(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Same as you, if I hit the jackpot I will not appear in office the nxt day hahaha ;p

*Day Dreaming*

While at work, my boy will face my parents mostly, so they will teach him. So far, he knows how to point out to things when he's hungry or want a certain food and say "mum mum"

He can oso point to all parts of his body when ask to..he claps he waves, he put things in and out the shopping cart that my BIL got him for his birthday...when asked to find something on the books, he's able to turn the page and point the object to us....He's very persistent in finding the object that we asked him too and put him out in front of us when he finds it and gives us the 'proud face' lolx ;p it's hilarious watching him sometimes

Oh! did I mention he simply loves to listen to a particular Hokkien Song from an ongoing drama now during the wkend, *concuss*, he can juz sit there quietly and watch the MTV! ;p~ He dances to the tune, clap and waves his hand in the air whenver Hi-5 is on TV.

His favourites animal are birds and he get v excited seeing them, and strangely he loves "signs" and will point them excitedly as if to tell me "Mommy, look look everywhere has tis!" When there's missing items or a person has disappear from his sight, he will sign the "no more/missing" gesture...

We dun have much time to teach him <font color="ff0000">With much regrets</font> since we oni get to see him 1-2 hrs or so after work, it's normally his bedtime when we bring him home. He will normally look thru his flashcard book before he zz and give us a big hug before sleep every night. Weekends are normally free &amp; easy time, no teachings, we juz observe wat he does and guide him accordingly in both English and Mandarin.

Am glad that he does understand Mandarin when his paternal grandparents converse with him over the wkend *phew*

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

Be careful ah!! Watch yr steps

Buffy,

Where's mine?? lolx ;p

They are beautiful!

<font color="0000ff">HK TV Dramas watching seems to be a thing of the past now hmmm...it's a luxury to be able to indulge in it..

<font color="0077aa">trace\bluey: thanks my dear. i cheated a little because those bugs, etc., i got from the BD deco pack I ordered from BD express... :p just need to do layout niah...

bluey: anytime! i have extras! hahahahahahahaaa...

back to TVB: oh yah yah, i know that fireman show! my family is chasing; all except me!!! -__-The ironical thing is my dad's god-daughter owns a video rental shop so I do not need to pay for it but NO TIME TO WATCH!!!! </font>

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

U steady lar, dun keep drooling over "Zheng Jia Ying" ya hahaha ;p~ later yr hb jealous!

<font color="0077aa">Bluey: Ash is doing very well already. If I recall correctly, he is achieving all the milestones he needs to at this age! Cate has no patience to sit there and search and point! She'd rather throw the book out of the play yard! hahahahahahahahahahaha...

And what an exotic taste he has - Hokkien song??!!!??? Ke ke ke ke

I also have only 1 - 1.5 hours with Cate every evening. Hence the only time I can engage her is for an hour from 7.45 / 8 to about 9 and then she gets wiped down and changed and milk and off to lala land... Weekends, I do not teach that much 'cos Sun is Gymboree (we are trying to finish up on the last 3 sessions and will not renew liao) while Sat is at Bibinogs 'cos she likes the arts and craft there. I will stop after the next term totally 'cos I think I am doing more than what they are, except for Mandarin. 'Cos I know how to play the organ so will be exposing her to the keyboard soon.

Mandarin, who is the Chinese teacher here ah? Was it YPG? Any tips on this because my Mandarin sucks! Seriously. I almost failed my O's!!! I think I need to brush up on mine first man... Damn CMI

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Ash still has the bad habit of throwing things esp after he gets bored -_-"" I've gotten new toys for him which is still sitting there in the corner hahaha ;p

I believe the interest will oni last 3 mins or so *bleh* and my parents keep complaining that I've gotten too much stuff for him alrd, then I keep saying "where got?"

