(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">EY: please share more? Or if you like, you can PM me. I actually read up on homeschooling the Montessori way and I am quite impressed with the method as it trains the thought process.</font>

hi trace - myboy also push his sleep time from 845-9 to 10pm. keeps wanting to play... when he wakes up, will bang his hand on the cot bed board to annouce he is awake!!

Hi pinkimum - my boy used to do that -- and we trace what is wrong --discovered he was feeling too full so cut back on the rice portion. also we intro FM during 9pm feed which he is not used to...we switch it back to BM and use FM during 2am feed, so far he feels better less bloated and hence no more vomitting. Check which new routine u changed or new food (fm, eg yolk etc)..

ruffles,
I don't think it's cheaper leh. Cos I remember seeing it at Vitakids (Forum) going for $8.90. Will check it out to confirm tmr when I bring Regina there for JG class.

Buffy,
I think I dun want to itchy backside and try out Bibinogs. Just stick to JG since I'm happy with their curriculum. So disappointed and heartpain with the money spent at Playdays already. Sigh!

JG goes by theme for the term. Last week we did noodle painting. And yesterday Regina stared at my noodles during lunch. So I reinforced by telling her that she did noodle painting last week, talked about the texture, etc. Basically I just blabbered so don't know if she understood me or not. Hahaha!

nickypower,
Melts shipment not in yet. Actually is in but in the custody of AVA for batch testing. They are quite cautious with baby food now after the melamine scare. Good also lah. Decided to just do apple and banana puffs cos Regina's puffs finishing. Haha!

pinki,

is kai too full already? Dat dae it happened to arielle too. she vomitted out her milk...but aft vomitting, she is better and can drink better. My mil realised she is kinda full aft her porridge, and 2hrs later she gave her 6 oz of FM again....

<font color="0077aa">YPG
icic i tot those adventure can train them to be loh .. too cautious not good also ler, its slower her skill development
haha yr girl not brainless just more active loh </font>

<font color="0077aa">mint: no worries, good that you are happy at JG. i am not the organiser for bibinogs, it is eelyn.

kekekekekekeke... i think regina will remember because thats how they learn - tactile, etc. stimulation. I am uploading the pics to FB, not alot since I was running solo with Cate. You take a look lah.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">bbgoh,

Yes I always feel that cautious baby is a good thing. They observed and think before they go.

My gal is also the brainless type, she just "chios" and totally no safety concept. She is like the "tank" in the army. Just simply crawl over all obstacle. ***faint***</font></font>

vanilla,
The only new thing recently is FM. And I had stocked up on many tinssss of GainIQ here, don't think will change lah.
Trace,
Not sure if he is too full leh. But he really doen't eat much kind. And I never force him to eat, he happily open his mouth to eat. Then next moment he vomit. Luckily we were using the big bib with the pocket when we were out and managed to 'catch' all his vomit.
Recently, he is rejecting FM. Only drinks 100ml or less each feed. So can't be full also leh.

trace and jelly...

i already try to push his timing to quite late... he used to sleep early one... haizz,.. i noe he is teething... but now he just like to cry like nobody biz...

Mint, All this trial class talk is getting me interested too. Bibinogs does sound interesting, I read that Desiree was a exbanker. But I am also going to just stick with JG since Mikayla loves it. Plus no $$$ and energy to send for soooo many at most one more sports type like Gym or Swimming. Any news abt the stock cubes? I think my fussypot is not happy with Porridge cooked with water. She doesn't seem that interested. I think I need to cook up a batch of stock first if cubes not on the way yet.

Pinki, yeah possibly that Kai is too full.

Vanilla,
Same! Marcus also like to bang his head against the bed headboard to tell us he's awake and want to play.

Ytd, he crawled out of bed (hubby was off so home sleeping with him, while i went to work), bang the door and my MIL came to bring him out to the living room!

Dimpletot,
Daddy was home with Marcus. But guess he just misses me. Hubby even called me using 3G so that marcus can see me. But he was still angry. Heng there's nothing that my boob can't resolve.

trace - Arielle is sooooo cute!!!

XY-They now know how to throw tantrums at us hor? Vic also showed me her colors cos I came back at 1am on Fri nite from work. On that Sat, she kept yelling for me outside and rubbed unagi fish all over her head at Sushi tei and the whole floor was a tornado.. faint. I was already so tired, still had to entertain her.

