(2008/10) Oct 2008

Icylemon
Ya, my my is sahm but she used to be ftwm... Rebby is mischievous and she is at this stage where u tell her it's wry to do smthg dangerous, she will small at u n continue and she can't tahan this kind of behaviour...

Also, she dun wanna look after a bb like Sydney anymore...

Come to think of it, I will look after my grand kids lah... Cos I think it's a blessing to hv grandkids and hopefully I can live to the age to see them grow up...

Jelly,
Seems very common. My friend's 3 year old son got bitten on the 3rd day of attending his new CC yesterday. His hand got bitten by a girl while they're playing toys. Today the boy kept crying not wanting to go to CC even though he enjoyed CC the 1st few days. Haiz!

icylemon,
Actually when I 1st saw the story, I thought of Regine too! Hahaha! :p

Biting... Marcus doesn't bite (phew). But that day, teacher complain, say he and another classmate fought over a book and Marcus use the book to hit the boy. Poor boy got a baluku! Marcus got a cut on lips from falling.

Not there... so can't comment who right, who wrong. Kids will be kids. I'm ok with it. Did try to nag at Marcus about hitting others.

But teacher told me the other kid's mummy asked alot of questions like what book was it? who started the "fight"? how high was the hit? At which angle? How strong?

Mums:
My mum's also surrendering and very eager to 'push' Dylan to CC since he's 18months old. She wants freedom to go to karaokes, gym, 1-day tours and holidays. She always complain to me that Dylan '气死人'. Asks him to bathe, he complains water cold or want to sleep, asks him to sleep, he wants to eat rice, asks him to eat rice, he wants milk and the list goes on.

XY,
The mum of that boy very extreme leh. I definitely won't go to that extend. Kids are kids. What do they know? Even if it's the other boy who started the fight, what can I do? Can't blame the kids.

<font color="119911">caregiver conflict :

sigh...actually last wkends, we also vy fed up with my mil tat i told pil tat we have to rethink abt moving into sil's place to b near them &amp; have them looking after Nat after school.

even mil is only helping to take care of Nat on weekends, she can also come up with lots of excuses &amp; activities to go out.

&amp; yet she still act &amp; brag abt loving her precious only grandchild. It is this pretentious behaviour tat makes me sick &amp; mad.</font>

Xy
Kids will b kids... When rebby plays w her cousin who is 4yo n a big bully, he use to knock her down by pushing or shoving her. We will pick rebby up n tell her it's ok n assess her injuries... We dun care how she's hit... In a way...

I find it silly for some parents to ask questions like this ... Hit by a book n ask how high? Siao... If ur child falls off fm a chair n hits his or her head, I will ask how Hugh cos there might b impact to e injury...

Ok, to b fair, I think without our parents or in laws help, we will probably b worse off but since it's now left w us as parents, we will decide wat is best for our kids lor cos many of us are ftwp and not sahp...

We shd still thank them for their 'service'... Keke

Wow fighting and biting! sound so me.

I still rem when i was in kindergarden, i fought with my classmates, mostly boys as they likes to bully my besties. i tomboy so i decided to protect the girls.

Then one of them complainted to my mum. Mum was so angry n she decided to tell dad so tat he can deal with me aka cane me.

That nite, dad came home, after dinner, he was reading his newspaper, then my mum told him after my fighting case. my dad immediately put down the newspaper and asked me whether i did fight or not. I admitted. and he asked, " who won?" then i told him i won the fight. He dint do anything nor scold me.

this remained a mystery as my dad is someone who is v strict.Years ago, i brought this up, and he told me," so long as u won the fight, i wun cane, if u lost the fight, then i will cane u. When u won, it means tat u know how to protect yourself....."

wat a way my dad brought me up.

Well... alot of types of parents out there. I joking told Marcus teacher... since he got a cut on his lips, pls remember and not scare me that it's an ulcer and send him home for suspected HFMD. Haha...

I knew this day was gonna happen. That's why i was so eager to put marcus in CC despite having MIL full time. Some comments i received were : Why waste money? Give MIL more, make her happier. Got MIL, why still go CC? CC good meh?

Heng i insisited on CC. Else, now i really no "backup" plan. MIL was never my long term solution to care for Marcus. Afterall, it's I who chose to have a kid. Not my MIL. So... i can't blame her.

Having MIL help care for Marcus is a bonus.
But our intention was to also care for her. However, since she view that we are using her as a maid only, then... nothing to say lor.

