(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">pil,
it's rather norm for mil (even my own mom) to request for a maid when caring for kids liao, no choice...

but my mom learned it thru hard way vy soon tat having a maid is not really a total blessing LOL</font>

<font color="0000ff">jelly,
hahaha...think the 2 of us really had our share being sandwiched btw our family &amp; maids = more stress.</font>

jjmom
and u know what, i am getting another! my mom just cant tahan all the housework liao... and here is the start of my problem again... bcos every maid is not gd enough for my family... sigh...

Hey Pildough,
I took over my maid from a friend who highly recommended her so I was lucky. No agency fees as it's a private arrangement. Sometimes expat employers post ads for their maids at cold storage. Can try there.

I am very pleased with her. I give her every sunday off as I believe time off will give her stress relief and a happy maid means a happier baby too. She does her own remittance at the post office. Just give her a bit of time off on saturdays occasionally to do so.

I provide her with shampoo, soap, toothpaste and toilet paper, and she eats whatever we eat. except for pork. I do buy chicken alternatives for her as she is muslim.

I guess allow for about $250 to $300 extra a month which should include food, medical bills, utilities etc. Her salary is $350 and the levy is $170 for working mums.

She stays with my parents or in-laws with the baby during the day, so i don't expect her to do much housework except on saturdays when i take care of Julian.

actually hor...i can totally understand your mom's stand leh...hahaha

when we have maid, we think she is not gd enough but when we don't, we realised we can't do without the extra 'help'...argh...it's a torturing cycle lei (@_@)''</font>

Hiya Mummies,

Just to share an interesting article.. from Family Magazine

Hot Preschools
Why some preschools are hot and some are not!

Text Michelle Tan

Long wait lists, overnight queues and balloting exercises are just some of the "horror' experiences parents deal with gamely so as to enrol their children in popular pre-schools. Indeed, what sets these preferred pre-schools and childcare centres apart from others are their specialised programmes and courses. From bilingual classes to arts classes, they offer options that the conventional schools do not provide.

1. Mandarin Schools

High on the list of hot pre-schools are Mandarin and bilingual schools which are hugely popular with English-speaking families. Assistant Professor Linda Gan of the Early Childhood &amp; Special Needs Education Academic Group at the National Institute of Education (NIE) explains that demand has risen as there is greater public awareness that English-speaking children may have problems acquiring Mandarin as a second language. To give their children a headstart, parents are enrolling their children in schools that use Mandarin as their main language of instruction.

One such parent is Leni Wijaya, 37, whose 5-year-old daughter, Sherine, now speaks Mandarin fluently and enthusiastically. You would never guess that a year ago, she could hardly speak the language and was indifferent to it. Leni considers herself part of the "lost generation" – a Chinese who cannot speak Mandarin. "I don't want my children to be like me," says Leni.

Parents like her are desperate to find a solution that works for their children when it comes to picking up Mandarin. Leni had to engage a tutor for her elder daughter when she had problems learning Mandarin while attending an English-medium kindergarten. So, when it came to Sherine's turn, she registered her at Holy Grace, a kindergarten that uses Mandarin for all subjects except English and Maths lessons. But Holy Grace was so popular that Sherine had to be put on the waiting list. She only secured a place a year later, when she was in K1.

After only a year at Holy Grace, Sherine now speaks and understands Mandarin without any extra coaching. Indeed, her marked improvement in the language has not gone unnoticed by her neighbours as she is more fluent than her peers who are attending English-medium kindergartens. Leni believes that Sherine’s significant progress is due to the way Mandarin is taught in Holy Grace – through immersion.

One popular school that runs such language immersion programmes is the Julia Gabriel Speech and Drama Centre. It offers Mandarin PlayClub Nest/PlayClub classes for children aged six months to 3½ years. Mrs Pauline Chang, Head of Mandarin Programmes, agrees that children are able to pick up the language faster in such a setting. She explains, "When young children between 8 and 18 months are put in a pure language environment, they will pick up the sounds, and produce them although they may not know the meaning yet. Understanding and grammar comes later, from age 3."

