(2008/10) Oct 2008

dimple
actually, it's a blessing your mom wants to help. i cant help but feel that my mom just wants to hv e company of her grand kids when she wants to see them.

my hubby was saying that if we move out next year, it's is highly unlikely we will visit my parents and they will also not miss us in a sense cos they want their lives... i was kinda agreeing to that...

dimpletot,
regina enjoys playing with tom the cat and shapes. Thanks for recommending.

grandparents,

dimple> my mum thinks the same as urs... keep asking me to go back to workforce as she wans to help me look after LY. and now asking me to hv #2... keke... but somehow i felt that we had tied her down... she used to be able to go on short trips w her friends as n when she wans... but now, hv to make sure that someone is looking after LY before she can go...

jelly,

Understand how u feel. It's not like we r angry tat the grandparents now r not willing to help take care of our kids full time.

Guess part of it, we also feel hurt & sad for our kids who r missing out on what we had with our grands. & the sad facts tat the grandparents r choosing their tv, friends etc over our kids...kekeke *hugz*

Dimpletot,
my mom is the same, keep nagging me & my sis to have more kids. She offered to help even b4 Nat is born but coz she is already taking care of my niece, we think it's too tough for her to handle 2 so Nat goes to nanny.

She even offer us to leave our kids with her on weekdays but both me & my sis dont agree to tat. Really too tiring for old folks to care for kids at nite.

purple, jelly, jjmom

my mum doesn't like travelling. and she's the kind who can stay at home for months without stepping out of the house. prefers ppl to buy food for her etc etc, wait on her haha.

plus my parents depend on me partially for financial support so quite siong for my hubby to provide for my parents too when i was sahm.

doing cost-benefit analysis, really makes sense for me to work cos i can earn more than both of them combined, at their age. they are happy to get more money from me and do the caregiving. and they are of the old school of thought that very wasted that i study so much and don't work.

i used to say, so pathetic to only see my kid a few hrs every day.my dad said you have the whole weekend it'll be enough. and really, i kinda feel it's enough. not sure whether it's cos i spent first 14 months as kate's main caregiver but she's still closer to me than anyone else now.

but overall it's true lah, tiring even for us to take care, not to mention older folks. taking care of children is not fun. much easier to be a 'weekend grandparent' and play for those few hours.

but very blessed that both my parents retired so can share in the caregiving. and i can see that kate brings them a lot of joy. and probably more meaning to their lives and they dont' have to just face each other which leads to more fights!

Jelly,
I transfer the $$ to XY for toothpaste?

Support from Parent or PIL:
Sometime I wish I have, at least I can hire a maid to help out. Taking care of bb alone is quite tiring, can't even have a peaceful meal sometime. Bath, do big business, express BM all have to chop chop. I will be taking care of 2 kids alone tomo as hb need to go back off, hope can survive!

hi!

xy,
i pass $ n collect frm u at gathering can?

support,
very lucky to have support from both sides.. hence hubs n i still have a semblance of a social life.. too bad my parents only in sg half the yr.. i prefer to let my parents take care of them than in laws.. as i feel like im imposing.. of cos hubs feels the other way.. haha..

moving homes,
we may be moving again.. only stayed at our place for 3 mths? my parents offered us their home since tenant moving out.. think its great to have a house with a garden now that i have 2 kiddos.. weighing the pros n cons now.. *decisions decision*..

question..
mummies who buy dvds from sprees.. how can we find our if our dvd player can play region 1 dvds?

dimpletot,
hahaha...yah, i also feel tat my parents get along so much better after caring for my niece. Mayb they find the long lost common topic/interest again in the kid...wahahaha.
& it's really great to see both the old folks & the kid enjoying each others company.

phtanus
yes, pls trf $ to xy

eelyn
u mean like amazon spree? can work leh.... i buy from amazon before and i bought from bubuchan... also can work

<font color="0077aa">eelyn: have u tried looking around the player for stickers? May have. These days, our players are usually multi-code.

DVD
My DVD player cannot play code 6. Code 6 are normally those china ones. English movies, but cover is with chinese titles. All those on sale at hypermarts... boo boo.

