(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi mspiggy,

Me also dilated liao.... but only 1cm at week 37. Like you, my 1st pregnancy also started dilating early, at week 36. Nothing happened until contractions started at week 39.

We just rest well la. My friend told me slight dilation is good news cos it means that we don't need to be induced...hee.

hi Mummies,

Ashton is discharge from the hospital today...
but still need to sunbathe.

wanted to put up Ashton's photo but can't shrink the photo.. all his photos had been upload in my face book.

Chris
congrats that your bb discharged liao...

Pinny
meaning dilated liao, can standby anytime lor?

Bag for hospital stay:
personal nightgowns (isn't TMC will provide their gown)?

for mummies staying at TMC, what will you be packing? seems like i have packed alot of things

Mspiggy,
rest well ya.. Hope yr bb can wait for daddy to come back...

lili,
I think the nighgown is for easy breastfedding???
I bring 2, is it enough??? btw, for discharge clothes, will it be the size we wear during pregnancy or before huh???

my birth story:

I was having some contraction on 7 Sep sunday nite so i went to see dr Adrain on Monday. He say i have dilated so ask me to be admitted into hospital at 11 pm. at abt 12.30. he broke my waterbag which is very painful and start the drip to induce me. At 1st the contraction was bearable but until 3.00am i ask for laughing. it did help for 2 hours. Finally at 5am, i can't stand the pain and ask for an injection at the butt. Finally the Dr Adrain came at 7.30am and check my dilation and told me i dilated only 5cm and my pelvis bone nv open so i have to go for c-section.

so at abt 8.30 Ashton was out. so dr Adrain say my bones too small. Poor Ashton bump his head against my bones. So if i will to have another one is confirm c-section.

the nitegrown is those type got button for breastfeed. 2 shld be enpugh for natural birth.
for discharge clothes bring rubberish pants and top.

i bought my own bb clothes to change on the day of discharge. they only provide mitten and vest and wrapping blanket.

tweety,
if i can wear Pre-pregnancy, i'll be very happy. Think i will bring either a dress (during early stage) or 2 pc type.

Chris.. 2pcs type will be difficult to wear?? need to lift up the leg leh... I'm thinking of bring my early pregnancy dress..

They provite top, mitten and wrap for bb right?? i heard no need to bring anything for bb leh.. but I bring desitin cream to standby...

u delivered at TMC?? how's the bill like huh???

Littlebluey,
i also have the same worry, esp. cos' every stranger i meet tells me my tum is low le... *faint*

mspiggy,
do rest well.. if ur #1 case also had early dilation.. then prob this round shd be similar? but better have bed rest so as to ensure all is ok ya... !!

Pinny,
u take care too!!

RibenaLi,
dont so gan chiong.. still got 2 more weeks to 40th week mah.. kekeke... :p

Chris,
great news that Baby Ashton has been discharged! so how will u sunbathe Ashton? do it yourself?

Gioanna,
my hubby is like urs.. told me i shd try for natural too first.. only if i cant tahan then take epidural lor... i hope he doesnt change his mind when we are at the labour ward!!!!!!! *faint*

<font color="ff6000">jjmom,

epidural depends on how many doses. some ppl need 1 dose then they dilate enough. some ppl run out of 1 dose and still haven't dilated sufficiently, so gotta add another dose. different hospitals charge different amounts per dose, some $300+, some $400+. I heard of someone who needed 3 doses and ended up paying $1200 just for epidural!!

on CL ang pow, basically this CL is recommended by my friend who gave her 100 before and 100 after lor... and friend is going to use this CL again this Dec and this is what she's giving, so that's what she told me. din know market rate so much less! but my friend LOVES this CL to bits lor, so perhaps she feels this CL deserves every cent.

Is your CL from agency? I heard some agencies are charging $1900-$2000 flat to begin with these days... my CL is charging $1800 for her fees...

mousebb and xinying,

I'm in the same boat as yr hubbies lor... lagi jialat right?

<font color="0000ff">Mummies,

How's lunch?

I juz took a quick lunch with DH, then he asked me to come back office earlier to rest and dun walk ard too much -_-"" anyway it's very hot outside!

Val,

Hv a gd rest!

Chris,

Great to know that Ashton is at home now

<font color="aa00aa">Chris
Glad to know that Ashton has been discharged.

Dimpletot
Must take extra care and dont overwork hor!</font>

Enya,
Thank for the info. I always thought the drip is a 100% thing. :p Your baby must really feel comfy in your tummy so don't want to come out yet.
Guess you must be really happy to see your little one after such a long wait.

Gioanna Burdon,
Yeah my SIL also told me his stitching work is very good. I have very low pain tolerance, I think I have the pain for close to 1 week. Wow, since you are 18 years so he must have know you very well. Another person I like in the clinic is Sister Yip. Too bad, she retire already. My appointment is this Saturday (20 Sep). I always go see him on Saturday coz' like that don't need to take leave.

MsPiggy,
You really must rest well. Hope your bb will wait for daddy to come back first. Good thing your mum is stay next block only.

Chris, glad tat Ashton is discharged.

I don't really understand y your gynae ask u to admit when u have only little dilation then break your waterbag himself &amp; induce u lei? How many week were u then?

Hi Chris,

Your gynae mentioned that Ashton bump his head against my bones. How he know? U mean can see from Ashton's head? So poor thing....

Chris, i dont quite understand either..Dr Adrian says u hv dilation, but how come eventually you're on induce drip? to make the dilation faster is it??

Dimpletot,

Y lei? what happen to u huh? not feeling well?

wah...epi can b ex hor?! 3 doses at $1200 =P but if really need also no choice loh.