For effective learning, only Mandarin is used in these immersion classes, she notes. "A lot of language learning is not just sound, it also includes pitch, pace, tone, and facial expressions," she says. "Drama also makes it a lot more easy and fun for children to begin to understand the meaning behind the words. For example, they may not understand "xia yu" (rain) but they grasp it when we make the sound of thunder and of the rain falling."

"Immersion is good because the children are motivated to find the language to communicate,” explains Prof Gan. Young children, in fact, do not have many problems adapting to such an environment because of “the sensitive period (birth till 3 years) for optimal language acquisition", she notes, during which a child learns easily. Problems usually arise only as a result of the child's personality, for example, if the child is naturally timid. Sherine had no problems settling down and after only a year at Holy Grace, she has even developed an interest in Mandarin songs and games.

2. Bilingual Schools
However, other parents, like Chinese-Indonesian Devy Suleiman, 36, opted for a bilingual educational setting for her two daughters rather than a Mandarin one because she wants both English and Mandarin to be a part of her daughters’ lives. "We want our kids to be well-rounded, well-exposed to different cultures, races and religions to be a better global citizen in a big world," she says. She sent her girls to Moriah Childcare and Development Centre, where English and Mandarin are used in daily routines. As both languages are compulsory subjects in primary school, a pre-school with a bilingual programme will help children to master the languages before they start Primary 1, says Moriah's Supervisor Christine Wong.

Madam Ho Chin Geok, Principal of Fey Siang Kindergarten, agrees that there should be a focus on bilingualism, as this gives children a firm foundation in both English and Mandarin. She also cautions parents that "unless they themselves are very, very good in English, the child's English might suffer if he is sent to a Mandarin school."

Prof Gan advises that whatever school you decide to send your child to for the successful acquisition of Mandarin or any second language, the teaching has to be child-centered. Children are motivated through role playing, songs, rhymes, and dramatic play. "If the child is interested in the game, he will try to use the language to interact with his peers," explains Julie Sim, Principal of Orange Tree Pre-school.

Parents should also act as "role models" for their children by speaking Mandarin to them at home. If they can't speak the language, then they should try to get other members of the family who can, to speak to the children or seek other alternatives, such as enrichment classes. However, Prof Gan also warns parents not to become overly concerned about Mandarin, "You should look at the whole school, and how it is educating the whole child. If you become obsessed with just Mandarin, then your child might not enjoy learning it."

She adds, "The most important thing parents can do is to create a relaxed, natural and conducive environment for children to learn, through talk or play."

3. Special Arts Classes
NAFA Arts Kindergarten, which opened in January 2005, aims to give the child a well-rounded education. "Education has to be all rounded, encompassing not only academic but arts and moral education as well. We aim to enrich the child’s lives by introducing arts at a tender age, cultivating a love for arts and allowing the child to grow and develop in a holistic way," explains Principal Jessica Loh. Its 4 hour-long programme includes a daily hour-long Arts segment such as fine art, music and dance. The remaining time is set aside for academic subjects like English, Mathematics, Science, Reading and Mandarin.

Associate Professor Susan Wright, Head of Early Childhood and Special Needs Education at NIE, believes that the arts should form the core of the pre-school curriculum, leading rather than supplementing the programme. The arts (visual, dance, drama and music) allows children to have a voice and to express themselves, and to deepen their understanding of the world. "For example, in play, children use objects to stand for other things. It is these forms of representations which are the predecessors of numeracy, literacy, cognition and expression," she says.

4. Something Extra!

Then, there are the schools like Cherie Hearts that include extras like French, Japanese or Calligraphy in their curriculum. Cherie Hearts' Group Managing Director Gurchan J. Singh explains that they want to expose the child to a variety of languages as children can absorb up to 20 languages at this age. The aim is to expose the child to various skills early so that parents can help their kids build on these talents even at the primary school level, he notes.

"Kids at this age can absorb knowledge like a sponge. We should allow them to learn as much as they like, and at the same time, use fun methods to instill in them an interest in learning," he says.

Radha Devi, 37, whose daughter is in Cherie Hearts, agrees, "Now I know what's her interest and talent, I don't have to choose enrichment classes simply based on what I think is important or just because other people are doing that." She does not find the "extras" stressful as she feels that her daughter develops linguistically and creatively, not just academically. "These classes are introduced gradually and more importantly, my daughter enjoys school!"

