(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">tweety,
if add dried scallop, no need to add soya sauce bah? think dried scallop already has some salt coz when i taste Nat's porridge, quite tasty...kekeke but not confirm =P</font>

eelyn: yay, she is really good ! When are you due? She is booked till Oct.. I can PM you her no. if you are int =D

Bluey: haha..nt so fast..no guts to venture out w both as yet

Cheerbear: he will oni be home on fri =( cos CL jus left so me will start doing the night feeds etc hub suggest this arrangment for this week till then ash will be back home..MIL will then come over and help. Guess need an extra pair of hands, esp on days when he is whiny..agree it's better to have both of them at home =D more fun and i love to see how he comes over and looks at di-di

JJmom,
2 scallop seems alot. I add 1 scallop for his 2 meal porridge. I don add on every meal, only when it's like too bland esp only chicken stock.

I change ikan bilis stock, pork ribs and chicken stock daily.

elch,
Me too.. I just modify to a v simple recipe.. keke..

Busybee:
Is Miki thirsty due to fever and not really hungry for milk? Hmm... my logic is no matter how nutritious the food, if the baby doesn't eat because it's too bland he doesn't even get the nutrients. So I think some flavouring is ok, as long as not over the limit. Ikan bilis if washed and soaked before cooking shdnt be too saltish.

Thanks I'll get the voucher from u then. PM you my add later. I pay u for postage?

cheerbear, tweety,
haha guess we are kiasu :p
she had a bad case of diaper rash when we just reach perth.. so heartpain.. seeing little pimples on her bum.. it was really raw! i rushed to get desitin n it worked like a miracle. usually i use burt bees which i love. thick, creamy n nice smell. haha.

jolly,
aiya.. im due end aug..
guess i have to wait for reply from agency.

jjmom,
wow u add 2 big dried scallop ah? it is too much? i buy the small one and i put 3. actually wan to put 2 but my mum say scare not enough taste so put 3 instead.

tweety,
wow u r gd.. so many stocks.. me still with the ikan bilis stock :p

jolly,
agree extra pair of hands is always helpful.. guess ash really sayang justin alot.. love to see both of them soon

btw, is ash still going to cc in may?

Busybee:
Opps I just saw tweety's post maybe u pass her ur JG voucher then I wait for mint's reply. Thanks!

Elch:
maybe it's really due to the milk, more milk means more
water intake rite? U observe and see. Can try probiotics
if it persists.

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
no leh, mine is the small size dried scallop from 'fu hwa' $14 per kg
Wah...u put 3! Did u try tasting the porridge? Shd b quite salty leh, 2 already quite tasty...kekeke

Somemore with ikan bilis stock? think will b too much liao. We only add dried scallop with pork stock + tomato &amp; veg.</font>

Wan Chuen,
If you need the voucher you can get first. I went to the trial for bilingual alr.. but wan to try the English one since mummy here got voucher. And I called to check, their term start in end of June. so i shall go trial now.. lol.

Eelyn,
Coz I got extra so just use it lor.. else also put there.. I use v little on him only.. kekeke..
U looking for Confinement lady? If you don mind Indonesia one I can help u check with my mum when she's back from China tonight. My hometown alot of confinement lady who work in sg.

JJmom,
is yr scallop v big?? How much u bought and where huh?? mine running low alr.. Last time my mum bring from Indo, i think home made de.. keke..

Cheerbear,
The stock v easy.. just let it boil for sometime and use it to cook the porridge. Sometime will add in corn/potato/carrot for the stock too..

Jolly,
can get yr MIL to bring Ash home in the day time?? U sure miss him alot..

jjmom,
my mum buy from the mkt near her hse so i dunno how much. the size is smaller than the 5 cent coin leh.

no la.. if put ikan bilis stock then no scallop, i put either one nia.. also for the scallop i tried once so far.

i trying to get from indo while u wanna get dried scallop here??? I thought over here, confirm more ex &amp; not as fresh?

Nat's nanny, is a indo chinese, always buy ikan bilis (unsalted), dried scallop from her indo home. Better according to her

R your ikan bilis unsalted? from indo too?</font>

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
oic, r those from japan or china? My mil says better to get those from Jap, i agree too

Think u can buy from the smallest size abt slightly smaller than 20cent from 'fu hwa' for $14 per kg &amp; juz put 1 pc for 2 meal.</font>

JJmom,
ya.. I think scallop from Indo is better but hard to find.. I think the scallop is not really salted, as V's porridge not v salty leh..

