(2008/10) Oct 2008

busy bee,

nicky,

i think both of us din got the pic of kaelyn staring at shawn.. she is super cute.. then i told hb abt it and he said "jia let.. shld be other way round hahah"

fox sale - gal gal clothes seems to be more variety and really beautiful and the boys one are so boring.

gimmil sales - any1 knows when? heard b4 but never go b4 :p

<font color="119911">cheerbear,

i always hear mommies with boys saying tat but i think the boys clothings r cute &amp; smart &amp; boys can wear any colours

most of the little gals clothes r always pink, flowers...boring...sianz</font>

jjmom,
so u going to the fox sales?
"boys clothings r cute &amp; smart &amp; boys can wear any colours" u sure any colours? red still ok but pink on boy boy looks so girly leh..

bbgoh,
then gd leh u can go during lunch time

nicky,
oki..
do remember to check if you entitled to the 10% when u decide to sign up.

ypg,
no prob at all.
so when r u going?

ypg- U got my PM on the coupons for My Gym trial class! ;p Can I have it too! ;p

Cheerbear- Haaaa yalor tat part super farnie lah, she din pay attn to the teacher then went staring and looking at handsome Shawn!!! Wahahaha she got good taste sia!!! *LOL*

eelyn- But will sign up when she is 18mths above, by then still available or entitled to the discount? U be signing Kaitlyn up when she's 18mths too rite?? Maybe we can sign up tog!! ;p But I prefer Serene centre cos nearer, UE square far leh!

dunno abt fox sale lei, been there b4, nothing much 4 me wor...

little boys wear pink in the 'right' style like little shortsleeves shirt even tee, look so sweet &amp; cute mah

whenever i go fox, i always go to the boys section to bio bio
their boys shoes r so cute! Vy tempted to get for Nat =P</font>

nicky,
mm.. i duno how desiree will "count" leh..
cos i dont mind signing up now.. for bubbly babes and again for mighty tots when she's 18m..

ue square nearer for me.. so i'll be signing up there. anyone else joining me at ue sq??

bbgoh,

Thought the Fox sales say 105 Tampines Rd? Not at Tampines?

JJmom,

1st time hear ppl say gal clothes are boring. Hehe... Actually my gal wardrobe got more other colours than pink. Also, will dress her in boy clothes also.

Gimmil sales is at Tampines, near to the SAFRA Tampines. Last year think I go around Dec.

eelyn,

I will be going next Friday ba. School holidays then so I got more time.

Eelyn,
I like the class and I think Dylan too since he didn't fuss! But I won't be signing him up yet...distance and cost is an issue...

Nickypower,
My hubby likes Kaelyn alot! He calls her the 'Cute Ribbon Baby'! That's how he calls her when he describes how she stared at him! He's besotted by Kaelyn! Hahaha! Even till yesterday he's still talking about the 'Cute Ribbon Baby'!

eelyn- Icc so u be signing up now for Kaitlyn yah? Me not soo soon cos she seems not to 'appreciate' the class now EXCEPT for snack time!! *LOL* Will sign up when she's older... ;)

elch- Heee *LOL* Ur hub smitten by Kaelyn's stares at him!!! ;p But true lorr, she kept on staring at him when we arrived!! "Cute Ribbon Baby" sounds sweet lah!! But no longer baby leh!!
I'm smitten by Dylan's cheerful personality, maybe we can consider doing a 'swap' sometimes!!! *LOL*

<font color="119911">elch,

share your sleeping routine training for Dylan with me &amp; bigflamingo lei

ypg,
oki. hope kaitong enjoys it

elch,
oki dokz..

nicky,
ya.. cos since i cant find a childcare i like for her.. i sign her up for the class lor.. at least she has a chance to interact with other babies. she really seems to like the class.. i drew the umbrella on her foot again.. and keep asking her where umbrella is.. she'll lift up her foot.. hehe. keen to see what else she learns.

Tracee,

This is the info for last yr Gimmil sales. Think this yr also around same timing.

Gimmil - manufacturer of Carters, Oshkosh, The Childrens Place, Kmart, Walmart, Sears, etc..

Date: 19 dec - 21 dec
Operating hour: 9.00am - 8.00pm
Cash Only

Price range from $1.50 - $10/pc.

Eelyn,
I just called my inlaws and they already gave in and didnt let him CIO for his nap! aaargh...They dont realise they are further torturing him because the faster he learns, the faster we can get the training over with...

Busybee, thanks for the tip...i might try it cio doesn't work. I started last night sitting next to him, but it pissed him off even more because I think he couldn't understand why I was there but not helping so I had to leave the room.

JJmom,
wow, your training is progressing so well! Impressed...

eelyn- ic!! ;) Haaaa Kaelyn oso keep on staring the umbrella on her foot when I took off the socks when we reached off!! *LOL* so cute hor!!!

bbgoh,
y ur co no lunch time? thats very bad leh.

nicky,
shawn is not cute or handsome that day.. keep crying :p
oh ya same as u think i will sign up when he is 18mths bah.. if sign now sort of waste $ coz he only likes the snacks and bubbles part which i can do both at home :p
really love ur gal leh.. like all her expressions esp the ones she stares at shawn, eating the puffs and when the teacher wants to exchange her ball

eelyn,
ur gal really like to do craft hor.. she can dip her whole hands on the colour plate :p

CIO - mummies is this method really gd? i feel so heart pain and end up i will go carry him and pat him + sing songs and he will sleep leh.. i like leh coz i treat it as a bonding time

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,

on the 1st day of trying out the 'new' method on Nat, she also cried, stand on her cot &amp; reached out for me so i juz hug her thru the cot.

i think the 1st nite, she took abt 45min to finally KO. 2nd nite, still cried, i continued to hug, took 30min. 3rd nite, she slightly got the idea, din cried so much &amp; din resist my patting.

