(2008/10) Oct 2008

wow.. so it's today..
I love the traditional type too with gula melaka.. Here noone will make for me.. hahaha..

ypg,
kueh lapis need alot of work.. need to bake 1 layer by 1 layer.. I used to bake but I cant have it myself as I smell till sick.. hahaha... love to taste yr homemade cake.. yummy!!

JJmom,

Oh yes, how could I forget how hard little children try to differentiate their own creation so as to taste their own works after that! Hahaha, so cute!

I love to roll tang yuen too. Too bad, my granny old liao... and my mum cannot cook. Sigh... i miss those days where we all gather round to roll tang yeun, wrap rice dumplings, make wanton, make love letters for CNY etc.

Wow, seems like most of us did get to enjoy the good old days of rolling out the traditions!

My poor children,
Thy are the deprived,
For your mummy is lazy and inept at cooking.

I want to ask you all:

The Eelyn who ordered the food is not Eelyn Chua ah? Then who is she (the Eelyn who ordered food) on facebook?

<font color="119911">XY,
u know how to wrap rice dumplings? tat's not bad liao wor! i nv get it right even though i tried to learn from my gramp...wasted! we used to learn by warpping sand

<font color="119911">rains,
yah...it's sad tat our kiddos r not gng to have the chances of keeping up these traditions...even Nat's gramps dunno how 2 wrap rice dumplings

Cheerbear,

Yap, as long as u bo hiam my kueh lapis. I am gladly making it for our CNY gathering.

Envy u all got grannies. My mum's side granny pass away b4 I am born and due to my parents divorce, I din get much chance to see my father's side granny. So we dun have such fun times. Onli can remember the tang yuan tat I help my aunt make once.

Maybe next yr when Kai Tong bigger, I can plan for a Tong yuan making session for her. As for dumpling, no one in our family know how to do. Wasted!

Ladies, dun worry about the loss of tradition as long as we have the heart to maintain it.

XY,

Yap, thanks for ur thoughtful gift. Also, please help me thank ur hubby for cutting up the chicken n lamb for us to eat. I am so impressed with his skills.

jjmom,
yup there is green tea ones as i rem eating at those hawker center b4.

rains,
elynn chua is everafter

ypg,
ur cake so yummy so no doubt on ur kueh lapis

xy,
even shawn didnt take the gift that u prepare is really a gd gesture that u prepare it for every bb

oh ya same as ypg, super impressed with ur hb skills in cutting the chicken and lamb which makes it so easy for us to eat

Oh no, how can I forget to thank XY! thanks for e v thoughtful gift. Really sweet of you and to your hubby for slicing e chicken and lamb =) all the talk abt tang yuan I'd making me drool. Love e white And pink one in Ginger soup. Yumz..

<font color="119911">jolly,
woo...now u make me 'gian' for tang yuan with hot ginger soup in this cold weather...yummy</font>

<font color="0000ff">RE: Dumplings

I can fry the ingredients as well as wrap, so maybe we will have a dumpling gathering in future wahahahaha ;p~

Dimple,

I saw you again tdy! keke

RE: Sales

It was madness at Robinsons! aiyoyo =p</font>

Lucky draw gift:
XY.. sorry that I didn know that gift is specially prepared by you.. I thought bought from extra $$ that we gather.. Thanks for the kind gesture..
My boy loves it.

Jolly,
wah.. me also drooling by your ginger soup!! keke.. Bluey also prepared one..

lilbluey,

Yap, I ON u for the dumpling gathering. But I dunno how to wrap. Must learn from u. Hehe...

Jolly,

Yap, hot ginger soup n pandan leave right? Yummy!

JJmom,

Must tell u this: Ur Nat is an amazing child. She is not bad as wat u always tell us. I love her smile n she is so so so cheerful n cute. I am sure many agree with me right. How her teething?

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

Me dun like ginger soup, peanut soup or soya bean will be much preferred ^_^ keke

Bluey,
U so clever leh.. can wrap rice dumpling.. I think not many ppl can lor..

Opps.. i saw yr photo like one.. hahaha... did yr tang yuan with ingredient inside or plain one??

I like ginger soup.. give me "hot" feeling.. shiok..

JJmom,
I think all baby is the same when teething.. I buay tahan my boy when he teething too.. after that she will be a sweet girl.

