(2008/10) Oct 2008

littlealmond/drugstore
your pdts are here. should cost around $3.35+2.24=$5.59 for registered post? do you want to opt for courier service, it should cost around $7 or 8 dollars.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

LittleAlmond
Not sure leh. I'm very confused with all those jabs. Her appt card only states the time and the jab nia.</font>

good morning mummies

hi mousebb
yah queit long time nvr log in. i m goin indo for abt 10days le, this sunday ll go bk to SG.
9th Jan she ll take 1st 5in1 at polyclinic. baby seline grow fast in this 10days, now she will suck her finger when wan drink milk or goin to sleep. haha so cute, i realy miss her if go bk to work. how wish i can be SAHM

mommies, i bought a capella. ahhaha.. anyone wants to meet up in Jan?

she got too big to sling (swear there's a permanent dent on my shoulder now) so i'm real happy strolling her along.

Good afternoon Oct mummies

Wow... this thread moves fast.... abit lost liao....haha...thanks to all who gave me advice on whether 100ml is too little for my girl. Will continue to feed her this amt till she cries for more then. As I feed EBM throughout the whole day, she wakes up twice at night on average since BM digest faster. No fixed timing for her feed, it's like feeding her on demand. Sometimes, she can sleep thru for 4 hours in the day, but sometimes she wants to feed every 2 hours.

My gal also taking her 6-in-1 jab after CNY at Polyclinic. BTW, any one taking jabs for rota and pnemmo? The private PD we visited earlier say must take all jabs on the same day leh, ie.. 6in1 + rota and pnemmo.... we abit worry baby cannot take it..any advice?

Jellypurin - I definitely need to rehearse before going back to work. Haha, esp after a long break.

Christina - my girl weighs 4kg at 4 weeks, not sure what her weight is now coz not due for her jabs to check yet. But like what some mummies here say, if BB can drinks, just feed lor. I was also paranoid coz my bb feeds every 2 hours for a few days 2 weeks ago till my EBM also not enuff. Now her feeding back to normal.

JJmom2008 - i hv been pumping since 9 weeks ago and it's a lot of hard work and I am still trying to establish my ss. My supply came late and BB already on bottle from the start. Latch will stimulate supply faster.

Jen - Wow, you bring bb to orchard to take pic... i hv been cooped up at home as I am very scared to take bb out. Cannot take it when she starts crying for milk or for no reason. And coz need to pump often, I ended up staying home most of the time for past 9 weeks, facing the wall and my pump. My hubby says the pump is now my best friend... that's quite sad actually

My bb also continue sucking after she finishes her milk, but we just pulled the bottle out. We tried increasing abit more for her but she ended up vomiting out after that when burping.

Karen/Pildough
me in too!

Surf
part of me really dun wanna go back to work! btw, just bring ur bb out for a short while! dun stay at home... u need to breath too!

surf, we got the hang liao..
feed bb n make sure they have enuff rest..
prepapre everything n at max 2 hrs out n head hm cos thats the max of my gal's attention span b4 she K.O which mean back hm clean her n off to bed cos super tired liao..
6.30 she had milk n slept on the way hm..
reach hm clean her up n she's sleeping thru to 8am this morning..
keep trying n bring help.. i don go out alone for long distance still scare *hehe*

Surf, i was like u for the past few weeks. On wkdays i'll be in my room most of the time(worse than u lor) and wkends then go out when hb is ard. I only bring bb go out thrice by myself and the feeling is so shiok! U should try to venture out abit

helo mommies happy weekend.

I brought baby out to Isetan private sales yesterday. drove there and the traffic into carpark was horrendous. i spent a long time waiting to drive into the cp. then went with my friends for lunch at dempsey. was out at 10.30am and only back home at 3pm plus. spent so much money.. but luckily 2/3 of it is not mine hahaa. helped hubby and my mum collect their clothes which we reserve on tue. hehehe. whew. only bought 3 tube dresses for myself and a top.but hor...i cannot resist buying clothes for Jaz even though i know she has enough.
i always manage to convince myself she needs just 1 more...just 1 more of that top...sigh...