He's a strange boy sometimes, then my hb was saying maybe he shd burn that KTV disc and bring onboard the plane so that if he gets ruffled, just play for him so that he can sit still hahahaha ;p

R&amp;R mum,
No idea when we will be back in spore for good leh. I am feeling depressed now. I always feel like this after trip back to spore. Feel like crying.

I am a SAHM and I am not even doing all these with my boys leh. He is not interested in reading, and just go walking and crawling around. And so many FTWM here are doing so much, make me feel so ashamed. Sigh.

<font color="0000ff">Pinkimum,

I believe Kai learns and picks up stuff even if he's juz crawling and walking about..dun stress yrself too much.

Cheer up *hugs*

<font color="0077aa">karen: sorry, it is short form for Birthday. Some mummy was doing a BP from birthdayexpress and I tagged on and bought the deco set for 16 kids. Since I have photoshop at home, so I photoshopped the bugs and redo the layout lor.

ai yah, i am type A lah. For her party, her invitation cards, reminder e-DM and all the gift tags (lollis, name tags, tags for the miniature jam and label for the bubbles) are all using this theme. Occupational hazzard lah...

Trace: wah, u damn can man. I cannot. Seriously, will die. So, I gave up. But I miss seeing those handsome male actors man... *dreamy look*

Bluey: wahahahahahahahahahaha... Hokkien song on the plane, dun pray pray! Thats certainly an idea lor! Ke ke ke ke... Ya, i think they all have short attention span. After like a few mins, they get bored. I read to Cate, also needs to read fast. Otherwise, she grabs the book and throws out of the play yard again and Cookie has to "siam" the flying book!

Pinkimum: actually I think it is because i am a FTWM that I play-learn with her every night. 'Cos the time we have is limited lor...

hi buffy - Thanks for reminding us FTWM that we can still play-learn w our child even if the time we hv w them is so short! I just converted to working FT and I can say it's been a struggle. I find myself feeling so guilty for the lack of time w my gal and it does not help i am so tired out at the end of the day. I still try to read her her bed time stories and flash some cards for her before she drinks her milk n sleeps.

Signing - yes I also do believe in it! Certain words we use etc we add w actions and she has gotten it! I must learn how to sign w her on words like 'more', 'hungry'....

Hi Mummies....

Rain, yeah dun sweat the small stuff is the way to go. I keep telling myself that too... Hugs. U have done great already. Dun feel guilty

Trace, aiyoh... be careful and watch your step!! Mai Gan Cheong.

Buffy.... SOOOOO NICE. U are 1 hardworking Mummy!

Jelly, i am keen to know abt the service apt and all the baby friendly places too. We are planning a trip to Perth next year.

Bluey, wah paris!! Enjoy! :p

Mummies who dun have time for play learn dun feel bad lah. I am sure you are all doing our very best for our little bubs. So no need for the guilt trip. Sometimes we need to learn from each other for ideas to help entertain and teach our bubs.

So far I haven't really taught Minibee many signs. Only taught her the major ones, glad that she can tell me she wants milk. She will sign for milk when she wants milk. Just to share this website. Quite good reference for baby signs... I especially like the animation video demo.
http://babystrology.com/baby-learning/baby-sign-language/

Got a question. When do you give your little ones fruits? I normally give it after every meal. Is it okie or should I wait a while before feeding the fruits?

Hi mummies! ;)

Trace/elch or other mummies who ordered Fitti diapers from the supplier, did u order from them recently?? Heard from my Sil that they charge $87/carton now instead of the usual $10/$11 previously due to the promo and minimum order is 2 cartons leh!! Is that true??
Then no point leh might as well buy from outside. Cos same as outside retail price! Sian!