Patted for 3 nites, each nite abt 30min.</font>

Cheerbear, I have no choice...
He associates milk feed + being rocked in sling with sleeping. Now if he can resist sleep, he will finish the milk and refuse to sleep. He will play for 2 hours until very tired, only then will he have another bottle of milk and sleep. Very tiring for everyone, and he doesnt get enough sleep himself.

I will try for a week, if doesn't work, I will try baby whisperer...

whatever works to get our bbs to sleep is fine
it's juz a matter of parents' choice

my gal doesn't like to be carry &amp; rock to sleep since infant &amp; like pat thus other methods loh

Cheerbear,

Me too, also love to pat Kai Tong to sleep n sing to her when she wants it. Hehe...

Actually I dun think too highly of CIO but I supposed it does work for many parents around the world. To me, I feel that babies are building up their trust/distrust (1st stage in Ericksson) so I dun want to end up she cant trust us cause I allow her to CIO and I stand by aside. No offence to others who use this method. Just expressing my point of view.

Trace,

Good life hor! I miss NUS food. U at which faculty then? Me at arts and social science. Love the laksa yau tau foo there. But I also will go BizAd eat the jiaozi (dumplings). Hehe...

More info about Erik Erikson 8 stages of development
Stage 1 Infancy: Birth to 18 Months

Ego Development Outcome: Trust vs. Mistrust
Basic strength: Drive and Hope

Erikson also referred to infancy as the Oral Sensory Stage (as anyone might who watches a baby put everything in her mouth) where the major emphasis is on the mother's positive and loving care for the child, with a big emphasis on visual contact and touch. If we pass successfully through this period of life, we will learn to trust that life is basically okay and have basic confidence in the future. If we fail to experience trust and are constantly frustrated because our needs are not met, we may end up with a deep-seated feeling of worthlessness and a mistrust of the world in general.

Incidentally, many studies of suicides and suicide attempts point to the importance of the early years in developing the basic belief that the world is trustworthy and that every individual has a right to be here.

Not surprisingly, the most significant relationship is with the maternal parent, or whoever is our most significant and constant caregiver.

Stage 2 Early Childhood: 18 Months to 3 Years

Ego Development Outcome: Autonomy vs. Shame
Basic Strengths: Self-control, Courage, and Will

During this stage we learn to master skills for ourselves. Not only do we learn to walk, talk and feed ourselves, we are learning finer motor development as well as the much appreciated toilet training. Here we have the opportunity to build self-esteem and autonomy as we gain more control over our bodies and acquire new skills, learning right from wrong. And one of our skills during the "Terrible Two's" is our ability to use the powerful word "NO!" It may be pain for parents, but it develops important skills of the will.

It is also during this stage, however, that we can be very vulnerable. If we're shamed in the process of toilet training or in learning other important skills, we may feel great shame and doubt of our capabilities and suffer low self-esteem as a result.

The most significant relationships are with parents.

i think it all depends on the babies character as well. Some bbs are more independent so CIO works fine, some bbs are more needier so must have physical nearness to make bb sleep. I think also depends on mummies..some mummies can do it some cant..different strokes for different folks

ypg,

me went faculty of eng...went to eat nasi padang..yummy! 3 of us ate only cost $9.90! haha....
haha i studied in perth lar, not nus

Heee...sorry i so excite type wrong address even. It's not at Forum. Am now looking for the right address. Mailer din say. tsk tsk.

Jelly-am sure u can la. Just dun buy so much scrap stuff.. kekek.

eelyn ... heee

Ok ok.. CLub 21 End of Season Sale. UOB Card members Preview start 20-22 Nov at all the Club 21 Boutiques and stores like DKNY, ARMANI, CK, D&amp;G, Marcjacobs, Paul Smith, Kids 21 etc. Additional 10% off for UOB Cd members. Must pay w UOB cd

bigflamingo,
sigh.. i find ILs sometimes difficult to deal with.. but for me its a love-hate relationship.. i cant do without them either if not i'll go crazy with kaitlyn alone at home.

nicky,
haha.. yea really adorable..

cheerbear,
ya la.. notti gal.. only wanna play with paint.. didnt wanna dot the clown :p... end up i did the craft instead. haha.. sorry she din wanna share the paint also.. *tsktsk*..

actually i do not have any idea what all these schools of thoughts are.. i have not read any books on how to raise kids.. think i'll stress myself further.. the info on the net stress me enough.. haha! so many ppl asking if i flash cards.. teach this teach that.. im like.. errr.. i bring her to trial classes to play. *haha* as long as she grows up healthy im fine.. *lazy mummy* i learn alot from u all actually.. all our convos etc.. really help