Pinki sorry i missed ur post. It could be the FM then. Minibee has been on Enfa Fms since 3mths but we had probs when we transitioned her to the Enfa growing up milk. She had soft stools after every feed and due to that developed bad diaper rash. Tho Pd confirmed its not diarrheoa I did not like that she had loose bowel movements after every feed. I suspect she lost some weight cos of that. So we switched to GainIQ and she is better now. Bowel Movement back to normal and no more diaper rash.

<font color="0077aa">wen chuen: hey girl, please PM me your email addy for FB account. There are 3 photos of Kai Jie.

Mint - Ok you go check. I saw at Paragon was $7.30 ;) Just thot i kpo highlight to you lor.

Bibinogs - They are very flexi in terms of timings and dates and locations. I called to chat and the lady told me that assume you sign up for 3pm class on Fri at Serene centre and cant make it for certain Fris, you can swop dates/time/venue! And assuming if now temp SAHM, you can opt to do weekdays now, and then change to weekend class when FTWM! So cool for FTWM unlike JG wor. Would have loved JG if not for the v rigid weekdays only classes.....

<font color="0077aa">Buffy
yah good tat wont have to worry their safety but i always envy when saw most babies here r so active hehe

XY
haha Marcus so cute, he was learning his '铁头功' keke

nw our bubs r on 3meal/day, do u reduce their milk intake? how many ml your bubs take nw?
any mummy start to add seasoning eg soy sauces into porridge? when can we start? </font>

<font color="0000ff">Bibinogs Trial @ UE Square</font>

<font color="0000ff">wkday trials - $40.00, wkend trials - $48.00
if we have 8 students (which is the max number they will take in a class, they will give 5% discount)

class times:
mon or wed 3pm
sat 330pm

term fees:
10wks once a wk (wkday) - $370 + GST
10wks once a wk (wkend) - $426 + GST
if we have more than 5 mummies who sign up, there will be 10% discount off the term fees.

let me just start the list..

Wed, 11Nov 3pm @ UE Sq
1. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn
2. ypg &amp; Kai Tong (most probably my hubby bring her there)

Sat, 14 Nov 330pm @ UE Sq
1. jelly &amp; rebby
2. cheerbear &amp; shawn
8.</font>

<font color="0077aa">fyi, they can start a pte class with 5 pax, but 5% discount only if we have 8 pax.. if can't get enough from our thread i'll go ard the other threads to ask..

<font color="0077aa">eelyn: pai sei, please refresh my memory on which recommendation?

oh, also i want to add on for other mummies that it seems to be quite common for some bubs not to be that engaged for some trials - some cry, some walk about, etc. So I think we should all take it easy.

The reason why I said that is because over in Cate's class, there is this other student whose mummy kept tsk-ing everytime the bub whimpers, cries, walks off or does not pay attention. I personally am quite disturbed because I just thought that it is pointless to push them so hard since they are all but 1 year old!</font>

Buffy
I've actually read up alot on montessori teaching. However, in Singapore, it's difficult to find a Montessori school that truly adapt the original teaching.

.....to be continued...ey and aless are hungry :p

EY/Buffy, i too read up on Montessori teaching when minibee first came along, am now trying to see how I can incorporate this in her daily routine. But heard from some primary school teachers that some kids who were from Montessori programmes had problems adjusting to the Primary school system. Mint/Karen/YPG, correct me if I am wrong on this.

<font color="0077aa">busybee: yah, likewise, I have heard of similar comments. And some of the schools that I have spoken with, they actually told me Montessori is over rated. Hahaha... Hence, different strokes for different folks.

I do agree with the general "independence" direction and focus and I also like how they teach letter tracing using tactile stimulation amongst other methods such as counting, etc. All these seem to make sense. So whilst I am not sure if Cate is indeed gg to a Montessori school (need more info here hence, waiting for EY's sharing as well as the other teachers in this thread), I will still be incorporating some of the suggested methods in teaching her when she comes of age.

K, chat with you girls later. Off to Hot Flow class</font>

busybee,
The stock cubes will only arrive at vpost UK this thurs. So I guess another week for vpost to send to S'pore?

Ruffles,
You're right. I just called Vitakids at Paragon. Sigh! Now need to call distributor for an even lower price. At this price, I'm not earning anything manz! Got someone posted on my BP that AMK hub going for $7.10. The distributor really giving me lousy price. Erks!!

busybee,
I did have a student who was from Montessori who couldn't sit still in class when he was in P1. He did have some difficulty adjusting although he was really smart. But his compositions were always a breath of fresh air for me. Haha!

Mint, oh i see. Guess need as parents we need to strike a balance on what they learn... Too skewed to any one method be it flashcards or montessori or learning through play only is not wise? Abt ur BP, u might want to try and ask for wholesale prices. But it would mean ur MOQ needs to be way higher.

blur,

I read about that too. Actually I was not really flashing card to her, was just playing with her. I will again n again test her patience by blocking her view with the flashcard tat my mum bought.