<font color="0077aa">Those who are staying in the east, maybe u wanna consider doing a kind deed this weekend. this is fwded to me by a friend, we will be giving away some of our stuff this sunday. its from her thread, but i just briefly cut and paste here.

Anything u wld like to give away? Collection is this Sat/Sun.... somewhr near airport... my fren’s car cant take alot of things and i am giving away the fully-reclinable stroller coz she mentioned the floors there are dirty and the poor babies got nowhere clean to lie. V poor thing. Will pack clothings n toys for the kids there as well. Any milk bottles/pacifier will b good.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/2119542.html?1287718282

Dre's godma was part of the UN contingent in Timor Leste and she returned earlier this year from that posting. Her regular emails have always spoken of the desperation of the children there, particularly the newborns and under 1 year olds. Some stories struck more than others. In particular, I've read of a newborn having just one cloth diaper to his name. We can only imagine how it must be. They have very little soap over there so babies don't get their baths or cleaned very often and they suffer from sores regularly. I have just received word from the orphanage there after I wrote to them to say I have a few items on my end that I'd like to give them. SilkAir will bring all items for donations in for free. They have since updated me that they have just 6 cots for 73 orphans (all under 1yo) with 18 orphans waiting to join. They need cots, clothes, unopened formula, toys, unused diapers etc etc.

If any of you wish to contribute something to this effort - I am targeting to send what I can next week as the plane returns on the 19th with their coordinator, do let me know. I am putting forward this list so please add to it so I know how big or small this collection would become. Thereafter, I'd contact everyone to let you know where to drop these items off. Sorry, I cannot do a collection from your place per se thus be prepared to send things down to that single collection pt.

Thanks all in advanced.

Examples of things we can give...
1. BABY COTS
2. CLOTHES (to use the recycling bag size for estimation of quantities. You are welcomed to donate bibs, towels, mittens, booties, onesies etc. Just ensure items are not soiled.)
3. TOYS (Hanging mobiles, rattles, books, mats etc. Again, use the recycling bag sizes to indicate extent of donation for estimation.)
4. FEEDING UTENSILS (Electric items are not advisable as Timor has no electricity. Bottles, teats, caps, pacifiers are welcomed.)
5. INFANT FORMULA (all sorts are welcomed. If opened, please ensure it is still usable and give a "drink-by" date and ensure it's sealed well for a flight. Unopened tins are most welcomed.)
6. CLEANSERS &amp; CREAMS (These include bottle detergents, brushes, shampoos, body/face cream, diaper cream etc.)
7. DIAPERS (Cloth, disposables all welcomed)

Collection Address: laguna Green, 20 Jln Hajijah #03-11 S(468726)
Collection date/time: 23 oct (4-6pm) and 24 oct (8-10am, 7-8pm)</font>

Any mummies in the west wants to donate? I have some things to let go. But I don't have timg to go all the way to the east.

Speaking of which, pildough passe me an Avent manual pump 2 years ago. She said someone passed it to her. Jolly was it you? If no one claims it, I will donate it.

Jelly- where did u get that info. On sso baby prom from? I don't see it on sistic?

Do we have to get tics for our toddies?

Ruffles
Hee, I joined sso as a member... I got their edm. I forward to u. Yes, hv 2 buy tix for tod as well. If u keen, I can buy for u cos got 10%discount

hi mommies, the contact person for the collection point is Budi Soehardi 96423015.

A friend send me the contact number and in that same message there is a website of an orphanage. I think its prob the same plc...

Saxo, if its an orphanage then prob they may not benefit from the manual pump....

