(2008/10) Oct 2008

my friend say hers K2 (but hers is 4 hours for 3 days then 5hours for 2 days) is ard $295 cos she is PR but singapore should be $250.

today so quiet...only u and i talking

<font color="0077aa">am here.
just a tad tied up doing database entry because need to upload information for new e-DM campaign. So, am just reading lor.

Icylemon: hmmm... i think i also everyday wear sunglasses lor! LOL</font>

hi dimpletot..haha i guess my pd can sideline this biz! but he does not need the $ lah...make so much from mummies like me

on fox - citibank card holders can get another 10% off...

I feel so full after lunch. I think I've been overeating these days... forget that i cannot eat as much as when i was running after Kate 24/7.

eyes feel so tired too... @@

vanilla

yah... PD ho2 tan3.

i think our PD took pity on us. even though it states that the min consultation fee is $60, when we saw him a week later after the first visit, he only charged us $30 for consultation.

R&amp;R,

I know last time 'ma ta' wear shorts, so I also didn't believe him wholesale and let my kid go pcf. Then it turned out that pcf, although stopped letting kids watch tv and sing 'san zhi lao hu', the teacher's English wasn't very good, and the kids speak their own languages. By 'mother tongue', I didn't mean 'Chinese'.

And my kid wasn't happy there. She became her happy self again when she changed school, and within 3 months, her progress in the new kindy was impressive, compared to the time when she was in pcf, so it convinced me that pcf wasn't good compared to the next kindy.

Eh, I used my husband and sister as reference only bcos Penny also used herself as reference. Penny is younger lah, but cannot be younger than my kid what, so you should kok her head first.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
u placed your gals at the cc at your office right?
is the your co giving extra subsidy for your gals course fee?</font>

rains,

hmmm.... i think is really personal prefences liao lor.

see har... your kid from PCF to private kindy.

mine was from pte kindy to PCF.

hahaha....

but i still support PAP!!! I LOVE PAP!! I LOVE MY GOVERMENT!! coz they are the ones who gave me 4 months maternity leave!! muahahaha...

JJmom,

the school fees for MMI is $700.85. after govt sub is $400.85. company sub $240.00 so end of the day i only pay $160.00. but the curriculum here is good. but the teachers here SUCKS!!!

sorry hor icylemon, we NEARLY didn't get 4 months, remember? we got it cos we fought for it!!

Anyway, I was also considering... 2 options. either the ow tah YMCA childcare below my block (convenient until cannot convenient anymore) or kinderland/learning vision a few blocks away from my workplace (got $100 subsidy from my coy).

cos at least if it's somewhere near my workplace even though kate has to travel she sees her parents the most (we drop her off just before going to work, and see her within 10 mins of leaving work)?

anyway, those I'm eyeing not hot at all, so can slowly wait before registering. also the crunch will come when I have #2. if no #2 and gramps don't collectively revolt, then believe it's best for her to stay home for now...

4mths maternity
Oh, dont rub salt on wounds leh..due to the loop hole, i din get it leh..i remb elchwong also din get it. Lousy co. we used to worked for

<font color="119911">pil,
forgot to give u a *hugz*
your post sounds a little sad &amp; u seems to be working too hard, take a break if u can. We miss u here

<font color="0077aa">actually learning vision not too bad and they are under the same management as Pats and The Odyssey. You girls can try to visit the branch near you.</font>

concealer
I'm using Bobbi Brown's Corrector and though good, still not enough for my very very dark undereye circles. I ren min with panda eyes already

Penny,

Shaking hands with u. I am PCF supporter. Hehe... Cause I still remember my PAP kindergarten teacher till now. She is so caring n loving. Maybe I din learn much there but I can still remember everyday when my aunt fetch me from school, I am so eager to tell her wat I have learnt at school even if it is so simple thing like cutting a paper apple. Haha...

When I am back home, my aunt who has never go to school, look at my work n learn how to write the word n hold my hand to learn writing it. My uncle who is a school dropout, will try his best to teach me his version of English. My mum is a weekend mum, I dun have a complete family but my family support is still there. I count my lucky stars for that or else today I wun be Yao Lao Shi liao. The moral behind my lengthy story is FAMILY SUPPORT is the most important. So wat tat u can send ur kid to the best school but ur kid will still grow up hating school cause we never teach or nurture our kids to love learning.

For lower primary kids that I teach, after teaching, maybe a poem or song, I will ask them to recite to their parents. I will also remember to ask them if they got do tat n wat are their parents response. For those who got a positive response from parents, I can sense their passion for learning. Hope u all know wat I mean. Haha...

Time to knock off n go for my cake baking class directly.

<font color="0077aa">eh, learning vision is quite hot. I dunno if it's the same for all the branches but the one close to my home already had people calling and putting their names down when I called last year. But that branch is in CCK do may be hot cos it caters to that area + my area+ possibly teck whye. For u mummies that r good in Chinese has one less thing to worry about la. So may not need a bilingual class or setting.</font>

Haha... Long time never post. Itchy hands. I pride myself to be someone positive n learn learning and I attribute it to my family who nurture me to be such a person by showing their love for learning as well. So FAMILY SUPPORT most important!!