<font color="aa00aa">surf</font>, u can try getting used to the stroller or the sling, and try bringing baby out alone. once u can do it once, it give u such a confidence boost that u can do it anytime oredi.

<font color="ff0000">sudden increase in milk demand</font>
babies at our age grows through growth spurts very often, sometimes at 4 weeks, sometimes at 6, 8 weeks, and its unpredictable. at such growth spurts, they suddenly has a increase in milk intake. and may feed longer on the breast, take more FM, or just demand to be fed at shorter intervals. its normal. so dun need to worry.
just feed what they need, it wun be overfeeding if baby wants it (but dun vomit). this guideline is for breastfed babies, not sure for FM babies. for me, i pump every morning to keep my supply up, so that I have extra in my boobs for such growth spurts.

<font color="0000ff">surf</font>, rotavirus vaccine is oral, not a jab. if you worried about taking 2 jabs (prevnar and 6-in-1) together with rota on the same day, try to consult ur PD is its ok? (or another PD for a 2nd opinion?) u can always space it out if ur PD is ok? i rem my PD advise spacing out some jabs, but for certain jabs he say its ok to take tog. i dun rem which jab is ok liaoz. but we give our kids 5-in-1 and not 6-in-1. if u give 6-in-1, better to ask ur PD. coz then it means quite a lot of medicine in ur baby for his/her livers to process?

<font color="0077aa">jellypurin</font>, i have not really start rehearsing for work
. although i have been pumping at about the same timing every morning as the time i will pump when i work. but i shld start "rehearsing" by feeding her a bottle a day, coz now i still total latch. scared she like my boy like that hard to transit once i start work...hope its not too late to start! wish my luck! :eek:

<font color="0000ff">JJmom</font>, to ur question, are u pumping exclusively and not latching baby? if so, u must empty ur breast at every pump in order to see a gradual increase. i think within 2-3 days u can see increase oredi, by ur boobs getting harder and fuller at pumping times.

we have a christmas party tmlw at my son's group of friends plc, and hubby is making tiramisu tonight! SLURP! i have been craving for it coz during preggie cannot eat (raw eggs). Now i am going to INDULGE!

purpleangle, saw ur enquiry @ the BP for the mary jane socks jus to let u know tat lifebaby now have 10% disc n i got 1 box of the jazzy toes Mary janes @ $40.30 which is slightly more expensive then the purchase with registered mail @ $39.75 so if u interested u might wanna pop down to lifebaby @ vivo to buy n u can c the sizes there too

Hi all, I would like to join in as well for the gathering. Will look out for more details to the meet up.

I am deciding on what to buy for stroller, today brought baby out to Bugis and my arms ache like nobody's business. I think my baby is getting too heavy for carrier as well. Dont want my shoulders to ache man...

Let's get in touch soon! Exciting!

chao

surf,
the doc recommended having the 6 in 1 (that time she was 6-7 weeks)at either 6 weeks or 8 weeks then rota and pneumo on the same day at 3 months/12 weeks. i think it might be abit too much on the same day to have all the jabs leh.. plus my doc advised that it would be better to have bb's swallowing reflexes more mature at 3 months than at 6 weeks (assuming that's your 6 in 1) for the rota.

p.s. my pump is my breast friend too. ehheheh.. ya but at some point, try and go downstairs for a walk then slowly go further and further.

Christina,
i bought my capella at $329 (rrp $389) during the Robinsons Xmas sale (queue time on xmas day was 45 minutes.. wah lau) but i didn't regret it. Initially aiming at getting an aprica but it was so narrow and although people said that it was sturdy, didn't feel that sturdy. The capella's bulkier than average but that also means the kid can wriggle both arms and raise them to her sides (more roomy), when we meet up, i'ld let u have a go.

