(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
My gal is like that. Each time before she fall asleep, she would cry for sometimes and at times, we really dont know what she wants so we put her on the rocker swing, on the music for her and after a while, she would fall asleep liao.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Surf
How many times do you pump every night? For me, I pump at 1am and 4am. There was once when I overslept, missed the pumping session at 1am and 4am and woke up only at 5am. There was no engorgement but both breasts were super hard and need to take 30 mins to empty my breasts. And hor, the worst part was after that, my nipples were so sored.</font>

dimpletot
my baby boy is like that too, crying v intensely for a good 5 mins or so.. v pitiful.. sometimes i have to carry him out to cuddle him cos he is crying too hard. i wonder wats wrong with him, now i noe not only i face this prob..

Hi Juz Us,

I'm staying at Blk 300+ of Yishun Ring Road. Are you staying nearby?
So far my encounters wtih the doctor there had been fine. It seems that there are not maybe Pds around the north area, had a hard time looking for one initially.

oh mummies
btw, sth to share..

yday i went to PD for my baby's 5in1. she realised that my baby has blotchy patches on his face. she told me its ringworms due to baby playing with his saliva, thus she prescribed a medicine called PRISTINEX. i tried it yday, today all the severe and rough blotches on his face are gone..it's v good.. but if anyone of u are getting this medicine, rem to apply thinly on affected areas and gently rub til fully absorbed into their face cos baby might rub face with hands then placed hands into their mouth.. not safe..!

Wondering if any other the Oct babies "discovered" their feet ? Mikayla "discovered" her feet and are constantly playing with her feet and attempts to suck her big toe!! She is rolling about alot and loves thumping her legs on the bed. Dunno why she suddenly start this bad habit.

Right handed or Left Handed...
Is it only possible to tell if our baby is right or left handed only when they start eating on their own or learning to right? I see Mikayla always using her left hand to pull out her mitten on the right hand but does not do it vice versa. Suspect she is left handed. Or is this eager mummy imagining!! hhahaaa

busy bee
my baby boy does tat too! old folks used to say if babies do this, its means the mummy is gg to b pregnant soon.. i hope not for myself..

btw, my baby boy can hold his milk bottle last week to drink himself, i only allow him to hold independently when the milk left abt 60ml as initial 160ml is too heavy..

kiwifruit
ringworms are red rough patches on his face and body.. its look like rashes.. usually on cheek, near ears and at eye brows..

OMG....Sharmeen, NOOOOO THANKS abt being preggers anytime soon too.

Bottle holding, mikayla attempts to hold the bottle but too heavy can only do so if i use her bean pillow to prop up the bottle. I bought the B free bottle handle attachment, will let her start using prob at 6 mths (as labelled).

ya me too.. having a 7yr old and a 3mth old is scary enough..
my production has to stop! hahaha..

busybee
dun u tink the way they hold the bottles r sooo cute? i love babies this stage.. they r so curious and allways exploring.. hee

hi mummies, anything i missed?
anyway my evil plan failed!
hb too tired after his parade n kenna severe sore throat *haiz*
today leave bb with MIl so i can do spring cleaning alone cos hb away again..
so many things to do *screaming*
i also haven change small note for ang bao *smacks head*
tweety, my gal seems to have sweaty feet even w/o booties her feet seems wet wet.. but i guess she could have inherit from me cos i got sweaty palsm &amp; feet..

the busy bee, my gal also trying to hold her bottle but seems lazy always use 1 hand only..
as for legs..
i think she start to notice cos whenever she sits up she will stare @ her feet

rains
Oh nothing big deal ah. Just that even if we break our maternity leave, the latter 2 months will be 28 days each. I assumed it was 20 days, as according to the old scheme.

omg!
my baby just scream intensely for 10mins in his yaolan, luckily after that he went to slp.. sometimes i get v jittery when he cry too much, i will be v frustrated and feel like hitting him. i feel so guilty having such tots..

