(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi dimpletot... hope kate recovers. the weather is crzy these few days!

Re legs - my fren's pd told her that the bow legs will correct once bb starts to walk properly. abt the myth of holding them to walk will cause them bow legs.. well it is not true.

dimpletot,
hope kate feels better liao.. hugz

jelly,
same here... me no mood to work as well.. dun feel like coming to ofc this morning :p

Merry Christmas everyone!

I had a quiet Christmas this year. Hubby had to work on x'mas day.

How are you all planning to spend new year's eve? I wanted to book Ritz again but ex leh. Heehee!

Dimpletot,
oh dear! Hope kate gets well soon.

buffy,
saw from your fb that cate got baptised at St Mary's by fr JP. Regina got baptised there too. You go for mass there?

Saw that there's a new Learning Vision open at IBP. Any feedback?

<font color="0077aa">hey mint, i was also about to ask you abt it 'cos likewise, i saw regina's pic. ya, my parish is there 'cos i was baptised there too. sponsored 2 rounds of RCIA and then i got preggy and din sponsor liao 'cos was sleepy all the time in the first trimester. Heh...

i have not been attending for some time and gonna rev the engine up again. v jat lat lah. we stopped initially 'cos of the H1N1 scare and then off and on... :p

what time mass do you usually go for?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Learning vision is under the same management that owns Pats and The Odyssey... I called to enquire abt one in CCK (or somewhere around there). I striked it off my list 'cos I wanted a bilingual class and a lower teacher:student ratio... So, it depends on what you want. And nope, have not visited Jubilee yet 'cos was down with Bronchitis and then went into a mad rush to organise for some food at my bro's party and also X'mas shopping...

I wanted to put Cate in St Joseph's Kindy too but based on some forum reviews and checking with some friends, the curriculum is quite relaxed in that place and apparently, some mummies commented that their kids have probs adjusting in P1... Hence my thoughts abt sending her to another place instead lor...</font>

dimple,
oh dear! hope katie gets well soon. hugz to you both!

jasmine,
hope your bb gets well soon as well.

xmas:
mine was boring. hubby had to work from home.

buffy
u really did quite a bit of research man... i am thinking of LV at YCK... had to go and visit and hv a chat w the principal... getting a bit kan jiong and kiasu...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Oh dear! guess the "cold" weather is causing the tods to fall sick again. Another thread that I frequent also had a no. of tods down with fever.

<font color="119911">dimple, </font>
hope katie gets well soon.

<font color="119911">jasmine, </font>
E was really greedy. All 4 teeth @ 1 time. hope she better now.

<font color="119911">Punggol &amp; SengKang mummies,</font>
Any good Child Care Center to recommend? My boy (N1 now) is in Capie Diem in Hougang. Next yr going to N2. Wanna to change. Any recommendation?</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: I think I must have called between 10-15 places in total! Ha ha. If u r not already a member, u can check out the forum at kiasuparents.com A girlfriend recommended it to me. When r u doing yr detailed scan? U planning to know the gender for #2?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hello, mummies!!!

Just came back from the zoo (again!!!). This round, the kids are more interested in the animals liao esp wenxuan. Managed to catch the polar bears feeding time show and the kids were so excited! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
How many weeks are you now? So fast going for scan liao? Guess you must be very anxious to know the gender of your bb! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
Hope your gal get well soon.

everafter
Is bryan going for his MMR jab next month? You can check with dr lilian on his leg. Dont worry. Sometimes I also see the way wenmin walk like very funny.</font>

mousebb
am in my 10th week this week... so ya, quite anxious to know bb's gender. praying for a boy.. if not girl also okie...am happy with either

<font color="aa00aa">Last sat went for a jab cos I have rashes breakout on my neck and both hands and it was super duper itchy!!! Most pple said it must be due to hormones changes esp I have recently stopped pumping.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">XY
I have no idea also. I have skin allergy before getting pregnant and I also never thought it could be hormones changes until my hubby and my sil guess it. </font>

mousebb
I got rashes outbreak all over the body 6 mths after i gave birth to aless suddenly. Went to dermatogist...no reason too. Never hv it in my entire life. Then after 5 mths being monkey king, it disappeared suddenly.

everafter
Ey and aless was the same. Now ey walks normally and aless walks like barney.think he watches too often.

Dimpletot
hope kate gets well soon. Take care mummy.

buffy,
yup, i'm from that parish too. Used to sing in choir and was involved in the ministry for young adults but then when pregnant couldnt stand long so had to drop out of choir and my morning sickness only came in the evening so stopped attending sessions also. Sigh! Hoping to join back the choir soon though. I usually attend either the 12.30pm or 5.30pm mass. Hope to see you around the parish soon. Heehee!

st joseph's kindy: i think the kids from this kindy have no problems adjusting to pri school leh. Just basing it on my experience from the kids that i've taught. Of course there's the odd one here and there but generally they are fine. And i kinda like the idea of a more relaxed curriculum. Cos my main motive to send her to kindy is for her to have fun and socialise. The schoolwork part i can teach. Provided i'm not lazy. Heehee!

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

EY
I have skin problems before I become pregnant and this problem disappeared during my both pregnancies. According to the dermatogist whom I'm seeing he said it could be due to stress and not enough rest. All the while I'm so scared of taking injection but then on last sat, I actually asked for a jab before the doc could check on me. It was really a torture!!! </font>

morning mommies

Seemed like i am not e only 1 who suffers fm skin allergies after delivery. I got sick when rebby was 8wks old n that was it, i had hives frequently n rashes will breakout when i consume seafood. Recently just got better... I din consult a derm at all. I attributed it to change of in hormones and stress...still love my seafood, but just cant hv too much!

