(2008/10) Oct 2008

joanne,
Think it's called scrumptious cafe.

For jg, they'll be using glue to stick yarn on a picture. See ya later!

<font color="0077aa">am good with late lunch. So, 1pm? Also, Mint, pls bring along the crayola stuff with u ok? Thanks so much.

Just to check again, is it just the 3 of us?</font>

Hi Mummies...

Wishing all mummies Gong xi fa cai and all bubs good health!

Do any mummies know where i can find a hotel that serves Halah buffet, besides Royal Plaza on Scotts cos tat is too expensive.

littledoggie, googled for it for you. struggling with a report and need a break. can try (all halal):

- Tiffany Restaurant &amp; Cafe at Furama City Centre
- Straits Kitchen in Grand Hyatt Singapore
- Ramadan Buffet at Concorde Hotel
- Kintamani Indonesian Restaurant at Furama Riverfront

how was everyone's CNY? very busy visiting?

couldn't visit my dad's side on the first day cos too many other places to go... well, i guess some people with malaysian hubbies have to go m'sia for the whole CNY and don't even get to see their side of the family every year...

buffy,
yup. see you at 1pm. i think 5 of us will be going. you, me, karen, mint and busybee. see you tom.

mint,
thanks thanks! didn't get to read your post earlier. see you tom.

Hiya all mommies!!

Long time no chat!!! Here's wishing everyone.... a very very HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!! And hope everyone will have a very prosperous year!!! =)

hehe... today i'm the 1st to greet everyone...

and here wishing everyone... Happy and Prosperous Chinese New Year! Good Health to ALL!!!

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Good morning ladies!
Happy New Year!!!! How's your CNY? </font></font>

Joanne/buffy/karen/busybee,
I've made reservations for us at 1pm at Scrumptious cafe. Specifically told them that we want the seats right in front of the play area. Heehee! See ya gals later!

<font color="119911">morning all,
happy chinese new year! Huat ah!

dimple, kate looks so elegant

here's Nat's, still vy botak &amp; yet refused to keep her hairband on...
3639598.jpg

About babies not speaking much, my nephew didn't speak much till he was almost 4. We were quite worried as he was not very responsive to words. But came four, he started to talk non-stop, even to himself. We can understand his language, but not the content or the context.

jjmom
nat looks so adorable! wow, many of you dressed ur little ones in traditional clothings... i dressed mine in a matching pinny with me...

<font color="119911">Jelly,
oh...tat's so sweet, must b vy cute &amp; fun to dress in matching CNY clothings. Post &amp; show us quick yah

mint
great! see you! but think I'll be late.

hmm, I did dress Jo up on the two days but I didn't take pics. Sigh. Will check with my aunt if she took any.

dimple
Is Kate ok in the attire? Jo didn't really like hers cos it's too warm and her pants were shorter. The coollar was a killer though.

jjmom
I love nat's dress. Looks comfy too!

Kate was ok, only that the buttons kept coming off until we sewed the gap tighter so she was fussing cos we kept having to put it on and off.

the collar wasn't that tight for Kate, think she was in size 2.

MIL bought the outfit, and my hubby's cousins kids had similar ones cos the grandmas all shopped together haha.

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Katie and Nat look so pretty!

Jelly,
That's so cute! I always wanted to get 1 matching one with me and Natalie but never come across any.

My hub bought 1 Vietnamese for Natalie... looks Chinese enough. will try to resize and post later
</font></font>

dimple
I don't mean the tightness of the collar, I meant the highness.

Erm, so these will not be worn next year anymore, right?

karen

oh.... dunno leh, maybe cos she was in aircon most of the time she seemed ok.

yup, these things are one year wear once pass it on to next cousin type... MIL says she's happy to be the one buying every year heh.

mspiggy

such nice smiles! the Ao Dai didn't come with pants so u put leggings on?