I never use the flashcard, prefer to relate with real stuff rather than picture. Currently onli teaching her things tat can found at house. Now she can recognise the things when we ask for it. When we ask where is the fridge (she will move from my mum room to the kitchen n later press herself against the fridge). She can also pick up the correct fruit among some veggies and fruit when we say the word out.

But if we ask her to pick the card with the fruit/veggies, she cant do it at all. But I notice she will usually touch the fruit/veggies b4 passing it to us. Guess touching n feeling the fruit also make up their recognition of the object ba.

bbgoh,

I dun think MYGYM make the kids more daring cause my gal already very daring type b4 joining them. But over there, they always do adventure stunts, some babies will cry at the 1st time but the 2nd time will be better. So guess they slowly build up their confidence about unfamiliar stuff rather than guts.

Good that ur gal is cautious. My gal is brainless type, only care for play n no safety concept. Recently she forget legs 1st rule when she came down from the bed n I got to re-train her again. I told my mum liao, soon she will end up with blue-black here, blue-black there.

busybee/jelly,
hahaha... thanks! sure have things to shop but dun noe whether can I enjoy with LY around or not... now waiting for her passport to be ready. *cross fingers* and wondering how much of FM should i bring over for a 5D trip... anyone can help?

ypg,
in fact i saw this BP ytd liao.. also tempted to buy but i know hb will sure say NO-NO so better dun buy anyway my hse already like a playgrd liao :p

ypg - Haha. That's HUGE! Buy only if you have space ...

purple - Calc the (no. of feeds she takes per day x 5 days) + 2 more extra feeds (just in case?)

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">ypg,
I also saw this BP and wanted very much to get my boy a patrol car but hubby kept telling me no place at home

But the Obstacle Play Center, really big leh</font></font>

hi pinki - maybe he is not digesting his FM well.. i suggest u dilute or give him lesser amt cos FM is v v filling compared to BM. I wanted to wean my boy off BM but cannot cos hasnt found the right FM for him. Also cannot let him merlion too often.

Hi XY -haha..these boys v naughty hor! if i ignore his banging on the cot beadboard, he will throw his pacificer on the floor (if i sleep in rm w him). i think he is aiming to throw at me haha

purple
if you dun think LY can eat the food in bkk, buy the pigeon retort packs... i tried the food... quite nice
just soak in hot water for 2mins and you can feed LY

Hello mummies!!

Trace- Awww Arielle is soo cute!! She wan a share of the M&amp;M chocolate too!! She kws how to self-entertain herself when she woke up huh!! ;p

mint- Will the supplier be carrying the stocks for Veggie puffs? Cos I find veggie puffs nicer!! ;p
Ok keep me updated on the yoghurt melts ok!! ;p

daisybutton- Hmmm wat porridge recipe?? Can share!! ;p

mint/karen/busybee/ypg- Hey mummies ur go went for the JG's trial class right??
Cos heard from my fren, they said JG no longer offer trial class?! I was like huh?!! Tot ur went for their trial class... Hmmm am confused. Pls enlighten me..Thxs! ;)

Bibinogs Trial @ UE Square

wkday trials - $40.00, wkend trials - $48.00
if we have 8 students (which is the max number they will take in a class, they will give 5% discount)

class times:
mon or wed 3pm
sat 330pm

term fees:
if we have more than 5 mummies who sign up, there will be 10% discount off the term fees.

Wed, 11Nov 3pm @ UE Sq
1. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn

1. jelly &amp; rebby
2. cheerbear &amp; shawn
3. nickypower &amp; Kaelyn

fyi, they can start a pte class with 5 pax, but 5% discount only if we have 8 pax.. if can't get enough from our thread i'll go ard the other threads to ask..

jelly,
those pigeon packs come in a box of 2 packs right? rebby like ah? coz i read liao abit on the jap food side so wonder will shawn like mah and is not cheap too.

Bibinogs Trial @ UE Square

wkday trials - $40.00, wkend trials - $48.00

class times:
mon or wed 3pm
sat 330pm

term fees:

Wed, 11Nov 3pm @ UE Sq
1. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn

1. jelly &amp; rebby
2. cheerbear &amp; shawn
3. nickypower &amp; Kaelyn
4. elch &amp; Dylan

fyi, they can start a pte class with 5 pax, but 5% discount only if we have 8 pax.. if can't get enough from our thread i'll go ard the other threads to ask..