(2008/10) Oct 2008

jjmom
honestly. nat was a gem! she made me v happy n she was not a bother at all

JJMom,
Nah..nat is such a darling!

Nice meeting all the mummies, wished i had brought bryan along to meet the pretty babes

Dimpletot,
I am SO SO impressed with your Kate!!! Wished bryan would be that friendly and does that waving and that wide SMILE :D Guess what? i went hm and started teaching bryan to signal "please", that boy would only giggle cheekily! Guess he must be thinking im nuts! hhahaaaa...

Cheerbear and pildough,

I hope you're feeling better now. We did my baby's birthday celebration over last Saturday and it didn't turn out fantastic. My family members were more interested in watching tv than coming over to sing a birthday song to my baby. We sang in such haste that we didn't even light the candle! I tell myself not to sweat over the small stuff. Other things that didn't go right:
1. The cake colour was wrong.
I tell myself the wrong colour is just as nice, which nobody else would know except my husband and I.
2. One of the Minnies fell and got cream on her face and body when my husband brought the cake home.
I tell myself that's the funny part of a cake like that.
3. My sister was new to the lens I love for photography and didn't take good shots with it.
I tell myself at least got pics of me and the baby lah.

I don't think I even have a decent 7 pics to choose from.

But the celebration is meant to celebrate the baby's 1st year. Compared to most of the mums here, it may seem like dumps, but I know my baby is so loved cos I went thro tons of hassle for her ultimate birthday cake. And I tell myself the pics didn't turn out nice cos I am not the photographer! (haha!)

everafter,
haha.. same with me... love kate to bits!! the first time i saw kate signal please, i started to teach rianne too... no luck. she would just look at me as if saying 'why should i say please for???' hehehe..

pil, r&r, cheer bear,
just read about what your MILs did... *big big hug*.

good morning!

mummies, i celebrating my baby's birthday this saturday and m still doing last min shopping! juz order the cake last nite from e-creative and waiting for them to call me:p

Yet to finish buying the party gifts for our little guest!...pat..pat.

rain, dun be too upset....at least the party ends very smoothly except for the 3points that u have mentioned.

<font color="119911">dimpletot,

how come i missed the part tat little kate signed 'please'? Do a video of it &amp; post it in FB leh

morning mummies

rains,
feels so much better after pouring all out here.. think if my next co block forum then i will go insane.

joanne,
thanks for the hugs

Good morning mummies,

I also just celebrated my boy's birthday last Saturday. Everything went well. Will be having another party this Saturday.

When it comes to MIL, I have my fair share of woes. Who can beat me? Ate leftover vege once during confinement. Not enough dishes then cooked me one egg. Cooked vinegar pig trotter for her guests for full month party but never offered me a single bit of that. My dad got to bring papaya fish soup over for me to eat. Oh well, best part about staying overseas is that I only see her less than 10times a year. keke...

<font color="0000ff">Morning All,

Rain,

*pat pat* at least you know you put your heart and effort in it, no regrets

Didn't you brief your sis on how to utilise the lens/camera before getting her to shoot??

Anyway, most imptly is the memories etched in the mind

Lilbluey,

Oh no I didn't. She uses a Canon at work, so I assumed that she's highly savvy in dslrs. I didn't know she's more comfortable using zoom lens. I made her use a prime.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies! rains: i agree with you. one thing i learnt from my PND is not to sweat the small stuff. when is yr bub's actual day? perhaps you would like to do this. i intend to do a hand print of cate and mine and HB's; placed next to one another. and every year, on her BD, do another one and so on. So, can see her development. so maybe you would like to do something like that and keep it for the years to come.

R&amp;R mummy,
Me okie lah. Just came back BJ yesterday morning. Helper gave me a surprise, telling me she cant work for me anymore. Scrambled to look for a new helper. Boy adjusting again, need to pat him to sleep and he cried in the middle of the night. Everytime after traveling also like that, quite sian leh.
How are your gals?

Buffy,
What you using to do the handprint? Paint ah? Me also thinking what to to leh...

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">pinkimum,
takes awhile for your boy to settle down... my frd and his family is now working in BJ too. </font></font>

pinkimum,
ai yo... Y your helper like this de.

my gals are fine. Rachel went back to child care recently. Regine ah... notti lor.

<font color="0077aa">pinkimum: so nice to see you here! welcome back!

Yah, I am using paint - Crayola finger paint, non toxic and washable.

Good morning mummies...

Buffy,
Sorry for leaving the conversation halfway last night...hubby tried to be 'helpful' and shut down the pc while I was putting away my bm...