<font color="aa00aa">dimple, JJmom
Your gal look so sweet &amp; cute!!!
I never bought any tradition clothes for my kids this year cos it is so difficult to buy clothes for them now. One is too short and the other one is too thin!!! </font>

<font color="0077aa">ms piggy, coincidentally C also was in Ao Dai for Day 1.
Hers was the full suit - red and gold top with the white pants. I have one in pure white but din wear it cos my auntie visited me. Tsk tsk... Day 2, she was in a 2 piece traditional one which my in-laws got from HK. The Ao Dai, they got it from Vietnam when they visited that place last year. So am v lucky cos I din have to prepare anything for C except matching hair clips. Ke ke ke</font>

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">mousebb,

dimple,
Ao Dai comes with white pants but my Natalie too short cant wear it. and i'm a lazy mum didnt alter so make do with white leggings kekekekee

buffy,
my hubby went Vietnam for biz just before CNY hence I asked him to get some. there's another nicer one for Natalie... but he bought it in a bigger size.

wow... you shd have wore the white Ao Dai... I can imagine how you look in it. must be very nice!!! </font></font>

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

<font color="0077aa">ms piggy: apparently I look viet. When HB and I back packed in HCMC, all the locals we bumped into spoke to me in Viet. Even on the flight back to SG, the stewardess insisted on me taking the arrival card cos she said I needed it to enter. Hence when i went shopping and bought the blue one, the shop owner insisted on me taking the white one cos that's what the girls there wear daily. I got it for almost close to nothing. The downside is when I am out with HB and cos he is not Chinese, everyone thought that I am a viet gold digger or one of the ladies of the night!!! The waitors and locals would stare at us whenever we went to somewhere nice!!! Ha ha ha</font>

<font color="119911">mommies, thanks but i think Nat looks like a boy with botak head wearing gal's dress...wahahaha

mousebb, this is also a little big on Nat, look at the big lobang at the arm holes =P

i din know tat CNY clothes cannot b worn again? I planned to let Nat wear her last yr's traditional romper on the 2nd day but only realised tat it can't fit her anymore when i tried to put it on for her...oh, how fast our darlings grow

<font face="georiga"><font color="119911">Buffy,
hahahahaa... you're funny! I saw you before... dont think you really look like one. </font></font>

<font color="119911">mspiggy,
your Nat looks so sweet in the pink Ao Dai with white leggings (sexy) with matching pink shoes. No wonder she is all smiley
&amp; kor kor looks handsome too.</font>

I also have two ao dais! one tailor made, one off the rack (but they can alter the length of the pants really quick really cheaply).

I like ao dais. feminine but v comfy cos pants mah. not like cheong sam.

hi everyone!

My friend at motherhood mag says thank you for your baby photos. She is looking through them, and if there is anyone else who wants to submit their baby's photo, can email to [email protected] or log on to their Facebook page.

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">JJmom,
thanks for your kind compliments. my Nat is also very chor lor... like a boy!

dimple,
I like Ao Dais too... but hubby didnt buy for me. His mind only KIDS now!

</font></font>

aodais,
impression of ao dais only for ladies half my size.. ehhehe

monyet,
his cheeks are like the oranges!

mspiggy,
nat is a darling.

dimple,
katie looks hot but all set to go grab em ang pows!

ALAMAK, I MISSED ANOTHER LUNCH OUTING. SOB.

Ladies, been wanting to jio anyone for lunch. I 've been off since last friday because mil has gone back to india.

update: abby is going to school on 1st march! wooohoo.... no more dependency on in laws. wah hey! going to transfer the maid out as well, cost savings for me!

dimple, want to meet up late afternoon? i can come down to tampines

karen,

i smsed mint once on this. theres this scheme of teachers called pro-flairs in the kindergartens and ccs, pretty much prepare children's english profficiency for pri 1. lots of them come from lower socio-eco backgrounds.

pay is from 20-35 per hour, commitment twice a week at least, one hour session, 4 to start a group.

But if you ask me, tuition prob pays better. this pro-flair business, alot of work.. i have a parent who's also a mummy friend, she's doing it for one of the ccs and kns i work with. still an option, let me know if any of the sahms would like to consider. training to be provided by MOE/MCYS depending on which service you work with, typically you can work for both, considered independent contracts

mcys childcare subsidy,

eh ask me lah, i just revised my centre's fee listings.

karen,
you'ld be asked to produce employment letter, cpf statement or payslip to show employment.

Buffy,
300 for working moms for childcare (toddler to k2), 600 for infantcare.. which most of our bubs would have grown out of by may.

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
$600 subsidy for infantcare is definitely a lot!!! I remember the last time when we sent wenxuan to infantcare, the subsidy was only $300 and we still had to pay about $800++ after deducting the subsidy and staff discount.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
That time I was very tempted to get those cny clothes from the BPs here but then I thought since wenmin already have so many sets of new clothes liao so I never bought for her. And she seems to be short cos recently the clothes which I bought from the BPs most of them still cant fit her yet.</font>

pildough!

you outta the loop leh... i'm back at work... tanjong pagar not tampines... remember i sms-ed you to say jio me for lunch if your work brings you to CBD area?