<font color="0077aa">Yao Lao shi, v true. I totally agree that family support is v important-not just teaching of academic stuff but also values. The school can only do do much. As parents, it is our responsibility to nurture our kids and not just leave everything to the schools. As per my previous FB status, not all teachers are parents but all parents are teachers.

Learning Vision is really good? Then I can rest my mind liao... coz enrolled CH at the Learning Vision at my workplace... starts on 1 Oct 2010... hope its really good.........

Something fun to share =) Disney on ice is coming in march..18th to 21st and there is 10% disc for early birds.. So looking fwd cos ash loves the Disney characters.. Jus hope I dun pop before the show Manz..

<font color="0077aa">whitepaper: u did any site visit? Good to head down to look see look see, speak to the teachers, check out the environment and children. If the children look engaged and happy, they should be ok.
Cos even if rep is good, branch to branch, there should be some differences due to teachers, etc. So sometimes it's not really if they are good but more of a match with your style, preference and CH's personality.

buffy

yep yep went down to see. the kiddos seem to be having fun, and the principal know each and every one of them so well, even their individual likes/ dislikes and habits. one class always has an extra serving for lunch coz one of the girls will eat 2 servings!

And i sort of like their menu... all healthy dishes...

Heard great reviews from colleagues with their kids there as well, so hope that LV really lives up to their name

Hiya mummies! How's everyone? I've started my final module... 13 weeks to complete it and then I'm done studying! Haha! This module is the worst cos they are monitoring our progress almost every week so can't even afford to slack. Sigh!

Re: PCF
Better dun let pildough read the bad remarks of PCF or she'll give you all a mouthful. Hahaha!

Anyway, some of my ex pupils who got into the gifted programme were from PCF. So much for branded schools huh? Plus our Yao Lao Shi from PCF too. Heehee!

icylemon,
There's a LV at IBP leh.

vanilla,
I also want to molest your Hermes bag if you ever get it. Haha! Or should Karen and I egg you on to get it? LOL!

dimpletot,

You got an amazing memory. Either that or I'm getting senile. I forgot about the 'nearly didn't get 4th month' and the petition.

mia for some time.. hope everyone's doing well..

schools,
omg.. im so far behind.. hubs n i havent thought of what kind of sch to send kaitlyn to at all.. its educational to hear the 2 schools of thought.

#2,
this pregnancy is very different. my first was very smooth.. this time, im having breakout, very tired.. get cold chills and having MS everyday.. everyone thinks its a boy.. *??*

mums who were pumping,
PIS vs Freestyle.. any comments? I'm shopping for a new pump for new baby.. my last pump (mini elec plus) was useless.

Hellooo mummies!!

Muahaaa..oops I actually started a topic on BB cream!! ;p

karen- Thxs for the offer, am still considering...;p Cos I'm more on the tan/medium skin tone type, hence was thinking if the bb cream maybe tad too fair on me anot leh! ;p

Wow hot topic on pre schooling!!
I haven even started my research/plan on it yet!!
To think, I even have the cheek to talk bout which Pri school next time Kaelyn will go to!! *LOL*

eelyn- I'm using the Ameda dual lactaline electric pumps and think it works good!! ;)

eelyn,

Eh, so strange. Both my babies were girls and my both pregnancies were like what you describe: very tired, cold chills, having MS every day, didn't have appetite, highly sensitive to smells. Contrary to common beliefs, those women (that I know lah - my sister, friends and colleagues) whose babies were boys looked radiant, and stopped having MS after the first 3 months. They themselves told me they felt good. One of them had 2 girls and 1 boy and she said she felt tired during her girls' time and everybody told her she looked radiant during the boy.

I used both mini electric and PIS and PIS was a life-saver. Mini electric was too harsh and I had mastitis twice within a month. I didn't know pumping didn't have to be painful until I used PIS. But PIS is heavy if you need to lug around. I haven't tried Freestyle tho. But since it's so expensive, it should be even better. Haha, I believe in 一分钱,一分货。

mint,

Jiayou, jiayou! 1 more to go onli.

