(2008/10) Oct 2008

Jelly
I also want to hear!!! Then will I get blacklisted? I got my first in Aug 2008, second this year in Aug, third, shortly after, this one will probably stay till May next year. Think if I change in May, will not get blacklisted, right?

Karen,
Wah..your maid seriously could be lying..mm..i've a potential cheater story to share. Relative's gf is a filippino (not racist ok). She had a daughter of 5yrs old and came to spore to look for job..1.5mths later, she said she's preg. 1st thing she asked for is $$ to go see doc! And she asked for $400! Mad..her pay there was SIN200, so need $400 to see doc??!! meaning ppl cannot get sick, otherwise will die??!! Then relative dunno give the $ or not..so now decided to abort..so need $ AGAIN! sigh~~seriously we doubt she's preg..only all out to cheat $!

karen
unlikely u get blacklisted jsut get warning letter... if not have ur hubs hired... i gian the tax rebate if not, i had asked my husband to hire instead of me

mommies
can i check w u if any of u bought re-sale flat and had to extensively renovate? i maybe moving back to my flat but everywhere i go, the ID coys are telling me that it will cost abt 30-45K just to reno my home extensively... anyone can tell me if that is the market rate? i own a 4rms flat...

Maid saga
Hmm, in case you mummies don't know, I made up that story above. Agency didn't ask for the death certificate. And there's this website (after some sleuthing thanks to tips from Joanne & hubby) in the Philippines that allows me to buy a copy of a death certificate, so in truth, I really can obtain the death certificate if her mum is really dead.

Jelly
First maid under my name but the 3 others under husband's but we were told they're the same since it's under the same household.

Maid:
Really alot of stories of scary maids. Haiz.. but we need them in certain ways...

FM price list:
Any mummies has that list again?? thks. I'm helping my friend to check on Gain IQ.

Jelly,
A cheaper way is to go to contractor directly..nwadays they also hv designer in-hse. Your extensive means chg everything frm tiles/cabinets/toilet etc?

everafter
ya, i mean really extensive! cos previous own ... they din maintain the house and now i rent out the house condition is worse. if you have any good recommendations, let me know. TIA

Jelly,
OIC..though mine is re-sale too but i didnt do much reno, only did some cabinents and tv console. I went to direct source

Jelly,
Extensive renovation means u are changing the flooring, electrical works, redoing toilets, kitchen wall tiles etc? Doing wardrobes and all. Then be prepared to blow at least 40k for a 4-room.

My girlfriend upon reaching 35, got herself a 3-room resale and did it all up. She blew $35k! That's excluding furnitures and curtains and electronics like aircon, TV, fridge.

Renovating resale is much more ex than doing up a brand new ones. Coz there is cost involved for knocking and removing the existing tiles and watever biuld in stuff.

Toilets are the most ex ones. Coz must do water proofing. 2 toilets alone can cost more than $10k.

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
For me, I din hear any metal sound or smell anything burning. It was the adminitration of the epdidural which scared me the most which I dont know why also! I started to cry and shiver before the doc could administer the epdidural to me until my gynae has to stand beside me to keep reassuring me that I'm all right! So paiseh wor!!!</font>

Jelly,

Time to join renotalk forum. Hope u can get some good contractors. ID normally will mark up coz there's their "supervision" and design works involved. Then ID will subcon out to contractor.

But if u have ideas, then u can go to contractors directly, save on the ID middle man charges. But this also means u have to do alot of things yourself. Like monitoring the works etc. With #2 on the way... will u have that kind of energy?

Tweety,

True! Lot of stories of scary maid but still got very good maid too lah. My maid not bad de la.

Karen,

My hubby say I am a psychopath. I psycho my maid alot. Give her a vision to look forward after she end her contact 3 yrs later.

I talk alot to her about her life after she return to Singapore and wat will happen if she return home b4 her contact. Now my maid is very focused. She never say want go home even tat time her MIL n hubby take turn to fall sick.

I going to send her go for class, maybe baking or massage course. So that she can earn a living when she go back. I will personally send her back to her country too. Help her settle down by giving her advice to spend her hard-earned $ wisely. I treat it as a short holidays lor.

So all these make my maid work-oriented as she also want her 2 daughters to have good life. She dun work for me, she work for the vision I help to create for her.

