(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">littlealmond
i gave my bb jin feng san when she get scared. last sunday having full mth party she really get scared night time her screaming is diff so i gave JFS its really help

burp >> upward huh? *faint* i pat downward, must chg le. thanks for sharing mummies

bbgoh,
u pump for 3-4 hours?! Think too long leh... Not so good for nipples. Think try for an hour max each time? Personally, I pump for 10min, rest 10 mins and repeat that cycle 3 times each time I pump. Find that after each rest got letdown effect.

Today after cl left I walked around in bra and shorts. So comfy hee hee.
Lili,
I gave my cl 100 each before and after.

On swaddling,
I loosely wrap w nappy cloth, even at night cos bb finds swaddleMe too warm will kick and kick to free herself.

<font color="aa00aa">Precious
Each bb's characters is different. Last time, my son preferred to be swaddled until very tight. For my gal, she doesnt like to be swaddled tight tight and would struggle if we swaddle her in that manner hence we swaddle her hands free, like wearing sarong! Hahaha!</font>

<font color="0077aa">dimpletot
haha i mean interval pump timing. i pump for 15min only in evry 4hr nw.. last time is 3 hrly, nw lazy le </font>

Hi mummies...

Its been a few days since i last logged in and there is alot of catching up to do.. but hope everyone is doin good...

Now its just me and Marissa as mum has gone home.. i wish i have more hands...as hubby doesnt help tat much....

To make things worse it that i will be moving to a new place end of this month and the packing can sometimes just never end....

Diane,
Abby is seeing a gp downstairs who sees lots of families and young children. It is downstairs lor, so easy for everyone. I can even bring the kid up to change her while waiting for her turn (the nurses will call my moble), doc is charging me $110 for the 6 in 1. But i was considering bedok polyclinic also, i heard it's by appt basis so waiting time not so long.

beary,
Enya is my ou xiang also but she is also macham like some 'alernative medicine' peddler.. the way everyone is asking her for fenugreek. Next we'ld have mommies meeting Enya outside in some dark ulu alley and going 'yo yummy mommy (Enya's street code name), i need a shot of fen.'

Xinying,
last night i was running fever so Abby was put on formula for three feeds but this morning only running nose but i still breastfed her. I don't mind it as much now.. i think first few days were hell because CL left suddenly. Now got routine lor, morning feed her, change her, burp, put to sleep, wash her clothes and nappies from yesterday, hang up, bring down, fold, put into box, get ready to bathe her, bathe, dry, powder and what not, dress, feed if required, burp, massage abit, play, put to sleep, go downstairs and buy lunch, try and squeeze in some work between feeding, burping and changing her. I think once a routine has been established, i feel better plus mil helps out at night so i get to sleep.

And now baby care has shed its novelty and it's now all serious efficient mommy business -how to retain a sense of self purpose and not lose touch with the outside world after you were lovingly splattered with infant shiat', i don't fret so much when she sobs and wails and cries, i just get down to business and clean/feed/burp her most importantly first then try and get some work done and let her grandparents entertain her. But one thing's for sure, her biggest gummy smiles are always saved for mommy.. hee he heee. So no, i dun regret it that CL is goe. kekeke. How is giant.. my mother always ask about the babies in this forum esp the twins and the giant and the handsome suntanning baby.

Essanna,
ya.. the malaysia side dun care but our singapore side scared got recession so more hardworking.

Enya~
my little girl also makings horsey sounds.. although she sounds more like a creaky old door these days.. p.s. will msg u on buying some milk bags.

Jenny,
my email to you is still in draft. hahaha.. can bring in herbs lah because she buy alot for her clients in SG (malaysia sells them cheaper i think) but i think it was just bad luck for her. No more confinement food for me because my in-laws are indian, yesterday my mil sat me down after i got sick and told me, 'my dear, i dunno how to cook for you beyond my curries and sambals, i can only take the chili out of the curries so we will get your husband to buy back for you.' but i just go downstairs and da pao lor, there's two nice kopitiams downstairs with salty soups and even saltier 'confinement' foods like sesame chk and pig trotter so this weekend, bringing back my soup pot from my mom's place to boil because if every meal go downstairs and buy $4 soup, my baby can wear ntuc plastic bags for diaper and whole family must eat grass liao.

Abby takes 40-80 ml of formula at night and can comfortably take in about 100 ml of ebm in one sitting. She's a month plus, how much fluids are your babies taking in?

