpen as cot too.

How is everyone doing? Hope all is well..

I've been super busy for the past 1 month looking after my bb by myself. Had hired a maid 2 weeks ago, but on the 13th day after she arrived, my hubby and myself decided to send her back.coz she's too problematic for us to handle liao.always reporting sick every 2 or 3 days..
Now have to go thru the hassle to choose a new maid again..haiz..

Bear, I've emailed you regarding Enne's bb. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks mummies who share with me that it is qutie common for babies to make "noise" and skretching

Fifi,
i am also keen to purchase desitin cream, please advise

Returning to work:
Maid have been attending to baby all along but somehow i still can't trust her 100%. But bo bian, still have to let go when i return to work early Feb. As for meals, my maid can eat 2 plates of rice or always add noodle to normal packet. She can really eat wo!
Their way of taking of baby is different from singapore so always have to remind her this and that. Does your baby sleep with you or with the maid? Mine sleep in a separate room from me and hb, baby have been sleeping with the maid since the confinement lady left. My maid also told us she wanted to go back home after we allowed her to use phone during 1 Jan 09 due to new year out of goodwill, who knows this worsen her homesick. She started to cry and said she can't handle my baby anymore and etc. Finally the agent talked to her and she requested for one more chance. Alot of headache and problem.

My baby seems to have sensitive skin, and he is really afraid of hot. He tends to perspire easily and get wet on the neck and hair area. Now he is having rashes around the neck. Can destiny cream be use for such rashes?

Jynnsan, Kash:
Its US$5.79 each. Exchange rate 1.58. This is excluding shipping. Shipping unknown yet. I'll email you tonight and you can place your order.

Drugstore:
Anyone else want anything?

Jynnsan:
Rashes other than diaper rash hor, I heard calendula better. But more ex lah.

Poohbeary,
My gal enjoys her bath time. But she must not be hungry during bath time else she will cry non stop.
So i will feed her and bathe her half an hour later. And i will keep talking to her abt what i'm doing to her during the entire bath. Ya, make sure water is not too hot or too cold.

KAren/Sabre,
My gal also fusses quite a bit a couple of days ago. Real headache dun know what to do with her crying. I tot could be the coke or ice cream with expresso dessert i took tat causes her restlessness. She will cry and cry dun know what she wants and she dun want to sleep also.Then i stop taking coke and eat more wisely. Now she's ok liao.

Sabre,
Maybe your bb is overtired? Let ur bb sleep a while then try latching her again? My bb sometimes suckle for 5-10 mins then cry &amp; cry so i will pop a pacifier and let her sleep first then continue latching when she wakes up.

Peanut,
I took Fenugreek for half 2 wks liao. 3 pills per day. So far think ss got increase but only jus nice. No extra to store. Y'day took 4 pills after lunch and 3 pills after dinner and few hours later felt so engorged. Breasts become very lumpy. When i feed bb, can hear lots of swallowing sounds, think quite a bit of milk produced.

Fifi,
Must be really difficult to leave bb and go to work. Cos heart will still be with bb. My working hours is flexi but i also can't bear to leave her for so many hours when i'm at work. Sigh.. but bo bian, need to work hard then got $ to spend on bb.. Ur milk ss quite gd.

Hi Fif,
thanks for sharing ur schedule! so at when you are home you normally just latch ya? but you still pump after latching? my baby can sleep about 6-7 hours thru e nite but sometimes her last feed (EBM) is around 10pm so she may wake up around 4am for a feed so i will try to pump around 1am or 2am in between her long interval but very tiring. =P even for her feed at around 5am, i normally dun bother to pump other side. too sleepy to know what i am doing!

think i will try to let her latch her nite feed one of these days and she if can last as long as when she takes EBM.

Babyzel,
same here, so i normaly bath her after feed. she normally cries when she's getting dressed! think she wants to go back into the bath,haha..

you taking e fenugreek at one shot? i am taking one after each meal but effect not so great leh. maybe i should try taking like 2 pills aft each meal.

fifi, not that my bb cant sleep .. but sleep already suddenly woke up crying badly. What type of tub you bought from Hwa Xia? I signed the 10 sessions package woh.

babyzel, I feel relieved to hear that its normal for bb not to poo everyday.

kash, how abt one bb carseat in front, two adults and a carseat behind? For my hb's car, we already find it difficult to have two adults and a bb carseat behind. Else you might consider 7-seater car so that whole family can go out together.

poohbeary, my bb will cry badly during bath if he is sleepy.

karen, my bb on FM sleeps 1/2hr and wake up in the daytime. Play awhile and go back to sleep for 1/2hr and wake up again.

Avent bottles: I have a problem with my bb Avent milk bottles. It always leaks from the bottle cap. Anyone experienced this and know why?

Haru,
Haha ya ur gal so cute. MAybe her bath time too short. Hehe. My gal will be in high spirits after bath. Dressing up is no problem. I will talk to her thru out also she will go ee..ah ah.
Fenugreek, i take 3pills one shot after lunch normally. Once per day. Yday took 4 more in the evening just try to see if i increase dosage got significant improvement or not.

babyzel
wah so good.. i hope my supply starts coming in soon.. haiz.. can't imagine the initial times when my breastmilk still leaking like dunoe wat, now squeeze until nipple coming off also not much..

cutiemum
aiya my bb also sometimes no wan.. depend on their mood one lah.. but at least they take lor, or else everytime cry i'll go crazy

bluebear,
I tried burping him, sometimes it works, sometimes don't..

haru,
i gave him the other side, but he still cries.

my hubby also say i gt separation anxiety. cos i don even wan to leave bb with my MIL at all. wherever i go, i will definitely bring him along de..

