(2008/10) Oct 2008

Buffy- How u teach on signing language? U taught Cate very well!! ;) Am stil confused over this signing teaching?! ;p

Trace- Ic so which brand diapers u using now? ;p

Cheerbear- Very niceee poster!!! ;)

elch- Not to worry on this...guess diff bubs develop differently. Kaelyn really slow in her motor skills or she is v.lazy lah!! Bubs her age like most here orie crawling super fast and cruising ard and some orie walking!! My girl leh...only leap crawling!! *faint*
So I just let her develop at her own pace lor!

Buffy,
You can head to 'The Animal Resort' at Seleta Farmway...not a fancy place but it's an interesting place for kids as there are 'basic' animals like horse, goat, ducks, dogs, rabbits and etc...it's FOC too...

elch
honestly, compared to many of the babies here, rebby also considered slow or uninterested to learn new things... so many of the bubs here can say mama and papa before they turn ne, but mine, just said her mama on sunday... then i had to keep reminding myself, actually, i would probably remember all her firsts than the things she cant do... so slowly but surely, i know our bubs can do the things they can do in time

nicky,

i am using pampers nw.recently i bot 1 fuzzibun & happy heinzy cloth diapers...was good! i am very scared to change diaper brands..arielle is super sensitive

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

How's Arielle's rash, the other time u were mentioning it. She got 'gold butt' leh hee hee ;p~

But do u think Pampers standard seems to hv dip a little?

hi jellypurin - my son still no mama yet...haha i ok lah.. wait till neck so long..what is another few more weeks? hee hee hope it will be days!

Hi elch - my boy cannt stand wout holding onto something..dun worry...my neighbour's daughter is 15 mths and only recently can do the squat to stand...

buffy - how abt some dvd that shows real duck? if not go zoo or seletar farm - but q far leh...

<font color="0077aa">Jelly/elch: thanks so much. Elch: anything FOC is always good! Will google The Animal Resort and head out there with her on her BD maybe.
Heh...

Nickypower: Hmmm... Signing is taught by doing the action repeatedly and saying the word as you sign. So, for e.g., when I wanted to feed Cate milk, I will hold the bottle with one hand and sign with the other free hand by asking "Cate, do you want some milk" and sign the word milk as I say it.

They will not catch on at first but after a few weeks Cate caught on. And she would sign Milk back to me when she wanted milk instead of porridge!

Some basic rules of signing:
1) Try to sign in the line of vision

2) Unless otherwise the sign can be explained by signing on the baby, then you can do so. For e.g. "dog" is signed by tapping on your lap so I always tap on her lap whenever buffy and cookie are around her

3) say the word as you sign

4) and just sign sign sign regardless whether they understand at this point. For e.g., when I started to teach More (this was the hardest sign for me), I'd feed her and then when she is done swallowing, I will ask her "Cate, do you want MORE?" Wait for a few secs, then I will go "OK" and proceed to feed her more even though she does not know how to sign back

5) look for other opportunities to sign - at the park (do the fun signs too like trees, wind, etc.), sometimes our bubs and us happen to look at each other at the same moment, I'd grab whatever that is closest to me and I will sign to her e.g. Ball, Book, Duck, etc.

Borrow that book from the library. I did not even attend any course leh, just read and then sign sign sign. :p Of course the DVD helps engage Cate too lah but having said that, she only watches that DVD like once / twice a week?</font>

Trace- Icic..oh yes, hows Arielle rashes??

Buffy- Wah soo chim! But will try out. ;p U really put in efforts to teach Cate!! Now Kaelyn is watching the DVD- Baby can Read and she enjoys it! ;p

R&amp;Rmummy- Heeee so ur teabreak time is 3.30pm ah...soon now!! ;p

Buffy,
I brought Dylan to The Animal Resort a few months back and he enjoyed it...he loves seeing the animals especially the dogs! It's a 'trial' zoo trip to find out if he'll enjoy seeing the animals! Will bring him to the zoo only when he starts walking...

Jelly, Elch,

As long as PD say nothing to be concern about my gal's slow development as compared to her peers, I am ok with it. We must try our best not to compare our bbs with their peers cause I can tell u, u will go crazy soon cause they will be schooling in no time n so many things tat can be compared.

Buffy,

I am not very good in pre-school education but normally those who hardly speak Chinese at home have difficulty doing well in Chinese in Primary school. But those who speak Chinese at home have no problem speaking English with their peers though of course their English score not as good la. So my strategy is talk to my gal in Chinese at home. My maid learning Chinese from me now. Hehe... My gal will go playgroup at 18months to learn English &amp; phonics. Me kiasu parents.