<font color="purple">wow.. the thread moves so fast. i didn't even get to read everything yet.

enya,
thanks very much. will try that next time it happens. now my engorgement ok. luckily my baby was able to suck it out last night. was crying already cause since sunday to monday night my breast what engorged. kept pumping and massaging but it didn't work. then at night i let baby latch then suddenly everything came out.</font>

hi mommies
i haven'e been posting much these days. my maid left and new one cmg this thurs
m mom is overloaded with hse wk and hence i had to lk after bb.

re: bb unwell
i dunno if my rebekah is sick. she is so unhapi these days... cry alot and drink v little

re: bb rejects "strangers" and "foreign places"
think my bb got seperation anxiety and she also knows me n my mom so well that she cries when her dad, my MIL and others when they carry her. how to over come this prob..

kiwifruit,
oh, im not staying at the EC.. but v close by.. am right next to ring rd.. at blk 39x.. i see that u posted that you stay at blk 300+.. looks like we might be really close to each other!!

mspiggy,
oh dear.. hope nat recovers soon!!

Jellypurin,
im not sure how to overcome separation anxiety either.. today, left Kieran with hub and went out for 2-3hrs... hub says Kieran was crying alot and seems to be looking for me... sigh, i really hope he's not sticky to me.. otherwise, will have a big big headache when its time to be back at work next mth!!

Kiwi, u have been gg to ooi clinic at yishun?? My friend also went there.. She sign injection package of 1.3k.. That's alot..

Sharmeen, I think my bb also got ringworm as u mention.. Rough patches at face and ear.. That time I thought eczema, not sure what is that too.. Some said rashes.. The medi u mention can be bought at pharmacy??

Joanne u got block dust too?? That happen to me few days after delivery.. I got v short nipple and can't pump out, and the pain is killing.. Visit lc fromtmc twice also no use, at the end I use hand express, now no milk at that side.. My breast 1 big 1 small due to this.. Haiz..

Jellypurin &amp; forest, my bb will recognize ppl too.. My mum went back after my confinement n he cried so loud the next morning and his head moving ard seems looking for ppl.. I heard taking care of bb alone will be worst..

Sharmeen.. I did hit my bb few times when he cried non stop while drinking milk especially night feeding.. So fed up.. After that will feel guilty.. I think I'm a bad mummy.. No patient..

Today I hit him again.. He took 2 hrs yet can't finish his milk.. He seems to be prefer bm but my supply v pathetic can only afford 2 feeding per day (240ml).. So worried..

Jellypurin, happy birthday!

as for the maternity leave. It depends on the company. some co. give straight 2 mths maternity leave... so last round when govt give 12 wks.. wat my co. did was.. to give 2 mths (as stated in staff manual) and extra 4 wks maternity leave. eg. 1 Dec to 31 Jan (2mths) then additional 4 wks. all PH are included. as for the new 16wks.. not too sure how they work now.. cos i have left the co. but i'm sure the 2mths is still valid.. as it's stated in their staff manual...

So.. best is to check w ur HR! cos every co. works differently.

tweety, i not sure sweaty palms bit i thinks he got sweaty feet..
a few time i carry her out from her cot after playtime with her mobile i noticve her feet cold n wet

Morning...

My boy surprised me today by being awake and entertaining himself in his cot instead of waking up and crying for milk...

morning mommies

i'm at my wits end. i think my ger is crying and fussing without reason. jus now, she cried after her feed. wanna b carried... i'm damn tired!

xinying
happy burfday!

R &amp; R/pump
not old leh..2 years..but i used less than 1 month.i kept it in the cupboard since then. somehow the bottle become oily so i threw it away including the valve and membrane.

joanne
yeah..the best way to remove blocked duct is by baby sucking but sometimes its too hard and huge and the baby juz refused.

jellypurin
my boy too is like a sloth..everytime must carry otherwise cry until he turns purple. sigh sigh

Thanks, Sharmeen, for sharing. I was wondering why there're mosquito bites on my baby's face. I dap a bit of soapy water on those red patches. After a while, they go off, so I thought they are really mosquito bites. haha ... now I know. Ringworms ... I thought it's some STDs for a long time. I remember watching a HK show and the prostitute was asked to sleep with a male customer with 'ringworms'. It's supposed to be a disease that recurs even with medication. The subtitler probably wasn't too qualified.

Re: Crying babies
Most babies are grouchy before sleeping. They fuss for some time before they sleep. What I did to my elder kid was to coax her to sleep in the same way every day to let her know that I know she wants to sleep.