<font color="0077aa">elch: hahahahahahaa.. no worries. i saw yr offline msg this morning.
PM me if you like to know more abt signing. 2 simple resources only, nothing too hard or major.

hi bee - re the vomiting milk + solid - my son is like that when he takes FM during day and the 9pm feed.. nurse say becos i change the timing so he cannot adjust and his tummy is still full also got wind... if he takes fm during the dreamfeed he is ok...i dilute the fm as well--- say 1 scoop to 60ml of milk - i will top to 100ml of milk.

i have yet find a good fm for him (he is lactose intolerance) so his fm is soy based. so his main milk still bm... i am a slave to the pump!

Buffy,
Can share the websites or books which you use for reference for signing? I'm curious and would like to read more about it if I got the time...think it's too late to start with Dylan now but no harm knowing more about it and start it off with No.2 in another 1-2 years...hee!

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

U are still providing him with the best, *a pat on the shoulder* for the great job!

thanks bluey! hee hee my shoulders aching from carrying breast pump to work everyday! my ex boss say i look like a uni student going school!

did u manage to go to fox baby and see that scarf and glove? Aiya yesterday i didnt have ur hp if not i sms u say i buy first then pass to u!

Hi elch - i wanted to but my PD say no -- he said goat milk fm v little histroy - just 10 yrs of medical research so he does not recommend. Instd he asked me to try soy and cow fm when my son is older. I think maybe fm is v "heavy" and thick and my bb cant digest well... maybe i try those fresh cow milk n see how first... still waiting for next pd visit to get ok and then try.

Yesterday i was speaking to the abbott lady - she wanted give me free sample - i told her abt my case and she suggest i see specialist...

R&amp;R mummy,
The helpers here not bonded by contract. So they just come and go as and when they like lor. And it is so cheap to go take bus/train back to their hometown, not like the maids in spore, need to pay for airtic to go back home.

bluey,
Kai is still a small boy leh, not growing much. Still less than 9kg. haha....

Buffy,
I also tried signing for a while, then forget all about it. Haha. Kudos to you.

<font color="0077aa">hi elch: oh no, it is not too late. See, even when I started cate on signing at 6+months, their motor skills are not developed yet so there is a variance to the signing - meaning cate signs some of them a bit different from the 'actual' signs.

if you start at this age, good thing is that their motor skills are more developed and they catch on quicker - pick up more signs on a weekly basis than a 6 month old.

I first borrowed just the book from library from this author - Monta Briant. After reading it, I decided to buy it to keep (about 200 signs lah, scared i forget lor). When I went to Borders, I saw that they were selling the kit that consisted of a book (which covers how to sign, how to tell if baby is signing, the actual signs, etc.), an audio CD of some baby songs and a instructional book that goes along with it that teaches one how to sign to the songs and some ASL flashcards. Here's how it looks
http://www.hayhouse.com/details.php?id=2953

To reinforce the signs, I bought some DVDs from this series - baby signing time http://www.babysigningtime.com/. I personally find the songs in the series catchy and there are animation which captures her attention and the word to the sign is always flashed on the screen which I think is useful for her. Additionally, it also shows other babies signing in the video which was useful for me so I can see what the variances are.

Cate took a few weeks for her first sign at 7months I think. But for Dylan, may be faster since he is older. I really enjoy signing because it is so fun and that Cate also can communicate with me. We had a laugh yesterday because I did flash cards with her and I is for Ice and when she saw the picture of the Ice - she signed cold (fists clenched and a mock shiver). So, she remembers that Ice is cold. And for a 12 month old bb to have that expression and that ability to tell you that, it really is amazing. She also looks cute faking a shiver. hahahahahahaha...

Wow Buffy...
I'm a lazy mum. Not so enthu as u.
Signing... nei... Marcus prefers to just grab me or rather my boobs and self serve. Or my hair when i refuse to give in.

<font color="0077aa">Pinkimum: it is nothing compared to how so many of the mummies here are still BFg!!! But perservere and you will be amazed how they are willing to communicate with you.

I seriously am a big advocate of signing though there are 2 schools of thought on this. Some ppl feel that it delays speech development but for Cate, it is not true at all. To date, she can say Bag, Bear, Duck, Baaa (she means Bus!), Fish (which is more "Ish") and Stars (which she lau hong a bit with the "S" 'cos she is a one tooth monster niah...)

'Cos when we sign, we say the word too and so, it actually helped cement the vocab along with the action. I am not an expert here nor do I have any early childhood education so what I can share is Cate's development lor. Plus another friend who home schools her boy (who is now 9 years old BTW) and he also did signing when he was a baby.