<font color="119911">busybee,

i read some reports tat say giving fruits 30min b4 meal helps the body system to absorb in more nutrient from the meal.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Wow!!! So many posts for this morning! Have yet to have time to catch up with all the posts!
Am feeling quite relieved now since wenxuan has started to settle down in school. He still cries when we sent him there in the morning but once we left, he is okay and started to mix around with his playgroup. Start from today onwards, he even let the teacher bath him le. Hopefully once he is fully settled down I will have more time for myself and wenmin.</font>

nickypower,
I only ordered once when there's promo as I've still got lots of Pampers Dry to clear which I've bought during promo...wonder if Fitti Premium will have the promo anytime soon before my stock runs out?

elch- ic
Think now no promo and they are selling almost the same price as outside so I think defy the purpose of buying in bulk yet no discount. Somemore min must order 2 cartons which is 12 pkts leh! Sian!

trace,
hope u r ok and rem to wash ur knee clean and put paster

same as some of the mummies no time to watch tv.. now be it scv or mediacorp shows all i dunno what they are showing.

buffy,
wow great job as the lollis are so nice.. can i hv one? :p

teaching of hand signs - never teach shawn all these and in fact i do feel guilty that he is slow in everything coz i do blame myself that i do not hv enough time for him.

fruits - normally i give 30min after meal leh coz if give b4 meal i scare he will not be able to finish the porridge.

nickypower,
If price is almost the same as those sold outside then I think most people will not buy from them anymore...I won't want diapers to occupy so much space especially when it's not cheaper!

elch- yalor like tat who wan to buy and stock on diapers! I might as well buy my own outside. Finish then buy, else who wan to stock up on diapers when its not cheap!

hi trace - take care.. that day i fell and bruise my knee..and the worst thing my breast pump + bag all flew out and luckily i didnt bring my glass bots...the most horrid thing...all the people walked past me and didnt bother to help me out! Sigh! I was so malu but angry that Singaporeans + non Singaporeans so unkind..

hi vanilla,

thanks! dunno y so clumsy today. mayb not enuff sleep..haha..
yeah, singaporeans r like dat! this morn, i hailed a cab, when the cabby stopped, the car behind it honk so impatiently

hi bluey - wow ash knows alot of things!!!

yesterday i had a conversation w my hb - he said he wants bb to be a PD. i told him i just want my bb to be happy. Hb said even if he is not smart, top in class..i said ya..just want him to be a happy child, happy person.

haha but to add i told hb why PD..hard life leh..if delivering must be on call... dentist easier life - like my dental surgeon drives ferrari and charging me $5k for 1 tooth implant...

<font color="0077aa">wah, i went away for lunch time yoga and see all these when i returned...

Karen: oh you did?!!? Do you like Ladybug too? I personally love it! Remember Jo and Cate had the same ladybug hairclip when we met for the NDP gathering?

Ya, I DI-ed the bugs out and relay the entire thing. Kept it simple lah because I confirmed the venue so late that I was just left with 3.5 weeks to get the invite out!

Ruffles: You sign too? Thats great! I am teaching Cate other signs such as leaf, grass, go, stop and dangerous amongst please, thank you and sorry. We'll see when she can catch on.

Busybee: Ohhh... another signing mummy! Yah, Cate's first sign was milk! Kekekekekekekeke... Try teaching Minibee "more", it is v useful.
Thanks for the compliment.

Cheerbear: sure sure sure. u coming for the playdays trial? ;) kekekekekekekee... ai yo, no need to feel guilty! now i feel guilty for sharing. and dun say shawn is slow, some kids do not seem to be v engaged in the start but they actually absorb everything like a sponge. hence, no cussing!!! </font>

vanilla,
Can imagine how tiring it is to lug the PIS to and fro work daily. I surrendered 2 months back and stopped bringing the PIS to work. I express using my bare hands! It's a breeze not having to carry so many things! I just have to bring a 260ml bottle and that's it! I've stopped expressing during working hours ever since I started on my new job last week though I still express in the morning and night using my bare hands still. No more hassle of washing the funnels and etc!

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla/Trace,

Typical of some Sporeans *selfish* or "Blind" ;p

Shame Shame..

