(2008/10) Oct 2008

cheerbear

yup yup i just bought another one to put at in-law's place.

yah she can be chu lu one.

purple

yup robinsons got sale now. yesterday queue very long!

Congrats Eelyn!!!

Purple,
I stay in Punggol and my mum stays in Bishan but I bring Dylan to and fro daily from Mon-Fri except public holidays or when I'm on leave. When he reached 1 year old, I suggest to let him sleepover my mum's place once in awhile but my hubby refuses to though my parents are real keen. Hubby says he can't sleep without seeing Dylan's home with us!

Dylan still wakes up in the middle of the night but I've been giving him water since he hit 1 year old. Sometimes, when water can't satisfy him, he'll push aside the water and ask for 'milk milk'...

Pigeon Mag Mag:
Dylan's using it and it leaks too but not always. It leaks when I place water that's too warm, like Karen mentioned, when the white rubber rim is not placed properly and when the hole is not covered by the rubber 'cap' attached to the straw.

The white cap can't close properly as Dylan's fond of opening the cap himself by using his teeth...what I do is to push back the small 'catch' at the white lid so that it catches on better. It works! Try it, no need to replace the top cover yet. I discovered it too late and now has a spare unopened one at home.

Karen and Buffy, think not fail safe hor, better dun playplay. I am latching morning and night, pumping in betw, but my menses returned at 4.5mths hor.

karen - I dunno manz. But me kana cos me din direct latch; I just express out
Aiya just enjoy and be wild .. kkeke.
Actually, I think when you let your guard down and be wild (esp when the woman is in heat .. that time of the month) there is a higher chance of getting preggies ...

XY and Mousebb,
I have the opposite problem. People think Julian is 2 years old! (they must be wondering why so developmentally slow...) Dun blame them coz he is 13kg now. ahaahaha.

Direct latch if really is a 100% contraceptive in spite of menses, then I Mai tu Liao. Tonight action. Ha but sadly no one can vouch.

<font color="aa00aa">XY
Maybe now I know why pple think wenmin is less than 1 yr old! She has very little hair!!! Hahaha!!!</font>

XY,

Is it? All look older than Marcus? Cause I always feel my gal look younger than her 14.5 months cause she is short n petite. Din know hairs help to add age to her. Hehe

busybee,
Studio loft's last year package was $25 for 2 edited photos and 1 setting. This year, is $50 for 3 non edited or 2 printed edited photos. Can have a few different settings too. I'm lousy at taking pics for Regina so having some studio shots are nice for us as keepsakes.

Eelyn,
Hey congrats girl! Woot!

karen,
like you, if direct latch means natural conception then i will chuck the condoms tonight. Haha!

purple,
I stopped night feeds for regina when she was 7 mos old. When she cried, hubby will be on night duty. After a while, she got the message that i was not going to appear so she started sleeping thru the nite. But it was funny at first how she would whine first then wail loudly when she saw my hubby go to her. Haha! The only times she would wake up now are teething phases so we apply dentinox for her then she would go back to sleep. You might wanna give her something to eat or another milk feed before she goes to bed.

mousebb,
alot of people also say regina small size. Hear already quite gek sim like i never take care of her properly. Alot of pple think she's 8 mos old nia. Haiz!

<font color="aa00aa">Mint
Exactly! I also feel very gek sim
Some pple thot I never give the gal enough food but never know that she actually has a giant appetite and can eat non-stop one. She is already eating more than her korkor now. </font>

mousebb,
I guess like what you say.. can only console ourselves by saying as long as healthy good enough. Heehee!

purple,
Maybe give her something to eat as well?

My boy is having a cold, causing him to have a dry cough, and the cough causes him to vomit. So heartpain. The western doctors here do not give medication for that, so only suck out the mucus. Hope he gets well soon.

Eelyn,

My magmag also leaks leh. And wet my bag. I just bought another pigeon bottle, with double layer thingie so can keep the water warm for a while. So far no leak.

My boy is also very small size
He is only 9.5kg and 10th percentile. Not to mention that he is now sick and not drinking much milk and vomiting out his meals but still as active and burning as much energy. The pd recommend me to give him pediasure. Any bub taking that?

purple,
My boy has his last feed at 8+pm. He used to wake up for feed around 6am. Then I decided to stop breastfeeding/nursing. So hubby carried him when he woke up around that time. Of course he cried lah. Now he stopped waking up for feed, but sometimes will still cry then I carry lor. Problem is last time after his milk, he will continue sleeping till 7+ or even 8am. Now he wakes up very early 6-7am.

mint,

Seem that alot of our bubs are "fighting" for the title of smallest tot". Hehe
Mine have a growth spurt recently so her weight finally reach 8kg, at 8.23kg. Regina leh?

pinkimum,

My PD also recommend pediasure to me when I am worried about my gal weight. But my gal dun like the taste so we din change it.

ypg,
Last month her weight was taken, she was 8.6kg. Next week i will know her new weight when she goes for jab.

hiyo mommies!

xmas party looked really fun!! -sigh-

anyhow.. Merry Christmas.

p.s. those on farmville, the bulk of you... your crops have withered to nothingness. Whenever i do pop in, they beg to be plowed away. so please.. harvest them.

ehhehehe

Congrats eelyn!

pildough,

I was hoping to see you in flesh at the xmas gathering but you didn't attend that. Hope to meet up with you some time, next time.