BabyZel,
I tried to make him sleep but he also don wan to sleep. Drink coke will have effect ar?? Den i think maybe i stop drinking for now. Any other food need to avoid??

Yesterday he finally slept at 330am. Then all the way sleep till 8am den wake up for milk. Guess he cry till too tired liao..

peanut,

have u tried different brands of FM? maybe ur bb doesn't like a particular brand? As for water, try to feed alittle. Coz I did not feed my gal last time wif water as she was TBF... who knows ended up she refuses water

Jo,

Actually, i juz changed from a hatchback car to a sedan mid last year. We wanted an MPV... already researched on the MPV and spoke to my sales agent on the price on the phone liao.. BUt the day when i went down to kah motors... cannot make it... juz cannot get used to the idea that I have to drive an MPV...so ended up buying a sedan... therefore, quite impossible for us to change to MPV... As for 1 carseat in front hor..it is actually illegal... due to the airbag...

triangel,

i normally send my #1 to my mother's house at abt 11am. So I will also bring bb and maid along. bb and #1 sit at their respective carseats behind and maid sit in front with me. Me &amp; maid pretty much will be quiet throughout the drive there and back...weird leh... Then hor, coz my mum's place is near market and coffee shops, after I dropped off my #1, I will leave maid and bb in the car with engine on... quickly go tapao lunch and drinks for myself and her loh...

can i ask what to cook for lunch? Coz i grew up eating tapao food for lunch all the time... so...if wanna cook...i also dunno wat to cook...

bluebear,

wow to harbourfront? u plan to bring both by urself? or with hb? So far we brought bb and #1 out only once but very short trip. Hb &amp; I went to check out 1 kinderland CC outlet...i use baby bjorn to carry bb while hb held #1's hand. But only for a short while so no need to bring diapers etc. I hate changing bb's poo poo outside...so that's why i am not to keen to bring bb out for long as well...

fifi,

so fast u went back to work? Amazing! I dun think i can fit into my working clothes yet leh... also, i very veyr sian when i think abt my job... hahahaaa....

thanks for the drugspree order in advance

haru,

i am using combi rocker. Cot at my home... playpen at my mum's. Nvr buy new ones...all from my gal's time...

Jynnsan,

i also let my maid called home the other nite on her 1st mth of service wif us. I bought her a $10 calling card. But told her next time she has to buy herself.. Luckily she is not homesick... but my maid is asking for more things like whether she can have peanut butter for her breadspread coz I bought her jam and kaya... shd we say yes? Also, she asked me for powder and roll on anti-perspirant... do I have to buy her these as well? Or juz basic like toothpaste/brush, shampoo, soap? Also, eg if things which myself and hb do not eat, but she eats....must i buy for her? eg we dun eat chilli sauce but she likes... must i buy for her? She can finish 1 bottle in less than 1 week leh...

Bear:
Regarding the oral thrush, issit the milky thing on the tongue of bb? How do you resolve it? I suspect my gal might have oral thrush too. PD gave biotene mouthwash. Btw, does the thrush affect his milk drinking?

Jo:
I'm using Avent milk bottles too. Are you using the Avent teat or other brand? And when u wash the teat, u pulled it tightly back to the cap?

Peanut,
U so funny, ya man those were the times. Now still got to rely on external sources to keep milk flowing. I also add more pumping sessions in addition to fenugreek. U try also. Don't give up!

Sabre,
I think coke should be the culprit cos my bb was unusually cranky and fussing way too much. He only go to sleep at 2am for 2-3 nights and dun sleep much in the day. So i think back of what i did that cause this. Most routines didn't change and i was taking mac and drinking coke then. So i think it's must be coke's fault and the expresso ice cream i took. Stop coke for now and see.

kash
no yet changed.. the doc i went to say she's actually stil growing v well, 5.67kg at 2mths - abt 2.6kg increment since birth.. so stick to the same brand.. and told me most likely its e bb's behavior we've got to live with it till she improves -_-"

yoyosan
i dun tink tts e oral thrush lei.. bb sure hav tt after drinking milk, jus need to giv them tiny bit of water to wash it off.. unless ur bb's is v thick and couldn't get off?

Babyzel
these days i also use hand to squeeze liao no longer using pump.. cos so little everytime hav to bring out pump and wash them aft use sibey laychey. Actually using hand is convenient and effect is ok as well jus tt it takes more time.

yoyosan, regarding the white patch on bb's tongue is the leftover milk which you need to give bb some water after his milk to clear it off. You wld need to use the wash cloth to clean his tongue during bathing in the morning/ clean-up in the evening. My mum said if it is not cleaned off and gets v thick, bb might reject the milk next time.
I'm using Avent bottles and teats. Yes, even I tried pulling the teat up from the cap, there is still leaking.