Vanilla,

Same sentiments like you, my child muz be happy =D

buffy,
i hope like wat u hv said.. he is absorbing everything like a sponge but somehow part in me still very worried as he is real slow coz he only learns to crawl in 11th mth etc etc.. but another part of me jus keep telling myself that as long as he is healthy and happy is gd liao..

ok let me share this poster which i diy for him on his bday which i am quite proud of as most of my relative comment that is nice :p
3102389.jpg

Are our babies supposed to stand by themselves from a sitting position without holding on to any support now? Dylan still can't do it thus I'm wondering if it's normal...

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

It's cute! where did u get the template from? Really make an effort wor! =D

Juz like wat Buffy said every baby develop differently, so dun worry too much...

elch
rebby also dunno how to get up fm sit to stand, so quite normal.. i asked my pd before, say rebby cant walk get up from sit to stand and she told me, if it is the same at 18mths, come back to complaint to her again... right now, let her be

elch,
shawn also cant stand w/o support. he can pull himself up using the leapfrog table as support.

thanks.. i printed in A3

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear/elch: dun worry.
i know it is easy for me to say otherwise but to share, my nephew who is as active as a busy bee only walked at 16 months! My bro and SIL checked with the PD and it is normal. Apparently, the average period is anything from 14 - 18 months according to Dr. B at Mt E. Anything before that, then the kid happens to be more active / has quicker coordination lor. Additionally, boys usually are slower in motor skills.

<font color="0077aa">ok, i am gonna ask my blond question for the day. As part of my play learning with Cate and as I shared earlier, the word for this week with her is DUCK, I like for her to see the real thing. But it occurred to me, EH, THESE DAYS, THE KIDS DUN HAVE ANYWHERE TO GO TO TO SEE THE REAL DEAL? Anyone knows where I can bring her to see duck? *oops, somehow that came out wrong - as in the animal lah!*</font>

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear: good effort wor! :D you like disney? Eh, if you ever wanna print it bigger, you can head to Bras Basah, can even print up to A0 Size.

my venue does not allow for us to hang anything lah, so no banners for Cate. Just balloons (lady bugs no less), cone hats, plates and cups set, napkins... Hope thats enuff man... </font>

Jelly, Cheer Bear,
Thanks for sharing...at least I know it's normal! Been reading through Nov/Dec thread and saw a few babies who can stand/walk already and that got me kind of worried! Other than that, Dylan's crawling/cruising everywhere. Last Sun, he managed to surprise us by drinking from my cup of sugarcane juice using the straw!

Hi mummies, no time to read through all the posts yet, but I better update my name for the Playdays trial before my name is taken out haha..

Venue: Sunset Way, Playdays
Time: 3 - 4.30pm (same for both days)
Cost: $45 (apparently will be offset against the course fee if sign up after trial)

Playdays - 24th Oct
1. Buffy &amp; Cate Marissa Verghese
2. Karen &amp; Jowenda Soh
3. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn Tan Ying
4. mint &amp; Regina Tan
5. BigFlamingo + Julian Wong
6. Chua Wan Chuen &amp; Goh Kai Kiat (20/09/08)

31 Oct
1. Jelly &amp; Rebekah Pung (10/10/08)
2. Daisy Buttons + Jazreel Teo (26/10/08)
3. Jolly &amp; Ashton
4. ypg + Ang Kai Tong (08/10/08)
5. Soudez + Shervel Tan
6. LilBluey + Ashten
7. nickypower + Kaelyn Quah
8. pildough + abigail cate matthew (03/10/08)

Note from Playdays: "Please do bring an additional change of clothes and/or towel or old shirts that you don't mind to be splattered in paint as we will be using them for our art activities. Class starts at 3.00 - 4.30.

A gentle reminder as well, we will only allow one parent with the child once the class starts."

Hi, I have proceeded to remove Christina's name because no reponse leh. For 24th Oct, our slot is confirmed. For other mummies, please add in your bub's FULL name as Playdays needs it. Please also check to make sure that you are placed on the right date. Thanks.