(2008/10) Oct 2008

mousebb

thanks..so ur gal taking 2 jabs plus the rotavirus (oral).this fri...its ok?..as in its not too much within a day?

<font color="aa00aa">Diane
Not to worry. One of them is the oral one so only 2 jabs on the bum, baby can take it. </font>

Cookie, no way to report them lah..cos our smart "garhment" says encourage mah!! my dept got 4 mothers giv birth b4 31st oct lor..Although govt pay the 4th mth, but on employers' ground, they still need to pay temp to cover our duties mah...so can siam then they siam lor..felt upset upon knowing but bohbian lor..but at least with the petition, we still get the 6k CDA acct and extra 1k bb bonus

<font color="#25587E"> Hi Mummies!!!
how are all of u today?

i'm gettin more and more BZ nowadays. coz i need to handle 3 monsters at home. really tiring!! hubby seldom help out. coz all my 2 kids dun wan him. haiz... and it makes me suffer lor.. i can only turn in to bed at 2 am plus everyday.. really tiring..

Enya,
I've received the item. Thanks.

nanny,
6 in 1 go when bb is 1.5 mths.

The nurse told me that take 6 in 1 most likely will have fever. I'm not ready for bb to get fever leh. So just gg for Hep B jab 2nd dose.

pinny
yah i was surprised when friends tell me my baby's neck is strong. coz first time mummy and thought all babies are like that! til my mum told me new borns are not suppose to have such strong necks... duhhh... baby can lift head for a long time since he's about 3 weeks old, not only momentarily... dunno why? i didn't eat anything special during preggie leh.
i tried letting him sleep on his tummy but he willinsist on lifting his head to look around instead of sleeping!!! will keep on trying...

lili
i did the metabolic screen too.

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Wenmin's neck also quite strong. When I placed her to sleep on her tummy, she can lift up her neck to turn to left and right which I was quite surprised too. When I put her on my shoulder to burp her, her neck also very firmed.</font>

Enya, yay... actually, i've gotten some milk bags from Diane too.

Mspiggy, Nat is smiling so happily.

Pildough, sounds a little enthu leh, u sure u have enuff supply to pump and store and still meet your darling's daily milk intake? I also need to start to stock up now before i return back to work. Sigh... Going back to work on 19 Dec!!! Taking 12 weeks first. The bal 4 weeks will be taken as and when.

Marcus neck was strong since he was born i think. Bigger babies really easier to handle i guess. I can anyhow pick him up, dun have to worry abt soft necks. Haha... I'm a rough mummy.

I suppose nowadays preggies eat alot of supplements like multivits etc. So maybe that's why babies nowadays got stronger necks and can flip earlier, as compared to our mum's era?

everafter
hmm very upset with your company.. I will be very pissed.

Dimpletots
I reached my 100ml mark today too! how encouraging..I change a pump. I switch to Avent manuel pump and have many let down...I hope this can continue

But I lost track of the time spend

lili,

my baby's 7 weeks old today. I'm not too sure how much he drinks in total for 1 day cos i latch on 5 times out of the 6 feeds. I only know for the last feed, my hubby will try to let him drink 140ml of formula. Actually don't have to be too concerned of how many feeds a day. It's more like how much in total bb takes in a day. My elder boy was a formula baby and he manages only 5 feeds/day when he's 5 weeks old. But each feed he drinks a lot. Now for my 2nd bb, we're less gan-cheong liao, so didn't bother trying to find out how much he drinks. As long as he's at least 6 wet diapers/day, putting on weight and can sleep relatively ok, then pass! haha...

Oh, i read from somewhere (and some mother also told me)that babies tend to be overfed if drink from bottle compared direct suckling. Any mummy know if there's any truth in this? I think my no. 2 is drinking lesser than no. 1 (when they're the same age), but no. 2 puts on weight faster... wondering why...