Also starting yesterday she didn't poo in the day and only twice (large puddles) at night. Today also.. is that normal?

p.s. my one hand typing speed while infant hangs on tit has improved this week. it is now 40wpm.:D

wah pildough, u can type so much with one hand?? fantastic! =) u only feed baby formula at night is it? day time EBM?

bbgoh>> that time antenatal class the instructor say can pat upward or downward, is ok leh. just pat oso ok i think. whatever gets the air out

swaddle>> ya i oso swaddle baby to sleep. usually. sometimes forget then baby sleeping liao so never swaddle. i oso use the beansprout pillow but sometimes the girl will push the pillow away and ends on her face. i very scared she suffocate sometimes

haha...my giant is good. drinking and playing well.

my MIL went back to KL as her brother is very sick. Me now home alone with Marcus. just bath him myself for the 1st time. phew...all went well.

lili_fc, wah, that is alot for the CL. I only gave like $28 for her incoming angpow as not sure how much to give n my fren told me $20 enuff already!

i realise Isabel makes a lot of noise and she really grunts alot when she is poo-pooing. Last night at 4am after i fed her and pumped my EBM, she decide to poo poo. She grunted so much, nearly woke my normally dead-to-the-world hubby!

Pildough,
u still working? I can't imagine getting any work done based on current schedule. And my friends w kids say it'll get worse before it gets better. And i thot first month was the hardest.

Feel brain slowly wasting away. Haiz. How to be sahm like that? Think I was too idealistic...

Juz Us,

) ya formula at night, usually one feed before midnight on formula, two feeds in the wee hours of the morning on ebm (last night was an exception because i was sick), she's on the breast during the day. The bean sprout pillow must put under her arms as in both arms are on top if she puts her arms down otherwise she can sweep the pillow upwards.

xinying,
would really like to meet Giant one day. ahhaahah.. i think the kids pick up on our vibes, if we get stressed out, they cry if we do things calmly, they are usually easier to soothe but sometimes they cry anyway. ah well, we try our best eh>?

pildough,
Loved the way you described Enya meeting us in back alley for fen... Haha!

My gal also takes 100ml of ebm in one sitting.

Just to make you jealous, my module ended yesterday. Hahaha! Submitted a paper and did a group presentation. Yeah!

Mommies

How much will baby be drinking when he's in his 6th month? From what I see... if he drinks so much now... my BM supply probably can't cope when he's in his 6th month?

i will be finishing my confinement at 12am midnite tonite!!!!!!!!! realli counting down to it!! yipeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!
i miss my ice kachang n fish n chips!!!!!!!!!

pildough,
me now typing with one hand oso
the other hand holding on to my jumbo baby
my baby now feeding 105ml every 2.5 - 3 hrs on fm n bm mixed as i do not have enuf ss for him. was thinking of increasing to 120ml next week.

btw, wheres ur gp located? is it near seng kang or tampines? i wish to look for a gp whos well versed with young children as my pd waiting time is super long
if i intend to let baby take the 5in 1, does tat mean baby shld skip the hep b injection for the 1st mth appt?

almond,
then i better wait till i stop bfing b4 i purchase the cream

hahaa beary can see u are very excited abt it..

actually i wonder abt this confinement thingy.. my CL say only we can eat so heaty food now, all the tonics. for all other pple, they will prob get nose bleeds! after 30 days, we can eat other food. but some pple do confinement for 40 days. how will our body know?? the timing is just estimated one right?

My MIL say after 30 days no need to eat confinement food, but must still avoid cooling stuff till 40 days. Today is my 42nd day, and she went back to KL, so no law. Haha.... i just had ice-cream. Yummy...

hi mummies, thank god my gal was ok today.. no throwing up.. yst so worried n upset that i cried..
next wk hb going back to work wonder if i can cope myself with only CL..
i still think i not so prepared to b mummy hiow huh?

post natal depression:
i've cried thrice since i delivered.
once when in hospital cos wound was painful n hb needed to leave me alone in hospital.
2nd, when i discharge with bleeding nipples n at nite engorge but dunno wat i can do feel helpless &amp; lost so cried..
yst, cried again cos feel helpless looking at my gal throw up so much milk yet dunno wat to do.
my hb says i suffer from post natal depression n wants to tell my gynae cos he feels i need help.
but i feel tat i'm jus not ready for all these cos i'm a first time mummy n kan cheong by nature whereas MIL was a bbsitter n hb is use to seeing bb behave like that so he quite steady..

am i really having post natal depression?

Enya.. thanx for the fenugreek... hubby was most impressed with ur dd.. says she's super cute and outgoing.. hehe.. ur hubby is not chinese???

me had an engorgement scare today.. morning pump was alright.. subsequent pump dunno y the right breast was juz not producing milk... then got engorged... super painful!!! evening pump, after much massaging, still could not clear... finally found out y.. there was a layer of skin on nipple blocking the milk ducts!!!! peeled it off and finally managed to clear it... phew... anyone experienced that b4???

