(2008/10) Oct 2008

everafter,

the kids dunno why... for sure will fall sick once they go to CC. at least for 3 mths. but of coz in between will fall sick too. to build up their immune system ah... i fed rachel with "pao sheng" 4 times a week. so far ok for her.

<font color="aa00aa">rains
I really cannot recall what my hubby's cousin told me. Currently I'm putting my elder kid at a playschool near to my place to past time and will be doing the same for my gal in Jun/Jul. My memory is getting from bad to worse after giving birth to 2 kids.

everafter
I heard that cod liver oil is very good for builing up body immune system. You may want to start giving that to bryan.</font>

Eelyn,
I got terrible break out, MS and bad appetite when I preg for my boy.. U hoping for a boy??

Nicky,
I search woodlands around my side not much choices.. but Haven really do research on every CC.

Dark eye circle:
Any mummy here using any cream?? I'm thinking of Shiseido white lucent eye treatment.. wonder if it's good.

everafter,
I'm thinking to put 3 hrs class after he turn 2. But still deciding..

Whitepaper, how do you portion and handle leftovers? Cos fruits you mentioned are those I want to serve minibee too but am afraid of the fruit oxidising when kept. I don't think she can eat much at a go. Or do u share the fruit with CH?

<font color="aa00aa">I think my gal is going thru the teething process again. These few days she totally lost interest in solid food and only wants milk. Somemore she also keep passing motion until her butt get sored liao. </font>

Icylemon, wow durian! you adventurous. I am still trying to be brave with Minibee's diet.

Eelyn, hope i dun dash your hopes but I had terrible MS and breakout while carrying Minibee. So I think the symptoms not quite a gauge of the baby's gender. Just old wive's tale?

morning mommies

eelyn
only thing i can share with you is for medela freestyle, there had been alot of people selling the pump after 1-2mths of use. many of them bought fm sprees which costs far less but it seemed like its a nice to have pump rather than a good/must have pump. i bought my 2nd hand PIS on wts for $280. it was used for 1y. hope this guves you a guide.

if u hv time, just check out the WTS threads... many ppls selling local sets of medela freestyle as well, and sone even hv warranty!

But cold liver oil taste quite awful, how do u all give? if i add into his milk, think he'll stop drinking totally!! same for porridge

Mousebb, poor WM. It does sound like teething. Really can't wait for this whole teething process to be over for our bubs. Both baby and Parents suffer! So will you be moving your kids to Cherie Hearts in SK?

busybee,

Kai Tong eat Kiwi and Strawberry as snack. She will direct my maid to the kitchen n get her strawberry to eat. She usually eat 3 or 4 strawberry at 1 go. We usually cut up the strawberry to 4 parts n let her eat herself.

As she drink homemade apple juice as her staple drink, we din let her eat apple.

<font color="119911">busybee,
we also giving Nat all kinds of fruits, normally share with us. But at most 2 diff kind at 1 go, say banana &amp; grapes.

i don't really like the idea of storing leftover fruits esp for our bubs.</font>

Ruffles, any idea where to get the replacement tubing for the PIS???

busybee, actually if u feeding immediately (not storing to bring out), oxidise a bit is ok, doesn't reduce the vitamins contents. but if u really wanna stop oxidisation for pears and apples, u can steam them first then cut. that wld make the pieces soft too and stop oxidisation process. but for bananas, the only way i know to stop it from turning brown is sprinkling lemon juice (i do that if for fondue), BUT BUT lemon is citrus, so better dun introduce yet if Miki hasn't tried citrus fruits yet. hehee. Avacadoes and papayas won't oxidise so shld be ok bah...

Karen, me same as you. i have very bad dark eye rings since sec school. nothing i can do can cure it! i even resort to using La Mer's Eye Concentrate, its super luxurious, but because i wasn't diligent enough i guess it didn't work. sigh.... share with me if u have miracle cure!!! the new ginvera roll on works a not huh? or just aesthetic results?

Mint, jia you jia you!!! btw, hows the HB cereal coming along?

YPG, you are really a SI XIN mummy. I have a lot to learn from you mummies. How do you make your apple juice, I use to let her drink the juice from the steaming. Does your blender come with the filter? Cos Mine does not and I find the "zha" makes the juice not as nice to drink.

