(2008/10) Oct 2008

buffy
then let's go another day... keke... busybee also cant make it

Hi mommies, looking for me huh? sorry been really busy at home and at work. I have lost weight and aged 10 yrs, sigh.

Busybee, i think aquaducks is about same price, around $22 per lesson. the one you talking about is Marsden isit? u can sms me if you can't reach me here.

Mint, so paiseh, my cereals growing mold at your house right? this sunday 9-10am yah! thanks!

my dear JJmom....dun feel hurt, Nat prob just practising her feminine wiles. she don't mean to hurt. *pat pat*

mspiggy, who's going meidiya shopping? I love meidiya.

jelly, u organising shoos shoos? I have been eyeing this pair for the longest time but now like no stock for all sizes??
http://shooshoosusa.com/product_info.php?products_id=832

JJmom, Jellypurin,
Dylan's been showing us 'attitude' as well these days. 1 of his favorite act when he's angry is to cry, stamp his feet and turn around in circles! Another is to bend his body at about 45 degree angle and 'force' his face to turn red as if he's forcing poo!

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Hi Daisy,
hope everything's fine... lost weight is good news to me. I've been putting on weight since I stopped bf-ing. For this reason, I wish I can continue to bf forever! hahahaaa

But on the other hand, you're already very slim.... try to relax dont take things too hard.

</font></font>

JJmom, she was just concentrating on her toy. Not anything to do with you...dont worry!

Thanks for the invite Buffy, but I think i have too many things going on already

Daisy

is it cos of yr maid situation? hope you found another one already...

JJmom

yup kate does the arm flapping too. if she hits any of us whilst doing that, we'll say NO very sternly and make her apologise (sign sorry).

Vanilla, about 50 words, I suppose you are right its more applicable to Ang Mos probably. Our poor bubs have to decipher and absorb Mother Tongue, English and dialect!

Mspiggy, ok will beep u. Would like to bring minibee to royce more often since we joined as members.

Daisybuttons, yeah ok.... will sms u. Let;s do lunch wuth JJmom &amp; XY at city sq or PS again soon.

Buffy, if you are busy, I can help to coordinate Zoo outing...

JJmom, Miki has had such toddler temper tantrums too. Was glad PD brought up this when we saw him on sat. He told me that at this age they are trying to assert themselves and they get frustrated when they can't have they want. But as parents we need to set the boundaries (of course this differs from family to family). If not when the bubs get set in their ways it would get harder to correct them when they are older. He said in such situations to give a firm "NO" (do not lose your temper) and take them out of the situation (like take them to a corner) or to change the activity. So not to worry, Nat is not showing violent tendencies, just acting out her feelings or frustrations. Do try the suggestion of taking her out of the situation. It has worked for miki.

busybee,
50 words is a lot leh. I should go make a list of the number of words she can say. But i do remember reading something about even though is mispronounced, it's still counted as a word. Heehee!

jjmom,
yes regina has started her tantrums too. She'll throw the first thing she can grab to show me that she's angry if not she'll just slam her hands on the table or something like that. This will also be followed by screams and cries. Like busybee mentioned, i remove her from the situation. Gave her a 30sec time out before. Also made her look at me in the eye and i gave a stern no. She now knows when she has done something wrong. There was once my hubby was about to scold her and she quickly went to hug him. Of course the daddy melted lah so she escaped scolding. Haha!

busybee,
thanks for the link. I've emailed them before and got their reply. But their custom designs that they sent me not suitable for regina's room leh. Will need to look for my own pic then send to them.

Morning mummies, jus login n realized the lunch is today.. Have to give a miss =( cos got client meeting..sian. Hope to catch up another day before I pop!! Gotta get ready for work now . Enjoy the yummy lunch !

I got lost today! Usually I would take a longer but very direct route. Just go straight and I would reach my workplace. My hubby has been bugging me forever to take the highway, so I decided to itchy backside today. I took the first highway. When I got to Upper Bukit Timah, I realised something was wrong so I turned out, and got back to Woodlands. Did I learn my lesson? No. I decided to try the other highway. And this time, I got soooo lost! I went all the way to Lim Chu Kang, and got into a wu gui lu (no-return road). To make matters worse, my handphone was dead! Luckily, I remembered I have a portable charger with me. With phone back to life, I fired up my GPS and fired my car back to civilisation. 1 hour on the road. No kidding. Morale of story: Slow and Steady wins the race!

50 words
Hmm, I think our buds may surprise us? They're learning at lightning speed so now they may be able to say 50 words in 3 months' time? Or in 2 months' time for some cases? Mispronounced notwithstanding.

Gd morn mommies. Tks God it's Wed - mid week. Been so busy at work..

Such cute pics of your babies!! Thanks for brightening my day.

Karen - must be terrifying. I rem veering off on a highway and ended up at Choa Chu Kang once. Scary cos totally unfamiliar.

Lunch today - is it still on?
Kuriya, Raffles City, 1230pm

Dimple
Ruffles
Joanne
Little Doggie
Mspiggy

Am fine to go ahead or change depending what mommies want.

Being able to speak 50 words by 2yo - My principal gf tells me the general PD passmarks for such milestones are extremely high. So high that many of our bb wld deemed be 'dumb' or 'slow'. But I agree that our bb are learning passively now. One day, there will be word explosion .. so no need to stress ya?

Brought my boy for the MMRV jab last night. He weight 11kg and 80cm tall at 15.5mths.