<font face="tahoma"> bbgoh,
i think both take after me.

mousebb,
yeah my son also very jealous of his mei mei... sigh.

sometimes he will sayang her alot, but at times he will want to hit her. now he tries to imitiate her in many ways... cries loud, and also keep asking for milk! *faint*</font>

cookie, same as u i hav many letdown in between it helps somehow..
but jus tat it takes longer to pump due to many letdowns..

whitepaper, my gal also big n her neck also quite strong + i find her very strong in general..
my gal is oredi kicking her way almost out of the rocker n she is oredi arching n lifting her back off the rocker when she stretch..
so worry she will kick herself off the roker which my CL says is possible after 1mth so ask me to not leave her in rocker after full mth..
anyone's bb also like tat?
i c her arch her back n lift her back n bum off the rocker i so scare she hurt her neck

thanks jelly, mint, christina and cookie.

going to get the avent manual pump and try..

and you're right, xinying. i'm being way too ambitious. ok lah.. i pump abit, the rest supplement lor, as long as she gets something to eat and my supply is minimally maintained. or if it stops altogether when i go back to work then can start selling my cartons of pigeon breastpads on the forum liao. heheheh

abby went for her 6 in 1 yesterday, kena fever last night and today. right now seemed to have subsided. doc didn't give fever meds, she said so young liver might not be able to break down the med, so i've beeb sponging her every hour with hot water. she wasn't screaming but grunting and whimpering and groaning. quite sad, we also put one of those kodomo forehead patches on her.

Diane,
abby's taking her rota and pneumoccacal together at 3 months

lili,
i took the metabolic screening test and it was such a waste of money. conversation as follows

pd nurse: oh mrs m, we'ld like to inform you of your bb's metabolic screening test results

me: ok

pd nurse: results are normal

me: ok.. so she has no allergies?

pd nurse: oh you're mistaken, mrs m. the test does not screen for allergies, it helps to check that her body required to process certain enzymes is able to process those enzymes.

me: ok.. that means?

pd nurse: that her body is functioning normally lor.

sigh. so much money to tell me that.

ya mommies, it's a rip off. i wouldn't mind sending her through an allergy test though.. i don't think she has respiratory responses to e.g. peanut (thank God)

p.s. mint, i'm having a large mug of horlicks. hur hur hur we'ld see what happens when i pump tonight. so far.. 130 ml and working hard. i'm like betting against my tits because i get so bored.. i actually betted with my husband ok if the right one yield at least 20 ml more, i win. if the left one yields more then i'ld get up the next time she cries.

no wonder my boobies are turning away from each other even more, they're becoming competitive.

have u mommies ever wondered why our rat babies are so strong?

they're probably craning their necks forward to get ahead of the horoscopic race.

mm... abby is 6 weeks, 5.3 kg, 57 centimetres.

is she a biggie like her mommy? what are the average stats like?

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
wow! Abby has BIG eyes!
Abby is 5.3kg now? Just weighed my wenmin. She is now 4.7kg (provided my weighing scale is accurate). Will know the answer on Fri when we bring her for her jabs.</font>

Pildough

has Abby's fever subsided? Ethan's due for his jab tomorrow...i am soo scared he will get fever...

Ah tomorrow I will know his new weight and length...will see if his stats are close to Abby's then..

Both my boobs produced drastically different results as well.. left can pump 30ml, right can pump 70ml although left side looks bigger than the right...see..size is not everything...hehee

whitepaper : yah, CH's neck is very strong. mine only turned from left to right the 1st 2 times..now, just eh eh eh, and doesn't wanna to lift his head..mmmm

pildough : for the metabolic test, was it recommended by the PD ? cos mine din mention abt this @ all..

babies making noises: mine is a noisy sleeper..tried to swaddle him but he hates it, loves to keep stretching &amp; kicking (even while sleeping)
i'm soo tempted to let him sleep on tummy @ night (cos he can sleep quietly &amp; for a much longer time)..but still worried..

mommies
wow, your babies are growing so well. i have 3 weeks to go before sending my ger to the pd for her 6in1 jab.

last i weigh her at 4 weeks, she's about 4.1kg. she's now 6 weeks old

i believe their health booklet got stats for reference to see if they are growing at the 10, 50 and 90 percentile.

jollyhoppy!!!

I'm looking for you! I received your PM but can't reply coz I'm having some problems accessing hotmail. My answer is YES, YOU SURE CAN!

