(2008/10) Oct 2008

jellypurin
it will take some time to go away. I remember my son also regurgitate rather bad last time and it take a few months before he totally stop regurgitate.

Good morning, ladies! How r all of ya?

It's been a while since i posted..have been following the threads, but everytime i want to post, BB Linus takes the cue to wake and scream for milk or something. sigh...

re: water retention
I suffered fm water retention in the first 10 days after delivery too. My CL made red bean soup cooked with black sugar as teatime dessert for me. To couple with sleeping with my legs propped up on pillows above pelvic level...somehow it worked.

re: Maternity Leave
here's the official PR from MCYS website : <http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/corp_speech_story.asp?szmod=corp&amp;szsubmod=speech&amp;qid=5722>
"The Bill is scheduled to come into effect on 31 October 2008. The Government will also reimburse its share to employers who voluntarily grant their employees the enhanced leave from 17 August 2008, even before the enhancements are made mandatory through legislation." Hope tis info helps.

btw, anyone got advice on how to care for a bb with congested nose? BB Linus has had a congested nose since last wed, brought him to the PD but was oni prescribed saline nasal spray, it helped a bit. However, his nose is still blocked leh, anyone got any methods to share? please advise.

my feet also swollen like pig trotters. it's been a little over 2 weeks now and it's still swollen. haven't told my gynae yet. i hope that it would go away soon.

my baby also always vomit. scared that something is wrong. but by SIL say it's normal for baby to vomit cause sometimes they overfeed.

<font color="aa00aa">re: water retention
I also suffered from it after I gave birth and still in the hospital. Din do anything to it and it just go away after a few days.</font>

cookie
thanks for sharing. okie, i shalljust observe and see how she goes

joanne
i dun dare to overfeed my ger, that is why she is hungry at every hr if i feed her EBM bcos she can take only 90ml max at a go and its v tedious but she dun vomit so much and so badly. the worse is when i feed her FM. she vomits more

jolwk
my PD also rec saline drops for the nose then use q-tip or twisted tissue paper to remove the muck.

everafter
i know this BP seller call babyhub online. medela bottles are 3 for $25 a pack. u might wanna google the website.

<font color="ff6000">everafter,

u buying the PIS medela bottles? is it cos the bottom looks a little opaque? mine does, prob cos of the frequent steralisation... dunno whether to replace...</font>

For mommies with vomitting/ regurgitation babies, especially vomitting when being burped.

I have something to share which I used on my boy and it worked. My CL taught me one...

Ok, first of all, when you are feeding, place your palm/hand/whatever at the belly - you should be able to feel milk going down his belly. Once you can't feel milk swooshing down, you gotta stop feeding and burp baby. After baby, continue feeding with palm on belly. You should feel milk gushing down again. Repeat until feed is finished.

This method works for me. My boy don't vomit. Apparently, if a burp is not removed before more milk is being swallowed, the milk stays at the oesophagus area, not being able to enter the tummy. So, you must burp before feeding more. If not, once your burp him, whatever milk that is "above" the burp will be vomitted out.

Hope the above is clear and can help you mommies

Morning mummies...
Diane just dropped by my place and pass me milk bags! Thanks babe...
I'm gonna be "expressing" myself alot more often. Keke...

Thanks Mouesbb and Jellypurin.

dimpletot, i dun hv enough btls liao, nos surviving on 4 medela storage btls and 2 nuk glass btls..read so much abt BPA nwadays so decided to play safe. My medela btls looks opaque in the 1st plc leh, i dun think its over sterlisation?

Jellypurin,
Thanks. I've been told by my SIL that no need to keep waking baby up every 3hrs to feed. They will wake up by themselves if they are hungry. I tried it yesterday. My baby doesn't vomit as much anymore.