<font color="0077aa">mint: wah, choir?!? way cool man. i cant carry a tune to save my life. :p I tend to go for the 10+ Sun mass or the Sat Sunset one.

Thanks for the feedback on St Joseph Kindy. In terms of distance, it is just around the corner for us so it really is quite convenient. I also want Cate to enjoy and socialise. But read in some forums where the parents mentioned that their chinese level is not that great and in terms of english, they were exposed to the letters of the alphabet quite late too. Hence I am a bit concerned lor. Thats' why I was really keen on the Pats Buckley branch 'cos the kids there look really happy and were really enjoying themselves during the craft and music sessions when I was there. But logistics, I have a bit of issue in terms of cate coming back. Sigh...

Jelly: wah wah, that means the detailed scan is just about 2+ weeks away! Please keep us posted! :D</font>

buffy,
Hmmm.. Seems like we have differing reviews on st joseph's kindy. My indian colleague put her son there and at the end of 2 years, her son could speak mandarin. No home support or background of chinese but yet can speak, read and write too. In fact the chinese teacher even told my colleague to let him continue with chinese in pri sch but my colleaue was apprehensive about him coping at higher levels so didn't. So if indian pupil can do well in chinese means the curriculum can't be that bad right?

Think still best to go down and look see. I prob do that when school starts.

I also like the idea of putting Regina there cos it's a catholic school. I do want her to have exposure to biblical teachings, prayers etc. Cos the mummy here not the holy art thou kind of person. Hahaha!

oh ya, about kids coping in pri 1, the headache ones for me were those from montessori. Aiyoh, they really cannot sit still.

mommies,
yesterday brought regina for her hep a and 3rd pnemo jab. Her weight now is 9.2kg. Woot! So proud of her!

Pd told me to wait off mmr jab till after 2 years old. Yesterday was my first time that i didnt have a long list of questions for him. Haha!

hi mint.. really har the montessori ones are the headache ones? aiyo.. i put my son on nursery waiting list in a montessori one... haha.. ya lot of free play there i see.. my son already cnant sit still... hmmm

buffy
haha... i will keep u all posted... hope bb is good that day and can see it's gender!

re: school
it's inevitable i have to send rebby to sch soon b4 my #2 pops... must make sure that she gets used to it cos the likelihood of her going to full day cc is like super high!

am tempted to buy the 2010 pre-school guide by young parents...

<font color="0077aa">mint: YA! very differing views leh. Actually St J was my first choice 'cos similarly, I wanted her to be exposed to some catholic values, etc. I actually called them and I think we need to put our names down in March. When I asked the lady if I could head down to look at the place, she laughed. :p

Made me so malu u know, macham like some psycho mum out there. She said no need so soon wor. LOL... When are you heading down?

Etonhouse: Joanne. hahahahahahaha... I also called up that place but the branch in Varner road. This was my comment in my excel sheet:

Focuses on 5 domains: communications, thinking skills, social skills, 21st century theme (learning goals), etc. and link to student interest.

Max of 8 students per teacher. 2 teachers: 1 EL, 1CH (curriculum: songs + story time, painting, speech &amp; drama - both languages). This was another place where they had bilingual class. Not to make you faint but here's the charges for the Varner branch (they have different charges for different locations and the variance is about $4k).

Full Day Programme S$12,840.00 (per annum)
Half Day Programme S$12,840.00 (per annum)

All fees include GST, luncheon and snacks.

Half day session 9.00 am – 12.30 pm
Full day session 9.00 am - 3.30 pm

Actual curriculum is only about 3 hours even when it is a full day session. Hope this helps</font>

<font color="0000ff">buffy,
wah...i nearly faint when i c the half day also cost tat much at etonhse! (@_@)''</font>

<font color="0077aa">WAH! I CAUSED SOME COMMOTION AH! LOL... Ya, Eton costs about that much. But this is before subsidy. But after subsidy (for e.g., if you go for half day, the cost aint much cheaper lor since it is only $150. Might as well register for FD and then have the $300 subsidy right?

Anyway... The branch in town is even more expensive at $16k. The cost is on the website leh... U girls can check it out.</font>

<font color="0077aa">MMR jab. FYI, my PD said if your bub is allergic to eggs (and some of them are at this age), then she/he cannot take it.

C is allergic to eggs so for the moment, we are laying off the jab first.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Mint: I remembered reading some reviews at the kiasuparents.com forum. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=770

A forum member posted this "Hi Atan,

Can you elaborate more on what do you mean by a structured program and what is the school fees per term?

My elder gal was in St Jo for three years and indeed the school environment is also very good. However, they are not so academic and adopt a more relaxing style of education program for the kids. Good and bad. Now, my gal is having problem coping with the demanding primary school across the street."

But of course, all these are personal views , different strokes for different folks. Hence, just FYI ya?

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: preschool guide? I got it. Seriously, nothing much in there. As in there is no recommendation / summary table, etc. Just my personal feel...</font>

buffy
okie, shall not waste my moola to buy the book liao... urgh... now i am really stressed out! need to look for cc b4 my #2 pops in July!

<font color="0000ff">Hi All,

How's everyone?

Lennie,

U muz be soo looking fwd right? =D

Buffy,

So hv u decided where will you be sending Cate to?

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

The very rich parents can definitely send their kiddos to tis 'branded schools' ;p

joanne,
my PD also told me the same think.. dun take the chicken pox and mmr together. shawn also taking mmr in feb

sch - gosh.. the fees are super ex.. think i will only dump shawn in those neighbour ones :p cheapo me.