(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons
Many pple said that we are very cruel parents cos our boy is only 2yrs (25mths) nia and cant even talk properly yet we are sending him to school liao. Actually I also pity him but then the pressure comes from this society. Recently when my hubby enrolled the boy for a phonics course for 2011, I told my hubby that I really pity the boy cos we just enrolled him for courses w/o knowing whether he is interested anot. But then hubby said this is the pace of our society. In years to come the boy will be grateful to us for doing these "selfish" things to him. </font>

daisybuttons,
I sent her to the sick bay but I think the office people didn't let her go in and asked her to sit in a corner to really isolate her. Worse the mother still complained to say that I wasted her daughter's time and she's not learning anything by sitting outside the office. Can really vomit blood with such parents. My previous school does the disinfecting once a week.

St Jo's kindy reminded me of my own kindy years. Also very spacious and food served during tea break. I still remember that they served us green bean/red bean soup. Heehee! On some days, there was tau suan too.

Since it's quite good review from you, I shall look no further on kindys. heehee!

Karen, JJmom,

No lah. I need to be in school by 7.05am but I am an early bird. Tend to wake up around 4.30am to start the day early. Can mark books or prepare for lessons mah.

Have a great Children's Day today. My P6 students are so heartwarming. I ordered pizza for them (2 for each of them, so I missed myself out). They are offering their share to me though I know they really love eating. I feel so touched.

mousebb,
Haha! Your opinion about societal norms are just what I'm trying to gun down in my assignment. No offence. It's more of a cultural thing that we're a highly meritocratic society that causes this ks syndrome.

ypg,
Happy Children's Day! Wah you still so good treat your kids to pizza. My most extravagant one was McDonald's apple pie only. Hahaha!

<font color="119911">ypg,

peifu peifu

<font color="aa00aa">My gal is crazy! For the past few nights, she has been waking up to drink milk at around 3am. Wonder is it bcos she eats very little porridge during day time or what. </font>

hi mousebb - my son this morning opened his eyes at 2am demanding milk cos daddy skipped the 11pm dreamfeed...sigh i had to feed him and then get him to sleep..in end i slept at 3am..so tired!

u might want to increase 1/2 tablespoon rice for her dinner porridge?

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
These days we tried to let the kids sleep before 10pm and the gal will have her last feed at around 9.45pm. I wonder is this the reason which cause her to get hungry cos last time when she slept later, her last feed was at around 11pm. Nowadays this gal doesnt like to eat porridge and I only give her one solid a day nia cos she doesnt like cereal too. I wonder is it bcos the porridge is cooked by my sil's maid and it tastes different. Last time her porridge was cooked by the other maid but she was sent back by my bil before hari raya. </font>

hi mousebb maybe u want to try other food likee noodles or rice for her? I have a fren's son who loves noodles and not porridge. Also it cld be the texture...my son loves v blended..but i know alot of other bbs who loves textured...

if not add cereal to her milk and increase vol for the 945 feed?

mousebb, maybe ur girl growing through growth spurts. they do that every now and then in their first yr i think. whereby they eat and drink more than usual.

Actually, ur sentiments about ECAs i do share too. i know society is pressurising, me and hubby feel that too. but we have so far managed not to send him to classes he dun like. for example, when Jov was small, we tried lotsa trials. KM, RIM, Gymboree, Swim, GUG, JG, zoophonics even Shichida! being new parents, we are curious about everything on offer, so of course try right? conclusion, he ok with gymbo but not very keen, lukewarm about GUG (i also dun think much of GUG teachers), somehow hates KinderMusik and not interested in shichida as well. so we didn't pursue all those. BUT he LOVEs JG and Swim. so thats where we are sending him since 18mths/10mths respectively. hehee....conclusion, putting them in such classes is fine, but we make sure its something he himself like to do...in that way, not poor thing liaoz mah....he look forward to JG every week heeee....