Whitepaper,
I'll try that one. But still having a hard time burping my baby. Sometimes try for so long still no burp. How do you burp your baby? I tried the sitting position with hand on chin one and the hand on arm.. not so effective. I tried the put on shoulder one.. not so effective either. My SIL just thought me to put over lap. Will try next time I feed if all else fails.

jjmom
is me who suffer worse leg swallon after delivery.
almost same as u i suffer even worse after discharge from hospital &amp; i cant cross my leg. my mum was worry &amp; CL keep ask me to go &amp; check with doctor.
actually dun have to worry, i got go TMC do the scan spent abt $100plus is just normal water retention, then next few days its gone. i din take any med. just take time to recover loh

dimpledot
my bottles are exactly the same as what u described. i dun think its the case of over sterilising.

whitepaper
i will try that. my ger is super impatient. if i dun give her the bottle, she will scream, so i only purb her after her feed, not in between. so to say, it is better to burp every now and then just so that the air is cleared from their oesophagus

jellypurin

my boy also super impatient. Will scream when we burp him in between. But we don't care lor, continue to burp him even if he protests. Not vomitting is more important.

Ruffles

my boy also start to flip from lying on his back to right or left side. He exactly 7 wks today...kekeke

bty mummies
wat is tummy time as mentioned by some of u above?

Whitepaper, im trying to think how to adopt your method to prevent Bryan frm vomitting. But hor when i feed him, i rest him on my arm and the other hand hold the btl. How to use the other hand to put on his belly? My hand cannot reach leh as supporting his neck/head

<font color="aa00aa">Jellypurin
I dont wake my gal up for feeding. I only feed on demand. These 2 days she like a bit 'crazy', only drank 530-540ml! Her intake is like reducing each day! Also skipped her night feed for the last 3 nights! Hope this will maintain and I can do away with her night feed. Hehehe!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
Any way to help bb with colic? I suspect wenmin is having colic and these few nights she has been crying for hours! Besides rubbing some ru yi oil onto her tummy, I dont know what to do le. Feel so helpless when I see her kept screaming and crying non-stop. My hubby was so angry with her! </font>

everafter

I let him rest his head on my arm, but I can still extend my palm to touch his belly. To do this, Bryan may have to face slightly forward (from your perspective), instead of horizontally. Hope you get what I mean? Also, try to prop up his head/ incline his body more, so that garvity brings the milk down to his tummy.

Must be patient with this method. After a while, you'll get the hang of it.

Mousebb

Good for you lor! Maybe Wenmin wanna be slim
CH will only eat more, won't eat any lesser. I'm really trying to catch up with my milk supply manz!
and he still wakes up once at night for his night feed...

mousebb

I have a booklet on new born babies by my PD here. It says to try the following if your baby has colic:

1. cuddle and gently rock your baby when she cries
2. a care ride for 10-15mins
3. infacol drops (a.k.a. ridwind)
4. ru yi oil
5. some babies seem to be less colicky when they are taken off cow's milk formula. a change to soy formula for 2 weeks is worthwhile trying
6. food to avoid if breastfeeding, which causes gas: cabbage, beans, diary products, nuts

Whitepaper, i get what u mean! Mayb i got short arms! haha..dunno can reach or not, let me try out later. I used to use hand to support his neck so that he can b in more incline position. But very straining for the hand! Guess i'll develop muscular arms after 3mths!

Mousebb, envious.
Marcus coming week 8 liao. Still demanding for night feeds at least twice. Sob... when can i have a good night sleep??

everafter

I use my legs too. My arm will support his head, and this arm will rest on one of my thighs (which is raised/ bent at 90 degrees). Then his bum and legs will rest on my other thigh, which I will lower, so that his entire body is inclined.

Hope you get the picture? Like that your arms won't ache. Oh yah I sit on a stool to make the posture easier.

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Thanks for the info. Have tried method 1 and 4 le. In fact she was crying so badly last night and I suggested to my hubby to bring her on a car ride but he refused. He said worry it would become her habit! *angry!* Since I still have a number of packs ebm in the freezer and I dont want to keep for too long, wenxuan is now on almost total ebm! Partly bcos wenmin is drinking lesser now and also bcos whenever she cries for milk, my hubby would prepare fm for her cos he claimed that ebm must take time to warm up!

