(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">Argh...having UTI now, waste my sunday family day

<font color="119911">buffy,
aiyoh...poor cate &amp; mommy. Go get somw rest *hugz*

hope cate gets well soon</font>

<font color="0077aa">busybee: u've got mail. No, she caught it from my niece, I was not there for the Barney show 'cos I anti Barney and hi-5, etc. When I was looking after cate FT at home for 6odd months, she didn't get to watch tv too. Now, I just let her watch the more educational DVDs and no more than 30mins each day. On weekends, she does not get to watch DVDs too. But it's just me, psycho mum. Ha ha. Ya, using the baby sniffles or something balm on her. Sigh, hope tonight is better.

Am looking at 1/2day, u started looking already?

JJMom: ke ke, dunno much about yr area cos am all the way at west/north west la. Ha ha</font>

JJMom, NO!!! Cannot apply baby vicks or snuffles babe near nose. Specifically indicated on the directions, may result in breathing difficulties in some children. For your UTI, drink cranberry juice. Suppose to help.

Buffy, I am have waitlisted her for half day kindy at Chatsworth, but if i need to head back to work then I need to put her in childcare. So Pats School house, Learning Vision and Josiah Montessori are just a few I am looking at. Need to check them out in case..... If u looking at west, u can consider St James Kindy? Heard they're good.

Karen, don't think Baby Vicks available locally, I asked the pharmacist at Guardian and he told me not available and he recommended Snuffles Babe (Uk product) which works the same. But I do see pple selling on BP

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: for the east, you can try NAFA- super hot school though, I have not visited the place but i know that it is a very popular choice.Another hot choice is Brighton Montessori and likewise, I have not visited the place because they do not have a branch in the west, only in River Valley and the east.

I have only called and visited the ones near my home. I really like The Odyssey but it is teribbly pricey though the student teacher ratio is v v good and the envt is v nice. I visited the branch at Mountbatten. The only worry I have is that they do not have a chinese immersion programme in K2 and being an international school, they may not necessary have a structure where the kids start to be a bit more exposed to the P1 style. So I worry that Cate is not able to get used to it lor. Anyhow, I also put my name down for the 4th avenue branch, waiting for them to call me for open house.

In the meantime, the other choice that has my vote is Pats schoolhouse. I visited 2 branches and will be visiting one more this week. What stood out for me was that the kids seem v v v happy in school and the teachers seem to be v passionate about the kids. They look like they are having fun and the branch I visited has a good outdoor area (I like for them to have some outdoor activity) and the ventilation is good. They also seem to have a good balance of EL, CL, Music and Movement and Craft time. Additionally, it is a bilingual class so that is a plus point for me.
HTH</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Dont worry too much. You will be fine. Try to have lots of bed rest. Do notify your gynae immediately if you are not feeling well *hugs*</font>

<font color="119911">buffy, busybee,
heard of this pats school hse too, really gd, let me go check if they have any branch tats gd for us then

think there's a learning vision near my place too.</font>

<font color="119911">busybee,
ok ok, will take note tat it's a NO NO to apply vicks on bbs' nose. Thanks

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: Pat's Schoolhouse, Learning Vision and The Odyssey are all under the same management - Knowledge Universe.
They recently acquire The Odyssey (hence I think the increase in the half day fees!)</font>

<font color="119911">buffy,
juz went in to some forum for my place, seems like the Learning Vision near my place is getting some -ve comments &amp; lots of old staffs r leaving

there's 2 Pats schoolhse tat r near my inlaws but this is another option tat i m still considering...

headache

Good Morning Mummies!!

Wat a weekend!! Brought my R&amp;R to United Square for Barney Show. I cannot believed tat I will Q up 1 hr to get into the show. Well... for the girls no choice lor. Kekeke....