Jelly - thanks. I think I will pass becos the timing is her nap time; there will be another type of 'music' in the concert hall if she goes ... next year bah. Thanks for the heads-up though.

morn mommies

bad night for me yesterday. my dad went berserk, started shouting at me when my bb cried... was nursing a headache so was v slow to respond to him... in the end, he tried to slap me... thank God my hubby was around... stormed out of my house and took a breather... came back, spoke to my hubby... think wereally need to move out otherwise, i will become my parents!

oh no jelly! pls take care..yes try to move to ur own place. it will be tough initially but once u get used to the routine life will be better. HUGS.

i hope ur mum talk some sense to ur dad.. no way we shld have such violence at home esp w young kids around. I hope bb S and Reb are ok

vanilla
R was aslp. was trying to tell my dad actually to lower their voices cos she is slpg already and he raised his voice at me, asking me if S was hungry. i told him, let me regain my consciousness cos was nursing my headache. he then shouted at me, what headache... i was like ???? u mean i can't even hv a headache and take some time to recover before serving milk to S?

i was really pissed...

Morning everyone!
Back from my two week break and my trip to Hanoi!

Buffy: Oooh, you went to the Margaret river choc factory....I looove their dark chocolate!

JJmom: thanks, I got your sms about the poor kids fund, but I cant seem to find the link in this thread....

bigflamingo,

it's under Daisy's post above
but not sure if they r still open for collection

mayb u can try calling this contact person for the collection point, Budi Soehardi 96423015.

mommies
any of your thots taking less food and becoming picky? rebekah is in this stage now. sometimes, she,s eating like a bird now... even though she is still gaining weight...

jelly,
hugs.. hope u feeling better liao.

shawn is like rebby.. super picky and fussy and best is he dun drink plain water at all!! now drinking all the 'unhealthy' drinks like ribena, milo and honey and it has to be cold!! so scare he will kanna cough.

cheerbear
rebekah likes her ribena and her OJ... but we will dilute it alot until it tasted just like plain water!

we tried giving her a variety of food but she does not seemed interested...

jelly,
i also dilute it.. bo bian to let him drink all these coz better than he dun drink any water.

same.. ytd try to do the jap teriyaki chicken for him for dinner but he only ate less than half.. waste all my effort

jelly,
Hugs. I have the feeling that the same kind of thingie will happen to me if I go back SG to deliver. My father is the kancheong kind and cannot take kids' crying.

My boy decided that he doesn't wana eat since he turned 2yo. He even went to bed without dinner one day. Last time tv works wonders, but now even with tv, he might not wana eat too.

I think our kids are at the stage when they may be rebellious about food. Mine doesn't wanna eat sometimes. What we do is just keep offering &amp; let him be if he refuses to eat.

Jelly: hugzz..hope u r feeling betta.

Saxo: oh yes..if possible can bring e pump to e nov5 gathering? Cos one of my fren is looking for avent manuel, I can pass it to her

fussy eater: nt sure if this helps, when ash was gg thru e stage, I started blending his food all
over again (got inspired by elch
) avocado blend, pumpkin soup etc. He ate then i added abc pasta , macaroni..prob after 2 weeks, back to normal , eating rice , soup etc.

Jellypurin, thanks...but the instructions is only for single formatting....like bold or colour only...i want something like bold n colour.

littledoggie
opps, ic... u may hv 2 wait for all the "gao ren" to appear to help you liao...

jolly
hmm, dun think rebekah will like blended food... she does not even like home made mash potato... but i am not making a big deal out of her picking her food, just going to monitor her food in take...

Hello mommies,
How r u? Family K had a great long weekend (including yesterday, as Isaac's nanny took urgent leave), only 4 of us, w/o PIL! We manage to survive and enjoy the our family time, although quite tired sometime especially lunch and dinner time, can be quite kelam kabut, hee...

Jelly,
*hugz* Hope u r feeling better and "reconcile" with ur dad now. Moving out maybe a good idea, like what vanilla said, the initial stage will be tough, but eventually sure can work out, and u will enjoy the freedom!

Btw, my Isaac is forever "bulimic", it is my biggest headache, can u imagine he can go until the extend that rejecting ice-cream?! *fainted* But heng, he is a plain water lover.

Ok, I will transfer to XY soon. Thanks.

XY,
How much i need to transfer to u huh?

phtanus,
Kai and Issac can be buddies. He rejects ice-cream, ribena, biscuits, potato chips etc... He was the only person who did not eat his birthday cake during the party. And yes good thing, he does drink plain water. Hehe...