(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">like EY, i also feel the same abt chic contributing to phelgm production &amp; worsen cough.
&amp; I also avoid giving most fruits esp orange when having cough.

Even most veg r 'liang' so may have to add some ginger or red dates to counter balance it.</font>

<font color="0077aa">jelly: U VERY BAD! but since you are my scrapbook paper shopping GF, i support you. I share with you. Kekekekekekekeke...</font>

buffy
wahaha, can lah. when the loot comes in i will let u know. dun think will cost more than $5... anyway, u n cate into art and craft.. maybe fun to make the book tgether! kekeke...

Jelly, I was thinking to add dimension and colour with foam alphas!!

JJmom, lots of ideas on making ur own board book for bub online. I googled abt it and scraplifting some of the ideas and incorporating my own in.

<font color="0077aa">jelly/busybee:: i happen to buy some foam letters yesterday leh! before i blew my dough at PaperMarket.
Anyhow, I got it at that shop in Bras Basah? Arts Friend???

JELLY, I WANT TO TAG ON FOR OTC. I wannt buy this: http://www.orientaltrading.com/ui/b...=Cross Sell-_-Product Detail-_-Product Detail

But want to surf a bit more to see if I have other things to add on. When you placing order?</font>

buffy
otc ordering not so soon.. me working now, wanna surf, but my boss is like hawking me now... so will go home and surf more. u dun mind, just email me ur orders. happy to order for u

jelly,

hor fun? sounds good! haha nxt item for me to try.
wah the hawker purposely cook for Rebby ar? haha..VIP for the stall..hehe

trace
rebby had been going to the same hawker stall since she was 2 weeks old... of course, she started eating teh horfun at abt 11 months... ever since she started eating the hor fun, she knows that the uncle will cook for her the bowl of noodles... but b4 the uncle can do that, she will "talk" to the uncle and ask him to hurry up... and the uncle will serve her the noodles first ... so she is v greedy de... wanna eat ho liao

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Agreed with you. She looks like a tai tai! She is a very nice lady and very soft spoken. If you have an appt with the clinic, then you dont have to wait long for your turn unless dr lilian is being recalled back to the hospital for emergency case. We dont mind to travel from our place to sk to see her. It happened to us once before. During that time wenmin was only a week old bb. Good thing is her nurse will call us to let us know so that we dont need to go to the clinic too early. Walk-in cases will have to wait very long, usually about 4hrs.</font>

Buffy, EY,
I actually add all those you mummies mentioned into the slow cooker together with the porridge on some weekends...too lazy to make separate stock...

elchwong
The easiest way is to boil pig/chic bones with rice...to make porridge. 3/4 to finishing, add chop veggies in. Or can steam boneless fish and stir in after porridge is done

elchwong
I understand what u mean by tired. I always keep stock in freezer/fridge in case on some days i got no time to cook, or dun feel like cooking...just thaw the stk, boil and noodles/rice. Its a good enuff meal.

<font color="0077aa">big flamingo: JG is on weekdays right? U planning for which day? 'Cos I will be apply for childcare leave (for Cate's Pneumococcal jab) in the last week of this month. So thought will just take the additional days off and am considering bringing her for the holiday 5 day programme...</font>

EY,
Thanks,

busybee,
I use salmon bones for stock. I just boil then simmer a small piece of the bone with water. Then after that i will scrap the little bit of the fish on the bone and add to the porridge/mee sua.

Jellypurin, I saw a BP selling the precut foam alphas. I am thinking of ordering some stickers, to help her practice her pincer grasp.

Oh Oops! EY I must have confused you with another Mummy who mentioned that she uses the bone.

Pinkimum, what do else do u put in for the stock.

Bigflamingo, the term for JG Playnest classes is coming to an end. Then they break for holiday classes (5 weekdays in for each theme). The new term starts again in Jan. But if u are looking for weekend classes can wait till Julian turns 18mths then send him for playclub on weekends.

Hi busybee!
Oh, i see. Well, I am not likely to enrol him in any class till he is 18 mths anyhow...Do you know if they offer trials?

Buffy,
Dunno yet, thinking of maybe 30 November monday...

Pork stock's brown brown stuff => one way of getting rid of that brown brown gunk is pour hot boiling water over the pork ribs/meat and soak for a while. the friend who taught me this does this for 20mins...but i usually just do it for 5mins, its quite enough. the gunk will rise up, u pour away the "dirty water", rinse with tap water, then put ribs into pot of boiling water to cook.

busybee, i like cooking fish stock sometimes for my boy too, i use fish bone from NTUC, and cook/simmer with ginger and red dates. when cooking fish stock, i dun put as much veges as when making chicken or pork stock coz i want my boy to taste that fresh fish taste hehee. but if i cook fish soup (single portion, not stock) to go with his rice for example, i like to cook with tofu and tomatoes, coz this combi goes well with fish. :p

bigflamingo, yes JG offers trials for Playclubs (18mths and above), u can call and book.
but may have wait list.

jelly, wow...Rebby is very very clever! and she can finish one small bowl of adult hor fun too!!!

<font color="119911">pinkimum,
use salmon bone for soup stock, will it have vy strong fishy smell &amp; taste?</font>

<font color="119911">daisy,
i juz rinse the pork ribs with hot boiling water, will not soak them, quite alright leh. My soup don't have the brown residue

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">cheerbear,
your tod is so smart... only know how to choose good food!

buffy,
you're really hardworking. ;)

daisy,
your fish stock reminds me of the papaya fish soup i took during confinement. hehehehee

re : tod eating
have you gals let your tods take "outside food" yet?

i'm quite anus abt this... for my boy i only let him take "outside food" after 2 YO</font></font>

Bigflamingo, yeah weekend classes are pretty much full for term2 (when our bubs turn 18 months). I'm on the waitlist too. I think trials start from Week 3 on.

