(2008/10) Oct 2008

cheer bear
I also said some thing as Jelly. If more than 5 days, then bring him back to doc. If not, then let the fever ride it out. As long as it doesn't go above 40 deg.

ypg
Hee, if I don't need to take care of Jo in the day, then who takes care of her? But when Jo starts school in July, and this one wants to go, we will let her go and that's it. Maybe get a part time in for 2 or 3 times a week and the other days, I'll do the housework. I have no choice because with dogs, the place gets dirty very fast.

Jelly,
Already took blood test ytd.. Pd say nothing serious but strong virus but I can't help to worry coz 5 days liao. Is low to high then low then high again! Is scaring me coz afraid will damage his brain.

Ypg,
I can't use the sweat out method coz he too tired to play jus wan to sit or sleep in front of the tv and if I off he cry non stop so Bo Bianca hv to give in

ypg

really ah? you think she doesn't appreciate? i thought she was quite good, treats your family well, got a lot of initiative and good in massaging etc...

or maybe she was unappreciative in the sense that she insisted on going home? anyway, hopefully she realises that she was really very fortunate in getting your family as her employer.

saxo

u really treat your dogs as well as Jo!

cheerbear

better refer to Doc... what did he say?

cheerbear,
which doc did u go to? may wanna go to another doc?

Me & some mommy friends finds tat diff doc have diff meds & seems like diff kids react diff to the diff meds too even though they can all b the same panadol.

Hope Shawn gets well soon, u take care too *hugz*

Saxo,
gd part time cleaner also hard to find nowadays. But guess it's a better than having the maid since Jo is gng to school & u can clean the hse on some days too.

Cheer Bear
Hmm, I find 38 okay ah. But you also said Shawn's really restless? Then better go and see a doc again.

JJmom
Yah, but I don't have to put up with nonsense day and night with part-timers. Plus much much more privacy.

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear, did the PD give you anything for the fever? Neurofen / Brufen? Are you using a fresh bottle of meds and giving it regularly and on time? What about the suppository inserter?

As for the fever being too high and the brains get fried, I asked about that before. According to the doc, it does not even happen at 42degrees. </font>

It's a myth that high fever will damage the brain. Fever is a symptom, not a disease. He will feel uncomfortable when the fever is high. You can try suppository if he doesn't want to take the oral med.

hi cheerbear - did u guys do urine test?

u shld ask doc when fever shld come down...if by then it does, usually u need go back to him.

the last time, my pd told me E's fever shld come down by 6th day.. when it does not means more than what we worried...so at least i have the 6days period to work on...luckily doc v accurate it did come down by 6th day

cheerbear,
Regina's fever also has been yo-yoing since Sunday. But hers is low grade fever and she's still super active so i'm not worried. The last time she had viral fever, it was round the clock panadol and brufen. Every 2 hours take temp. Give panadol first then after 2 hours still high, (above 39) give brufen. I also sponged her when it went above 39 deg. Gave her a lukewarm shower. The only thing we should worry about is the child getting fits when the fever gets too high... That's when it affects the brain.

If you wanna try more traditional stuff, can get the 'mo dan fen' mixed with rice wine and apply on chest or use hard boiled egg wrap in cloth and rub at the points where we lose heat fastest like armpits, feet, etc. Also can give china barley or green bean soup. I've never tried any of these except for the barley and green bean soup but it's all the advice dished out to me by well meaning friends.

jjmom,
if the part timer no good then just change.

those who have the alphapet explorer, is it still useful if the kids can recognise the alphabets already? Thinking whether should still get for Regina or get something else.

dimpletot,

She is really very good to us last time but since she wants to go home, she change drastically. Will deliberate do things to make me angry so tat I will send her back. Cause she dun want to go back to agent there.

I still make her go home happily cause I take account of her good work done previously.

Bullying:
Abby bullies her grandparents. Havent seen her bullying her friends but i have faith that the teacher will help to facilitate conflict resolution among the toddlers. Or like what ypg said, sometimes they just find their own ways to resolve their own conflict. Sometimes she likes being 'victim', especially when her grandparents, hb or myself are around, have to resist the urge to fight her battle, i tell her to stop crying, 'if you want your friend to stop, tell him to stop.. say stop it, i don't like it' then go tell your teacher, which sounds like 'stopee, dun like it' then she avoids the kid for abit by going across to the teacher and hug her leg. She loves her teacher, Gaya is very kind and good with the little ones. There's this new girl in class who likes to pull at Abby's clothes, that irritates her big time.. so she'd just shout at her to stop and run to her teacher. I would love to tell her, 'go ahead, just sock her in the eye' but.. ahahah.. what would the other mother think.

I would love to sock many people at work but i think about assault charges and drop the idea. Why go against the monthly pay check... ;\

Maid:
don't like maids, don't want maids, don't want to live with one. I'd rather have someone come in, clean and bugger off and do the rest myself, save the money and go for a nice meal/holiday even if it means my home is a sty for the most part of the year.

<font color="0077aa">mint: thanks woman! i like the bling bling ones!!!! :p errrm... u bringing them in? i can try to pyscho jelly lah, nickpower, etc. to order. LOL *evil grin*</font>

buffy/mint
evil! keke... but yes, keep me in the loop. R is becoming Emelda Marcos!

pildough
babe, me okie. got over the incident about my dad.

mint
The alphabet explorer is only useful when the child can recognise the alphabet. Hmm, but only the upper letters. I dislike this about leapfrog. They mostly use upper letters.

