(2008/10) Oct 2008

I juz came back from my gynea. BB Claudia is weighing at 2.1 Kg at 36 Weeks ( she gained 200g) and i have no weight gain for the past 2 weeks. Can see her hair and the longest one measures at 1.1 cm. hahaha!!! Dr has given me an admission letter and gave me a short tutorial on breastfeeding.

He did a check on my nipple and commented that i have a short nipple and told me to get a nipple shield to make it longer or something to pull the nipple out. Does anyone of u know the exact name of this 2 and have any idea i can get it from?

Ribenali

I think mum's fairy sells the nipple puller. That time I went for a breastfeeding talk by Sister Kang, she also pass the puller around to show all the mummies.

RibenaLi,
BB Claudia is of a good weight!! U can even see her hair!? how nice!

btw, u can also call the ParentCraft centre at Mt A, and ask...

Diane,
I dont think mumsfairy sells that... it was brought by Sis Kang as part of her talk only...

Didnt post for a while, am also Oct mummy...but have been reading..

Something to share...

Re: NICU vs bb weight
I think as long as bb come out before 36wk most likely still need NICU even though over 2kg. My 1st born, came out 35wk 1 day, 2.6kg..still stay in NICU for 3 days, cos being early he do not have the ability to breath properly(he was panting, breath got sound), can't suck milk etc.

Re: rebonding
I did tat few days after confinement, and milk too sayang to throw away, so I still feed my 1st one..heheh..(Already very little, and need to throw, really can't bear loh). This round I will also do after confinement,cannot live like a siow char boh, and if have more milk I dun mind throw the day's feed...if too little, i think i'll keep..hehe.

Re:disposable panties
I usually buy 2 pack maternity disposable panties, these are cotton and bigger size, easier to wear and dun irritate our wounds. Then after that, continue to use cheaper brand of disposable panties(my mum got me $1.50 for 5 pack type) throughout confinement. It's not very good to let ppl wash our panties, especially if got blood stain, I felt. So altogether I hv 2 pack maternity, and 4 pack normal disposable panties.

Jess,
U can go to kkh, but ur gynae wont be able to deliver you. It will be done by any gynae/MO available.

Forest, Diane & Ruffles:
Thanks!! I've managed to google it and found the ones that u recommended. Will get it soon. But can i use it during the last trimester? Will it trigger contractions?

Oh ya, can see Claudia's hair moving. Its really interesting
And Dr. oso told me her head is already enaged meaning her head will continue to remain below.

Its very kind of the gynae to refer such pre-mature cases to KKH instead, knowing that the bill will come up to a bomb! My fren under Dr Ang gave birth 2mths b4 EDD also being referred to KKH. But unfortunately their bill really come up to HUGE bomb and after deduct medisave still not enough leh

<font color="aa00aa">Ribena
Great to hear that you bb is of good weight. When Dr mentioned your bb head has engaged le, means you are ready anytime to give birth liao. Get ready your hospital bag hor.

elch
Usually the gynae will recommend someone whom they know bah.
Like that time when I go for my amnio, Dr Adrian has recommended Dr Chang whom he know well to do the test for me.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Re: NICU vs bb weight
I guess this depends on individual bah. If the bb is more than 2kg and can breath properly, then dont need to go NICU le.

I have been sneezing the whole day! </font>

Weoseek,
wow.. u did rebonding so fast ah!! hahaha... very garang!! i think i'll probably do it in the 3rd week, if my planning goes well lah.. ahahaha.. :p

btw, where is a good place to buy the maternity disposable panties??

RibenaLi,
hmmm.. not too sure leh.. i rem it was mentioned, but i cant rem the answer?? arggghhh... my lousy memory again!!

Re : NICU vs bb weight

Din know that cross 2 kg liao then 35 weeks plus still need NICU... aiyo.. this one making me real nervous and skeptical whether i should go ahead and give birth or not when the twins are 35 wks 6 days old.. zzzzzz My gynae told me no nid NICU when they are above 2kg and especially 36 weeks.

RibenaLi,
Your bb head has engaged, wah...tat means you are gng to pop anytime liao
So exciting...

Everafter, Mousebb,
Tat's y my mom insisted tat me &amp; my sis to deliver at KKH loh.

today on mc and jus wake up from my nap.. shiok shiok hehe :p

disposable panty - i buy 8 pkt from KP at $4.50 each, the salegal was telling me is gd for maternity coz is free size can can stretch up to 42" (if i rem correctly)

rebond - i din do it coz my hair stylist dun encourage coz scare the chemical will go into the skin and "hurt" the bb.. but i already cut my hair short liao.. abit ugly (my hb like me to hv long hair) but is so shiok lor.. coz now wash hair use less shampoo and easier to dry hehe

oh ya.. update on my bb.. ytd went checkup and my boy is abit over-wt (34wk 2.5kg) liao.. dunno is it i hv been drinking too much milk.. but dr adrain never say anything leh :p

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Dont worry. Just listen to what your gynae said. It depends on individual.