JJmom, actually I also dun like keeping the fruits. But want to give variety, looks like at most 2 to 3 types at a go and I need to share it with her. Do you peel and dice the grape? I have yet to introduce grapes.

<font color="119911">eelyn,
i had an easy, totally MS free pregnancy with Nat so really every pregnancy is diff

Daisybuttons, yeah I would like to take the fruits out as snacks, I find she snacks too much on cookies and puffs. So want to introduce a healthier version. Thanks for tips on handling the other fruits!

Eye creams/treatments... I bot the Garnier roll on (similar to the ginvera), i find its so easy to apply. I think the roll on helps to massage the undereye to improve the blood circulation so dark rings will look better? Daisy... will update effectiveness again in a few months!

R&amp;R's mum - yes I give CH durian too!!! He loves it!!!!!!!!!! always come back for more! hahaha

Busy Bee - the rest in the family simply eats up the rest of the fruits
I'm a fruit person lah

<font color="119911">busybee,
yes, i peel &amp; dice the grape into 4 parts coz Nat has the habit of mouthing the whole pc in instead of biting her food.

btw how do we teach our bubs to bite the bigger pc of food? My gal like always vy gan chiong...aiyoh</font>

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Grapes can give but in moderation becos they 'induce phelgm' and not good for the digestive system.</font>

Whitepaper, I see. Me not fruit person lah. Which I want to change for 2010 resolution.

Lilbluey, I see. Any other fruits I should avoid? And what are GOOD! I remember you mentioned that Ash likes blueberries? How to handle?

<font color="119911">bluey, busybee,
din know grapes induce phelgm but Nat eat vy little anyway

the only fruit tat i try to avoid giving Nat is orange

coz i strongly believes tat it induce phelgm &amp; cause cough in kiddo easily.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I give the orange favour one and both kids like it.

busy bee
Yup. Will move the kids over to cherie hearts in sk when we move over but I guess this is not going to happen within the next 2 yrs. Sigh!!!</font>

Eelyn

Go for the PIS - it's the best. Met a colleague recently and she said the best motherhood advice she got was from me when she was preggie - which was to get a PIS.

I've not really heard of the freestyle.

on pregnancy, I had a super dream pregnancy, felt good, no MS, face complexion actually improved (now back to lousy), only had breakout on my back. and Kate's a girl. So sometimes I think even the hormonal theories must be taken with pinch of salt. all varies.

Fruits

I'm lazy so I just share with Kate. If it's pear or apple, I'll bite off and eat the skin, and bite of small chunks to feed her. like mama bird regurigitating. Same with grapes.

My MIL commented obliquely that that's old fashioned... haha. she takes the trouble to peel and cut the fruits up nicely. For bread also, I just tear with my hands. she will use scissors to cut nicely. hee.

Schools and GEP

what do you guys think abt the gifted scheme ah? Now that it's only pri sch sometimes I wonder why they even retained that part at all.

I personally think it's a good, fun scheme but over-hyped. A lot of non GEP kids do better than the GEP kids in PSLE and O levels anyway.

Agree with Ypg that a good proportion of GEP kids come from neighbourhood schs before p3 and PCF kindys, with the caveat that they have good home support. So HOME SUPPORT is key!

<font color="119911">fish liver cod oil :
i bought it liao but haven start Nat on it, i also think it's gd thou i can't stand it myself...wahahaha

hope Nat loves it =P

everafter, u never know, don't judge by our standard. Bryan may surprisingly love it leh, juz feed him like any normal food for the 1st time &amp; see how?

daisybuttons
So the La Mer works??? I find the best solution is still something money cannot buy/I cannot afford now - SLEEP. LOL! SO right now, I still only rely on aesthetics, and renning my min.

Busybee
Oh do report if it works!

fruits
Jo has phases. Sometimes, she loves certain fruits, at other times, no. She will eat fruits before meals, after meals, snacks, as and when there are fruits.

Shadow-playing
Mummies, if you haven't tried this, do! So funny! Jo was happily 'dancing' with her shadow last night. Then she turned around and walked a few steps towards me, and away from the wall. She turned back to look at her shadow and she got frightened! By how big the black thing on the wall looked now! So cute, and funny, their discoveries.