U r so right about the gifted students coming from PCF. Actually given the ratio of PCF kiddy in Singapore, the ratio of gifted students from PCF background is still much higher (from MOE data) But their family support is certainly there.

eelyn,

U want to get a boy this time round?

nickypower,

U can start ur research now. Hehe...

rains,

Maybe it got more to do with the health status of the mummy n how much the mummy enjoy the pregnancy (as in stress level) rather than expecting boy or gal. Though I am admitted twice to KKH prior my delivery, I was not tired, no morning sickness at all, got great appetite, especially for chicken rice.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning

eelyn
Jiayou! Every pregnancy is different. My 1st one was very smooth too but when come to the 2nd one I experienced almost everything! It was a tough pregnancy for me.
As on breast pump, I like PIS!!! I was also using mini electric before that and it was like what rains mentioned the pump is too harsh and I gave up after using for 3 days and switched to PIS.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">little doggie
re: PCF
My hubby's cousin did mention why it is better to put the kids in PCF but I cannot remember what's the reason liao. She is a pri sch teacher.</font>

mousebb,

I'm not sure if it's the same 'benefit' but I remember some time ago, there was a discussion on montessori vs pcf in another thread. Someone mentioned that pcf is good for prepping kids for a classroom setting becos they get kids to sit down and do work like pri sch kids. Montessori kids tend to find classroom environment stifling and have difficulty adjusting to pri sch setting.

rains,

Oh is it? PCF is more classroom setting as compared to Montessori play style? Then I more certainly want to send Kai Tong to PCF. Cause she always play like wild at home, dun want her to play at school too. Good if school can make her sit down n do some work. I think at PCF, they also learn through conducive play, at least from wat I observe at the PCF kiddy at the block near my house. But maybe due to budget, they are not able to do really conducive play so much n the teacher-child ratio is not to their advantage also.

I got a P1 kid from Montessori. He is a headache for me. Haha... Cant sit still, will stand up n walk in class etc etc. But he is not special need kid. Dunno is it really cause of Montessori. Haha...

Gd morn mommies!!

Am going for my check-up later - can't wait to see boy-boy!

Eelyn - I swear by my PIS! It's great when you are doing heavy duty pumping. Gonna send it for servicing soon in preparation. I have a Swing too - works like a dream; but only 1sided. So DH bot the PIS me to reduce the pump time.

Montesorri - Also heard of cases where the kids find it hard to adjust to P1. Some of my frens who sent their kids there had to pull them out even before a term ends because the kid just din like it. Heard lots of worksheets etc. EEks.

Dimple - orh. See how long I have left that place!

good morning!!

wow! din know quite a no. of you like your kids to go PCF.

^ 5 to Penny, YPG, Mousebb &amp; Lil Bluey!!

Mint,

ya, I have enrolled Regine to the newly opened LV in IBP. having corporate rates for me.

LV teaches tods very good motor skills. but I will still pull Regine out when she is in N2. Regine will be going to LV in May. Got to prepare her liao.

eelyn,

congrats on your pregnancy. i din know you were pregnant until 1 of the mummies know me. i remember you as the "chio bu" mummy.

btw dun believe wat the old folks said abt the outbreak. every pregnancy is different.

when i had my #1, skin's condition was top form. my #1 is a girl.

when i had Regine, i had very very bad skin irritation. almost like having chicken pox. the old folks oso told me "oh! mite be a boy!!" well... is a girl. and is a healthy girl!!

see... every pregnancy is so different. but one thing for sure... the 2nd one will comes out earlier than the 1st child.

enjoy your pregnancy yah!! i enjoyed my pregnancy. is a very good way of bonding time with the little one in the womb.

Ruffles,

i heard a different story abt Montesorri leh. they said kids from Montesorri will cope better when they go to Pri 1. thats Y when my coy out for a contract renewal. most of my colleagues voted MMI instead of LV.

but i can tell you, MMI teachers dun have much passion as compared to LV's teachers.

my cousin who is a teacher blamed me of putting my elder child in MMI.

anyway to me, letting her in nursery 1 &amp; 2 is really juz past time. tats Y i will put her in PCF after tat.

Whitepaper/R&amp;R,
I'm so envious that u all enjoy corporate rates for LV. I kinda like that place, used to hv one near to my ex workplace, but no corporate rate though..Any mummy letting their bubs go CC when they turns 18mths?? Come to think abt it it'll be May when bryan goes CC..and June sch holidays..i presume he'll fall sick easily
. How should i prepare him or rather his immune system?

Good Morning Mummies,
Wow what an intense discussion on preschool! Guess different strokes for different folks.

BB Cream, I went to check out the one from The Face Shop while on my way to class with Minibee yesterday. It promises to have whitening and firming properties. Same price as Hanskin. Will try the sample for Hanskin then decide which brand! Need coverage for my "return from the dead" complexion! hahaha...

Fruits...
Mummies, just wondering how do u introduce fruit to your kiddo's diet now? I stopped puree-ing. But other then banana, Minibee doesn't seem keen on the other fruits. Anyone dice fruits to serve as snack? Thinking of doing that.

busy bee

yup I dice fruits for CH... apples, peaches, banana, kiwi fruit, avacado, papaya........... he will use his hands to take and eat, abit messy but he enjoys it

Everafter, I am thinking maybe more fruits? Was at the medical hall and the sales guy insisted Si Shen Fen helps with immune system also (i always thought that it was to enhance appetite only). Heards Cherie Hearts CC give each child some Scott's Emulsion to help with the child's immune system.

everafter

CH will go CC in Oct, when he turns 2
I guess the falling sick part is normal for many tods... and we just have to grit out teeth and go through it lor... that's only so much preventive measures we can do