My ikan bilis all from Indo. I buy from market there, it's not v salty to me.. so i nv soak just wash.. keke..

Nat's nanny is from which part?? Batam?? My MIL also like to buy ikan bilis from Indo.. so i guess it's good coz she' v particular abt food.

jjmom,
i dunno from jap or china.. let me go ask my mum.

i think my stock running low liao might go fu hwa to see and if ok will buy.. thanks

eelyn: oic, guess better f/up with the agency, at least cfm then can take your mind off this =)

Cheerbear: he is gg in June.

jelly: thanks alot. will look for out it =)

tweety : i know! jus half a day, i buay tahan..c how..hubby bz at work these days, dunno if mil can cope to bring ash back to my plc on her own

Thanks all, yeah i do hope minibee gets well soon. I'm so exhausted that it triggered a migraine. I really forgot the feeling of the early months when they were on 3 hourly feeds. I'm feeling so nua i told hubby she will be having 1 dish meals for the few days and he would need to ride the mrt home himself! Hahaha

Jelly, I do give her table food occasionally too and am currently using the sea salt or dried scallop for the flavouring ( but i put in that wee bit only). In fact i was gungho enough to buy her a happy meal, she was happily chomping down the cheeseburger. Agree some salt is better vs poor nutrition.

Tweety, voucher no longer applicable cos u have attended a trial before. Its more for new comers.

Wan Cheun, saw ur email. Will send u the voucher. I think u might be right, she might have been thirsty and i so terrible overfed her.

Elch, I think i will try out some. The recent apple butter recipe sounds heavenly with pancakes.

<font color="119911">Tweety,
Nat's nanny is from some place further than Batam, she needs to take another 45min boat ride that stops right at her doorstep
she says half of her hse is in the sea, how cool!

next time can i tong bang u to buy ikan bilis? heehee

<font color="0000ff">Re: Ikan Bilis/Sliver Fish/Scallops

I get my supplies from a regular shop from Bugis, normally I will buy those from Japan, not soo saltish and of better grade

Normally those small scallops are from China and they are more fishy in taste.

Jolly,
You must be missing Ash badly.. *pat pat*
is yr MIL stay v far?? if not, take cab??

busybee,
icic.. even other centre also arg??
I thought u got a maid?? Does she cook??

JJmom,
Can.. In fact i have alot at home, I can sell u if u wan but I not sure how much, need to ask my mum then tell u?? u need big one??

Stock:

Do you mummies boil alot then freeze for later use or cook as and when it's needed? Dylan's porridge is not cooked with stock at all...time for me to cook them in stock to increase his appetite!

i don't mind if u have enough to spare me, thanks dear

hmm...what size is suitable for cooking soup stock?</font>

Tweety, yeah, as long as u have attended a class at jg (regardless of which branch) the voucher is not valid. Abt maid, yeah i have one. But I cook or supervise her. She has only been with us for 3 months and only learnt to cook abt 10 to 15 dishes. So when we feel like eating something diff I will personally cook.

Dried scallops, yeah was told the jap ones are better. I prefer to get the bigger ones too. Bot from EYS recently.

JJmom,
I use medium one leh.. I got super small one for my own cooking. I go home n taste the ikan bilis c if it's salty k..

R&amp;R,
how can u reject JJmom.. Sshe's so sad lah.. hahaha..

Joanne,
I use ikan bilis/chicken/pork ribs add with carrot/potato/corn to cook the stock.

I off liao.. bye!!

<font color="aa00aa">
i have 4 types of broth to make into stock for cooking porridge.

1. 1 chicken breast meat attached with bone boil with 1 carrot (chopped into pieces) &amp; red dates &amp; wolfberries.

2. pork (假玫肉) with 1 sweet corn (sometimes i will add in dry scallop

3. fish bone stock - i will pan fried the fish bone &amp; boil into soup. in the soup i will also add in 1 piece of shallot.

