(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hello Kitty Mac - We start young!

2226863.jpg

From left:
Baby Zac, Baby Kate, Baby Marcus, Baby Victoria, Baby Mikayla

Now, we wonder what this fuss about Hello Kitty is all about! We WERE the centre of attraction weren't we!?

Ruffles,
Totally agree. Our darlings were much more attractive than the cat w/o a mouth. Keke...

It's a rainy sat. Marcus is fussing over the thunder. Gave him quiet a few scares. Argh...

pinkimum,
What you described is exactly what I'm experiencing!

Ruffles, jen, XY,
Very worrying when they don't drink right...haiz...his last full feed's at 4.30am and besides that it's just force-feeding of 1-2mins...that's all!

Just want to rant...
I'm so pissed with hubby. I'm supposed to meet my girlfriends at 1pm but my boy was fussy so I was late in meeting my girlfriends for 40minutes, barely 20minutes into our meal, hubby called complaining that he can't handle my boy as he kept crying non-stop...he called me 3 times to let me hear how badly my boy is crying. I called hubby back trying to tell him how to coax my boy but he got frustrated and hang up my phone telling me there's no point in me calling if I don't have intention of going home immediately! It was heart-breaking to hear my boy crying so badly as he's a happy and easy to coax baby all this while. It's his 1st time crying this badly and for so long since birth. Thus, here I am back home fuming but relieved to see my boy's finally taking his nap since waking up at 7.30am this morning...think he fussed so badly because of over-tiredness...I'M SO ANGRY WITH HUBBY FOR BEING SO INCAPABLE & IMPATIENT TO COAX MY BOY!

xy- ya man. So wet today. Poor Marcus... can be rather scary for bbs this silly thunder. Surprisingly Victoria is fine today..maybe because she is awake. If zz, she will cry.

elch - I suppose unless our hubbies are the type who change diapers etc from day 1, it can be difficult for them to take over our bb esp at this stage when they are fussing so much. Dun stress over his 'incompetencies' ya? It will make u more upset. Now more important to keep calm and pacify yr boy. You can do it!!! I try to cuddle her now when she fusses and refuses milk. Dunno how to pacify her otherwise. Have you gotten yrself some teethers and Dentinox to stand by? I hv not given Victoria the mentioned until needed. Cuddling seems to work for now

elch - try to log his milk times and amt. If it still continues, call yr PD up on Mon to check. I actually think there is nothing to worry about, but us being 1st time mommies, we do stress n heart pain when they dun drink. Am tracking her milk amt/time, and will be calling my PD on Mon if it persists... just for assurance sake.

Ruffles,
Problem is hubby did change diapers, bathe and feed him since Day 1! Argh...miss catching up with my girlfriends and it's so hard to meet up nowadays due to all our differnt commitments and now all I get to do is travel from Punggol to Orchard, see them for 20mins and back to Punggol...feel like crying on my way home just now...I've got a teether but no Dentinox...how do I tell if my boy's teething?

XY,
Must be the rain...makes Dylan and I gloomy...wonder when can I have 'me' time again...

Ruffles,
Think I'm going to just let him be on milk strike as long as he's active and playing...believe he got some 'reserves' in his body, especially his cheeks and thighs...hah...

Elch,
dun kick urself abt it. Babies dictate our lives now. So... we have to give up certain things. Now i finally understand why grown ups (not that i'm young, i mean my parents when i was like 10) have lesser or even no friends. Guess this is life as a MOTHER!

But lucky for us, we have SMH gatherings to look forward too. Keke... SMH is my sanity. *shy*

<font color="#C25283"> mummies
plannin for another gatherin at whr? so eager to see the BBs again leh.. hehe... =P</font>

<font color="#C25283"> elch
*hugz* dun angry k.

last time my hubby also hve the same problem. so we will quarrel ovr the fone. n i'm those vry bad n unreasonble peron. i told him this, 'i wont be backhme early. wheather u can settle my boy ant. it's none of my business!!' bad rite. hehe... dun learn frm me. coz of this. hubby is sort of un allow me to go out. coz he really dunno hw to handle my kids. LOL!!</font>

Helllloo mummies!

Another rainy wet day...

XY- Thxs for the collage..
Well done mummy!
Totally agreed with wat u said..."Babies dictate our lives now. So... we have to give up certain things" How true is that lor... Sigh...So missed my "own me time", meeting frens for tea/coffee/chit-chat, shopping and more... Haiz tats what Motherhood is all about....giving up on certain things...but for a meaningful cause/purpose.. ;)

elch- Hugs! Can understand how u feel.... Cheer up mummy!

u know for formula milk, there's stage 1 for newborn and stage 2 and 3. What's the difference huh? When must we start giving FM? Currently Marcus is on TBM.

My friend has coupon for Similar stage 2 FM. Buy 2 900g and get 1 400g free. Should i start storing up on FM?

elch
*hugz*... my hubby is like this as well... if w/o my parents, he really can't handle the baby. i am constantly pissed with him bcos of this

XY- Think for those FM powder, diff stages I supposed meaning diff nutrients or requirement as bbs grow bah... Hence for e.g NB bbs will drink Stage 1... and when they are e.g 2-3 mths le, will upgrade to Stage 2 FM and so on.... There is no as and when u wanna give FM...when u dun wanna bf le, can slowly intro FM to Marcus le lor, cos some bbs will reject FM as they prefer BM aft being on BM for quite long...
For my girl, when she's near to 1 mth, I intro her FM for her 1 night feed, but has since stopped long ago cos she prefer to latch! *faint*

Think dun need to store on FM... when u slowly wanna wean Marcus off breastmilk, u can start to buy a small tin of FM for him...;)

Jellypurin,
i want to continue to TBF for as long as i can. But i'm just wondering is there a time that we have to stop and then give FM?

