(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">wah, mousebe,

so how many pairs of shoes did WM have???</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">blur
Not many lah. Only 6 pairs but 2 of them (gifts from my sis and fren) fixed her just nice but I din let her wear cos I afraid it would restrict the growth of her feet.</font>

<font color="0077aa">blur. hahahahahahah... what secret recipe? you funny lah u. but since i am here, might as well share:

1) half a small pot of water (I reckon would be about 3 of our usual mugs)
2) 1 chicken drumstick and some of the breast bones for stock (I use Sakura chicken)
3) Diced carrots (I use at least 2 blocks of 2" high carrots)
4) Half - 3/4 of a big onion (diced too)
5) Optional: Diced raddish

And I will just boil everything over low fire using reduction method till am left with about half of the water when I first started (usually an hour to 1.5hours). Please check that the chicken is totally cooked (should be lah) in case of salmonella. There is simply no need to add any seasoning because the stock/soup would be very very sweet!

With the stock, I then use it to make porridge with a slow cooker and I will also just put the carrots and slivers of chicken in there.

Variations: can use it with the baby macaroni or with rice. Cate takes both. HTH</font>

<font color="0077aa">jelly: not sure if it is good recipe but the damn soup is v v sweet! when i brought the porridge out with us for dinner and opened the foogo flask, my mum who is a pure cantonese and who was seated next to me said "wah, kom tim. hor hiong leh". And I took some of the porridge as well - really nice lor. So, I make it a habit to make extra stock and freeze it for use over the following few days. :p Kekekekekekek</font>

jelly,

i went to the rsh building... then the factory outlet selling the shoes cheap...cannot resist... so i bought 1shoes 2 sandels and 2 slippers...

mousebb,
oh dr lilian actually allows u to buy salbutamol.. she din allow me to buy and say wan to see shawn the other time.

buffy,
ok will get my mum to cook the soup for shawn tmr.. thanks for the recipe.

jelly,
the web u provide is in USD?

shoes - wow u mummies are really kiasu hmmm maybe shld say i am bad coz most of shawn's one is gift.. i seldom buy.

Good Morning!!

Buffy, thanks for sharing the recipe!

Mousebb, is WX better after taking Dr Tan's meds? I wanted to switch minibee to see her too cos nearer, my pd is now at camden. And only office hours. But listening to the wait u had, scare me already!

Veg for babies... Can we make stock from Lotus root? What other veg is good for soup or putting into porridge? I find I am always using pumpkin, spinach, brocolli, carrot, onions, celery.. Getting boring.

Morning mummies...

Woooh, shoes. I love shoes. My boy has like 15pairs. But most cannot wear anymore. Sigh. I bought him one pair from Fox baby, very soft and he can walk well in it. And I think it cost maybe sgd20 only. Another pair hard soles from Zara, like not so comfy. Now I need to buy more shoes for him but there is hardly any decent ones here.

runny nose/flu
My boy has been having running nose for one week already. I have a zytrex with me, but never give him. And he is drooling alot, not sure izit teething.
Hope all the sick bbs get well soon.

That day my boy was walking outside. There was a little slope. And he fell, face down. Ouch. Hurt and scratched his nose and it bled. So heartpain.

morn mummies!!

shoes- arielle has almost 10 pairs...5 of it still too big for her..hahahaha...nw her fave is addidas which my uncle bot for her.

buffy,

yr receipe looks yummy!!! may i knw where to get sakura chicken?

mousebb,

is realli cheap... wat they are selling in the stores... the outlet is selling at 50% off or more... the 2 slippers i bought is $3 each.. hahahah

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
Maybe bcos dr lilian knows I have 2 kids taking the same medicine and the medicine finished in less than a week.

busy bee
My kids are seeing dr lim (lilian). Dr Tan is in the same clinic as dr lim. My kids have been uder dr lim since birth. She is very good and so we choose to stick to her.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Trace: Sakura chicken is available at NTUC, at least mine has! The bird basically did not have growth hormone jabs, less cholesterol, no antibiotics and has reduced fat compounds. Or so they said lah! :p

Oh, remember to remove skin before making the stock.</font>

<font color="0077aa">EY mum, ya! Maybe you can also add corn to your soup as well, should make it sweeter. Like you, at the moment, I am also leaving tomatoes as optional sometimes because it leaves a slightly tangy sour taste which Cate does not like...</font>

buffy,
u mean at the ntuc they actually state that it is sakura chicken? if yes then i dun think the ntuc near my hse hv leh.

ey,
wat is kampong eggs? it is first born eggs? only heard of kampong chicken but not the eggs

Mousebb, Dr Lilian is the one i am referring to, She looks like a tai tai man! Saw her coming to check on the babies when I was at tmc when minibee was born. My pd is good too but the distance lah. hahaha... Good thing is they very prompt with appts. So dun need to wait too long.