Whitepaper, xinying
I dont dare to be too happy now cos this maybe temporary and wenmin will be asking for her nightfeed again?

LAst time what I did to train wenxuan to sleep thru the night was to let him have fm on his last feed of the day before we put him to bed. I also increased his milk intake by another 10-30ml cos at that time he was really a milkaholic! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">xinying
Even if wenmin can sleep thru the night liao but I still need to wake up twice to pump milk so cannot have a good night sleep leh! Yesterday morning, I purposely skipped one of the pumping sessions at 5am cos I was really very very tired, and my supply was reduced by more than 100ml! Feel so guilty leh! </font>

same as whitepaper, i learn from CL to burp midway during feeding.. usually my gal wiull drink till left maybe abt 20-30mls then i try to burp or pat her for 5mins b4 i feed her again..
so far only encounter once she vomit out *which my hb admmitted tat he might have over rock my gal* other then tat she jus burp a bit out.
lets hope it continues this way.
i also use the ru yi oil on the tummy n back..

jolwk, dunno can use vicks or not.. maybe can rub some on bb's chest..

bathing:
today bathe my gal agin CL says i improve but hor i think i grab my gals arm too hard till a bit black like the blood cannot flow :p
think i go get teh saftey net to prevent that from happening else i keep feeling worried that i will drop her in water

mummies, i got this few tips from my massage lady *quite interesting when she told me*

1) try to keep ur legs close or crossed as much as possible for first 2mths *like tat vagina walls can regain the tightness*
2) wear bra don wear too loose *else will have sagging breast*
3) resume intercourse only after at least 1.5mths but best is 2mths cos tats abt the duration for the vagina walls to "settle down"
4) don drink cold water
5) if don keep binding on till following morning do not eat after removing.

jus in case any mummies here like me so "ai mei"
*lol~*

mousebb
Wah Wenxuan snatching Wenmin's EBM ar??? hahaha
For Ch, he's drinking 1200ml to 1350ml daily now. And he's on total EBM most of the days. Sometimes we give him 1 feed of FM. And also give him FM when he screams for milk like 1 hour after his feed... his way of snacking lah. And you won't know how mush he will snack... last time give him EBM for snack and he can't finish! so wasted! So for snack, I give FM so won't xin tong if throw away...

Whitepaper, i got from others that they feed their kids water during the night when their babies cry for milk. After some time, baby will not wake cos they know that there is no milk.

As for the burping, there will be signs that the baby has air in him. So look out for those signs. My baby around 3 weeks now.

<font color="aa00aa">Christina
My hubby's cousin who is staying in canada did that to her kids wor! For me, I dont have the heart to do so. If my bb cries for me at night, I would still give it to her instead of giving her water.</font>

christina/ mousebb
when can start feed baby with water instd of milk?
is it okie if they drink too much water during night?

I thought PDs do not recommend giving water to babies less than 6 months old? Research has shown that excess water can cause brain damage in babies. PD usually say that water in BM and FM is already sufficient for babies less than 6 months old.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh, whitepaper
Mrs wong also told us babies do not need water for the first 6 months! I dont five water to wenmin. For wenxuan's case, I only gave him water after I started him on fm as he was having constipation.</font>

jellypurin,
used the method your suggested initially when i could still see the debris in his nose. lately, it seems the congestion is much deeper so i dare not poke too deep.

jen,
thanks! noted. will try tat

cookie,
Ya drink the horlicks before sleep. In the morning got good results. Think the horlicks really works leh. This morning within 5 mins I managed to pump 100ml.

Yes, my gal also fuss from 8pm to 11pm sometimes drag till 12 plus. Faintz!