4. 1 chicken breast meat with bones boil with celery

R&amp;R,
shameless! Who said anything abt being your colleague? Think I wanna b yours? Fat hope!
I m asking for a friend lah, your coy sounds like a gd

Joanne, u mean u buy those ready made chicken stock in a pack from ntuc to cook porridge for Rianne? Not sure but I think those contains high amt of MSG &amp; salt wor...

karen,
are you talking about the one where the mummy posted that she found worms in the HT cereal? I read that. That mummy is so dodgy dunno what she's trying to get out of this matter. I mean HT already offered her so many options as compensation but yet she's still kicking up a fuss. Tsk tsk!

tweety,
no wonder varner enjoyed the class. Safina is good.

wan chuen, tweety,
yes i still have the coupon. Pass to either one of you.

I tried switching Ian to organic whole milk after I stopped pumping at 14 months but he got rashes so he just drinks toddler formula now. We'll try organic whole milk again when he turns 2. My older son drank organic whole milk after I stopped pumping at 12 months. It was very easy switching him but his little brother has sensitive skin.

Do they sell Better than Bouillon Organic chicken stock in Singapore? I use that for Ian's porridge and our soup and it's really yummy. I used to make my own chicken stock with chicken and caramelized carrots and celery but haven't done that in a while because of not having enough time.

Springles - Ian loves the Hugga Bear biscuits.

I'm very annoyed with Ian. He managed to break his new Melissa and Doug piano yesterday. He's also been whining non-stop since he turned 18 months. I miss my old sweet easy-going baby.

phtanus,
The instruction for pediasure is to use cold water. My friend told me its because of the probiotic inside.

little doggie,
Think my boy doesnt never realise he is hungry before. I even have to spoonfeed him his morning milk. His total milk intake is very low. I poked another hole in his teat, he drinks a bit faster, but still doesnt finish his milk.

stock
If i am using stock, then I will not use scallop. I boil the pork bone and add a bit of vinegar after that. This is to leach calcium from the soup bone. And I freeze the stock. Sometimes I cook soup for family meal, then I will use the stock for his porridge. So can be beef/chicken/pork, with carrots, celery onions etc.

Ginno Food Cutter

had received the food cutter in my mail today. here is the list again:

1. icylemon - collected
2. jellypurin - collected
3. vanilla_pod_2
4. BigFlamingo
5. nickypower
6. evelyn (sept thread)
7. alice (sept thread)
8. springles
9. ypg
10. ypg's friend

Mass Collection:
30 Apr: Cityhall MRT - 1230pm
4 May: Dhoby Ghaut MRT - 630pm

Postage - $1/pc

Please PM me at [email protected] or text me at 90909031 to arrange

Mint:
Thanks, I'll get the voucher from busybee since she got my addy. Safina is good har? Can request to trial her class?

Busybee:
Thanks, no hurry regarding the voucher, I haven't called JG yet haha.

Don't blame yourself lah, if minibee is too full I don't think she would drink up all the milk. Anyway hope she recovers soon. U also must take care.

busybee- Speedy recovery to Miki!!

Regarding stock:
JTS, usually I will do the simplest method which is to make Veggie stock...;p
I will use sweetcorns(Buy those big fat one, which are sweeter and more ex one), carrots, tomatoes and sometimes onions.
For added flavour, I will put in some red dates or organic veggie/chix stock cube.
Will let it boil/cook in slow cooker for bout 2hrs or so and the stock will be very tasty le. ;)
Upon cooling, I will store the stock and freeze it for Kaelyn's meals.
Aft which I dun waste the corns as it's still sweet and fragrant, will blend it up and freeze to be use for Kaelyn's meals oso.
Personally I find this veggie stock quite simple and easy yet tasty. ;)

Unless I got cook soup for our own meals, then I will save some stock to be use for her next day's porridge.. ;)

morning mummies

wow so many mummies cooking stock for porridge and lazy me still using ikan bilis.. ok shld try to cook some for shawn liao.

Morning mummies!!

R&amp;R,
your stock sounds yummy to me.. I shall try your combination. Did you did it fresh or frozen?? btw, what is shallot?? I do add in wolfberries and red date to the stock at times..

JJmom,
I taste the ikan bilis last night. Not v salty to me. I think wash twice should be able to wash off the salt. I checked with my mum last night, she said she bought at around $11 per kg. If you wan, let me know I can spare u half kg to try??

Mint,
did you start the JG program by the term or join half way?? I feel like join from beginning is better??

GUG:
Anyone been there before??

Nicky,
U use stock cubes from market?? Those like maggie??

Hi mommies!

Tweety,
I joined halfway. Went for the trial then joined. So I think it's about week 4 or around there.