My CL is not from any agent, she was recommended by my friend who juz did her confinement. Hopefully she is gd then I don't mind giving her a bigger hongbao at the end

But again, the mkt rate for hongbao is only abt $8 to $12.

Everafter, yah loh, I also find it strange leh. Chris only dilate 5cm after so long &amp; with drip so meaning when she is admitted, she din really dilate much mah right? &amp; she is not near her EDD yet lei?

<font color="ff0000">Chris</font> read abt ur birth story. actually i m oso very scare. though 2nd time mummy. i oso scare tat i will go thru labour pain then end up C sect.

tweety
i was thinking like you on the 2 pcs type of pyjamas, so in the end i bought a dress (button all way down)
will likely bring a rubberly pants &amp; top (like chris suggested)

Although, TMC provide bb top, mitten and wrap. I will still bring a "pass-down" clothings for my bb...

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies, these few days I feel that my tummy suddenly balloon up and feel myself super heavy wor. I dont know is it due to water retention or what, feet and hands are so swollen and fingers are so numb!

Mummies:
I'm back from the gynea. Today, Claudia is at her 38th week, weighing at 2.5Kg, i got no weight gain since last week. The VERDICT is out.... I'll be gg to induce birth. Coz the water level is getting lesser and doc says cannot wait anymore coz later dry up even worse.

I'll be gg to admit tmr nite 2359Hr, Claudia will be here on Friday.

hi lili,

Yes, dilated means can standby liao. I'm week 37, so considered full term. Now just wait for either contractions, show or waterbag burst. Can still go about doing my usual stuff, just that my big tummy is quite in the way. ha!

<font color="0000ff">lili,</font>
What's the reason behind bringing along a set of "pass down" clothes?

mousebb,
My water retention also starts liao. Really bad at the feet. The skin is so tight. The leg feel so heavy. Can feel the skin stretching when I go down the staircase.

<font color="aa00aa">Tweety, lili
Even after we have delivered, our tummy will not go off immediately. According to Mrs Wong, we will still look like 6-7 months pregnant. So for discharged from hospital, better bring some clothes which can fit you. I dont think we can so fast fit into those pre-pregnancy clothes unless you are talking about those loose fitting types.</font>

Hi RibenaLi,

wow! dates out, can prepare all the things and yourself for the day. Drink chicken of essence. Some ppl say give u more energy during pushing. Hmmm... wonder can drink RED BULL just b4 pushing or not... hahaha

For the rest of us, still waiting for contractions, show or waterbag burst. Sometime is scary, imagine water bag burst when u r in the office.... ugly....

<font color="aa00aa">blur
My feet are so heavy lor. Have difficult when wearing panties and shorts wor! Those shorts which I'm wearing at home suddenly become very tight leh! </font>

mousebb,
last trimester we will feel that way bah... tummy sure get bigger as bb is having the final growth spurts... dont scare urself if u r not having those other signs of labour ya!! must also rem to take time to rest... so, u can tong until 1 Oct!! Jia you!

RibenaLi,
Wow... so, confirmed u'll deliver by Friday le!! so anxious for u!! ya, if ur amniotic fluid is getting low, sure must induce... did ur gynae say induce by pill or by drip? do take care, and keep us posted after u deliver ya!! sms me also can... so excited for u now!!!!!!!

yo mummies

i am sooo busy with work...no time to catch up with u all!!..

wah Chris popped!! Congrats congrats...

Ribenali!!

ur turn now!!..wah seemed like those gals at the top of Littlebluey's list slowly popping one by one...Jiayou jiayou ok!!...why ur check in time so funny.. 2359? like the timing that my HB is supposed to book into camp...wahahaaa..

Blur

I am already sitting on a piece of towel in office. My colleagues all scared my water bag burst lor!

Thanks Mummies for all ur encouragements and wishes. Actually i'm rather skaptical abt inducing birth coz i dunno if i can stand the long hours lying there and wait... and wait... and wait... doc say its gg to last for abt 18 hrs and he is gg to use both method- insert the pill and on drip. Cross my finger that cervix will dilate if not, c section. I scare of knife... woo..

Diane:
Yah lor yah lor. Like book into army like tat. My hubby's face change when he heard doc say to admit tmr 2359Hr, to me, he seems unprepared and he actually needs to work, he had made appointments to meet his clients and he seems to be very lost abt the last min news. But he looks cute when he looks blur. hahahaha!!!

Forest:
I'll sms u ok, then u help me to post here ya.
really kan cheong abt it.

Mummies:
Give me strength!! to make my cervix open, to push and to b able to take care of my Claudia.

<font color="0000ff">The ammendments to the Children's Development Act went for first reading in Parliament yesterday. Here's a summary of the ammendments to the legislation that affect us:

1. Date for new legislation to come into effect is 31 Oct 2008. It is stated that the benefits are compulsory for those who delivered on or after 31 Oct &amp; those whose EDD is on or after 31 Oct but delivered early.
[i.e. all of us are safe even if we pop before 31 Oct]

2. Government will pay their share for employers who gave the benefits to those who delivered in the period 17 Aug - 30 Oct but EDD is not on or after 31 Oct &amp; those whose EDD is between 17 Aug-30 Oct.

3. Childcare leave will be included in the act after the ammendments. No longer just under employment act. But this year is pro-rate to total of 3 days. Note that the total no of childcare leave per eligible child cannot exceed 42 days (i.e. 7 x 6 days).
[i.e. employers cannot say that the employee is not covered under employment act &amp; dun give the childcare leave liao.]

<font color="0000ff">Ribena,

So excited for you leh! So u will be delivering on 19/9/08, it's an auspicious day wor! Jia You! We await your updates ya

Wishing u a smooth delivery ahead! ^_^