Mint....hmmm....actually i have some other things to say about St Jo. i give them full marks for environment (spacious and green), but i wun say i give them full marks for ALL the teachers lah....thing is, like every school, there are good and bad teachers. st jo is no exception. i personally experienced a bad assistant teacher there before in Jov's 1st few mths. she's no longer there. BUt in those 1st week that i hanged around in school when he first started, i also observed how 1-2 particular K1 and K2 teachers handle the kids, and i dun like what i see. In addition, in this SMH forum itself, there's been a complain few mths back about a teacher in that school. i not sure if its true, but that teacher exists lah. i PM u link later. :p

That said, I feel that the pre-N teachers are fantastic. Jov's eng teacher is very nice and observant about the kids, she can ans questions posed by me about how he behaves in school in good detail. can tell she pay attention to each and every one child. the chinese and eng teachers in the adjacant classes are also excellent, i always see them smiling and enjoying their time with the children. and Jov's new assistant teacher is also a warmhearted soul, small little acts that i observed over the mths lah. all this are plus points. but not every teacher is like that. i have a feeling their love for kids has resulted in them being in pre-N for quite a few yrs oredi. those in upper classes are more serious. heeee....must add some disclaimer lah. :p

mousebb,
I think 1 solid a day is too little for them at their age. Try giving potatoes with unsalted butter.

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
Maybe I will try to give her noodles. Her max intake is only 160ml each time. We tried to increase the amount for her and she couldnt finish and I have to throw away my precious bm. So heartpain wor! </font>

daisybuttons,
I guess in every school there will always be some not so good teachers so that can't be avoided. As long as the teacher doesn't belittle the kids, I'm ok. Her teaching methods may not be up to par but that I can always 'mend'. But if she's putting the kids down, insulting them etc, then it's very something serious that we need to be wary about. I would also expect some seriousness in the older kids after all they are going to pri sch soon and some form of discipline would be important.

p.s. the uniform is quite cute lah... heehee!

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons
My hubby said ECAs can wait but he will want him to go for phonics cos it will be useful for him when he starts P1 next time. He is not keen to bring my kids for trials like swim, KM and gymboree cos he said the kids are still too young.

Mint
Is it baked potatoes? My gal likes to eat mashed potatoes and she can finish a regular mashed potatoes. This gal is not interest in bb food. She only interested in what we eat esp fried rice which I would give her.</font>

Mousebb,
What's the total intake WM drink? U still give 3hrs interval? I used to give Bryan at 3-3.5hrs interval but he can barely finish 120ml! Nw i gave him 1st feed of the day 240ml and another 2more feed for 150ml. Lesser feeds but he drink more! And he still eat 2meal of soilds

mousebb,
Going for swimming, music and gym would be better for young kids as all these will help in their coordination skills and music has lots of benefits. Classes like phonics can wait.

Baked or mashed potatoes both can give.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Her total intake is about 700-800ml with 1 solid meal.

Mint
Phonics class only starts at 4 yrs old not now lah
. We will still bring the kids go swimming whenever my hubby is free. </font>

Oh, she drinks quite alot..but lesser solids might b difficult to wean off milk? but i think nvm also..as u said she like to eat adult food! hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I think she is just like her korkor cos I remember wenxuan stopped taking porridge for quite a long period (from 9-15mths) and only drank milk alone. We checked with dr lilian and she said it should be ok as long as the amount of milk intake is reasonable cos the main source of nutrient at this stage still comes from milk.</font>

<font color="119911">mommies,

can share your bb's schedule for 3 solid meals, milk &amp; nap times &amp; sleep time?