<font color="119911">Bluey,
wah...u must b a gd cook too! me ONz too! so the dumpling gathering will b this coming 1 next yr?

robinson pte sale?</font>

<font color="119911">ypg, tweety,
i hope so...mayb it's me being the impatient 1 =P
Her premolars r real nasty coz she is having more than 1 at the same time
she is more fussy &amp; can't sleep well at nite *yawn*</font>

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

I think it's the interest =D

Mine is with fillings

Jjmom,

It's been a long time since I last touch the stove with exception of cooking Ash's food hahaha ;p~

Used to bake pineapple tarts and other CNY cookies to sell during younger days, now no energy alrd..

<font color="119911">mommies,
R&amp;Rmom says hi &amp; sorry tat she missed the xmas gathering.

Little regine having stomach flu + premolars teething

Hoho..all the foods make me drool...
Very stressful with my job now, super duper heavy work load, feel like sack my boss again. Ahh! Now then i understand why my colik quit after 1 week here.

Rice dumpling:
Bluey, i can help you wrap! Hee...yum...yum...

jolly,
i like ginger soup too.. yummy

jjmom,
shake head is his fav action hahaha

bluey,
oh yes u remind me of the fried tang yuan with sugar.. is so nice and so longgggg never eat liao.. maybe shld ask my mum tonite :p

u gd leh.. still can bake cookies to sell :p

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Tht was already a thing of the past.

My mom and her frens love the nonya kuehs that I made but I haven done it for the longest time :S

Hmmm...

bluey,
u very talented leh.. gd job, gd PS skill and still can bake/cook somemore.. ur hb must be very proud of u as his wife

Bluey,
Wow wow wow, u can consider do a BP on CNY cookies and nonya kuehs le. Here have many ready-customers liao! *drooling*

Yup agreed with cheerbear, you are 多才多艺!

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear/Phtanus,

No leh, erm..tis one maybe u shd ask my hb but I doubt he will agree with you all hahaha ;p

<font color="aa00aa">Went to city square mall this afternoon. Like the place cos it is very spacious. Good to do shopping on a week day as it is not so crowded. This shopping mall has many restuarants. Mummies who like to meet up may want to consider this place esp those staying at the NE side. </font>

bluey,
if ur hb dun agree then meaning that he dunno u r a bao (treasure) at home :p

mousebb,
u bring wx and wm shopping ah? so nice

purple
to be honest, my work hrs is v long... if i live far and just travel to my parents and ils, think i will be seeing my bb for just a few hrs before he/she goes to bed... to me, maybe not really time well spend... so i rather pick him/her up on friday and return her to parents/ils on monday...but i may make it a point to actually go home to c bb regardless if i can

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
My hubby is on leave most of the time in Dec so he can drive us around. This is also the reason I dont log in often nowadays.</font>

purple
jts, i was a weekend baby/child as well. i stayed with my grandma till 8yo and i go hm to my parents during the weekends and i must say, i hate going hm w my parents cos i miss my grandma

purple,

Why suddenly ask about this question? U intend to go back workforce?

Me now at Polliwogs. It is great to be a SAHM but I dun think I can do without my job. I will die if I dun work.

jellypurin,

Me too! Hate going back to my parents place during weekend. Then always got this feeling tat my mum dun want me tat is why dump me at my aunt place.

I have a hard time adapting to my mum after I move back to stay with her when I am 10.

jelly,
i'm a wkend bb/child too... stayed w my grandma until i need to go pri sch.

i'm considering the options now as I'm planning to go back to workforce... and taking into consideration on the norm office hrs and my hb's shift work hrs.

Maybe becos i think too much ba...

I was also a weekend child.
Stayed with my granny. My parents divorced when i was 7. Thereafter, my mum would come take us to my other granny's place which i hate.

When i got older... i'll go out before she comes. Then she cannot take us. So... totally not close with my parents. Love my granny to bits!

purple

just to share. I'm a weekend parent. But i do visit my boy at my mum's everyday after work on weekdays. The reason why I dont bring him back every night and send him back the following morning is firstly, the distance. My mum stays in Toa Payoh and me in Sengkang. Though not exactly very far but I will need to wake him up at around 7am if I want to send him back to my mum's everyday, while he can sleep till 8+am if left alone. So I find that kind of disruptive for him... shuttling to and fro everyday. I thought its gonna be tiring for both myself and him.

So I'll rather visit him everyday but leave him at my mum's. Then fetch him back on Friday nights.