As for now, I try not to confuse her by teaching head, 头 at the same time. It is as though teaching her 2 languages at the same time. Not easy for her. I rather her to grasp the concept of head in her mind (in Chinese) &amp; later when she go school, she see the picture of a head n teacher say "head", she can process the 2 languages herself rather than I teach her.

To me, language is the tool for teaching concept so 1 language is good enough to teach the concept. They can do bi-lingual onli when they grasp the concept in 1 language. I know many teachers in this thread also. Pardon me if I am wrong in any way. It is just my own understanding.

I think teaching bb to sign is also teaching them the concept in 1 language (sign language). Once they grasp the concept, teaching them another language (English or Chinese) will be easy. So I dun think signing will hinder a child speech but since I am lazy mum, I go straight to teaching Chinese with action &amp; songs. Something tat I am better in.

Paiseh for the long post.

<font color="0000ff">Think our toddlers at tis stage absorb and learn things very fast, they listen and observe.

So apart from English/Mandarin, am oso speaking/teaching him in Japanese ;p~

<font color="0077aa">diapers... I use drypers in the day and Nepia at night.

Your Baby Can Read: Yah, Cate started watching when she was younger too. But I am quite cautious abt her spending too much time in front of the TV. This is 'cos my helper is at my parents' with Cate and my bro's 3 kids are there with their maid. So, for their helper, she turns on the TV - Barney, Hi 5, etc., because she is handling 3 on her own so no joke lor hence that is an easy way for her to manage them.

Anyone off this Monday? I am. Shall we meet for tea or something?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

I rotate btwn Pampers / Huggies Ultra &amp; Pull Ups / MP ;p~

Btw, is Regine on Gain alrd? does she has diarrhoea problem?

I asked my mum to mix Gain with Similac follow on but he seems to be having diarrhoea tis days

Over the wkend when I did not mix, there were no such problem. I'm asking my mum to stop adding Gain now and monitor first.

talking abt diapers... i have so much at home i need to sell off huggies dry comfort, the old packaging one, cos the cutting too big for rebby and i know she may not have a chance to wear the XLs. anyone interested, let me know, i am willing to let go at $12 a pack. I should have like 4-6packs at home

rebby uses huggies pull ups, drypers pull ups, pampers and MP

bluey
how long had ash been on gain? according to my conversation w the staff at abbott, i think must mix gain and similac for at least 3 weeks. so far, rebby no LS...

vcd - i buy for shawn the baby einstein one but he is not very interested leh.. is the vcd for your baby can read one better?

MP is my fav too but i am the cheapo mum coz i buy the MP value pants instead the soft one but i find it jus as gd. recently hv the huggies jeans one - ltd edition one i buy 2 pkt too but yet to let him wear as i buy XL :p

bluey,
u r great.. can speak jap

btw u cant mix gain and the follow on.. i went to ask family GP and she say unless the kid reject then u mix half half if not try not to mix.

MILK STRIKE,

My gal on milk strike again. Wondering is it due to teething or the milk taste cause I am changing from Mamil Gold 2 to Mamil Gold 3. Or rather just simply she sian about drinking milk. She happily eat up the porridge that my mum cooks. Haizz... She already on the petite side so cant afford to lose more weight. Her weight still less than 8kg.

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
I may have to postpone wenmin's appt with Dr Lilian on this Fri cos the gal suddenly has fever. Just brought her to see a GP. If tomorrow she still has a fever, then I have to call up kids' clinic to check of she can still take her jabs on Fri liao.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Shd be coming to 2 wks alrd, hmm..think I asked my mum to stop for a while and see how it goes. It could oso be due to the fact he's teething...I've to make sure before I travel else later FM not suitable chamz

Jelly if I want the Dry Comfort, where to collect? Ash is wearing XL now.

Cheerbear,

The person from Abott called me and tell me to mix till he's ok with the taste, asked me to do it on a gradual basis before introducing Gain totally to him.

YPG,

U are not alone, when my boy was sick past few wks, oso on milk strike very little intake until I break up the feed into smaller quantity. See if it helps

<font color="aa00aa">re: milk strike
These few days my gal also on milk strike! Today from morning until now, she only drank twice nia! Just now when I brought her to a GP, the clinic took her weight and it shown 7.5kg. I wonder is it bcos there's something wrong with the clinic weighing scale or the gal has lost weight bcos 2 weeks ago her weight was almost 8kg le.</font>

bluey
if sunday u at hm... i go jurong west for church, so i can send to you. let me chk how many i have and email u, k?

cheerbear
oh, isit? hmm, the staff at abbott ask me to mix leh...

