(2008/10) Oct 2008

dentist visit: sounds like a nightmare.. for me!

allo mommies, hows the going? Jelly, saw your pics

It's hfmd season again mommies. keeping abby home this week, fever subsided this morning but her class two confirmed cases.

have you all been meeting much? i saw pics of the day your tods and yourselves created art. so fun

my flat is almost ready hooray! handover in 2 weeks

little doggie,
the list of toys is at the left side of the pictures ah.

phantus,
wishing you a smooth delivery.

Pildough,

Dentist visit:

Is all dentist able to do checks on toddlers or need specialist?

I cant brush my gal teeth cause my mum insist no brushing yet. It is so hard to convince her on this.

Luckily Tong herself will play play brush her teeth sometimes. She really enjoys brushing teeth but haizz...

This week got book checks. Time for those on top to spot check on us. I just feel tat is there a need for such book check? Even without book checks, I will still check through my students work throughly n chase them to do their correction. Heard that from next year onwards, there will be 3 book checks in a year.

<font color="aa00aa">Lilbluey,
thanks for the updates of Phtanus.

thanks for the link of the toy list too.

i think those toys mostly cant find in departmental stores. i think i seen such toys mostly in those pasar malam.

<font color="119911">Saxo,
what r the fillers for toddlers for?

R&amp;Rmom,
no leh, some of the toys in the list r from toysRus wor.

Bluey,
congrats phtanus for me, thx

&amp; thanks for the pics of the toxic toys

Pildough,
woohoo...it's gd to have your own place

Dentist
Fyi, dentist didnt charge us cos he didn't do much except to see if jo's teeth were alright. And scrapped a little of the decay out. So no biggie there. At least none of those fearsome contraptions go into the mouth.

Jjmom
When our teeth have cracks, dentist will fill them up. Your tee must have been excellent ah!

Bigflamingo
You mean at the dentist? Jo is super submissive in front of strangers. Heh. I first suspected tooth decay cos I found white spots on her front teeth which turned out to be nothing.

As long as mummies brush the molars where food gets deposited easily, should be fine. I feel like such a failure for Jo to have tooth decay at such a young age. Luckily it can still be stopped. Her left top molar was worst.

ypg,
why your mum dun allow tong to brush teeth? It's impt for to have good oral hygiene from a young age. I once saw a girl about 3 to 4 years old at church. She was so cute and pretty, big eyes and all but when she smiled, her front 3 teeth were black. They looked like they were rotting. Such a pity.

i hate book checks too. Worse if you have an anal book checker. But my kids like me more during book check season. Cos i'll bring a big bag of the small biscuits with the colourful sugar coating on top to class. Get the class to check for me. For every correction not marked/done, they get 1 biscuit. Then i even get them to do peer checking. Haha!

phtanus, wow! congrats! Another J baby

XY, yes, my order is correct! Let me know when to transfer to you. I dont check the forum often so pls do SMS me. Thanks! Izzy seems to be having a running nose after her second day at CC. Die lah...

ruffles, your new maid not listening carefully then. My maid also the same but not as jialut as yours! She tends to get too "excited", scared we scold her for doing things slowly, so she dont dare to clarify what we tell her and ASSUME. then do the darnest things.

mint,

My mum say she will swallow the toothpaste. I cant convince her. Maybe should let her see those photos of child having decay tooth.

Wow! U got free child labour. Hehe... I din do tat. I onli see each class of students for 2 or 3 periods a day n I really need to use them for teaching or I will lose sleep cause never finish teaching wat I supposed to finish. Haha...

I always cheat, "eat" up about 5 to 8 min of the form teacher time. Yes, I know I am wrong in doing tat. But wat can I do? Only 2 or 3 periods of Chinese everyday. Last time when I am form teacher in another school, whenever the Math or English or Science teacher on MC, I will seek the opportunity to go in n teach my class. Then tat day, my students will have overdose of Chinese. Haha... Too bad, I cant do this now cause my students come from various class.

I am crazy over teaching. Just too bad tat being a teacher is never just about teaching, in fact it involve quite a # of thing tat got nothing to do with teaching. Haha...

No wonder tat kids nowadays Chinese really very jialat. Only 2 periods, 1 hour of hearing Chinese in school. Other time, they talk in English with their friends. If their family dun speak Chinese at home, it is hard for them to master the language actually.

congrats phantus! Rest well.

Xy,
Maybe you could drop an email to iherb to check on the stock for the dha since they sent you a note saying that the stock has arrived?

Ypg,
maybe can convince your mum that the toothpaste is safe to swallow?

you're right. If i only have 2 to 3 periods a day, i won't be able to get them to check the corrections cos will really need the time to complete the syllabus. Heehee!

I still miss being with the kids but i really hate all the other rubbish that has nothing to do with teaching. Think i will enjoy being a relief teacher. Teach, mark and go home. Heehee!

btw, do you have any chinese dvds or music cds to recommend that we can let our tods watch/listen?

Congrats Phantus and welcome baby J!!;D

mint- $10/hr seems good. Last time my part-time helper oso charges $10/hr. This current one I'm using charges $50 for 4hrs. ;) Btw is ur helper from China one or local aunty? =)

Good morning Mummies!

Hope all of u are well, ages since I had a chance to log on. Been rather busy since starting my job and am still trying to strike a balance between work and family.

I miss coming in here to yak with all of ya! Read the archives and am touched a few of you do periodically ask about me and Miki. My mini bee is doing great, she just recovered from a bout of hfmd (caught it in cc) but otherwise she loves school.

Are plans for the 2nd bday party confirmed? Not too late to join? I can't wait to see you mummies and bubs for sesame street!