It was a tee...rific show for R&amp;R. Once Barney jumped out, my dear Regine started to scream &amp; cry. She was too happy to see Barney. Goodness!! I have never seen her bahaving this way before. Really reminds me when I saw F4 on stage last time. Wakakaka....

hi jelly take care. Other than dupstanone there is pregestrone jab - oil based jab on the buttocks - extremey painful but good at stabilising preg.. IVF patients will do the jab for entire first trimester...also dun move too much, bed rest and no carrying of heavy things - that include lifting rebby...

rem to stay positive and tell bb to hang on!

hi Busy bee - St james kindy - not taking any more ..the waiting list is 100++..the lady told me i was too late.

Hi Buffy - brighton montessori is good? it will be v near my new plc! My hb thinking chiltern house.. we are near Pat school house too... i have registered my E at St Hilda's Kindy...

Bibinogs:
Eelyn, sorry I am so lazy, haven't even decided to sign up for fri or tues class. You started class last week rite, is it taught by Desiree? Can pass me the email add, I ask them about new slots next yr?

Child care:
Buffy, yah one of my friends recommended Odyssey but like what you said they are v ex. But I haven't visited any of the CCC yet. Anyone knows how flexi childcare works?

Weaning baby off breasts:
Any tips on how to do it? Or only the hard way i.e. ignore and let him cry?

Jelly:
Pls take care.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies

buffy
Cate caught cold? no wonder din see her on class last sat. hope she gets well soon

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: no need to worry so much first.
call up, speak to the principal, understand a bit more about the curriculum and if you have got good vibes, then head down to see the place. One of the preschools (supposdely premium) that I called at Upp Bt Timah, I did not bother to head down because there was v poor follow up (left voice mail 3 times and no one called me back) and when someone finally did (i called HQ to leave feedback), the person spoke in broken english. So, I decided not to waste time to visit that place... Small things like that, may help u with your choices.

morning mummies

jelly,
wat happen to u? sorry too lazy to read the archive.. anyway u take care and rest more.. think next wk gimmil sale u better give it a miss coz u will hv to jam pack in the crowd which i dun think is gd.

mummies meeting for lunch this wk, still onz?

mummies going for gimmil sales next thurs, are your going in the am or pm?

Jelly,
Dun worry. You will be fine. When I had Regine during my 8 weeks, I had bleeding too. SO not to worry. Stay positive.

vanilla
my laceration and internal bleeding had not warrant for the jab yet (honestly, am damn scared of jabs)... am trying not to move too much and not carrying things... but sometimes, no choice...

icylemon
wow, think R&amp;R had such a good time!

buffy
u all gd... did all ur reserach. i had not. just send her to cc first come april and then in 2011 when she needs to go to playgrp, will sign her up to a better sch.

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: I have not visited Brighton before but I heard good reviews about the place. For Chiltern House, From I think Nursery onwards, it will no longer be a bilingual class. That was why I did not bother to put C on the waitlist. St Hilda is quite good too right? If you already have a place there, no need to look around liao. kekekekekekeke

bbgoh: yah, she is having a bit of a runny nose and I did not want anyone to give me the evil eye though there is no infection. So, we stayed at home and basically did our own stuff.

Jelly,

U take care. Rest well!

JJmom, Daisy, MsPiggy
Lunch this week on? Wed or thur at CitySq? The new shopping mall at Farrer Park MRT??

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: eh, I also had minor bleeding with C. Was put on bed rest for I think like 4 - 5 days and had that Progesterone jab on the @ss! Damn painful 'cos the needle is thick and so is the liquid (oil based) but it is v good for stabilising. But ex I remembered. I had the shots twice and still had to drive home solo on my sore @ss! Hahahahahahahaha...

Eh Jelly, I am doing research for 2011 leh. Apparently some places - Lorna Whiston and some Pats branches do not have availability for 2010 morning, only limited spaces for PM liao... So I have to action for 2011 le. No choice....</font>

<font color="119911">XY,
u on leave on thur right? gng to gimmil sales? what time u gng? I may take half am to chiong...
so lunch on wed?</font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies, today I have no lunch plans leh. any mummies want to meet around raffles / city hall for makan? :p</font>

JJmom, XY, yes yes i wanna go city square!!! i very auntie so wanna go ntuc hahahaa....

but Wed cannot, i taking half day bringing my son to watch a play Jungle Book! Thur or Friday can?

