(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: yah, $16k. That is more than enough for a family vacation to Europe man... -_-

Lilbluey: hmmm... not yet. Am torn between Pats (2 branches to chose from) and St J and I just wanna kaypo the Eton House Varner branch too. Hahahahahahahaahaa... Ai yah, unless I hit my Toto dream, then I can homeschool her. *dream dream dream*.

What about you? Where do you intend to send Ash to?

Mummies: Anyone teaching yr bubs dual language at home? How do I introduce a 2nd language? I read in some books it is better to do something in English and then another activity in pure mandarin rather than giving instructions in both english and mandarin 'cos it can be confusing. Anyone?</font>

buffy
my experience is that with my mom speaking to my ger in cantonese and me in english, she seemed to understand both verbally... so i am really not sure about introducing a language!

bluey
no choice... i dun wanna just dump her in a school w/o her learning something... cos recently, i think she is picking things up v quickly and i am amaze how much she is learning too, though she is still not talking v much -__-"

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Honestly, I think I'm pretty laxed haven really research into which playgroup/kindy I wanna send him to..;p~ but I'm letting him go for some 'enrichment classes' till he's about 18 mths then see how again.

Even if we can afford to send our child to the "branded schools" I doubt my hb will be singing in unison with me, he's very skeptical abt such stuff hahaha ;p~

Re: Dual Language

We will speak to him in both English &amp; Mandarin when he's at home with us, during his day stay at the Gramps he's only exposed to English becos my parents ain't proficient in Mandarin. I guess Ash adapts quite well to both language for the time being becos he's able to comprehend what his paternal gramps are saying whenever we bring him back for weekly visit.

<font color="0000ff">Lennie,

Aiyo, dun say 'dump' lar shang nao jing, am sure yr folks are also teaching her in some ways

Am amazed at their learning speed at tis stage now.. for eg, last night while I was lying down with Ash, I was reciting A-Z with the words that's associated with it and surprisingly Ash is able to mumble the words associated with some of the alphabets before I said them.

bluey
ya lor, they are like sponges leh...i managed to teach rebby to say "girl" and she tried to pronounce it... so i think she is trying... but am just encouraging her lah.. no pressure on her part, more pressure on mommy to make sure she is like talking and developing normally... she had also developed a liking for music and dance, which was exactly what i wanted her to be... hahah.. evil mommy me!

<font color="0000ff">Lennie,

They are 'spongekids' now hahahaha ;p~ but no pressure shd be given on them for now. I want my boy to have a happy childhood and not a stressful one

I think now we can slowly discover what they are their likes and dislikes.

<font color="0077aa">bluey: are yr folks only looking after Ash? For my case, kinda like jelly. 'cos my parents (mum working PT too) are looking after 3 of my bro's kids. And their age gap is v close - eldest boy is 2 years old with A PAIR OF TWINS at only 11 months old! With C in the middle at 14+ months, we are really pushing it even though there are 2 maids and my dad. 'Cos the age gap is really too narrow and C is v v v active.

So rather than her staying at my folks' in the day and not really socialising / being exposed to the concept of sharing, playing, dual languages, etc., i rather she goes to some place for 3 hours. Hence my CC search lor. And get this, some places that I call, I am not even the first one on the wait list for 2011. Hahahahahahahahaaha</font>

Yup, they are.

Woah! Your folks muz be very bz with so many grandkids!

Those parents are really early!! However, it's not surprising as we are staying in such a highly competitive society of today, every parents would want the "BEST" for their kids, well, if they could afford it.

the prob w nursery is some schools are fully booked already.

Jelly - my boy can only say 1 word - papa

and i am stressed cos my fren told me her nephew has to see a speech therapist cos his Pd say by 2 he shld say 20 words...

i doubt my boy in 10 mths can say 20 words!

<font color="0077aa">bluey: ya, they are. u have no idea how bad it can be. the eldest one wants to be engaged so he wants to walk around and kaypo but my bro's maid need to tend to the twins too so the eldest one will be watching TV / DVDs.

And for the twins, it is almost like auto pilot mode - bath time, preparation of cereal / porridge, milk feeds, etc. Because twins are usually premature, hence their developmental milestones will only match the rest of their age when they are around 6 or so. Hence for the twins, the girl is still not standing yet and for the boy, he is crawling. The boy also likes to be carried so he is one of those that needs a bit more attention.