Mummies, I'm feeling so Elmo today
went to visit my colleague at KK. Her girl in icu bcos she drown in swimming pool, and doc already gave up ;( can't really work aft I came bk fm hosp

saxo,
do you think it's ok to get it now for perhaps later use? But like you said it's in caps, that's why i've been holding back in getting it... Hmmm...

ever,
Omg! That's terrible! How did the girl drown? Why no lifeguard or adult supervision?

Saxo, I also find tat a lot of edu products only comes in upper caps

But my LF fridge magnet is in lower caps

everafter,
so scary, hope the poor little gal will pull thru

think there r many similar cases in other condo pools too.

JJMom, yes very sad...praying hard for the little girl
Upon hearing that, my hb actually asked me if we want to plan for #2! faint~ -_-"

Jelly,
I rem u bought those toy storage rack from BP. How is the quality &amp; is it useful?

My consider is there r no covers for the bins &amp; the toys still gets dusty.

Jjmom
Shelf not delivered to me yet. Ya, had e same concern but both hubby n I bought e shelf for storage of toys in living room so my helpers can clean them periodically

Mint

The vtech laptop has lower case in large size, and smaller upper case on the same button. It unintentionally taught Kate a lot. I was quite surprised.

jjmom
How come your fridge magnets are lower case ah? Mine's upper case
only the 3-letter words are lower case. Will probably get that to mix with the one I have. Luckily both fit each other.

everafter,
so sad about your friend's girl, hope she'ld pull through.

That's my worst nightmare ;(.. actually any way that she can potentially get hurt, is my worst nightmare. sigh. I'm sure it's the same for all of us.

#2,
funny.. i wanted #2 quite badly after my friends started popping babies again and oct 08 mommies started having #2 as well. Now that i've moved into my new place, we let abby stay with my mil because we need to clean up the place. Last night, i slept like a baby in my mbr, i could strut out naked into my own living room and do naked yoga while waving hello to the neighbours opposite and i wouldn't give a hoot if people stomped me. .

Ok, i would give a hoot. My point is.. having my own place, my own rules is so fabulous. Alot more work.. and i cannot afford to be so lazy with the housekeeping anymore. This morning we got up, went down to the market and had breakfast then bought groceries like a normal couple. We never wanted to do that when we were living with my in-laws..

I appreciate this normality and i'm not sure i'm willing to give up this temporary state of peace for another crying baby for another 2 years before we form a routine, learn to juggle life, work, marriage and 2 kids and everything becomes normalised.

Having said that, i love the bliss surrounding families with two and more. Chaos but contented. Dunno.. is normal overrated? Am thinking too much..

Heyy mint, i want IN on the shoe-sies!

dimple, how are you feeling these days? I want to see your bump! Post a pic, jane lin.. aka bbgoh issit? Her bump is beautiful!

i wanna touch dimple's bump. Hahaha!

Re: gathering
I'm changing the dish i'm bringing. Was giving some thoughts and realised that the potato chips will be soggy by the time I get there. Will bring egg tarts instead.

re: stride rite shoes
ok will let you girls know next week if i hear from them.

Eat, Swim and Slide! (pls bring swim stuff!)

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily, 13 Mount Emily Road, 228494 - Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)
TIME : 11am to 4pm

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee)
2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns.)
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) time is now 11-4pm, can u make it?
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby (Chicken Nuggets &amp; Mini Hotdogs)
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (swiss rolls - anyone hates durian?)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby (variety of baos)
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies)
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (will make jelly cause now no maid to look after tong, hard to bake cake)
10. Saxo + Jo (homemade chocolate chip cookies for adults; chicken &amp; corn patties for kids)
11. Mint + Regina (plastic cutlery, organic homebaked potato chips for kids)
12. Jolly + Family (Glutinous Rice)
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - coming early @11am. =D
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Handmade Mantous for Kids)
17. Daisybuttons + Jaz (think think think....)
18. Pil &amp; Abby - ok with 11-4, bringing non-spicy homemade Vadai <-- hey, figured since it's deepavali... bring on the rangoli people -does a banghra-

XY : Slides rental confirmed! Yippee!!!

Morning, mummies!

Hope all thing went smooth for the 1st day at CC or new school for Tong, Rebby, Dylan and Bryan.

Keeping all fingers crossed for my Tong who has so many bad habits like sleeping in yaolan for the day, eat super slowly, suck on pacifier to sleep etc etc.

hi everyone!
Sorry to hear about your friend's daughter, Everafter. When Julian was a baby, I had a bad dream about leaving Julian to get something from another room and when i got back he was already blue. Was so freaked out my the dream I am super paranoid about him and water!

2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns.)
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (will make jelly cause now no maid to look after tong, hard to bake cake)
10. Saxo + Jo (homemade chocolate chip cookies for adults; chicken &amp; corn patties for kids)
11. Mint + Regina (plastic cutlery, organic homebaked potato chips for kids)
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian (finger sandwiches)
18. Pil &amp; Abby - ok with 11-4, bringing non-spicy homemade Vadai <-- hey, figured since it's deepavali... bring on the rangoli people -does a banghra-

11. Mint + Regina (plastic cutlery, Egg tarts)
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian (finger sandwiches)

Since it's deepavali, shall we dress to the occasion? Heehee! pildough, you have enough saris to lend us? lol!

<font color="0077aa">did you ladies happen to catch this programme on the taiwanese makeup before and after show?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3ImaaS2-MY

Wah, I NEED FAKE EYE LASHES!!!!

On that note: Mint, can! I have a set and C has one which she used for the photo shoot too.
I will come with my fake eyelashes! LOL

Anyone else keen? </font>

I can wrap Marcus in a nappy. Haha...

Buffy,
i can on u on the fake eye lash part. As for Sari... erm... too much stretch marks to show off.