(2008/10) Oct 2008

mothercare is having 15% at selected stores. i threw the flyer away.. Enya, you have it? I remember it is at Tampines Mall, Compasspoint and 2 other neighbourhood malls. But not sure if only for members - cannot find any info on their website.

xinying

v much like to join but dun think i can make it, as i still hv my 2yr old gal. I am not able to handle both of them myself.
Wil try to join when there is another gathering.

pildough, i have the avent one. but i must say it squeeks and now that i am used to medela PIS, I have never managed to get the same amt out of the Avent. Stressed when i tried to use it, pump and pump and nothing comes out and my breast still engorged! you can have mine if you want, but it's 3yrs old (bought it when i had my first bb).

me me, i stay in the east. seems like more SKers/ PGers here..

Karen_SG,
my first child had umbilicial hernia. We found out a short while after she was born. We went to a specialist recommended by my then PD, Dr Terence Tan. The specialist advised us to monitor the hernia to see if it gets bigger or she is uncomfortable especially when she is crying very hard. i remembered we were quite worried since she had colic during her second mth and can cry very very hard for hours (max 5-6 hrs), was so worried abt the hernia. We went for checkups every 6 mths, as the doc said there is a chance that the hernia will close up later on when she is bigger.

When she was 18mths, we decided to go for day surgery to close up her hernia. The specialist said we can do the operation later when she is bigger, but the chances are it will be much more traumatic for a toddler/ young child compared to an infant. And he said it was unlikely the hernia will close up on its own when it has not done so by 18mths.

essanna,
i had a friend in poly with one (we were about 17 back then) it was like an open wound.. this bright red blob in place of a navel, i've seen it and it's not pretty... he had to carry talcum powder around because it itches and starts to sting when he perspires and it feels abrasive when it rubs against his clothes. i think the specialist is right, should get it surgically closed up.

p.s. don't know if my friend did anything about it because back then when he was a baby, no such options for him plus family couldn't spare the finances. i remembered him telling me it was more inconvenient and more painful than his circumcision recovery.. hehehehe.. ya do consider the surgery.

thanks essanna, jolly and lili,
but me thinks i'ld do much research first. hehehe... no point being greedy and take from you then find it doesn't work that well. let me get back to you by the end of the day?

for me, it's more of a backup pump to clear my boobs in school, don't mind if it's not as efficient as my medela.

whitepaper,
i take my word back about not feeling her weight. 5-10 minutes was fine then when the euphoria faded off, i realised my arm was aching from having to support her head then enya texted me to tell me her shoulder aching. ehahhaeheahhheahe

die liao. time to shop for stroller

oni manage to find time to login coz baby at mum's place. been down with flu, so mum is worried i passed my germs to him :p better be safe than sorrie

enya, mousebb, busybee, pildough, dreamy
thanks for all ur feedback!
i do not wish to spend too much on an electric pump coz my ss is low and i dunno how long will my ss be wiped out. hence, oni the medela mini electric seems affordable to me to try out
i saw at mothercare, think it costs less than 200

As for the noise, i reallie hope when i hide inside my office nuring room to pump, my colleagues wont hear it outside! haha

dreamy,
So happie to hear that mothercare have 15% discount! I have some vouchers to clear, so its gd news! But does compass point have mothercare?

enya, can u kindly sms me ur details if u dun mind?
my hp number is 97615651. sorrie to trouble u

3 tablespoons of horlicks and 3 teaspoons of horlicks makes a diff. Last night my hubby made me cup but I forgot to tell him to use tablespoon so he used teaspoon and this morning my ss only 190ml. Usually will get more than 200ml.

pildough,
The avent manual pump is good. I'm using it.

jollyhappy,
I carry baby till she really KO then put her down in the cot. While putting down. I put my hand on her chest so she won't suddenly get startled and then put the beansprout pillow on her. Sometimes I put her on her tummy and she'll sleep.

mint,
i am using the avent manual pump now, its considered a good pump for me too
i like it a lot, just that my hands ache when i pump...so hoping to get a electric one to help
I saw avent electric pump, beyond my budget leh

beary,
I add the anmum 1 scoop.
jiayou!

Ya, my hands ache too. But I use it to pump one side cos my baby small drinker. Sometimes she drink from one side and it's enough for her so I have to pump out the other side.

pildough

when baby is ok, you don't have to support her head le lor!!! stroller also not 100% ok one... coz CH doesn't like the stroller, he likes the sling and Bjorn... coz nearer to me mah... he super-glue...

everafter,
if u r going to xinying place then we can share cab if u wan. if tmr confirm going out then i will carry my bb as i dun hv sling and i dun wan to take the stroller... too heavy liao coz still need to bring his milk along. btw i jus need to take 1 station to sk, i staying in buangkok

xinying and everafter,
already pm u my hp no.

PM is not working. Super pissed. What's wrong with SMH forum?

I'm ok with meeting at my place. Keke... But no entertainment hor. Just mattress and we can chat.

Can contact me at 97386648.

pildough, my gal's hernia was just behind the navel. Cannot be seen. You can feel a 50cent size hole when you press down on her stomach. But anyhow I got it surgically done, so no worries. & she cannot remember!

dimpletot,
hahaa, it will be mummy + bb meetup? Thinking if I can drive with bb alone... nvr try before. Leave my toddler at hm with my MIL - cannot handle 2 of them plus having tea at the same time!!