Try to continue! You will be amazed at how keen they are in communicating with us.

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

I din manage to pop by Fox last nite, but I went Winter Time to buy him 2 sets of thermal wear and the heat pack ^_^

Thxs for the kind gesture

Pinkimum,

Kai looks quite a big boy to me from the pics leh, weight not the main issue, most importantly he's in good health!

<font color="0077aa">hahahahahahahahahaa... XY: I think Marcus thinks yr boobs are BREASTAURANT! WAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAH

But seriously, it is not hard. I had friends who asked me why I chose to sign when at a later age, they can point and tell you what they want anyway. My answer to that is this. See, if it happens in the current moment, then yes, of course they can point to show you. But, just to share, when Cate and I head out and she sees something and she wants to share with me, she is able to - i.e. she signs 'trees', 'fish', 'dogs', etc. And you will be amazed how they remember things 'cos the next day, she suddenly signs trees again and I know she wants to walk around the estate and see the leaves and trees. She does not kick up a big fuss and we both have fun. You think she is able to point to a Tree when she is in an apt 6 floors up? Hence, it works for us lor... 'cos she talkative and kaypo also lah.

Another e.g. we used to give her one ikea bowl of porridge. Then suddenly, it was not enough and she cried. Then she signed 'more' and we realised she is not full and she wants 'more'. So things like that help me in understanding what she wants lor... Just my 2 cents worth.

<font color="0077aa">morning bluey, no lah, i dun hv enough moolah to stay at home ah... i would love it though - stayed at home for 6 months+ (broken into 2 periods) and then back to the work force. So, hitting the Toto would be my dream!!! Then I will even pay them one month notice and hike up my skirts and leave! *dream dream dream*

But thanks for the compliment. Am sure other mummies here are doing much more than me. Actually when I teach Cate, I do not know who is having more fun - her or me. 'Cos we both play until like mad like that. Yesterday just used the home made dough and teach her shapes again and we were covered with flour - to the shock of my helper. hahahahahahahahaa...

Now, gonna embark on "Word for the Week" - new idea I have which we will do arts and craft to show that word (e.g. paste photos of duck on a paper plate which we will paint blue to signify water - she knows the sign for water so it helps to cement the concept) and then put it up on a wall and have everything to do with duck on that wall for this week. I am starting easy lah. 'cos she knows and speaks the word Duck liao... Next week, maybe Bus... The strange thing is that I enjoy teaching and doing play learning with her tremendously though I am not v good with kids... I actually did not even want to have one because I am not a very maternal person. hahahahahahahaha...</font>

i really salute to Buffy cos she is a FTWM and her hb is always busy but she can handle and teach Cate v well....

for me..i need to spend 2-3 days to teach 1 body part to E.. like ears...nose is a failure cos it sounds like no and he keeps shaking his head. Need to improvise and say - button nose! Then worry he thinks all noses are button..but it is just his cos it is flat and round...some bb have nice shrp nose...hahaha

<font color="0077aa">vanilla pod2: Thanks but I think what she achieves regarding signing is what any mummies can do. Just that it takes time. If you ladies want to meet up and ask me about signing, more than happy to share.

Click onto the babysigningtime link - you can see videos of the babies signing on the video, It can be any one of our bubs. It seriously is not hard.

body parts: i think for our case, we started cate early. I started singing and reading and talking to her when she was 3 weeks old leh. everyone thought i was crazy but then I had PND and only when I sang / read / spoke with her, she'd shut up and stop crying!!!! so this was an added bonus.

Songs help - the actions and the tune makes it more exciting for them to learn. And based on what I read, I think it is something like the bub needs to hear the same word for an average of 500 times before they can speak it. Sing "Head" and "Shoulders" and point point point. You keep repeating, they will catch on.

I feel so shame as compare to what Buffy did.

I teach Regine nothing.

Every night when I brought her back from my mum's place, I will let her face her favourite TV Show Mickey Mouse ClubHouse. Then let her drink milk &amp; accompmany her to sleep. That's it.

<font color="0077aa">R&amp;R: dun be silly! you are doing a great job with hte girls and u have 2 leh my dear.

anyhow, off to another topic.

I finally finished designing, printing and packing all the darn goodie bags!!!! *hoot hoot* here's a pic of the lollis to share!

3101268.jpg

<font color="0077aa">ohhh Trace, you also chase those series ah??!!!?? I had to stop because I was not getting enough sleep!!! Must be more careful ah... Heng, not carrying bub. Which series you chasing now? *kaypo*</font>