For the metabolic test, understand that it's a compulsary test if your baby is born is a government hospital (e.g. KK, NUH). For private hospitals, it is an add-on test which we have to pay separately. It basically tests if your baby is able to metabolise food substances normally. Any abnormalities detected early can save the baby's life, coz this could be fatal. I did the test too, anyway spend so much on baby liao mah, what's another $117?

My baby also noisy sleeper, that's why either my hubby or myself (depends on who's doing the graveyard shift) will sleep with him in another room. So that one of us can sleep peacefully.

Hi all again...

I will be bringing my boy for the Hep B 2nd jab. Not sure how the 5 in 1 and 6 in 1 works, although i have heard of the explanation already. .

My memory has been so bad after the pregnancy. OMG

lili_fc and bbgoh

i m gg back office on 2nd wk of Jan. Wat makes u decide to send ur gal to infant care? Do u think they are too young? I also thinking of sending my boy to infant care but frens always tell me they are too young, so cant bear to send..
So i gotten a maid to look after him when i retn to wk, wif my mum supvervision. But now i find the maid not able to handle newborn.
So am considering if i shd place my boy in infant care...
Haiz... headache...
Btw, how much is ur infant care after the govt subsidy?

oh no tonight my bb is driving us crazy.
She just woudlnt fall into deep sleep. the moment we put her down in the cot, she will wake and fuss.
Very headache...

katie was good at the PD, hardly cried at the jab. She's 5.1kg and 56 cm at exactly 6 weeks. pD said weight is gd and not too fat as we thought

Pildough
my PD also mentioned the meta test when I was still in hospital. But we decided no need. PD also said its notnecessary, just that some parents prefer testing to put their minds completely at ease. Recall he said the chance of detecting sth wrong was like less than 1%.

Xinying
yr marcus definitely dai kor to all our bbs! Can protect all the rest. Got big head good, no need umbrella.

Mummies, im so angry with hb!! Jus now while he was changing diaper for bryan, he suddenly urinated and make a mess in his cot. So my hb got so fed-up that he smacked him! Bryan was already crying for milk at that time, the smack made him cried even LOUDER! i felt so heartache and scolded my hb, but he couldnt careless! Said if like that how to teach the bb that he do wrong thing! C'mon, he's so small, as if he will understd! IM REAL PISSED OFF manz!!!!!

my ger jsut fell aslp, after 2 hours of feeding and coaxing ... and now i am up expressing milk ... hiaz so tired ... wanna zzz but cant

everafter
aiyo...ur hubby too strict on him...bryan wouldnt understand any how... dun be angry leh, speak to him again when he is calmer...

babe99
i got my 2nd helper in 3 mths! my mom is super fussy about housework and conduct, so all the maids fail her "test"... current maid also can't handle bb well...
its a good thing i'm on 16 weeks leave and hopefully by then, either my mom or my helper is super comfy with taking care of my bb,iam considering infant care or work part time ...

everafter
dun be angry maybe your hb is very tired also.
Sometimes my hb pekchek with my gal, he also left her to cry it out, just say cry cry cry-cry all u want and walk away. then I have to pick her up.

Jellypurin
besides infant care you can also source for nanny? I always thought nanny could be better than infant care..

morn all
Anyone have problem to store their frozen EBM? It seems that my frozen compartment is full w EBM in milk bag. I just put all in zip lock bag.

How to thaw from milk bag? If any extra , can put to frozen compartment or fridge again? Advise thanks

Re: Advise needed...
Mummies who put bb on tummy to sleep..
Does your bb has more rashes after sleeping on tummy?
Kacia develop many RED rashes on her her cheek, esp red when she wake up from her nap on tummy...

Sorry I rememmber share with us Dr Ong EK the 4 points and pimples is normal? was it white paper ah?
I wonder if rashes + pimples.. normal or not.
This sat will be full month liao.. haizz sure lotsa pple will ask why like this..

cookie
nanny? maybe i should look at it as another option. hv to ask around leh ... just in case

lili
thawing EBM v easy. you can either put it is a hot water bath over the stove or use a bottle warmer. i find the first option easier

whitepaper
you took both fenugreek and horlicks or just one of them at different times of the day? how many times are you drinking horlicks? i drank once yesterday morning, like no effect leh ...