My maid cant helpe much because C is another story altogether - she wants to walk around, to the balcony to see the bird, fish, go downstairs, read some peekaboo books, etc. And have asked my helper not to let C watch TV so, C really takes up a lot of effort. Hence, at my folks place, it is really quite hectic man... hahahahahahahaha... my dad said his place is now like CCC. :p</font>

hi buffy - haha .. ya ur dad's house really like a CC! but it is v tough for them too..handling a pair of twins is no joke! Wh didnt ur bro put the older boy in CC then at least ur parents can concentrate on the babies?

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: hmmm... i dun think u should be so stressed out. Because frankly, some kids only speak when they are about 2 - 3 so it is not uncommon.

Additionally, if he is engaged with other kids, not withdrawn and seems happy and sociable, seriously, he will catch up.

Just to share, my eldest nephew is 2 and I have not heard him speak more than 10 words though he apparently mouths them now. And their PD said it is normal. Also, u will be surprised how much they absorb. Cate was only saying a new word a week initially and then it went to one new word in 3 days. Now, there is a new word everyday. And this is in a span of 3 months.

But we do speak to C a lot and talk to her a lot. When I go out with her - regardless if we are in the car or when we are downstairs walking or in the supermarket, I'd point out things to her - trees, leaves, cars, bikes, etc. I did not start it off thinking she is gonna be some brainaic but because I am quite talkative by nature, it just comes naturally to me to talk to her often despite initially, it is a one way conversation. hahahahahahahahahahaa

I think this may have helped in her development. My helper does the same with her in the day and so do my ILs when they see her every evening and bring her down for a walk... maybe you can try that 'cos I read before that babies need to hear a word for about 500 times before they speak it. Of course, this is just based on some research and I am no expert. Maybe u can ask some of the mummy-teacher here.

Dun stress. Really. 'Cos once they start, they absorb like a sponge.</font>

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: 'cos the eldest is a boxing day baby so he just technically turned 2 despite that if you look at the year, he is 2 beginning of this year. So, in terms of emotional and social development, he really was not ready.
But he will be gg soon - next month. So hopefully, things will be less stressful for them then.</font>

thanks buffy... ya we speak to him alot... he knows stuff but just dun speak. Like we ask him where is car, he will point but to get him to say car is diff. he does not even say mama or mummy. I told my hb i give up wanting to hear that.

he tries to say "in Jesus' name we pray Amen", but it is all mumbles.. his AMEN is like Amon...

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: see, he knows what the word means so it is good enough. when he is ready, he will say it. u still have a good 8 months to go before he turns 2 so my dear, he is doing good.
additionally, boys are slower than girls in terms of such development so it is not uncommon. so hang in there. once the floodgate opens, haha, u'd probably wish he'd zip it. :p

Oh, and dun worry about the pronunciation too much for the moment. They'd get better as they go. C's "Knock knock" used to sound like "knack knack". And we'd always say "Yes, Knock knock. Good girl" in a subtle way of correcting her. Now, she is able to say it properly. So, your Amon will be Amen soon. kekekekekekeke</font>

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: I'd bookmark this page and then remind u next time when u complain he is chattering NON STOP and your ears are ringing!!! Wahahahahahahaahahha

eh, u not out for lunch ah? lunchtime - only 2 of us yakking... :p</font>

vanilla
rebby had been able to speak what she can speak at her whims and fancies... she is kinda funny though... she knows how to call papa but she is just gender bias! she will call mama! so aiya... i also shang nao jing, really...

Dual language
I was very concerned over the possibility of my first baby getting confused between English and Mandarin, and I was worried that my kid might end up speaking singlish when she grew up, plus I always felt that English is a foreign language, and thus more difficult to master. So for my first kid, I abstained from speaking Mandarin to her so that she could have a firm foundation in English first.

For the Mandarin mastery that I had, I didn't know that Chinese can be difficult. I always thought people who complain that Chinese is difficult is simply bcos they are lazy to remember the words they have learnt. Now my 9-yr-old kid is experiencing difficulties in mastering Chinese as a language. From the difficulties I see her faces, and some degree of aversion towards the language, it makes me realise that the ability to pick up languages, especially Chinese, may not be inborn after all.

So now for my baby, I speak to her in both languages. I don't want to think so much about whether she'll be confused, or if she'll end up speaking singlish anymore lah. I only know that the path to learning Chinese will be very tough if I never expose her sufficiently to the language.

It's really a challenge to handle so many kids at one time...guess for your case, like what you say, it would be good to send Cate to CC so that she can engaged herself in more activities

Vanilla,

Dun be too stressed over it, every kid progresses differently, dun make comparison. Before you know it, E might be sprouting out more than 20 words

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Heavy Lunch + Average Workload = Zz monster attack

Argh! Fighting hard to keep awake leh..how???