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">UPDATE

Booking confirmed on 5th Nov, at Parc Emily, 5 Mount Emily Road

Pls indicate preferred time for the party and what potluck items you will bring</font></font>

CATCH UP PARTY/GATHERING

date : 5th Nov 2010(PH on Fri)
venue : Parc Emily Function Room
food : potluck (pls indicate what u will bring)

1. xy + marcus <font color="ff0000">(mini milo for toddlers and old chang kee) Anytime!</font>
2. dimpletot + kate
3. cheerbear + shawn (fishball, prefer afternoon)
4. everafter + bryan (Qiji Pohpiah prefer 4pm onwards)
5. icylemon (R&amp;R) + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (bottomless apple crumble with vanilla ice cream or home made pizza)
7. eelyn + kaitlyn + kayla + hubby
8. freda + Gareth + hubby
9. ypg + Kai Tong + hubby (cake)
10. saxo + Jo <font color="ff0000">(5th nov u can??)</font>
11. mint + Regina (Timing: flexi. Food: need to think)
12. Jolly + family
13. Buffy + Cate (Timing: prefer brunch or late afternoon. Food: Potato Croquette)
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. elch + Dylan (Potato Salad - 1st attempt in making for more than 3pax, please pardon me if it turns out all wrong.)

XY : Toy rental : Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

Haizz. My mum commented yesterday next life she dun want to be my mother. Say I always cause her worries as I am a difficult child to take care. I am upset by her words cause I feel despite all the worries I bring to her, did I give her joy n courage to live on when she divorce my father. But I know I owe much to my mum. She suffer alot to rear me n my bro up. Also, now she got to suffer for my gal. Haha

so I told her I want to be her daughter in next life cause I dun think I can find a better mum than her. She start dropping tears n say I am crazy. Think our parents care for us alot but we tend to forget to show our appreciation through kind words n gesture. So they ended up felt we treat them as maid.

Like wat the advertisement slogan went, when 1 generation love, another generation learn. I hope to nurture this filiety in Tong. Hehe... Cause I will benefit from it next time. *evil grin*

Also, I will care for my grandchildren cause I want love tone passed on, generation by generation.

<font color="119911">ypg,
Bethesda Katong Kingergarten offered an afternoon slot for Nat liao. Was told to go register this friday but i m thinking to forgo it liao.
Din really like what i see when we were there =P esp Mrs Wee.</font>

my plan as a grandparent is v simple...i will be near but far away from E. when he has his kids and need my help, he can just call me and i will be there. So i am like a guardian angel...

kids fighting: my boy is always being bullied. My sis told him to fight back.. i told my mum if it is his character then be it... in that sense i have to watch him carefully. luckily in sunday school he has kor kor and jie jie who will protect him...

<font color="119911">as grandma, i think i will wanna help look after grandchildren if ask to &amp; i m fit to.
I always think it is a blessing to have grands to look after 1self.
Although my grandparents were not my main caretaker when young but i rem visiting &amp; staying with them thru out all my school holidays.
&amp; i love them to bits!</font>

<font color="119911">kids war :
so far, it's always me worrying abt Nat 'hitting' others. But i think she really mean to 'sayang' the kids but dunno how to control her strength when doing it.

she does snatch from other kids (-___-)'' been trying to train her not to do tat.

hope our kids dont become class bullies or kena bullied.</font>

Jjmom
Rebby too, dunno how to saying gently... She's my tomboy in e making...

Rebby is always bullied... She dunno how to stand up for herself except to cry...

Vanilla
Think e by nature is e calm n collected boy... Better than a wailing ger like mine...

Btw, any of u want any small branded leather goods from Italy? My sill is going europe. If interested, pm me. Tnx

<font color="119911">jelly,
if rebby always kena bullied, how can b tomboy? jialat...then i think Nat 99% tomboy liao lah, i have seen her pushed back at whoever pushed her 1st!!!

but i usually have to hide my laugh b4 i go pull my tomboy away coz it's so funny to watch the kids 交手...kekeke</font>

Being almost a full-fledged sahm, I really don't like the thought of looking after my grand hildren so I hope Jo will get a really good MIL. Ha. Or a husband who will be able to allow her to be a sahm. And I hope she will want to be a sahm like me, la. I also agree besides own parents, best persons to take care of the children will be their grandparents.

Having said that, I really don't think we should give advice on others' family matters as it's too complicated and too much going on.

<font color="0077aa">hi all, quick one before my boo wakes up.

Regarding fighting, it is v common especially in a CC / school setting. C's class had a new male classmate and for some strange reason, the only other boy pushed him. C saw and monkey see monkey do. Shoved the poor fella and he fell. Ai yoh, I was feeling so guilty and so pai sei man. Was so worried I would bump into the mummy of the other boy. Scolded C and even used some manners books to explain to her. Ha ha...

XY: no wonder C and M are friends. LOL

Vanilla: C does take mee sua and porridge but I dun really fancy making porridge for her 'cos sometimes she gets distracted and she'll keep the porridge in her mouth w/o swallowing. Hence my previous lapbooking effort on Dental Hygiene. :p

Mint: Petit Bowl's menu really is quite good. I have a ready stash at home which is my emergency kit. Ha ha ha... Having said that, when my helper returns, I need to train her to cook more things for C 'cos over these few weeks when I am at home, I did not have much problems feeding her as long as the meals are varied. My helper is not great with cooking hence C takes a long while to finish.