Jen.. take it ez.. may not be postnatal blues.. its juz a drastic drop in ur hormone level... when i first came home, i also sobbed and sobbed!!! but now ok liaoz.. dun worry ya... everything will be juz fine..
come here and let off some steam once in a while lah!

xinying.. u are super guai leh.. i havent 20 days i ate watermelon liaoz.. haha.. realli cant resist.. haha.. who ask them eat it in front of me.. haha

Jen... guess we 1st time mums are sometimes lost at what to expect and can get overwhelmed by the responsibility. Take it easy. It's ok to cry to let out your fustrations. Try not to take things too hard. We are not expected to know everything. But we can learn along the way.

wah... watermelon super liang leh...
i never eat watermelon since feb when i found out i was preggy. I miss it too. I miss pineapple also... drool...

princessemma, wow, that sounds painful - the peeling of skin from the nipple! I have never experienced that before. Would have thought the strength of the suction from the pump would have pulled it off.

yea, now they eat orange and watermelon in front me too.. grrr.. tahan tahan!! xinying, during pregnancy, i regularly eat watermelon - at least once a week! then, my mother said i can eat anything.. hahaa..

jen, pat*pat* if you feel u need help, dont be afraid to tell anyone. maybe if u tell the doc, he will say it is not post-natal depression, so u dont have to worry if it is! even if confirmed is post-natal depression, medicine will help, then u wont have to suffer alone?

it can be daunting being a first time mom. I cried too when i first experienced engorgement when i had to leave my first bb at the hospital. No bb to help me relieve my engorgement and i was new to using the manual pump, so couldnt get any milk out. the second time round, i am more prepared for the pain, but still scared. maybe you were feeling tired and stressed out, so need to relieve by crying. think during the first month, with the shock of a new baby (i mean it is pretty shocking to realise how much time they monopolise of you, one does get abit emotional) just try to look on the bright side - your hb certainly seems supportive! My hb left me in the hospital this second time round, averaging a total of 2 hrs each day the whole time i was in the hospital. I was so pissed! take things easy - some babies just tend to throw up milk, just see the number of posts here abt that!

Emma

Enya's DD super cute and pretty hor? I feel like kidnapping her...wahahahaa!

Jen

I think u are just suffering from "baby blues' like me. This happened because our hormones level nose dived after delivery when it was at its peak for the past 9 mths during pregnancy. I was weepy the 2nd day after I delivered too. Every whim and whimper from my son worried me and every small matter would seemed like end of the world for me. Now I am better although sometimes I would still feel teary.

I read that for post natal depression, it happen like maybe a few weeks or mths after delivery.

<font color="aa00aa">I'm super tired. Just now while I was feeding my gal, suddenly I realised wenxuan has soiled his romper with his poo poo, I quickly put wenmin back to her rocker and go clean up wenxuan. Wenmin was crying while I was attending to the boy. After that went back to feed wenmin again and then go wash wenxuan's clothes. Was feeling so giddy after that! </font>

essanna,
i m super excited definitely! i have not touched a single drop of cold drink since confinement! i think most prob will still try not to take too much cooling stuff for 40 days coz mum says i bfing...

jen,
dun be sad! u r not alone! its normal to feel low morale at times, i was oso like tat! even yest i was still crying coz suddenly feel very helpless when my baby cry non-stop. but i guess its part n parcel of motherhood, we tend to be very protective of our darlings, n we feel so much for them...n when we find we cant help them when they vommit milk, stools too hard, cannot puk puk, every little thing makes us worry... oso we r on a steep learning curve, so tends to be more stressed out. but we must tell ourselves to be more confident... n have lotsa patience. soon, i believe u will snap out of the negative feelings

cheer up okie? lets jia you tog!!!!!!!

mousebb,
take care! dun over tire urself, try to catch some rest...thou i noe circumstances sometimes dun permit us to rest. me too... very very shag, but everyday just grit my teeth n move on

nowadays when my hubbie dun work overtime, i am so happi, coz another pair of hands to help out
such a relief

hi mummies, i think my hb jus worried abt me also cos when i get weepy he gets mad n frustrated moreover my BP still on borderline which could b due to aniexty abt caring for my bb..
sighz.. hope i can b more confident like i use to b..
i work stress also nv BP up but the whole preg+ motherhood could b a bit too much for me i guess..

anyone noes how much does the nepia diapers cost? cant find the price listing on the website leh.

Jen,
take things slowly. dun be too hard on urself. Its not easy, but i guess as our hormones level go down, we cant helped but feel very down at times. But just make sure we snap out of it by learning to take things easy... always rem, there are oso other mummies facing the same probs, so its normal

BP high? i thought the doc will prescribe some med to help bring it down?