Daisybuttons, thanks for the tip on pork &amp; fish stock. I am going to try that!!

Jelly, I so want to train miki to eat adult food soon!

Jellypurin, no lah. I read that they are suppose to start eating adult food already by this age. Just need to watch the salt I guess and avoid msg laden food. I am worst I offered Miki my chuppachup yesterday. But the scardy cat did not try. She was apprehensive and mummy finished it by the time she decided she wanted some! hahaha....

mspiggy,
so far, Nat only took plain rice &amp; plain swee kueh outside

i also dunno when to let her take 'outside' food? wonder when is the suitable age?

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">busy bee,
you offered chuppachup?! hahahahahaha you really steady!
</font></font>

busybee
i gave rebby some weather's toffee as well two days ago when she is taking her meds... she loves it, kept asking for more, but no, i din gave her any after i popped the sweet into my mouth... i have a greddy ger at hm...

mspiggy, hahahaa yah those were the days. i miss confinement food. well,for Jov i was as anal as you. no outside food until he very very old close to 18m-2yrs. end up he dun like outside food, only homecooked, so u can guess how tired i was when preg with Jaz. so with jaz, i let go a bit more, will let her try if she wants, just try a bit only for the taste and texture. at times if we are out whole morning and time is rushed i even feed her organic baby jar food which Jov turn his nose up at last time.

JJmom, hehehe thats good that urs no gunk. buffy mentioned it so i was reminded of this method my friend taught me. but if its my dad cooking,he dun bother. he say soaking (even for 5mins) in boiling water "hurts" the meat. so he will just dump it into boiling water to cook, and patiently scoop up the gunk with ladle. if i run out of time, no time to soak, i will also do that.

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">JJmom,
my personal feel is 2 YO shd be good age. kekekekeke very subjective.

Daisy,
Wes still ok... he's taking all other food well EXCEPT vege. Homecooked or "Outside" as long as vege, he's out!
</font></font>

daisy,
which is y my family only practice rinsing with hot boiling water. Mayb u can give it a try next time

Mspiggy, actually I feel I need to loosen up abt what i feed her which is why i am not as anal as before abt what i allow her to try anymore. Cos at the hospital she rejected everything they offered (thus they cannot remove her drip) so I realised being overprotective is actually no good either. Docs and nurses told me actually everything in moderation is fine. They even told me fine to give them some ribena and milo! Cos ribena has vit c and milo is iron enriched. But then again its very subjective and everyone's parenting ideals and threshold is different.

beebusy,
thing is outside food r loaded with lots of salt &amp; sugar?

daisy, mspiggy,
like what daisy said, i also worry abt Nat having eating problem if i delay eating 'outside' or being too fussy/picky of her food =P

sigh.physically, their kidneys in their first yr is too immature to take salt laden food. theoretically, after 1 yr old, they can have salt in their food, although there's no neccessity to coz normal natural food like pork, cheese already contains natural sodium. so my theory is that, since on weekdays they eat home cooked food 3 meals a day (thats before my boy goes full day child care lah), being nottie on weekends and eating some outside food is ok. i think being moms it's a tough decision to make, thats why with Jov I was very very protective. trying to be more lax with Jaz hopefully she easier to feed than her gorgor *cross fingers*

<font color="0077aa">so many bubs here start take rice with soup?

my girl only got 2teeth ler, should i start to intro rice? the portion same as porridge? for porridge she eats 1 full bowl.

busybee
since rebby started weaning my mom already added salt or soya sauce into her porridge... but rebby takes plain stuff quite well too... so i think it okie to give them flavoursome stuff...

i think hospital food is yucky... that's y mini bee rejected the food

MomJJ, hahahaha Kidding! I guess depends on what u order? Recently i ordered porridge for miki at dim sum, told them no seasoning and it came really bland. But I really marvel at how my niece eat so well. Can eat adult food at 18 mths, she can eat baked rice and pasta, so easy for my cousin. But honestly dunno if it will have effects on their health.

Jellypurin, I actually tried the food and it was alright. So maybe she was just not used to it. So i am now trying to expose her to different types of food. As for salt, i bought pan salt. But i haven't really tried using it yet. Just tot as a family good to change to pansalt, healthier option without compromising on taste.

<font color="0077aa">wah biang, i come back from Yoga and suddenly I see all postings in food! LOL...

Bigflamingo: i think hmmm... i will see if my leave is approved before deciding if I am gonna enrol her for the holiday programme lah. I wanted the exposure personally so that I can teach Cate better. So the classes are not purely just for cate. Heh...

JJMom/Daisybuttons: ya, my mum usually pour hot boiling water on the pork bones too. Maybe it is also that I dun really take pork so I seldom use pork stock for Cate. Hhahahahahahaa... So give me beef and chicken anytime! :p </font>

Busybee, Daisy,
i also find kids whose parents r more lax with their choice of food tends to eat better &amp; more, mayb coz they enjoy their food. Have u notice the same as me?

so i think i will start to intro 'outside' food SLOWLY &amp; like busybee, chose food tat r more suitable for Nat. Hope this way, it may balance things out a little?

fish stock,
I just wash the fish bone with salt. Then add small piece of ginger and boil/simmer. After cooking the porridge/meesua, then I add some spinach/brocolli. Think not really fishy leh. And there will be this layer of fish oil that is good.

I am also very anal with baby's food. But I relax abit and give him soya sauce with steamed fish when we were in Spore coz my mum said that was what she fed us and my neices. LOL....

Anyone using maclaren strollers?
http://money.cnn.com/2009/11/09/news/companies/Maclaren_stroller_recall/index.htm