For dark eye rings -

Mommies, I have dark eye rings too and just want to share. There are basically 2 reasons to dark eye rings - either heriditary (in born) or due to bad blood circulation around the eyes. If its the latter, you can lighten (but think cant cure totally) by improving circulation (massaging with eye cream, sleep and rest, placing cold packs etc.). But if its the former (which I am), it would be nearly impossible to improve the condition

hi R&amp;R - i gave my boy durian too.. he loves it. He ate my orange that day too..greedy boy, his kiwifruit is not as nice as my orange. He suck on it, gave a sour face but still want it!

Hi daisybuttons - for PIS tubing - u have to get from Mums &amp; Babes (they are the official agent)... u can go to their AMK hub or United Sq branch.

hi everafter - i give my boy fish oil - those soft gels type... i break the gel and squeeze the oil into his cereal - becos they have favour - orange etc...so does not smell that bad. Also I musk it w fruit puree (w his cereal)..so far he is ok, his morning cereal is w all the supplements - probiotics, colostrum powder, fish oil...well they say brekkie eat like a king... haha..

hi eelyn - PIS is still the best i think. w it I am still pumping now!

<font color="119911">Karen,
yes, Nat discovered her own shadow 1 nite when we r in the room, getting ready for bed. She was really amazed by it &amp; keep gng back to the wall to touch it, so cute

Mousebb, 2 yrs! And I thought can have coffee with you once our gals start Playgroup!

JJmom, I am thinking of giving Miki the Orange flavoured one too. I currently give her a DHA supplement (its a oil I mix into her porridge) but when i ran this through my PD. He told me all dun need. Natural source still best. So key is balanced diet.

Dimple, I agree HOME SUPPORT still key. And it doesn't mean scores of tuition and enrichment lessons.

Karen, Yes yes. I will let you gals know. I like the roll on massager. I like the loccitane eye treatment too. I use Garnier in morning and loccitane at nite.

Whitepaper, so desu ne! Wah you like our Thread's Beauty Guru!

hi karen - haha ..my son too started to be aware of his shadow. He will stand on my bed and hit his shadow on the wall.

Hi bluey - now Ash takes his blueberries w the skin on? Thanks for the grapes tip.. my son does not like grapes, when he sees grapes on his playmat or when we say G is Grape, he will shake his head furiously...haha

Haha, R&amp;R,

2nd kid coming out earlier than 1st kid is not 'for sure'! I also used to think likewise. My 1st pregnancy had its waterbag break when it hit 37th week and the baby had to come out. The 2nd baby didn't move an inch even at 38.5 week. The doc 'forced' the baby to come out by caesar.

Re: Pump
Actually, PIS was a must for me becos I didn't know how to breastfeed directly. And it boosted my confidence that I had milk. My previous experience with an Avent manual pump left me thinking that I didn't have enough milk. Later, I realised that manual pumps are for people who already have established supply and it worked for me only later on when I had consistent supply.

Re: Fruits
I didn't know that orange causes cough. No wonder asthmatic kids should avoid oranges. Now I know. Thanks, JJmom!

I give my baby apples. When I tried to give bananas, my mother said cannot give a certain kind of bananas, and she and my father couldn't agree on exactly which kind of bananas is forbidden, so I decided to play safe and give her apples - sweet but not too sweet.

<font color="119911">dimpletot,
wah...your mil so on (^_-)b

i m like u, feed Nat when i eat, juz bite &amp; feed her =P &amp; i also let my mil do tat too. I know well tat it's oh so not hygiene to do but =P</font>

busy bee,

no choice. coz their mummy which is me, loves durian alot. so i want to train them to love durian too.

whitepaper &amp; vanilla pod,

hi 5!!

Those citrus fruits like orange should oso be given in moderation like wat Jjmom says, certain type of orange are 'heaty' and they induce phelgm too.

For blueberries, I juz soaked in water and rinse it over a couple of times before letting Ash eats it. I dun remove the skin becos they contains the most nutrients in it. There's those organic ones being sold in supermarket, so it's your choice

Ash eats a variety of fruits, he's not too particular about it even if it's sour, he will still eat it hahaha...however his favourites are all the berries esp strawberries..hee</font>

Daisybuttons – Get the tubings and any breastpump accessories from mybreastpump.com. Check the overseas spree thread. It’s so much cheaper there!