hi jelly - if u dont need the progestone jab, means it is good... i understand esp when rebby wants u to carry cannt say no right.. try to hug her when u sitting down so no weight on ur tummy area and back...

hi buffy - haha .. i did not reall research into st hilda - wanted a christian kindy and this one my mum's neighbour's girl went and she seems to do well (but maybe cos she is a smart gal to start w)..wanted E to start on christian values early (now he knows pray must close his hands tog and close eyes - but this he does not really do all the time and say amen at the end
)..oh chiltern house has no chinese? haha then i can forget it.. maybe will research brighton -

oh there r 2 grps of lunch this wk.. me blur hahaha

dimpletot and r&amp;r mum,
ok this thurs 1230pm at HK cafe at city hall

r&amp;r mum,
u confirm hor.. then i bring ur head bands along k.

jjmom and xy,
ur chiong gimmil sales on next thur am ah? going from home straight? then we can meet up and take a cab down?

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: chiltern house has chinese but it is not a dedicated chinese teacher in the class. OK, maybe i can explain a tad further. For me, I am looking at 3 key things: low teacher student ratio (MCYS recommendation is 1:8 which I personally feel that it is a tad high) and that there is a dedicated CL teacher in the class so that at all times, the kids are exposed to both languages. The main prob that I have is that mine is not a CL speaking household since my HB is not Chinese. Hence, I do not want C to struggle with the language though mine was a passable B when I was in school.

For Chiltern, once they are in N2, the kids wil have a core teacher and an asst teacher and they will walk to the chinese class instead.

Originally I wanted to send mine to St Joseph since it is just around the corner of my place but I read that the curriculum there is v relaxed and some kids struggled a bit when they got to P1. Hence am having other thoughts lor. I will not be at CityHall today unless one of u mummies date me! Kekekekekekekek I work at Raffles so thought can do an impromptu meet up with u ladies lor! Heh...

Dimpletot: no worries, my bad lah, so last min.

Jelly.....do try to rest more and lie down more. With my 1st preg, i had a bit of spotting for a week. for my 2nd preg, i had spotting throughout 1st tri even though i on regular jabs and pills.

Vanilla, i dun think Buffy means Chiltern House theres no chinese. In fact, Chiltern House is very well known for their chinese, they are under Julia Gabriel and thus language wise is very established. Just that after Nursery onwards, they do not have bilingual class and by that it means there's no permanent chinese teacher attached to the class the whole day. so for chinese lessons, u have to walk to the chinese classroom.

i feel children learn best through language emersion. so having an attached chinese teacher is good IF chinese is important to you. My son's school (Pats) for example for playgroup level (now, age 3), the entire afternoon ONLY have chinese teachers. so they speak chinese once they wake up from their naps and until their parents come. if they speak english to their teachers, they will either correct or pretend they don't understand until they use the chinese words. they learn fastest that way, personal opinion lah. so i do agree with buffy.

<font color="119911">XY,
alamah...got my dates messed up AGAIN *faint* heehee...

daisy,
so ah neh mall is a gd hang out place for u &amp; me...kekeke

so we on thur? or we wanna gate crash dimpletot &amp; cheerbear at cityhall for this thur 1st? heehee...since this time they have to go back after lunch like us too

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">morning ladies!

XY,
this week am busy coz after closing must prepare for reportings and meetings

you gals go ahead first.... if possible will just gate crash! but pls sms me when you gals confirm venue coz i might missed the postings.
</font></font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">Ladies,
am going Orchard later... anyone there to meet lunch?? :D</font></font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">Hi Daisy,
Call me after your jungle book play... I can meet you for coffee!!!!

Am deciding if I shd go for that play. Yesterday we went to see Thomas &amp; Friends, Wes and Nat love it! hahahaha </font></font>

Daisy and JJmom,
Let's do the ah nei mall on Thursday then, say 12.15pm? Fri think JJmom not free right?

Busybee,
u wanna join us too? Farrer Park MRT. Straight train from ur place. NE line. Haha...

Mspiggy,
Join us if u free.