<font color="#C25283"> XY
re:FM
agree wat nicky said. for mamil or mamax gold. stage 1 is for infant to 1yr. stage 2 is for 6mths onwards. stage 3 is for 1yr-3yr. den stage 4 is for 4yr to... forgot liao.. hehe.. coz Gracia nt yet reach that stage.
but if u wan ur BB to grow fat fat let them drink infant formula. haha.. =P</font>

For me, actually my plan is to bottle-feed her with FM once at night b4 she sleep one... so tat when I wanna slowly wean her off breastfeeding, she will not reject FM..but my plan has since failed cos she prefer to latch instead...and everytime we tried to bottle-feed her, she will make a fuss or start a war with us one!! diaoz..
Hence now tat tin of FM still untouched lor, probably have to throw away soon...cos opened for quite some time le... ;p

Rebecca,
MIL lok after lor.

Jellypurin,
Today abbot attempted to delivery something to me. But i was in lala land. So missed the delivery. Keke... will call them to redeliver.

XY
if no reason to start, dun start... haha... like me no choice so i hv 2. like i say, u r so successful in tbf, shd continue until marcus boy hits 1yo! but i suppose if u want to hv some flexibility, u can start w the FM right after marcus hits 6mths and mix FM w BM.

i got quite a lot of sample liao... am thinking if i shd call friso and mead johnson as well... kekeke

Oh yes...jellypurin..how to mix FM with BM huh>? I know someone did mentioned...Wanna try it out leh...else those EBM in the freezer wanna expire le..;p

nicky
there are two ways...depending which one makes more sense 2 u.. hehe...
1. use BM like water - i.e. if you want to make 150ml of FM + BM and say u hv only 60ml of BM, mix 90ml of water with enough FM to make 150ml (say 5 scoops of FM = 150ml) of milk u get 150ml of FM + BM
2. use BM as it is. i.e. if you wanna make 120ml of FM + BM, and say u hv 60ml of BM, top up 60ml of water and enough FM (say 2 scoops) to make 60ml of it, you have 120ml of fm+bm

i usually use method 1... cos i lazy :p

i wonder if most of our babies are beginning to teeth... my ger is super cranky and tired these days... she is not ill, thank God, but has been gnawing on her fingers and everything that she comes in contact w her mouth...

Mummies who went for the first PS gathering
Who's the mummy who came for a short while with her hubby and her boy who was wearing leg warmers?

Karen,
that was Lovebug. She dun allow her pic to be posted. remember??? i was busy posting to archive my post of her pic, which i subsequently removed.

I had the worst dinner..mums pls dun go to yum yum thai buffet at sunset way...waste $$, fish got no fish, just batter...very oily, spicy..n most , NOT FReSH..cannot make it.

brought bb to hwaxia at harbourfront, so crowded, think too many pple, bb cried after 15mins..
I let her try bumbo..
question for all mums with bumbo..
did ur bumbo come with tray, coz the one at mothercare no tray 69.90

Ruffles,
Thanks for the link on teething...my boy's drooling heavily...maybe he's teething...he might be biting me so often to ease his swollen gum...

XY,
Adapting to the life of a mother is indeed not easy...SMH is also my sanity...hah...

Rebecca,
I'm tempted to adopt your method just now but cannot bear to when I hear my boy crying in the background...

nickypower,
Agree that most hubbies will always depends on us mummies to sooth and coax our bubs while they don't even try or even if they try they give up very fast...

Jellypurin,
My hubby has ever spent whole day alone with my boy, taking care of him while I'm away at work but out of so many days my boy just decided to choose today to be fussy...just our luck!

I'm much much happier compared to my 1st post just now as my girlfriends surprised me with food right at my doorstep! Hubby also apologised as he felt bad for making a big fuss and losing his cool...my boy's asleep and I'm having 'me' time!

Milk Powder:
Dumex sent me a small tin of Stage 2 FM...don't know when to introduce it to him as he's still on TBM...

2nd Baby:
Will start trying for one sometime after June next year as most elders advise us to 'siam' the Year of Tiger...

Thank you dears for all your encouragement and suggestions on increasing SS. My supply is still rather low at about 150ml per pump but coz CH had been drinking less at longer intervals, it is still sufficient for him. Hope SS increases soon!

Brought CH to PD for his jabs today. He is 5 months 1 day old today. He weighs a whopping 9.79kg and measures 68cm in height.

PD asked the nurse to hold his legs properly before the jabs and asked her to be careful... coz with CH's size, he can kick her out of the window during the jab! wahahahahahaha~~ I have a cute PD hor...

Jellypurin, Xinying,
Same here too. Ethan grab everything he see into his mouth. Today he tasted the floor tiles, tv remote, fan remote, his brother toes *faint*, playmat, mamy poko diaper bag and my mobile phone.

Jellypurin, XY, freesiajen,
My boy too is also tasting everything...even the foam on his hand when bathing! Always tell him I got milk to feed him, he don't have to resort to tasting all those weird stuff!

Elch,
Ur girlfiends so sweet. See... motherhood not only changes our lives, but those ard us too. My friends also have to make accomodations when they wanna date me. Must go baby friendly places if i'm with Marcus, else, quick meetup. No more KTV or movie nights.

xinying
Oooh thanks!

Elch
My girl too. She loves to suck my hands which are wet with her bath water whenever I wash her.

XY,
I dun think you should stock up yet. Try out the milk powder first coz' some babies dun take similac very well. It gave them constipation. Try out one tin then stock. By the way, for similiac Stage 1 is till 6 mth. Stage 2 is 6mth to 1yr. Stage 2 1yr till 3yr.