Check back in later!

morning mummies

phtanus,
congrats to u and welcome bb J (J stands for??)

essanna,
izzy got flu on the 2nd day ah? shawn got on the 3rd day.. and the stupid flu bud is so strong that he pass to me and my hb so now whole family flu

lots of water for her.. speedy recovery

busy bee,
hi *wave miss u and miki too.. look on the +ve side busy with work is gd then u will look forward to all the time spend with miki

jjmom,
r u ordering the rain boots?

<font color="119911">morning mommies,

phtanus,
congrats on the arrival of your 2nd prince

busybee,
aiyoh...really miss u &amp; miki. How's life at punggol? kekeke...when can marcus &amp; nat go over for playdate

cheerbear,
i saw the jelly 1s selling at abt $16 at compass pt mall. BP 1s need to pay for postage, add on cost leh
but i haven seen any of the hello kitty 1s ard
hmm...which design r u bio-ing?</font>

hi YPG - my dentist say have to at min use a soft towel and wipe their teeth if they are not brushing.. i use the bite my finger trick .i rolled the wet towel and get E to bite it pretending my finger is in it and screamed in mock pain...

it is v impt cos they are drinking FM which is sweet already --even though say u restrict tong's sweet and sugar intake.

YPG
Get those toothpaste that is safe in case they swollow.

Marcus still not spitting. He'll gladly swollow it. Sigh.

Mint,
Emailed iherb. Was in, then all snapped up! Fast!

Phtanus, congrats! your son's name almost same spelling as my son's name! hehehe!

ruffles and essana, maids can be so frustrating. mine always tell the time wrong, forget where she keeps things, and just yesterday just ganna scolded by me when she cooked for my kids broccoli thats already turned yellow! she claims that my mom bought it on friday and its oredi yellow, but my mum dun buy such vege! brrrrrr....

Busy bee! hi! how are u? *Wave*

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
it's 1 of those pushcart stalls juz outside bread talk but only 3 designs &amp; no thomas designs.

Their sizes r vy limited too, available sizes r big for our kiddos to wear now unless u intend to keep them 1st.</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item description</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> Subtotal USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus, Black Elderberry, Sugar-Free Syrup, 8 fl oz (240 ml) </TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-Black-Elderberry-Sugar-Free-Syrup-8-fl-oz-240-ml/12196?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daisybuttons</TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mint</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals, Children's DHA, Strawberry Flavor, 8 fl oz (237 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Children-s-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-8-fl-oz-237-ml/8849?at=0</TD><TD>20.36</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 20.36 </TD></TR><TR><TD>XY</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Jason Natural, Earth's Best, Toddler Toothpaste with Free Gum Brush, Strawberry and Banana, 1.6 oz (50 g)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Jason-Natural-Earth-s-Best-Toddler-Toothpaste-with-Free-Gum-Brush-Strawberry-and-Banana-1-6-oz-50-g/17265?at=0</TD><TD>4.73</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.73 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Essanna</TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus, Black Elderberry, Sugar-Free Syrup, 8 fl oz (240 ml) </TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-Black-Elderberry-Sugar-Free-Syrup-8-fl-oz-240-ml/12196?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little doggie</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0 </TD><TD>17.24</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nordic Naturals Arctic Cod Liver Oil - no added favour</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Arctic-Cod-Liver-Oil-No-Added-Flavor-8-fl-oz-237-ml/4202?at=0 </TD><TD>20.36</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 20.36 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Buffy</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vanilla</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD>17.24</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 34.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> 72.76 </TD></TR><TR><TD>purpleangel</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nickypower</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD>17.24</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calla Lillies</TD><TD>Jason Natural, Earth's Best, Toddler Toothpaste with Free Gum Brush, Strawberry and Banana, 1.6 oz (50 g)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Jason-Natural-Earth-s-Best-Toddler-Toothpaste-with-Free-Gum-Brush-Strawberry-and-Banana-1-6-oz-50-g/17265?at=0</TD><TD>4.73</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.73 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Saxo</TD><TD>Jason Natural, Earth's Best, Toddler Toothpaste with Free Gum Brush, Strawberry and Banana, 1.6 oz (50 g)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Jason-Natural-Earth-s-Best-Toddler-Toothpaste-with-Free-Gum-Brush-Strawberry-and-Banana-1-6-oz-50-g/17265?at=0</TD><TD>4.73</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.73 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stanlessica</TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

DId you all read the Straits Times today? Toy distributor like Tai Seng said that they wouldn't run checks on the toys as it's not their duty, since they are importers and not manufacturers. WTF! It's their duty to make sure they bring in non-dangerous toys, not just bring in any )#$@&amp;*(## thing.

Phantus, Congrats! Rest well!

XY, can i know how the sambucus for kids works (can help the kids to recover faster from flu??), i saw there are 2 kinds of sambucus are ordered by the mummies what are the different. Sorry i think this was discuss before but i forgotten liao, thinkg of ordering. thanks

hi saxo - to be honest i dont think it is the importer's duty... there shld be a centralised govt body that looks and tests all these.. in the States they have FDA... in Spore there is nothing....

importers manufacturers all of them just want make $. hence the check and balance shld be a non profit organisation - by the govt who test and disapprove and reject the imports of toxic toys. By not letting them in, the importers and manufacturers will know they will suffer loss and hence clean up their act.

busy bee,
ya lor.. time spend with them is so precious esp for FTWM.

can i come for the play date too :p

xy,
ok i will go home to try tonite

saxo,
in fact this is common for all distributor (be it is toys, clothes, etc) as they rely on the manufacturer to do all the QC.

little doggie,
in fact there r 3 types (one for kid, one for adult and one is sugar free).

little doggie,
ingredient is not exactly the same for the kid and sugar free one. for the adult, i am not sure.

u can see from the website link on the ingredient and the dosage.