Ultimately, your child's needs and interests should be the most important consideration when choosing the right school for her.

"Go to a few places, have a feel of the environment, meet the supervisor and look at the curriculum. Most importantly, you have to KNOW your child and see if the environment fits him," advises Prof Gan.

busybee
i'm a lazy mmommy. will just choose a nice sch near home and have normal curriculum ... but i dun mind sending her for music classes on weekends...

Jelly, will you still organizing trial class for kindermusic? If yes count me in...

i have been thinking abt getting a maid &amp; leave her at my inlaws totally while we bring nat home everynite =P

dunno if this will work but looks like a nice plan...I get help with nat &amp; all the hsework (weekends afternoon) while mil helps to spy on her &amp; still enjoy our privacy at home =P

thinking...thinking...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee / mummies in sengkang
Do you know of any school in sengkang which offer play group? I want to send my boy for play group from next year onwards and since we will be moving back to there, I want to look for one which is near to my place. </font>

<font color="ff0000">Hey Pildough,

We got a Filipino maid, experienced in caring of baby and children from Dans Maid Services Agency (Tel:68422140) I've forgotten the exact charges but roughly it's abt $600 I paid for all the admin and agency charges. I was allowed 3 free changes within 6months. As I am not a very patient person, I chose to go for maid with experience and over 35yrs old (mentally more stable!!) The agency arranged for a face to face interview, and we asked her a lot of questions. You need to be very sure of what are your specific requirement. For us, we want someone who has experience and patience with kids cos our first priority are the kids.... never mind the freaking household chores, dinner..... So our maid is very very good with the children including Skylar (much to my hubby's jealousy)Skylar wants her sometimes when she has her little tantrum!!! And i ccaught my eldest daughter sending my maid sms on how she really love her as a family member..... well but at least i know i can rest my heart at ease that she is not ill treating my kids while I am at work. BUT she can't cook to save her life..... does household chores really well, I've never have a house that clean honestly. We pay her $380 a month plus another $170 for levy. As she is educated, it's easier to teach her thingsand do things where she needs to refer to instructions. She gets every sunday and public holiday off (well we believed that she's a helper, not a slave)and she eats whatever we eat, yup and on the same table with us too.

As for hidden cost, U will see an increase on your utilities bill, weekly/monthly marketing bill cos she's an extra mouth to feed. I will get her the normal toilettes like toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner etc but then my two elder kids are using those as well. Oh I also spoke to her ex employer too before we made our decision to employ her.

Another hidden cost u need to be mindful of is her loan.... I refused to take up her loan. The so called loan is actually the agency fee, I just told the agency that I will still pay her the whole salary every month and it will be between the maid and the agency to arrange the loan repayment. It's a matter of principle for us cos i don;t believe in taking up someone else's loan. WTF!!!I'm not paying her damn debt and if she can't pay it then i'm not gonna be responsible for that shit. Well this is just my 2 cents worth.

Mousebb, I am researching. Let u know if I find any.
I curious abt the new cherie hearts centre at the Anchorvale CC. Think they have playgroup.

y lei? she is only staying there wor...no need to cook except for bb?</font>

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,
i heard dayspring &amp; carpe diem at punggol quite nice

oops but i think it's consider far for u since sk swimming pool is far for u =P</font>

jjmom
i think u know right, if u employ the maid, the maid is suppose to stay w u and not ur ILs... that being said,if you happen to hire a maid like my ex and knows that the employer is me and not my mom, they just dun want to listen to your ILs to work lor... so... that is why i posted the remark...

oops...i din know leh, thou as long as she no need to do hsework at my inlaws will b fine...sigh...problem again

guess it's still back to bbsitter &amp; me at the hsework...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Thanks! Am trying to find one place near to my house. But if no place, will consider places at punggol. Imagine I need to bring along my xiaojie each time I send and fetch my boy. Am thinking what am I going to do if I have 1 more kid next time??? haha!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Mommies,

Hey u know that we have to bring our baby for an assessment between 6-10months old, when do u think is the ideal time to bring huh?? In between? Or 9months plus??