Bluey,
I check with the GP last night, he said there are 2 chicken pox jab but not MMR leh.. 2nd MMR to be taken when he's older. My boy took chicken pox alone about 2 mths ago then MMRV yest.

50 words by 2 yrs old:
wow.. this seems hard wor.. butthey are growing v fast now, might be possible with some mispronounciation. My boy keep saying "papaya" lately.. hahaha..

karen,
yikes the lim chu kang road is really like a never ending road. Scary man! Hope that you were not late. Best to just take the route you're familiar with.

mint
I was! So luckily I managed to turn on my phone and call the school. Then again, I left my house at 6.15am and reached school at 7.30am. Actually not late, in official school time. Heh.

busybee,
Must tell you this: I love the Huggies Ultra. Really won't leak and lasts the sleepyhead through. Heehee! So now I posted my Nepia to exchange for the Ultra in the exchange thread... Haha!

karen,
So everyone was already singing the national anthem lor... haha! I still remembered last time my colleague got a warning letter for being late so after that my motto became better never than late. :p so if I oversleep, then I will just call in 'sick'. Luckily only one year in morning session.

Morning mummies....

Karen, oh dear... luckily you reached school in time. Can you share where I can get one of these portable chargers. I am always forgetting to charge my hp esp since I am home most of the time. A gadget like that would come in handy.

Ruffles, yeah no stress. I always remind myself every child is an individual. Just read an article that Singaporean kids not doing as well as their foreign counterparts for the major exams in schools as lots of Singaporean parents burden their kids with too many enrichment programmes. They became Jack of all trades but master of none...

Mint, good right!!
We discovered it at the changing room at the PD's clinic. The clinic provides them for free. Tried it out after she had a diaper malfunction when she took her 1st pneumo (prevenar) vaccine and have been using it ever since. As its quite pricey, I stock up whenever there is a great promo. Will let you know the next time i see a promo

karen

yup the gps is a lifesaver. there was once we were lost getting to a friend's house and her directions over hp weren't great, so activated gps and voila.

mint, busybee et al

On discipline, I came across this website recently from a friend's blog and find most of the tips pretty useful. won't agree with everything lock stock and barrel, but think lots of it is great. the left hand column with the section under "Teaching Obedience" called "the basics and before" is relevant to our bubs' age.

http://www.raisinggodlytomatoes.com/

ruffles

yup! Am ok with meeting today! see you all later!!!

busy bee
my charger is only for the iphone since the battery cannot be removed to be charged. Are you using the iPhone? If so, I will go and look for a picture of the charger.

Karen, no I am not... am considering one tho. But I love the quality of pics taken wt my Samsung Pixon, so i can whip it out anytime to capture pics of minibee. How are pics taken wt the iphone? Good enough for print?

Dimpletot... yeah i luv it too!!!
But so tempted to jump on the iphone bandwagon. Saw a little girl( think abt 2 or 3yo) playing with Flashcard Apps on her Mummy's Iphone!

hi busybee - opps sorry today i rush out forgot to copy the name of the Jap rice

iphone - my son's fav...he loves to slide his finger across the screen...

<font color="ff6000">busybee,
yah, the foto quality is the only reason tat i m resisting the iphone tat my hubby is sooooo keen to get me (-_-)''</font>

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Hi Dimpletot,
Just ask to attend the meeting now... I hope it will not overrun. If it does... I cant make it coz the lunch coz I have another meeting at 2pm.

Sooooooooo sorry!!!!!!!! </font></font>

<font color="ff6000">what time is the lunch today? if it early like 12noon, I would like to join too

Vanilla, no worries!

JJmom... yeah. I am not sure how good is the iphone camera but i sure like the pics taken with their iphones which my friends are posting on fb. Lots of quirky effects. Looks fun.

Mummies... anyone paid me $88? For something they wanted to get? I had a mysterious credit in my a/c... Always welcome free moolah. But nothing is for free in this world right!! hahaha... Just dun want to owe any items which person had wanted to order and not deliver.

dimple
I took a look at the site. When I read about spanking, I lost my interest eh.

Vanilla
you need to download this program called Shapes or something. It's good! Jo loves to play although I'm very sure she doesn't know the shape names, but it's good to entertain her for 5-10 minutes and she can learn the shape names (I hope).

thanks Karen.. will do so... anything to keep him occupied for 5-10 mins is good. only shape he knows and can draw in the air is circle... his world is just circles now...hahha

karen,
had a talk with my hubby yesterday about sending Regina off to school before she's 3 so we agreed to delay 1 more year like you're doing for Jo. He said can just let her attend the JG lessons in the meantime. Heehee!

karen

don't have to spank if you don't want to... think she has a section on that. her idea of spanking is one tap on a diapered bottom. for kids our age to reinforce 'no'. i don't do it myself. just 'NO' and the accompanying disapproving look for me.

i liked the sections on not yelling and appropriate use of praise.

re: spanking
i spank rebby on her hands if she does something dangerous repeatedly after i warned her that she cant do it, i.e. switching on/off from the mains, touching the fan, etc.

joanne
think they brought it forward to today. u can join us if you can make it

attendance roll call... dong, dong-dong chiang!

Kuriya, Raffles City, 1230pm

Dimple
Ruffles
Joanne
Little Doggie
Mspiggy (maybe, maybe not...)
Jolly (absent with apologies)
Jelly

i m on medical leave today...having a bad cold. not able to join for lunch afterall...sorry!

think i better msg dimpletot.