Eelyn,
Congrats! 3 weeks is really early to discover a pregnancy, but how nice to know that you're pregnant at such an early stage.

mousebb,
I never miss the times when I was pregnant. It was 9 months of exhaustion and nausea. Coulnd't go anywhere. I practically skipped the whole year of wedding invitations last year bcos the sheer travelling tired me out. Even the ten-min walk to the mrt station was a dreaded challenge. Eeks!

JJmom,
I think nowadays don't have handyman liao. My husband always ends up spoiling the whole circuit when he tried to replace a light bulb,

Re: babies' weight
Mine tips the scale at 8.9kg. People thought she was more than a year old when she was 9 - 10 months old. I gather it's becos of the night feeds? We're too soft-hearted to train her to sleep thro out. When she first came home, she had to be carried in my husband's arms to sleep at night. The moment he put her down, she cried bitterly. We never got around training her for night activities. In any case, I told my husband,"How long more can you carry her like this? How long more will she wake up for night feeds? Next time you want her to wake up, she also doesn't want."

I knew night feeding is a nightmare during my first kid's babyhood and it lasted for about 1 year 9 months for her, so I made my husband promise to do the night feeds before the baby's out.

pildough,

Haha... Long time never go Farmville, same go to my CafeWorld. But my hubby still very ON for Mafia Wars.

rains,

Cause ur hubby is a 斯文人, mine is a 粗人, so of course he is my handyman. Making full use of his "talents"

I also can see my pregnancy at very early stage. Perhaps cause my menses is super accurate lor.

Good morning all!

Such a gloomy rainy Christmas eve. What are your plans today? Me will be knocking off at lunch and home to play with my cutey, then it's Christmas family dinner followed by church.

Pediasure - Is it a miracle fatty FM that makes babies grow fat? Why do all gynaes rec that when you mommies indicate your worries? Victoria is 8kg and I am already over the moon becos she has since more than quardrapled her v low birth rate. I dun mind her growing bigger though I dun want her to be a lil Ms Ah Fat. I know what it is like to be taunted when young so ...

On early waking, she has been waking 5am daily so no thanks to giving me eye bags. She has also become rather clingey and must cling to me to sleep at nite. I suspected she must somehow sense di di on the way and I asked my gynae about it. He told me that it is scientifically proven the toddlers can literally smell a newborn on the way. And this explains the clinginess. There is inconclusive studies about them able to hear the baby guggling though. So Jelly rem you asked about why Rebby was getting clingy and all and we all said she is just growing up and she cant be able to sense the baby ? ... I suppose this best answers your question.

VBAC - For those with csect the 1st round, did you go for VBAC the 2nd round or just continued with csect? Mine rec VBAC (if no complications) and I am scared to bits just thinking of it.

ypg,

You're too kind with your words. My husband often speaks and behaves like 粗人. I always tell him his thinking is of a lowly- or nil-educated person.

Ruffles,
Wow, that's a revelation to me - the toddlers being able to smell a newborn. Could they detect the sex of the baby too? I notice that children seem to have this ability of getting the gender of their would-be siblings right even before it's proven eg. my kid was sure that it's going to be a mei mei when she knew I was pregnant, my colleague said that her kid was sure it's going to be a boy when she was pregnant, and I've heard of many other stories like that.

Re: VBAC
My two pregnancies ended me having c-sections, bcos both didn't turn down.

My gynae did ask if I wanted VBAC in the second trimester and I wasn't sure. I told him about my concern about uterine rupture and he said we can always try, but don't try too hard. If notice anything unusual, straight away go caesar. But I myself am a scaredy cat lah. The gynae felt that I should go caesar becos I'm such a nervous wreck and high-anxiety.

rains - Yes it was revelation to me too. I mean there's always been talk and hear say about these things and now that it all has been proven! Not sure about the sex of the baby though. Hee. Maybe its true our kids know but it's not been proven scientifically.

Yes the rupture of the uterus is what scares the shit of me. I always have this fear of dying in childbirth. But he did say that going through csect is one of the most major ops any woman can go through... the problem with us is that we have gone through 1 csect and they cannot induce us even if needed. So he said we can try normal delivery, BUT if baby can't come out and we can't push too hard (rupture), I will have to be wheeled in for e-csect. Isnt that double whammy??!!

pildough

miss you! gone are the days when we just ring ring and meet up in half an hour.

weight

my fatty was 9.9 kg a few weeks ago. but my parents still say she's skinny! guess cos her arms and legs dun look chubby...

<font color="119911">xmas eve program :
WORK

so sianz, my lousy co not giving us any half day off
sob sob...</font>

JJmom,

My gal still the lowest, at 8.23kg. Nat weight is good.