Nat is still on 2 solid meals only &amp; time already seems to b vy pack liao.</font>

hi jjmom - my boy's schedule

630am - wake up
715am - brekkie (2 or 2.5 tablesp cereal + fruit+120ml)
930 - 10am - nap (around 1 - 1.5 hr)
1130am - lunch (2.5tablespn uncooked rice) Porridge
230pm - 130ml milk
300pm - sleep (1-1.5hr but sometimes 2 - 2.5hr) all depends on his mood
530 - 545pm - dinner (3 tablespn uncooked rice) Porridge
845pm - 150ml milk
12-2am - dreamfeed 120ml (depends on what time hb feed him)
4am or 5am - 120ml

sometimes there is a teabreak of biscuits or fruits...but if too close to dinner time will skip

today we trying something diff - we will feed 180ml FM for the 845 feed and hope he can tahan till 4am for his 120ml feed cos hb say he is going to be 1yr old so must not dreamfeed...

jjmom,

kaitlyn's schedule

930am - 180ml FM or 1030am - one bowl of cereal with FM and fruit puree
11am - nap
1pm - 3tblsp rice with meat (fish, pork, chicken or beef) &amp; veg
3pm - nap
4-430pm - 180ml FM
7-730pm - 3tblsp rice with meat (fish, pork, chicken or beef) &amp; veg
11pm - 180ml FM

for the past wk, she's been sleeping frm 11pm to ard 9 in the morning. *yippee!*

sometimes porridge is substituted with cereal or pasta. in btw, she'll always snack on fruits, yogurt or rice biscuits

update,
she's finally teething.. 2 little white spots on the lower gums.. my grl grow up liaoooo *boohoo*.. fever n diarrhea.. poor gal.. how long does this last?

Marcus is on 3 solids.
He don't really like EBM now.
Keep wasting them in the afternoon.

7ish - latch
10am - solid teabreak (1/2 portion of potatoes/pasta)
bath then nap
1pm - Solid full portion of porridge
4pm - Attempt to give EBM, max intake 120ml or lesser,
7pm - Solid Full portion of porridge

9-12pm latch as and when.

He only wants to latch! Argh... how to wean?? how to have #2??

Jazreel is on 3 solids since 9mths.

7am - Latch on (don't know drink how much)
8am - bathe
9am - breakfast (cereal+80ml EBM with fruits)
9.20am - Remaining EBM (around 100ml)
9.30am to 11.30am - Nap
12noon - Lunch, 2 vege and 1 protein(fish,chicken or pork) feed with either baby rice,potatoes or sweet potatoes
2pm - EBM 170ml
2.30pm to 4.30pm - Nap
5pm - EBM 150ml (sometimes have snacks too sometimes don't have)
6.30pm - Dinner (porridge with vege and protein)
8plus - Wash up for bedtime
8.30pm - Nurse both sides total 40mins.
9pm - sleep

aless
8-8.3am wakes up
Breakfast-rice cake or biscuit or bread
Play
12-1pm lunch, porridge, rice, lentils or pasta plus fruit or yoghurt
Latch, nap/or continue to play.
Shower if he gets sweaty or dirty
Tea, 3 to 4.30. Snack:Bread stick, pc of fruit, cheese, rice cake or steam veggie, potato
5.30 dinner rice or pasta plus fruit , cheese or yoghurt, dried apricot, raisin
7-9 snacks
Shower sleep.

Mousebb
Some bbs dun like porridge.
Ey used to like fried rice and pasta at age of 1.

mummies sad news.. my co going to retrench soon and this time round heard alot of pple will kanna.. we already had 2 rounds b4

wow ur babies/toddlers eat alot leh.. mine still on 2 solid nia.

hihi...

both LY and me are sick.

she is down w cough and running nose again...

me? haiz... dun noe y keep having giddy spells these few days... and body aching all over... my MIL still thought I'm preg... lol

jjmom,
Here's Julian's timetable.

6.30am FM (240ml)
9am cereal
10.30am FM (240ml)
10.45am nap
1pm lunch (2 bb cubes of pureed food/porridge)
2.30pm FM (240ml)
2.45pm nap
5.30pm dinner (2 bb cubes of pureed food/porridge)
8pm FM (240ml)
8.15pm sleep
And now you know why he's such a giant..haha

purple,
take care.. alof of pple sick now.

ey,
sighzz think i will be one of them coz they are cutting more than half jus alone in my dept.. now all of us no mood to work.

mummies is it a MUST to hv 3 solids now?

mummies, need help...