<font color="aa00aa">Gio
Do you mean bringing to the PD? If yes, my gal had one done at 5months+ and the next one will be 12months le.</font>

busybee: ya,realli glad he's there. got 24hours NTUC to do grocery..2 kopitiam to settle my dinner and ideal pickup time + pretty nice staff..to me, it complements my lifestyle..hee.

<font color="ff0000">I meant the assessment between 6-10months that's in the health booklet.

Mousebb,
Really have to bring back to PD? Can just bring to GP??

JJmom,
So bring 9th month is okay huh? cos the booklet said 9 to 10months so i don't know which month to bring. Sigh, that's the problem when u have kids that are many years apart, forgotten so many things liao!!!

phew.. finally got some time to come.. so busy until i headache liao

jolly,
have u email me the jelly cake?

busy bee,
i stay near the IFC that jolly puts ashton in

Cheerbear : not yet..was too tired to login when home yest. can PM me your email addy cos it's a PDF file. ya..lucky you to stay there..

busybee: you bet..my mum was of all praise of the place when i brought her there..the way she talks abt the benefits, machiam she is the ppty agent..hee

Hi mummies who take photo with kym2.. Have you receive the CD from her?
I have not receive the CD yet
. Not replying my email also .... quite disappointed, have to wait for so long ...

Hi Pildough

My Ph helper is paid $350 monthly, and monthly levy is $170. She eats whatever we eat and I buy her a big loaf of bread weekly (in case she needs to munch during the day).
When we go on big family dinners at restaurants, or if I buy home any nice cakes / curry puffs, she also gets to enjoy that too. Because she likes peanut butter and is a coffee addict, I also buy that for her. Shampoos, body wash, hand soap, toothpaste, sanitary napkins are all borne by me. I choose the brand. If she wants any specific brand, it was made known to her since day 1 that she will buy that herself. On her birthday, Christmas, CNY, we give her gifts / AP. On her 1st day –off, she got a small token ‘enjoy your day- AP from us.

On her once monthly day-off, I give her $50 from the $350 monthly. Based on mutual agreement, there is no exchange of monies or remittance for her (she doesn't need it). We use a transaction log signed in by her and myself on her day offs and it clearly states how much is due to her cumulatively.

In terms of utilities, I don’t see a significant increase in water / electricity bills although I have her bathe twice daily; hygiene and cleanliness is more important to me.

In terms of food, yes there is an increase since you need to feed another adult.

My agency does house calls and has good employer-helper % matches for my HB’s office and was listed as a good agency on MOM’s site. After sending the helper to our place, he came by 1 month later to follow-up and check. Think my agency fee was only $300+. Need to check.

I set the tone on day 1 with her by going through a very detailed task-schedule list, dos and don’ts. I made it very clear what was clearly No-Nos to me and the consequences. She was intimidated initially, but 1 week into the job she told me she felt thankful and lucky. She’s been with me nearly a year already and I am hoping she will renew her contract w me when it expires next yr.

The thing about having a helper is that it is a give and take relationship though luck does play a huge role. Sometimes a helper is good actually, but can’t get along with the employer – and then the rls nose dives. Sometimes it is the other way around. Being nice to your helper is also key; provided she does not take advantage of you.

When sieving through the biodatas, I purposely left out those vain looking – typical Ph looking ones. I chose a plain looking lady with child care experience, good hygiene, good housekeeping skills. My agency helped me select her. And I also requested to speak to her and another potential candidate before deciding on her – just to get vibes.

Medical reviews (1/2 yrly) costs only $25.

Thanks Ruffles and Gio,
helpful tips from u and gio! i'm hearing the not so good things, the good things but i'm more convinced it's really give and take, close one eye kind of relationship, i'm beginning to try and think it might work out.

From what i've read, it works if you are clear and realistic about expectations.

Thanks gurls!

One more thing Pildough, my helper is NOT perfect. She has forgotten to do stuff instructed to her etc, and has her share of ‘Monday-blues’. I usually just firmly but gently remind her not to repeat the same mistake and be more careful. Sometimes I have to remind a few times. My motto she is human afterall and comes from a rural place. If she is as good as me or us, she will not be a domestic helper for that matter. So everything, I try to take with a pinch of salt. Sometimes need to take a larger pinch.