Enya,
Aiyah, now you tell me. I just bought a tube from Guardian. Heehee!

help. my baby hates the expensive sling pouch i bought..

today brought her down to the clinic for her 6 in 1, jab ok but sling not ok, seems like the maya pouch may be too hot for her or issit because first time, she'ld need some time to get used to it.. can't tuck her legs in either. she'ld grunt the whole house down in fury, so her legs dangle out and breathe like mangrove roots. trying to find a better position for her, she likes to be sprawled on my chest shoulder position best.

enya, HALP.

i'm going to have horlicks tonight, the milo not yielding enough results for me. now slowly night time before her formula feed, i can express max 130 ml from both sides, my aim is 200 ml from both sides. har har har.. then i'ld go buy bags.

ya mommies, u've not given me your opinions.

i'm planning a 9 day trip away in mid jan, supposedly she takes in about 100-120 ml per feed at 3 months plus, she feeds about 7-8 times a day which means i'ld need to put aside 5 bags (210 ml blue egg) of milk per day and let the rest be supplemented by formula. which means i'ld need to freeze 50 bags of milk by january.

hmmmmm

ehheheahaeheheahehaehaeahehae

sigh, i was hoping to buy a manual pump to bring with me to clear the milk and keep the production going.

u reckon can be done? or mission impossible. ok ok.. maybe more feeds to be supplemented by formula. even if i cut it by half. give her 4-5 feeds of ebm per day, i'ld still need to prepare 3 bags per day, which means 27-30 bags in the freezer by january.

ambitiously hoping to feed her until 6 months on ebm, i mean.. then why the hell did i buy the stupid dual electric pump and sit there like a stinkin cow for an hour for right? if i don't at least give her breastmilk for awhile longer.

sorry, feeling touchy. i'm tired, i can't sleep, my hair looks like a nest, i look like a bloody yellow face housewife, i'm in batik housecoats all the time, my ass has grown, i may not graduate, i may be jobless, i can't apply for a job now because i cannot exactly go for an interview, i'ld need to serve 2 months notice anyway. i'm tired of staying at home.. and i was hoping the sling will be my excuse out and she doesn't like the sling.

i know.. just need to air my grievances.

need. ice-cream. sigh..

There is no hard and fast rule. Cos FF is more saturated. When I give FF, i can see baby having dry lips. Baby will cue you. If they do not want to drink, then they will spit out the teat. So no worries. Are there any studies that show that water cause brain damage? If there is, please let me have the link.
Just have to be careful, as water is more smooth-flowing, then baby will tend to drink a lot faster and more with the same strength he uses to drink FF. If BF, then i believe no need water. Cos the foremilk actually quenches the thirst.

pildough,
Yes horlicks can help you hit 200ml. It helped me.. heehee!

Anyway, buy the manual pump so that you can pump and prevent engorgement.

Pump whatever you can before you go your holiday. Once your caregiver finishes the supply of ebm, she can start on formula for your bb.

pildough

I have ice cream in the fridge but not a drop to eat. Cos its rum and raisin and enough rum for a sailor. Not desperate enuff for kate to get sloshed thru the milk... So none fer me. Sigh.

I think giving her half ebm whilst u r away might work? Not so stressful to stockpile. As for pumping when away u must have fridge there. And flight can't be too long otherwise will spoil rite?
but regardless u must pump otherwise its bye bye supply.

My gal also dun like sling. Or I just suck at slinging. Have good mind to bring kid and sling to MIM to get them to teach me. Haiz all the things I thot were no brainers turn out not straightforward.

thanks for the feedback on pumping bottles.

On pumping ,
sth to share to encourage u-- dunno whether its the fenugreek or just as time passes, my supply is increasing! Now got average of 100ml each pump. When I miss a session, eg pump after 6 hours instead of 3 I can get abt 170. So don't give up! Ss can increase over time!

Christina

My friend ever got scolded by her PD for offering water to her boy, who's on FM. The PD says the water we use to make FM is already sufficient, and no other water intake is neccesary. But think you are right, babies will cue us with dry lips etc.

For the brain damage thingy, it was mentioned in the news last year, before my pregnancy. It is a research done by dunno who lar. But of coz, it's just results from a research lor, not totally proven, I guess.