Veg for soup, can use watercress?

cheerbear
ya, but i am getting the big crayons only... abt usd$2.40 plus shipping maybe total abt $6-7. outside selling $10. so not alot of difference, but am still ordering as i need to max my shipping from vpost.

Cheerbear, yes it states Sakura Chicken. I think now the smaller branches in our area has them too. Saw it recently. If not Rivervale Mall has a big Sakura Chicken counter. I like to buy from there as I can get them to chop the chicken to parts for me.

<font color="0077aa">jelly: if you are asking about the taste, the sakura chicken one was sweeter based on what I tried. Also, for pork bones, I personally do not like the brownish residue foam? That's my only gripe.

Many old folks do not liketo give / use chicken esp for coughs. Only in the ang mo culture, then there is no such preference. If she is the one making it and she is worried about chicken, then nevermind lah, just use pork.

Cheerbear: Yes, in the poultry section, they have their normal, then halah chickens? Sakura ones are also there and on the plastic bag, it states Sakura. </font>

pinkimum
i put in the fridge....if got no time to cook, can freeze in bottles for next few days. take out when need to use.

jellypurin
chic bones, pig bones, lamb bones and ox tail....can be used as stock base. chic bones and pig bones are very cheap in wet market.

cheerbear
yeah, kampong eggs are first born eggs ard $2.20 for 10/12 by kampong hens. it's cheaper than organic eggs that cost ard $4 for 10/12

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">you gals are really hardworking! i'm so lazy... i dont make stock to keep for porridge.

i will just give 1 scallop, minced meat and some red dates to cook with the porridge. will keep the fire very low to simmer. when it's almost done then will chop vege to add it.</font></font>

<font color="119911">shoes :
OMG...mommies here r trying to brainwash our bbs to share our crazy love for shoes!...kekeke

I bot so many when Nat still can't even wear yet then ended up some of them she outgrow even without chances of wearing them, some still too big for her (-_-)'' this mommy's dunno how to 'ah ga' her shoe size...so jialat, wasted $$$.</font>

jelly,
i am looking at the colour pencils.. will crayons be better for our bubs? coz shawn like to take my pen sometimes when i write so thinking to get him the colour pencils since he like to "write zero/draw egg" wahaha

yes, i feel chic does contribute to phelgm production. the same as banana, orange and grapes.

so when the kids have cough, i dun use chic broth.

corn- i use it everydae..hehe...i use the golden corn. Very sweet for the stock!

buffy, am gog to try your receipe this week!!! thanks for sharing..hehe new menu for arielle...yeah!

during actual cooking, i will chop scallops, some veggies, wolfberries, red date(optional) to add to the broth to boil. Sometimes, I add noddles, sometimes I add rice.

u want it to taste better, add a lil bit of cheese after cooking.

<font color="119911">jelly, busebee,

talking abt boardbook, wanna check how u mommies do it? Do u write/draw directly on it or paste the finished pages on the book?</font>

jelly,
when u going to order? coz i am ordering some other thing and i need the other thing early dec.. if cant make it in time then i will jus give it a miss.

jjmom
i paste... i print some stuff at the office like alphabets and then cut and paste over and use my scrap patterned papers as well... haha, probably cheaper to buy since there is economy of scare but ya, i am just a sucker for handmade stuff lah...

Mspiggy, my fussypot only likes porridge made with stock!! So I have no choice!

Vanilla, oic. Thanks for the tip!

Trace, i think i will try golden corn soon too. Miki such a sweet tooth.

EY, I think u mentioned u used salmon bones previously. Can u share how to make fish stock with the bones. Do u put anything else besides ginger?

JJmom, realised i forgot to reply u abt the board book. Sigh... I barely started.

Jelly, they are good deals, i think I paid more for mine.

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: ya, i know.
thats why i left it as optional. heh. Thanks babe.
but she is off med liao, dunno why she had fever suddenly also. it came and went as suddenly. Fri, she was off med liao. She got it for 1.5 days.

Ms piggy: not hardworking ah. I personally like to cook. Hence, for me, it is nice to be able to buzz around in the kitchen.

over the weekend, I made a fusion dish - rosemary hua tiao chicken. Turned out nice! So happy. =D

i hope cate grows up liking soup because HB does not take it. so often times, i have so much wastage! now with cate, it makes sense for me to use the same soup stock for cate lor. The rosemary chicken dish was actually using the left overs chicken pieces from Cate's stock since I cannot finish the entire chicken. </font>

cheerbear
take ur time, cos i am just looking at the site.

trace
rebby loves hor fun! she eats them every morning w my mommy at the hawker centre! the hawker will cook a small bowl for her...and she can finish... damn greedy