Saw mommies like forest and almond (i think) using it and Dimpletot taught me how to do the reclining positions and you can push bb facing you or facing the world. wah, capella must hire me for spokesperson liao.

mint, jelly, karen, christina,
k let's go somewhere with more space, googling ..googling.. hehe

Hi pildough... I am up for the meeting but subjected to the date cos I have to go on overseas trips. Do let me know.

I was deciding on Combi, but no sales for their items. I bought their Coccoro and it is good so far. Let me read up on Capella and we discuss further when we meet up.

<font color="aa00aa">hi jen,

thanks for the info.. i will try to drop by there then... cos those mary jane socks are so lovely. u bought which size? 0-12mth or 12-24 mths? measured my gal's leg and it's already 9cm... was afraid the 0-12mth will b too small for her to tahan till 12 mths.. haha

was thinking of whether to get myself another carrying pouch or not. saw the pupsik pouch (not sure correct spelling or not) in mag n find it quite nice. </font>

my friends are outside having dinner. they were supposed to visit after dinner and well, they just finished and someone called to see if i wanted any visitors at my in-laws and added that this person got abit tipsy and he's tired. thought it was kinda late anyway so i said maybe tm lor.

actually, i felt.. mm kinda cheated, maybe disappointed but i know my they've have had a long day and dinner ended early and they would be tired. i was looking forward to their visit the whole day, wiped abby down abit (hot day anyway) and put her in the baby bonds singlet.

sad, ain't it? alright.. who's up for visitors? i promise i will not stand you up. i should get out more too.. sigh.

pildough
me stood up on my fren many times bcos Rebby is really fussy at the wrg time when i am abt to go visit my fren now my ex-classmate wants to visit me instead - so paiseh!

re: vaccines
my rebby took 6 in 1 and rota oral at 9wks

re: studio loft CNY walk in
Price: $25
Terms: same as X'mas walk in
Dates:
6th Jan Tues 10am to 4pm
12th Jan Mon 10am to 4pm
16th Jan Fri 10am to 4pm

anyone thinking of going?

Hi all mommies,

Not convenient for me as I am living with my mother-in-law and she is a vegetarian. Whose door is open?

Hi mousebb, agreed with you that the jabs thingy is very confusing.

Hi pildough, I'm using combi stroller leh. Did not check out the rest of the brands.

Too bad I'm going back to work on 2 Jan, cun join any of the gathering liao. Thinking of taking one week leave before CNY to do spring cleaning and some shopping. Just now brought Ethan to my IL for 'trial session' of staying overnight with them. Miss him so much already. Feel so funny without him though I have some me time now.

hi hi mommies,

Haven't been online for a few days. Had to go to the archive to catch up with the posts.

Just to share my thoughts:

On breastfeeding vs weight
I also feel that breastfeeding doesn't help to lose weight. In fact, in order to increase my milk supply, I eat regularly and eat between mealtimes and drink hot milo so often that I've gained so much weight. I'm tipping the scale at 53kg - the weight I was weighing in at my peak of my pregnancy. I'm fat everywhere. My face - double chin, my arms, my thighs, my tummy. Yucks!

Now I know how fatties feel. They're an unhappy lot, except when it comes to eating. And although I know I am fat and should cut down on my intake, I still want to eat becos it's such an enjoyment. It's so depressing being fat.

On pump being the best friend
Me too! And if I ever get out of the house, I have to rush home to pump. My elder kid feel so sian everytime we have to go home becos of my best friend. But I tell myself this won't last forever. Next time I want to rush home to pump also don't have already.

EBM in the fridge
I read from Medela's manual that EBM should be kept in the fridge for 24h max leh. Why you all say can keep for 48h?

JJmom,
When I restarted pumping, my initial ss was 5 - 10ml at each pump. Then it increased to 20ml per pump after a few days and this pattern lasted for abt 1 week. Then it increased again to 30ml after another half a week. Two weeks after restarting on my pump, it increases to 40ml at every pump. It's a very pathetic amount compared to last time, but at least it's increasing la.