Tell ur hubbie tat u need his support, ask him not to get frustrated, explain to him that its a hormonal change and u cant help feeling down at times, ask him to give u more encouragement n be by ur side to cheer u up
I think that will help a great deal

Jen
think all women more or less has a little post natal blues after child birth.. cos of hormones level changes. Usually blues will go away.. if one dwell on it for too long it may become PND, I DO NOT think u have PND la..
Like many others.. you are normal.. I also cried few times liao over trival things hee.. and I'm 3rd time mum. It's normal to cry, in fact I think it's good to cry to let out your emotion then hold back all inside.

Tell your HB, besides telling u , u need help, tell him u need him to very supportive. and you wil feel better already. and Yes.. u need help.. from him!! hee.. cheer up ok!

thanks mummies!
actually sometimes i jus cry n after that i was ok..
jus emotional at that pt of time but hb is another paranoid one who thinks i'm have PND..

beary, during hospital stay after delivery i was ok but on day of discharge my BP up again its only borderline not HIGH think due to worry if bb can discharge.
then went back to my gynae to take BP again when i bring my gal for her 1 wk appt @ PD and still a bit high which gynae predicts could b aniexty due to me been first time mum..
he prescribe some medication for me n i hope my BP goes back to normal.

essanna.. ya.. then eat what also can.. now.. tsk tsk tsk....but after tmr, i'll be free!!!! i miss rojak!!! haha.. dunno y i had so much craving for rojak when i was preggie my mom said i should have juz called my bb rojak.. or prata.. my other craving.. haha

diane.. ya.. think my hubby was close to kidnapping her too!!!! haha

enya.. u better double or triple lock ur door.. haha...

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Finally, it's Friday!

Beary, PrincessEmma
Whenever my kid soiled his clothes, we would rinse and wash it first before we throw into the laundry basket for the helper to wash. Dont like to leave the dirty clothes in the basket until the next day.</font>

mummies..
just a word of caution... my MIL always warn me CANNOT eat Yam for 2 months even after confinement , otherwise when we get old, our V will be itchy.
Just FYI...

sorry to interupt:

i got the following for sale:

400gm Nan Pro 1 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan Pro 2 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan HA 1 (expiry 2009)
400gm Nan HA2 (expiry 2009)
400gm Enfalac (expiry 2009)
900gm Enfalac (expiry 2010)

please pm me for detail..

When should lochia clear? It's Day 17 for me and yet I'm still discharging lochia...

jengcc,
I've cried a few times since I got home from hospital as I just can't get along with my mum who's doing confinement for me...the food she cooks, the way she messes my kitchen and the way she takes care of baby...feel so helpless when hubby's away at work and I've to keep to confinement rules (which I've broke)....

Mommies

Tell you all something very touching... my CL left on Tuesday right? But I'm still eating her food now... coz before she left, she cooked/ prepared nicely in individual packs, my meals for the next 2 weeks!!! So now I just have to take out from freezer and warm up. Or for those prepared ones, I just have to pour everything into a pot and cook!!! I'm really full of gratitude to her. Even the vegetables are nicely washed and chopped. She even made alot of soups and froze them for me.

She says she's worried I won't have time to cook since I'm looking after baby alone at home... nobody helping at all except hubby when he's not working. She says I have to eat well to maintain my BM supply.

I miss my CL.

Mommies

My boy is really a mega drinker... yesterday he had 120ml BM and an hour later, he was crying for milk again! Gave him another 50ml BM and he's still crying for milk! Angry and gave him 60ml FM. After that he finally fell asleep.

Wah biang... seems like FM is more filling. My BM supply is still enough for him, but I'm considering giving him some FM so that he don't cry for milk every hour or so. It's irritating, and I really don't have time to do my things.

sorry for so many posts... just so many things to pour out.

Sometimes I feel a tinge of regret giving birth to my boy. Sort of lost all my freedom, and really sacrifice alot. This is really not the kind of life I want. And thinking that I have to take care of him/ be worried about him all my life, I really dread the thought.

I know I shouldn't feel this way but sometimes I just can't control myself but to hate him. Sighhh...

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies

this morning since 3am my girl had a lot of poo-poo, almost once in an hour. as i noe if TBF then baby's poo is watery, nw i got give twice FM everyday why her poo still watery &amp; weird is this morning her poo chg color not so yellowish, a bit green.. is it normal? she is fine, nothing show her uncomfortable.
hw we noe if she got LS or not?

mousebb,
dun overtired urself, why not ask the helper to clean b4 throw into basket?

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Dont think it in this way. I guess you must be too tired taking care of your bb after your CL left. Relax and keep cool.

Seeing your child grow day by day is a sense of satisfaction and achievement. You only have 4 month to full-time look after CH and I believe you will ser bu de to go back to work then. If you are really tired, ask your mum to help look after him and you and hubby can go spend sometimes on your own.

I always regret that me and hubby never planned to start a family earlier otherwise we can have more children and the age gap of our kids doesnt have to be so near le.</font>