For this baby, if I really don't know what to do with her wailing away, I would put her in the swing. The swing lulls her to sleep.

Re: Left-hand vs right-hand
I think it's still too early to determine if the baby is a left- or right-hander. When my elder kid is a toddler, we felt that she's a left hander becos she tend to hold pencils in her left hand. But I asked the teacher to help me train her to use right hand. The teacher obliged but said that she wouldn't want to force her in case it crippled her creativity.

Left-handers are quite poor things in this world. Most things are designed for right-handers. I got an ex-colleague who told me that her left-hander P1 kid suffered when she went to school. The teacher wouldn't allow mechanical pencils to be used in penmanship, but when the kid wrote with normal pencils, it smudged the page as the hand moved across the page. It frustrated the kid.

Mummes, i've got sore nipples! Applied the cream liao but doesnt help!
Now i'm so scared to turn on my PIS!! so pain even when using the lowest speed and abrasion when wearing bra! HOW??!!!

morning mummies....

Some research on Gym/Enrichment classes for our little bubs.

Little Gym... Little Bugs Class for babies from 4 months. Gym activities for enhancing baby's motor skills. Trial is $40 before gst. Trial fees will be offset from term fees when we sign up for full term of 10 classes. The next term begins in March.

Baby Jumper Gym, heard that they adopt the Glen Doman approach. So class is more wholistic, with learning with flash cards and gym activities. Plus I think its cheaper. Have yet to call up.

Anyone able to share on Gymboree... surprised that they don't seem to have a local website.

Crying babies.... miki also like to be put on the rocker with vibration mode to lull her to sleep. But I went tough these last few days try to let her cry it out without picking her up. Baby needs to learn to self soothe and fall asleep herself. But I relented a few times by carrying/patting her to sleep when she cried till her face is bright red and she started choking from crying.... But mostly i just put on the baby mozart and let the music lull her to sleep.

Rains, thanks for sharing about lefty and righty. I also read in an article that the dominant hand will really show when baby is about 3yrs. Since my hubs is a lefty, baby has 50% chance of being a lefty too!

Poor everafter, maybe u can try the cold cabbage theory? Not sure if it works tho.

Xinying.... HAPPPY BIRTHDAY!! Enjoy your first birthday with Marcus! I'm sure its gonna be extra special this year.

xinying,
Happy Birthday!!!

everafter,
I know how that feels like. I also used to approach my pump with trepidation when my nipples hurt. But later, I found it such a torture that I decided to stop pumping first but continue to apply the cream, until it's well. Bcos if you continue to pump with sore nipples, the nipples' skin might break and bacteria or germs might get introduced into your breasts, and you get mastitis. That'll spell another $100 gone.

Don't pump so many times or at too close intervals until they've recovered.

<font color="ff0000">Good Morning, mommies

I'm finally back to work, so sian.... miss Skylar so so much.

Xinying, Happy Birthday!! How are u celebrating it huh?

happy birthday xinying!

rains, i tried using bigger funnel but still pain..but heng one side pain..so mayb i'll continue to pump the other side and wait for the sore one to recover...but hor...dun pump very engorged leh..how? jus let it be?

<font color="aa00aa">Think I'm falling sick soon cos having sorethroat and headache now. Dont dare to take medicine cos I scared ss will be affected.</font>

Happy Birthday Cheerbear!

Mousebb. Do take care, drink lots of fluids, load up on Vit C and try to get more rest. The weather suddenly change and the sun is scorching hot so must keep hydrated.

Happy Birthday Cheerbear !!

mousebb
drink mo water, this moment we cant afford fall sick. somemore u got 1 more kids to look after

Seems like alot of mummies and babies falling sick. Better take care and load up on vitamins and drink lots of water. Go easy on the pineapple tarts!

Hi Mummies! Happy birthday to Cheerbear and Xinying!

I'm from Nov thread cos last time edd early nov, but my lttle baby Joan decided to come out in Oct. Hehe, can i join u all on tis thread? I'm Joyce on facebook, have added some of u in the last 2 days.

Heard there is a gathering at causeway point on fri? I'm staying with my mum at cck, can join the gathering?