My maid dun have HP, dun have off days n she never ask for all these stuffs cause she know (or rather I psycho her la) such stuffs will make her poorer. But I involve her alot in my family events. So she also enjoying weekend with us. I help her take photo, make photobook for her to send back home. Many friends of mine think I treat my maid too kindly but I still treat her as part of my extended family but tat is after I find her worthy of such treatment.

I am no maid expert, just sharing my tots on how I handle my maid. But I do agree luck got to do more with the quality of maid rather than how we handle maids.

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Maybe u wanna check with Penny, think if I'm not wrong her hb is an ID.

Else u might want to consider going straight to those contractors instead of ID, then it will alot more cheaper.

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

If u need any contacts, let me know I can intro the one who did up my hse and that of my parents previously, the works are ok and reasonably priced.</font>

bluey
thanks. will do that

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">re: maids

they are really scaring! lots of stories... however if we need them to look after our kids when no one is ard, we better dont confront... never know what they are capable of!

jelly,
my maid is hired under my hubby's name, however I can still claim the rebate. Checked with the agency already, doesnt matter as long as you are working mum. </font></font>

Crazy day! My gal skipped her nag at 10.30/11am n till now still have not slept. She usually will sleep from 10.30 to 2 plus. Is it the end of my noon time break? Crossing fingers!

<font color="0077aa">YPG
KT can take so long naps ?? from 10.30 till 2pm???
so good woh... my girl at most 1hr i ll b very thankful liao haha </font>

jellypurin,

She also will take 2 naps if she is super tired out. She get tired easily.

bbgoh, mousebb,

Kai Tong love sleeping, just like her father. Thanks god, she sleep liao. Will going to see if sleeping or eating more important to her? She usually eat around 2 plus but think if she wake up at 2 plus, not enough sleep for her.

Is it that Seline n WM nap more times but shorter duration?

hello mummies!

haiz... wanted to go zoo today de... but... raining heavily... sianz...

now we have the car, but dun noe where to go...

<font color="0077aa">YPG

the only thg my girl like her dad is while sleeping cant be disturbed haha She ll get angry
Seline usually takes 2 naps at 10am &amp; 2pm, morning nap ard 30min &amp; afternoon 1-1.5hrs.

KT sleep how many hrs at night? maybe too short? Seline slp from 9-7 </font>

<font color="aa00aa">ypg
Wenmin only nap twice a day, between 10-11am and 2-3pm nia. Each time she only nap about 30-45mins nia.</font>

ypg
I'm a quiet person (doesn't seem like it eh), don't like to talk much. Even my mil complained I don't talk to my sis and bros-in-law much. I am also making a HUGE effort to make myself talk a lot to Jo. Other than that, I want to be back to my quiet self. Plus from beginning, this maid was already crowned Queen of Excuses. I like sincere people and am one myself. I can only reach out to REAL people, not people playing games.

purple,

Alot of show. Barney for 1, carebear for 1 etc etc.

bbgoh,

She sleep late cause my mum work till very late then come back. She want wait for her ah ma to come back lor. But still around 10 plus to 7 or 8am. She used to wake up at 9 n go back sleep at 10.30am. She really like sleeping alot!

Karen,

I see. Yap, u dun look like a quiet person. Queen of excuses, u should change her liao. No point putting up with her nonsense any further.

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
wah WM so alert, sleep so late then still wake up so early. u must be very tired

YPG
icic she close to yr mum huh hehe good mah likes sleeping then u can have own time </font>

ya i wld be v happy if my son sleeps v long...haha the funny thing is once he napped more than 2 hrs i was so worried, i actually went to check if he is breathing. I called my hb and he asked me to same thing "he breathing or not". then i keep popping in to check on him.

<font color="119911">jelly,
huh? don't tell me this maid is still with u now?! u can't change anymore for how long?</font>

Vanilla, yes i too worry abt that. I am constantly checking if "she breathing or not" too... I think us mummies hard to please. Sleep longer we also worry! hahaha....

<font color="119911">jelly,
resale hse might need to redo the piping which can be a killer too

<font color="119911">XY, mspiggy, daisy,
have u check out the new mall at farrer mrt? I think it's a gd place for our lunch gathering...heehee. Lots of makan choices &amp; best of all, no Q!

Let's go there for our next lunch meetup? next wk?</font>

<font color="119911">XY,
wahahaha...my nasty colleague keep calling it 'ah ne mall' so i dunno what's the real name =P

I can't do mon, tue &amp; fri =P</font>