Jellypurin,
I'm keen on the cny walk in but I think I'll choose the later dates, either 12 or 16 Jan. See if can shed abit of fats or not. I'll probably not join in the pic, but I don't want to feel like a fat auntie going out.

Jellypurin
Hmm, thinking of going for the Studio Loft photo-taking again. Sigh, but the place very hard to park.

How do you know you have blocked ducts?

Pildough
I'm fine with 2nd week of Jan. Better not be going out too often. Hubby has been complaining that I shouldn't be bringing baby out so much. So a week of rest is good.

Rocker
Wow, this is the best investment for me so far. Finally I got one, and when well-fed, baby is able to see-see and then fall asleep on her own. And stay asleep for an average of an hour. Good enough for me to have some me-time.

rains
although i'm not really breatfeeding as i am expressing exclusively, BF did help me lose wt, but i think my excess hv 2 b shed off by exercise and wise dieting.

studio loft
yeah, me also aiming for the later dates as well.

karen
the rocker/swing was also my best investment. my ger slps thru if she is plced on the swing.

Took Marcus for his 5in1 + rota and pnemmo on sat. Heng no fever.

He's 7.2kg now!!

Pildough, i welcome visitors. Keke... and meeting up, i back to work liao. So onlt left weekends.

STUDIO LOFT CNY
i wanna go too. Hmm... how can i take leave leh??

Jellypurin,
I wake Marcus to latch on before i go to work.
I'll pump twice on office and these will be for his next day feeds. So far ok. Then i come back, latch him on again.

My Frozen EBM still in the freezer. No use for them yet.

Jellypurin
Yah, my mistake. I realised it's called the swing. And just now baby sleeps for 3 hours almost! Wah, shiok! But I realise she tends to tilt her head to one side. Doesn't look to be very good for her neck. Think I will buy those support pillows for her.

Hi all what swings are you guys referring to? I was going to buy a swing this morning.. The fisher price one. Any recommendations?

My gal is coming to 3 months in Jan 8. She now drool alot and love to tuck out her tongue. Sometimes almost whole tongue is tuck out. Any of ur BB enjoy doing it? Is it normal? She will wink also. Dunno where she learn it from.

She also seems to want to flip from her back to front. But she only can turn her lower body over. Her head seems too heavy for her to turn over. Should I assist her or just let her learn on her own?

Slings
Tell me I being rational. I know some of you mums own several. I only own the bjorn but my girl seems to love it. I just saw a spree for a cute sling and thinking of getting it but no point, right since I can use the sling and bjorn till my girl is about a year old. My friend's son is 1.5 years old and he is already 12 of so I doubt I can use these baby carriers for a couple of years. So I should not be wasting my money, hor?

Ypg
Sounds lots of fun. My girl does not really wink but she will close one eye when she knows I an going near her face. Think it's developmental. Somehow they will stick out their tongues. Exploring their body I guess. I actually stuck out my tongue for her to imitate, from a website i read, but my mum advised against it. Still, I think they will outgrow it.

I can't wait for my turn when all these occur to my daughter.

Brought Regina out for her first swimming session today. So funny. I think I had more fun watching her than her having fun in the water. kekeke!

Now I'm so tempted to buy the portable pool.

Enya,
Did you manage to get a cheaper one? I asked the shop and it costs $148.

jellypurin,
Me want to go for the CNY shoot. So excited now. Have already gotten her CNY clothes so she can wear for her shoot. heehee!

pildough,
Aiyah, I had to forgo a christmas party because Regina was cranky and could only hear about how much fun they had, etc. sobz!

2nd week of Jan is ok with me too. Where shall we go?

xinying,
take mc lah...

How much you bought the portable pool for?

hi mint

no, i didn't get the pool in the end. Xinying said it uses alot of water.

in the end, i didn't buy. really dun like the idea of wasting water. anyway, thought about it, how many times can use. in the end, it will be perhaps only once 1 week or once every 2 weeks.