But hor, thought I complain about my gal low weight, I dun think I can handle her when she get bigger. Cause I try carry jellypurin's Rebby n I cant make it. I am lousy mummy.

<font color="aa00aa">ruffles
My both pregnancies were delievered via c-sect. Wenxuan was in a breech position so have no choice but for wenmin's case, she was all ready for natural delivery and was already engaged in the early 30th weeks. I told gynae that I want to try for VBAC and he fully agreed with me. However later when hubby asked him again, he said the safest way of course is to deliver via c-sect to prevent any complication. For my case, the chance of bb coming out by natural is not high and will have to go for emergency c-sect if my wound rupture. In the end I opted to go for c-sect. Luckily I opted for c-sect too cos wenmin was born heavy.</font>

haha, yes, ruffles,

A colleague told me that she suffered 10 hours of labour pains in the labour ward, and was wheeled into the operation for caesarean. She said everybody laughed at her for suffering for nothing. And I've another colleague who was cut to prepare for natural birth, but the baby was too big, so in the end she had to go for caesar. She said everybody got one cut for one birth, but she had two.

I didn't know that after going thro a caesar, we can't be induced - that's new to me. Everytime someone gets pregnant, I learn something new.

Sometimes pregnant women tend to have alot of fears becos we hear horrifying stories about what happened to our friends, or colleagues' wives. You don't scare yourself lah. Usually people who are afraid of this and that might happen have nothing happened to them.

You highlight your fear to your gynae lah. I think when they know your fear, they will be more careful with you. My gynae shared with us a real story about a head for the gynae at some great hospital (can't even remember the name liao) who was over-confident and neglected all the signs that pointed to the fact that the baby was in distress. In the end, the lady had uterine rupture and the baby passed away. So there're actually signs for these things, just that the gynae was negligent.

I had this excessive blood loss after my first caesar, so I told my gynae about it. And the nurses watched over me very closely to make sure I didn't experience the same thing again.

I am also like you - have a great fear of dying in childbirth. Before my last caesar, I actually penned down a letter authorising my kid to inherit all my savings in the bank. I wrote down the amount, and my IC no. in the letter, and gave my kid the letter. I even told her,"If mummy dies in the operation, you quickly go and give this letter to 大姨or三姨. They will know what to do."

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">JJmom,
dont feel bad... most semicon doesnt give half day off... but maybe unofficial ones by direct boss. been in this industry hence will understand.

though i have half day but i cant finish my tasks.... most likely staying whole day too
</font></font>

Morning mummies!!
I heard good news from my cousin. She just delivered a baby girl at 1am this morning!!

JJmom,
don sad.. I think me also no half day eventhough the whole co (client) office all in half day!!

Dimpletot,
My parent also said my boy not chubby means skinny.. I think he's tall so looks skinny?? or his face is skinny.. no baby fats.

pil,
How are u?? I'm back in Tiong bahru, let me know if u ard here k..

ypg,

No no, it's not like that. Rebby is a new weight to you, so you feel the strain, but Tong Tong is with you every day. You keep carrying her and you won't even realise when she reaches that weight, altho you might find that she's heavier. I remember carrying my 3 year-old kid when I was out with a friend and she was surprised I could carry my kid for a long period of time when she found my kid very heavy, and she's (my friend) of a bigger frame. I can only explain that it's becos I'm used to my kid's weight already.

JJmom,

Aiyo, don't be sad. Come and join teaching. Xmas eve is holiday

Tweety,

How nice to have your birthday on Xmas eve! People will not forget to celebrate your birthday when they celebrate Xmas, with a spread somemore!

Weight:
I think girl weight lighter is it?? You c my boy so skinny, but he weight 10.3kg.. Now maybe drop after his fever few weeks ago..

Rain,
Did you do will?? I think it's a good things. But not sure abt the details. I'm feeling of doing one to safe guard my belonging.. hahaha...

rains,

I am lousy mum. Cant carry my gal for long also. Everytime I carry her for 10 min, I start to get straining feeling at my wound (appenticis, gall bladder). So I always envy u mummy who can carry ur kid. I do get staring glares by others tat seem to say why is this mummy so unloving, got to let her maid carry her own child. It is a hard stare to stomach.

Tat time at Positive Babies trial, I decided to try carrying Tong Tong throughout so I never bring my maid along. End up my wound pain for a week. I ask my doc, he say I am still not suitable to carry my gal for long. Sobs sobs...

good morn mummies!!!

Merry Xmas to all in advance!

weight:
Is my arielle considered overweight? She weighs 10.6kg the last round..

Tweety,

No lah! I got nothing much to leave behind. It was just a letter in case I died. I heard that letters also count if anything untoward happens to a person. So I just penned one down in case I really died.

I think girls generally smaller and thus weigh lighter. I'm always quite accurate when it comes to guessing the sex of the baby by looking at the size of the tummy. My sister had really big and round tummies for all three boys and mine were small compared to hers. I noticed the 'big tummy' trend in most women pregnant with boys also. So I'm not convinced that 'small and sharp' tummy means having a boy and 'big and round' tummy, a girl. In fact, I thought it's the opposite - my own belief lah.