I managed to get the yogurt the other day... so i put in the fridge and since my gal now down w cough... i nv give it to her... ytd, the maid ask me whether can feed the yogurt to my niece or not... i said can... (cos she ask me and my SIL was around) but end up nv feed her.

Today, I came back and saw that she has open 1 tub up to feed my niece... I know I'm bad... but anyway to tell her nicely that those are meant for my gal and not for the niece...? i'm afriad she will eat up all of them...

jjmom,
here's rianne's timetable:

8.30-10am (depends what time she wakes up) cereal (if HT barley 6tspb, if HT oatmeal/brown rice 9tsbp) + EBM
after breakfast she will usually latch then fall asleep again
12pm-1pm (depends what time she wakes up from her nap) pureed fruits (hmm.. but i see that you all give porridge for lunch.. maybe i'll change this one)
3pm-4pm latch
6pm 3tsbp of cooked porridge or 3tsbp of uncooked pasta + 4oz of pureed veg and meat (pork/beef/fish/chicken)
8pm latch
11pm-12pm latch + sleep

purple,
ask her, how's the yoghurt taste like.
Then see her reply. Ask causally tell her, it cost $xx. And tell her to split the cost.

hi All

Been a while since I last posted.

Celebrated Victoria's 1yo last Sat and she had so much fun! Thanks mommies for all your well wishes
She was clapping when we sang her her bday song n cut-cake time. Will load the pics n video when I get round to doing so. Then, yester we brought her to the zoo on her actual bday. So tiring but fun.

SOmehow I thot the zoo has shrunk? It seems so much smaller compared to 20yrs ago?

On timetable:

730am: Wake, 160ml EBM
8am: Fruits
9am: Nap
10.45am: 160ml EBM
11.15am: POrridge
1pm: Nap
2.30pm: 160ml EBM + fruit / yoghurt
5.30pm/6pm: POrridge
730pm: 180ml FM
8pm: Sleep

purple - Just ask your SIL nicely if she wld like you to help her purchase the yoghurt the next time you go to the supermkt and that it costs $xx. She will get the msg. And when you do buy them, pass her the recept n ask for the amt - with a smile. She will have to oblige you. If it is the maid asking, just tell her those are for LY. No nd for reasoning.

<font color="119911">Looking at bbs schedule :

Most look more pack than Nat's, almost drinking milk or eating snack/fruit/porridge every 2hrs.

I m still feeding milk at abt every 3hrs plus the 2 solid meals of porridge &amp; I m already worried if the little tummy can take so much =P

Hmm...mayb i m under-feeding Nat =P</font>

jjmom - dun worry. My PD always remind me that our babies are v smart. They will cry for more milk / food when hungry

<font color="119911">EY,

how's your back? Better, i hope *hugz*

btw aless is not drinking milk anymore?</font>

<font color="119911">Ruffles,

tat's what gets me asking coz after Nat recovered from her fever > 2 weeks ago, she starts to wake up at 11pm &amp; 3pm for milk.

wonder if it growth spurt or me under feeding her? =P</font>

JJMom,
Bryan eats/drink even lesser than Nat. I tried feeding 3hrly he refused to drink, so i drag longer n longer hrs. In btw morn/noon will give some fruits as well

8am 240ml FM
12noon - Porridge with veg+fish
4pm - 150ml FM
6-7pm - Porridge with veg+fish
10pm - 150ml FM

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies, after seeing the feeding schedules of your babies, I really feel like a bad mummy. Since I will have some "free" time in the morning from next week onwards, I would try to make some adjustments to my gal feeding schedule. Am thinking maybe I should let her have rice in the evening since she likes to eat rice so much. </font>