Penny: when is her work permit due? For her passport, I think u can renew between 3 - 6 months. I just did mine recently - passport, work permit, the whole works. Yes, bring her photos with her and it is loads faster. Download the application form online and fill it up. When you are there, you will just need to take a queue number.

Bring cash for the payment. You will need to bring her along for the passport renewal application, not for the collection. The officers there sometimes would "interview" them. HTH</font>

Aftnnoon mummies.. ;)

Saxo- Hi-five! I have exactly the same thoughts as you on looking aft my grandchildren in future!! ;p ;p

Buffy- Think I really need to make a trip down to Petite bowl to 'steal' their menu liao!! ;p

<font color="119911">seems like lots of kids love the petite bowl menu.

mint, daisy, can share some here?

hi buffy - mee sua is my quick meal to make for E esp on weekends cos lunch is also made in a hurry for us to run out....

yup E did the monkey see monkey do -- he saw my pastor's son hit another pastor's son..so he turned and beat me... wah i never give him face.. disclpined him on the spot (dun care it was Children's party)....

<font color="aa00aa">need to seek advice from you mummies. personal health.

i used to have heavy menses. everytime need to put at least 2 pieces of pads.

recent mths, my menses suddendly drop. getting lesser &amp; lesser.

anyone has such encounter?

Wow quite alot of topics today.

xy,
Don't worry, am pretty sure you and Ken can cope with Marcus. Or shift to west area lah... then I help you pick Marcus up if you work OT... hahaha!

re: looking after grandkids
Hubs says he wants to retire and live by the beach so highly unlikely that we'll look after our grandkids except when they come and visit us. LOL!

re: fighting in cc
Can't blame the teachers. their hands are tied. What do you as parents expect the teachers to do if your child is a victim or the perpertrator? The kids have no evil intentions at this age. Secondly, the ratio is so high 1:6 or 1:8. Even sometimes for us as parents with a ratio of 1:1 or 1:2, we can't stop certain things from happening. Right now, we can only keep reminding our kids not to do this or that, etc.

Mint,
Haha... shift... West is unknown territories to me.

RE: Gathering on 5th Nov at Parc Emily,
Please indicate preferred timing. AM or PM?

CATCH UP PARTY/GATHERING

date : 5th Nov 2010(PH on Fri)
venue : Parc Emily Function Room
food : potluck (pls indicate what u will bring)

1. xy + marcus (mini milo for toddlers and old chang kee) Anytime!
2. dimpletot + kate
3. cheerbear + shawn (fishball, prefer afternoon)
4. everafter + bryan (Qiji Pohpiah prefer 4pm onwards)
5. icylemon (R&amp;R) + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (bottomless apple crumble with vanilla ice cream or home made pizza)
7. eelyn + kaitlyn + kayla + hubby
8. freda + Gareth + hubby (AM. Chicken Pies)
9. ypg + Kai Tong + hubby (cake)
10. saxo + Jo (5th nov u can??)
11. mint + Regina (Timing: flexi. Food: need to think)
12. Jolly + family
13. Buffy + Cate (Timing: prefer brunch or late afternoon. Food: Potato Croquette)
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. elch + Dylan (Potato Salad - 1st attempt in making for more than 3pax, please pardon me if it turns out all wrong.)

XY : Toy rental : Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

CATCH UP PARTY/GATHERING

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee) - AM/PM
2. Dimpletot + Kate
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) - 4pm onwards
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies) - AM
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (Cake)
10. Saxo + Jo (5th Nov u can??)
11. Mint + Regina (Need to think) - AM/PM
12. Jolly + Family
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - Prefer brunch or late afternoon
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Potato Salad - 1st attempt in making for more than 3pax, please pardon me if it turns out all wrong.) - PM

XY on Toy rental: Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

CATCH UP PARTY/GATHERING

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee) - AM/PM
2. Dimpletot + Kate
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) - 4pm onwards
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (AM/PM)(Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies) - AM
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (Cake)
10. Saxo + Jo (5th Nov u can??)
11. Mint + Regina (Need to think) - AM/PM
12. Jolly + Family
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - Prefer brunch or late afternoon
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Potato Salad - 1st attempt in making for more than 3pax, please pardon me if it turns out all wrong.) - PM

XY on Toy rental: Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

<font color="119911">morning mommies,

any 1 still has any more of the huggies steamy buns in size L to exchange for size XL? I need a few pcs

Erm.. the hockey table was 99, car seat was 129, then some other toys etc. The car seat was a buy to make up the $300. Ken say, soon have to upgrade, but now to get the 30% off. Then car seat is FREE. Also make sense. Haha... he's shopping more "aunty" than me.

Total damage 350+ after discount.

Alot of bicycles.

Erm.. the hockey table was 99, car seat was 129, then some other toys etc. The car seat was a buy to make up the $300. Ken say, soon have to upgrade, buy now to get the 30% off. Then car seat is FREE. Also make sense. Haha... he's shopping more "aunty" than me.

Total damage 350+ after discount.

Alot of bicycles.