Fruits for babies – Vic eat almost everything now except berries &amp; citrus fruits (will wait till she is 2yo). She loves durians and honey kiwis always asks for more! We take fruits after every meal, and share the fruits with her ie. cut into quarter and she gets 1 quarter. In the morn, she eats 1 whole apple / pear or half avocado or kiwi herself. Each day she takes about 3-4 servings of fruits, and 2 servings of Veg – so her poo sys ultra gd.

vanilla,
Oh E really eats like a King for b/f..what's probiotics, colostrum powder?? What brand of cod liver oil u give?

JJMom,
Hope so lor! I hope he don't inherit my pickness on food! :p

Dimpletot,

I think that GEP is a great programme, meant to provide exceptional bright kids a different avenue, acad and non-acad. It should be retained and continued to be refined. The ones who hype it up and spoil markets are the parents.

Oh oh, research shows that sparks of brillance in gifted kids will manifest by the age of 8 or 9, that's why they did the test at P3.

tell you mummies a joke.

2 weeks ago was my elder child, 3 years old birthday.

i asked her, "Rachel, how old are you?"

She replied me, "3 ass holes."

i have to keep repeatly telling her is 3 years old.

but she still keeps telling me "3 ass holes".

so i boh bian... "ya ya ya, next year you will be 4 ass holes, the year after you will be 5 ass holes, your dadddy more super. 40 ass holes!!!"

she gave me a damn blur look.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
talking abt tat, to our surprise &amp; 'joy'(so next time, i don't have to cook separate dishes 4 her loh), Nat take spicy!

Nanny told me tat she feed Nat a little of her spicy meepok when Nat 'asked' for some while she was eating. So she thought, aiyah let her have a go at it since it's spicy &amp; bet she will b scared of it &amp; won't b asking for anymore liao. But Nat surprised her by asking for more! wahahaha...

so mil feed her some spicy char kway teoh the other day &amp; she also cried for more!

my hot chillipadi gal!</font>

Vanilla, is the colustrum powder the one from GNC? I am thinking of getting that. I currently give minibee the DHA and probiotics in the porridge or milk.

Ruffles. Vic i really into her food. I wish Miki has that kind of enthusiasm. She is such a milk baby.

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Actually I was very disappointed when told that we will not be shifting again (within the next 2 yrs) but come to think of it, my current place is very near to cherie hearts and I only take 5 mins walk to reach there. If shift to sk, I will have to bring the kids to take a LRT to the sport recreation complex where cherie hearts is located. This is the advantage and I always use this to console myself. Furthermore wenxuan has more or less settled down in his school liao so I guess stay put will be the best for the kids at this stage. </font>

I've gotten the Lion torch and Ash loves it becos he loves to play "in the dark with torch game" heee

Icylemon,

I oso love durians!!!</font>

JJmom,

Maybe u want to try tasking Nat? Wat I did at home is we will give Kai Tong whole piece of bread with the skin to eat. As she hate the side (dunno wat is it called), she will pinch out onli the white bread part to eat. Also, the whole piece of bread is too big for her to eat, so kind of force her to pinch or bite part of it.

busybee,

U make me so paiseh. I am certainly not a Xi Xin mummy. I was not the one who boil the apple juice for her. Haha... But we usually choose Fuji apples, cut it up n without skin, boil it. Then drain away the flesh. She drink alot of it. Haha...

We onli let her drink Heinz apple juice when we go out n she finish up the homemade juice.

hi everafter - i use alot of supplements from CHildlife - u can get from the overseas spree - iherb spree.. much cheaper. I bot the colostrum powder which has probiotics. but cos of my son's condition, my PD gave another probiotics - from Child Gaia or Life Gaia (opps i forgot). this probiotics has a live bacteria strain which is not compromise w the use of antibotics which my son takes daily... but this probiotics is SUPER expensive. U can always give yogurt instd cos it has probiotics.My son cant cos he is lactose intolerant.

the fish oil supplement i use is also from Child Life - DHA supplement. It comes in soft gel. Recently i change to another brand (more exp) from Super Nature shop. It has the highest concentrate of fish oil. In addition to this fish oil supplement i still feed him w oily fish - cod + salmon.