**My blains are dead for a long time alrd* lolx

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi punggol/sengkang mummies,

Anyone have blue destini to spare?</font></font>

jelly,
think u sms icylemon bah.. she on leave until next yr so wont be coming in here so often.

go find things to eat.. wat u craving for??? :p

bluey,
at least u got things to work on.. my job now is doing training and scanning.. super sianz

<font color="119911">Bluey,
Nat is recovering from her running nose but is super cranky to the max &amp; vy sticky to me. Her pre-molars teething is giving her discomfort
Have problem sleeping, need to koala me to sleep, wake up middle of the nite, need her pacifier

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Hang on there, another hour to go...

Jjmom,

Nat muz be feeling alot of discomfort, hope she will feel better soon, you take care too ya =D

Jelly,

Jolly's bb craves for cookies, yrs crave for chee cheong fun keke...

<font color="119911">jelly,
heehee...wonder is it a bb gal or bb boy who like chee cheong fun

what did u crave for when u preggie with rebby then?</font>

jjmom
nothing with rebby... often think of fried chicken wings but i dun crave it as bad as chee cheong fun for #2...

btw, i pmed u

bluey
hee, bet jolly's been eating loads of cookies then...

<font color="119911">jelly,
kekeke...oops, forgot abt the most impt thing =P let u know again tonite after i measure...heehee</font>

Buffy,
I agree that talking lots to our kids help in their verbal skills. I talk alot to Dylan though mostly nonsense since he's a newborn. I talk/complain/nag to him as if he understands since then. Thus to date, he can move alot of nonsensical words. E.g. 'Pa Pok' which means clap hands in Teochew other than clap hands and 拍手. That's the only words I expose him to in dialect! Haha!

<font color="0077aa">Elch: hahahahahhaahahah... so there is another talkative mummy besides me. I remembered that there was this incident when I was at the supermarket. Cate was in a stroller on my left and on my right is a lady and I was holding up capsicums, carrots and fruits talking to cate telling her what they are, etc. the lady on my right kept looking at me and most probably thought i was a bit off 'cos she looked so distubed. Haha... she then saw cate much later and looked a bit pai sei... hahahahahahahahhaaa</font>

allo mommies,

happy new year~ in advance..

for next year, i hope for the little girl to grow happily, healthily and effectively bilingually at her new childcare centre. i wish for low teacher attrition rates, stable caregivers, patient parents. i pray only for my family's good faith, good health, good conscience and steady income,

Then i hope for sustainable green living, an end to world hunger and world peace.

morning mummies

jelly,
chee cheong fun is gd.. later ur bb will hv smooth smooth skin.

purple,
any reason y cant take spinach and yoghurt on the same day?

pil,
like wat EY said.. u r like giving ur ms world pageant speech :p

Morning Mummies!!
Very happy as today is the last day of work for this year.. Tomor I'm going back to Indonesia to eat n eat liao.. hahaha...

Thead so quiet lately.. I think alot of mummy took leave..

mousebb / Nicky,
Where did you get your longcharm bag?? Thinking to get a big one for short trip usage.. keke..

hi buffy - haha.. i was on half day yesterday so was staying in!

i talked alot to my boy too..once we went hawker centre and i wanted to buy cheng ting. so i was showing him the sign in chinese and reading to him, when i pay the $ i was explaining to him $ is to pay auntie and mummy has to work to earn $ so can buy things. The cheng ting auntie said"so young u teach him so many things har"...

thanks bluey - haha i will buy a notebook and record the words E say and the date....

hi jelly - rebby so nice - call papa mama. Mine still points to himself when i ask who is mummy. Sigh!

hi buffy - haha.. i was on half day yesterday so was staying in!

i talked alot to my boy too..once we went hawker centre and i wanted to buy cheng ting. so i was showing him the sign in chinese and reading to him, when i pay the $ i was explaining to him $ is to pay auntie and mummy has to work to earn $ so can buy things. The cheng ting auntie said"so young u teach him so many things har"...

thanks bluey - haha i will buy a notebook and record the words E say and the date....

hi jelly - rebby so nice - call papa mama. Mine still points to himself when i ask who is mummy. Sigh!

<font color="aa00aa">Tweety
I bought mine from a overseas spree organised by Nive.

Have a good break and re-charge yourself for a brand new year!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Today is the last day of my hubby's long leave! So sad! Have to wait for another year before hubby is on long leave again! </font>