Hi Beary, I'm a silent reader of this thread, read that you are looking at medela single electric pump. I have one that is bought in Oct from Robinson and used only once. Still has the reciept. Reason for selling is cos I have 2 of them and am only using one. SMS me at 8382 4234 if you are keen

<font color="green">jollyhoppy,
how much is the photoshoot? thinking of going to one with my baby.

beary,
i'm using the medela single mini electric now. don't like it too much. the pump is not strong enough. so cannot get much milk out whenever i pump. i haven't tried my PIS yet. will let you know the difference once i get the transformer and try it next week. yeah. PIS here is very ex. i think almost $700 right? i got mine in US a lot cheaper. US$200+ only (excluding shipping). but got to buy transformer cause the voltage is different.

ruffles,
wow! how old is your bb? wonder when mine will do the same. hehe.. mine just started trying to turn by herself. the bad thing is when i am changing her diaper: change diaper + lots of poo + baby trying to turn + suddenly pee = pee all over her clothes. so frustrating.

ppp,
sure, we can meet up with lili sometime.
just now my hubby went to the GP near my place. they have the 6in1 but never do before. haha.. looks like i need to ask the GP at tiong bahru plaza or poly better.

busy bee,
i tried patting baby to sleep but no use le. if she really wants to eat, nothing we do can make her go to sleep. every time she eats it's like i haven't fed her in a week. hehe.. but so happy. last night she slept for 4hrs straight. so we finally got to sleep.

lili_fc,
i'm also back to work this jan. my mum will be coming over to look after baby. then i work till feb only. wonder if i can tahan being a SAHM. what's the name of the infant care? how much is it? just in case i cannot tahan staying at home all the time. hehe..
by the way, i asked dr. koh about the fever. he says like only a few percentage get fever. so i hope yours won't. i hope mine won't also. she'll be getting it next month. dr. koh say he got package 6in1 + the other jabs when baby turns 1 i think around 800+. including the pneumococcal and rotavirus jabs will be around 1500+. still thinking if i should take it.</font>

joanne - Victoria is 2mths4days old today
She was a borderline premmie at wk35. She also tries to turn to her left but sometimes get stuck and start bawling.

Milk time - think all bbs the same. If hungry and not fed, they all wail like no tmr. And when we feed them, it's like we have starved them for days ..heh.

xinying - Lok Yang is at the end of the world in Tuas, Pioneer rd area. You nd a vehicle to get there and back.

jollyhoppy / busy bee - ya how much is the photoshoot and what do you get? Am keen too!!!

enya - is the MOthercare 15% applicable for all items including BB Bjorns?

Pildough,

i agree with ur take on murphy's law, "when i pump, she cries, when i bathe, she cries, when i shit, she cries, when i eat, she cries but when i'm there next to her, she sleeps."

My darling also like that. Sigh...

Wah... so far away. Anyone going tmr? Do update if it's worth the travel. What time is the sale from? Dun wanna drive all the way there then buy nothing. Waste petrol.

Hi joanne,
yah, i had read gd comments on the PIS, but its reallie so ex!

Btw, is it true it cost so much lesser in states? Where can i get it? I have some frens flying to states, so can ask them help me buy!
I oreadi have the transformer at home to switch the voltage. Bought it last time when i travel

let me know after u try out okie?
cheers!

joanne,

but if we get from states, if there's anything wrong or we need to replace certain parts of the pump, will we be able to get it in spore?

<font color="aa00aa">beary
You can get those replacement parts here but they are super expensive. What I did was to order those parts thru overseas spree which is a lot cheaper.</font>

Jen

I should be going. My PILs just informed that they wanna visit me tomorrow... trying to postpone their visit!!! wanna go Xinying's place...

joanne
Dr koh didnt mention about package and price firstly when intro the 5in1 and 6in1. Only i ask him then say so.

karen,
My boy also has Umbilical Hernia, I just brought it to see PD this morning! PD asked me not to worry, said it will heal by itself when bb reach 9-month to 1-year old wor. Here is some info about umbilical hernia I found online, u may want to take a look.
http://www.drgreene.com/21_1215.html

Btw, today my first time to bring my bb out alone. glad that everything went well, phew and YEAH!

Sleep through the nite:
Think I really have to "ren ming" on this, my boy never sleep for more than 4hr, so I still need to wake up at least twice a night to feed him, sigh...sleep deprived!

Milk SS:
My SS also quite low, only abt 100ml every 3 hrly! Have tried horlick, it seems ineffective for me lay. Just called TMC parentcraft, nurse advise me to take 6 capsules of fenugreek a day for a week, and see if it works! She mentioned that is my body does not respond to fenugreek as well, then I may need some medication from gynae to boost the supply, anyone here tried the medicine b4? Anyway, dun want to stress too much on BF, will just do my best, scare to have post-natal depression later.

<font color="ff0000">Hello everyone,

Skylar is already two months!!! Still remember the time we were just chatting abt our diet, different way of labour, pre-natal classes etc...... how times fly hor? Btw took some pic of Skylar yesterday, thought to share it here.

1949523.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Hi All,

So who's going to the Mattel fair tmr?

I will be going early since it's near my place

Will update on the buys here!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Dimpletot, Pildough,

I stay in the East too, can i join for gals for Kopi?? Friday will be ideal for me cos my two older kids will be with their father.

Kopi at East... i also want. i wanna see pildough and her abby. Keke... She may add alcohol to her kopi. Beware.

Meeting at my place
So far, only Jen cfm.
Cheerbear, Everafter and Whitepaper how?