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Am flying off tis Sat, can collect from you after I'm back from the trip

U got my no right? u let me know again

mousebb,
what happen to WM? how come suddenly fever? send my hugs to her

jelly,
they also call u to tell u to mix? hmmm y they never call ME!!!!

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

The staff from Abott called to f/u and sent samples to my house for Gain IQ.

Then she explain me the steps and etc...she said to slowly introduce the new formula to the child tis way.

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
I have no idea leh. This afternoon I toucher her face and it was like burning. I took her temp and was 38.3 degrees so I quickly rang my hubby to come home to bring her see a doc. I suspect it could be teething. Her appetite was very poor these days. Feeling quite gek sim. Sigh!!!</font>

anyone wants a new tin of GAIN IQ milk powder? Its opened though but not touched becos I needed the scoop. Small sample tin. AM giving Vic Bellamys Organic FM.

hi cheer bear - i think the bb estein depends on the age gp u giving him to see... my boy does not like the 6mths and above one.. 9 mths and 12mths he is ok... he likes bb brainy better.. it has more segments and have some games which he will smile when it comes on...

Bluey - hope Ash is better.. think stick to just similac until u r back from ur trip..

ypg - maybe teething..if she doesnt want milk but ok w porridge then feed more porridge now... shld be ok as long as she is makaning something... not to worry my son is jut 7.6kg..now maybe lesser cos he went on solid strike for 2 weeks 1 wk ago.

hi mousebb - hope WM is better...poor girl.

mousebb,

I remember my PD say teething wun cause fever. I am feel very gek sim about my gal poor appetite also. But she got running nose on n off for the past week. Last weekend, she ok so I bring her attend MY GYM class then come back, running nose also come back. But she dun have fever throughout. She got 3 teeths cut through the gum since her birthday party &amp; 2 more coming. Haizz... Why all her teeths all come out after her birthday. I hate teething cause it really pain me to see her enduring the itchiness. She dun fuss or cry over teething but can see she is tahan-ing the itch or pain.

<font color="aa00aa">ypg
At least your gal still eat porridge. My gal doesnt like porridge!!! This morning i have to FORCE her to eat some macoroni!

Vanilla
Thanks! </font>

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla

I think I shall do so, Abott's infant FM prices has all went up, think becos of their new formula now...

Thanks for asking after Ash
he's still cranky at times somemore tis few days keep having diarrhoea *pengz*

My boy go on strike but luckily his weight didnt dip in fact in went up a bit think muz be my 'force-fed' hahaha so stressful when they dun eat *fainted*

<font color="aa00aa">ypg
My kids' PD said teething can cause fever but it shouldnt exceed 38 or 39 degrees which I cannot remember. </font>

Ruffles,

Can I have the Gain IQ to try? Thanks thanks. Cause if my gal rejecting Mamil Gold, I got to test different milk. Sighs...

May I know where u stay?

bluey
then when u rtn, i will ring u... we meet again when u rtn...

cheerbear
r u on abbott's mailing list?if you are not, get on the mailing list cos i think they hv some very good deals and info that accompany's the trial packs, so maybe give abbott a call say u want the gain iq smaple and ask abt the mixing of fm?

mousebb,

My gal can eat 猪肠粉 n mee sua, can finish all &amp; ask for more. So I think she just hate to drink milk cause she dun want to eat her cereals (with milk) also. But even after 1 yr old still got to feed them milk right? Cant do without milk is it? I forgot to ask my PD this during the last visit.

Buffy

I can meet on Monday.
where to? Karen, mint, Joanne etc wanna join?

hee, glad Kate entertains you! She really brings a lot of joy lah. Esp to the cleaning aunties and uncles that she waves and smiles at. Of course she has her grumpy stubborn moments too.

Ruffles

u went back FT? Must have been tough decision...

Pinkimum

hugs... Buy yourself a huge ice cream or huge starbucks frappé. Whatever will cheer you up. U can vent to us here. It's not easy being alone abroad. Esp as a young mum.

<font color="0000ff">YPG,

Even thou they are allowed to try out more new stuff now I think milk is still quite of an essential to them.

bluey,
I started giving Kai Gain 2weeks ago when we reached Singapore. I din even mix. And prior to that, he was only on similac for 2weeks, and partial breastfeed. Only stop breastfeeding when I was in Sg. Sounds like I was doing wrongly hor.

dimpletot,
Thanks. Just miss home and miss having so many people to sayang the boy. So sad, here he only has mum and dad. And whenever the helper thingie screw up, I have no back-up help and no one to run to. So sad.