Cheer Bear
Take care.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi Icylemon,</font>

You mentioned that your gynae Adrian Woodworth referred me to KKH instead of TMC. But when u r admitted to KKH, did they ask lots of questions like who is ur gynae? Heard from a colleague who give birth ages ago that she was having contractions and the nurses are still asking her lots of questions.

How u answer huh?

forest,
my fren more garang, did rebonding 1-2 day before fullmth party, so that she could look mei mei during the party..
U can get the maternity disposable undies at BHG/JL/metro .. department where they sell undies/bras, its displaying there. Slightly more ex ~$4-$5+, so grab them during sales time.

Purebliss,
Urs is very close to 36 wk, shouldn't be prob, especially gynae has give assurance.

I have a fren who gave birth 36wk 1 day, bb weight 2kg, dun need NICU also..

Cheer bear, dun think your bb is overweight lah..mine at wk 32 2.4kg and he said my boy is slightly bigger..so yours is fine lah

Cheer Bear,
I read somewhere that the Avent BPA-free bottles will be available in Oct...not sure if it's reliable though...

You were at Dr.Adrian's clinic yesterday? Then we might have bump into each other...hee!

<font color="ff0000">elcwong &amp; jess</font> my KKH gynae is Dr Wee Horng Yen. u can go directly to KKH but as a private patient like me lor. then hor... is better to have ur gynae referred u to a KKH gynae. coz most likely they know each other well.

like my KKH gynae is a friend of Dr Adrian Woody oso Dr Woody used to work in KKH before.

<font color="ff0000">Blur P</font> no leh... they didnt ask me. Y in labour the nurses still ask ur friend so many things.

Hi Mummies...

I have a problem... I was given 2 baby cot w mattress of the same size. However, I am unable to find beddings that fit the mattress.

I went to Kiddy Palace, Takashimaya, Metro, Robinsons etc... the bedsheet they sell are of bigger size.

Anyone know where to get bedsheets for baby mattress that measures as follows:

59cm X 120cm (abt 23.2inches X 47.2inches)

Hi Ribenali,
I am with Dr ong too. Used to be more active in the thread, but now dont really post here but i do read up quite often.
U mention that u just had your check-up and Dr check your nipple. Hmm haha they will actually do that ah? Feel a bit paisek leh. I want to be mentally prepared, in case suddenly he ask me to take off i got a shock. I am in my 32nd week now. So he will check during the 36th week?

jjmom,mousebb:
I asked the Dr. if my bb's head is enaged, does tat means anytime will pop le? his ans is no. His meaning of enaged is the head is already being lock and wont change to breech le. He is oso very curious how come all the mummies will have this idea of enaged = gg to pop anytime. Then i told me someone told me that, hear say hear say only.

everafter,
i think shld be fine too since dr adrian never say anything.. but hor i think my boy realli like milk leh.. i used to drink 3 times per wk and now i am drinking almost every nite if not my boy will kick me and once i drink liao.. he will be more quiet

elchwong,
the avent bpa bottles available in spore in oct? hmmm then maybe can wait liao..

ya i was there ard 6pm wearing brown dress and my hb was with me too. u saw me?

Ms pi:
dun be paiseh lah. He really nice and gentle. Me and my hubby likes him very much. I've been seeing him for 3 yrs and he is good. He did pap smear for me etc. He everyday see the same ting. Tink he got no feeling le. I was one who requested for him to check my nipples, for the sake of my bb and breastfeeding.

<font color="ff0000">Limkoh</font> u can try aussino. actually if is too big still can put on mah. at the side there put safety pin lah.

Hi Rachel's Mummy,

Thanks lots...ok I'll check out Aussino.

I bought a set of Pooh Classic, it's too big.. I tried to put some clips n all at the back.. still it's very loose... with too much cloth on the surface...so I thought if can get really fitting ones would be good...

Cheer Bear,
Me cannot confirm leh...better don't rely on the news I provide and miss any good offer that comes along...haha...

I was there at 6+pm...only get to see Dr.Adrian at around 6.50pm...not sure if I see you...too many preggies...hah...I was wearing a black top n pants though...

RibenaLi,
ya lor.. i rem it was mentioned during our workshop too leh.. :p but just cant rem what the answer is.... :p

Purebliss,
if ur gynae say no need.. shd trust ur gynae lor... dont gan chiong also.... relaxxxxxx....

Cheer Bear,
must be super shiok after ur nap... ur bb shd be alrite bah... doesnt seem very overweight wor...

Weoseek,
ok ok.. thanks, i will check it out at those dept stores then!!!

mummies b4 i 4get, let me share with u a simple dessert which the TCM uncle teach me one.. he say it nourish the blood, strengthen the brain, good for complexion and help in dizziness

ingredients:
lotus seed (rem to soak first if not will be hard)
dry longan
white fungus
rock sugar
water (of coz la..)

*amt - depends on how many pple is eating.. can cook for the whole family if u wan

<font color="ff0000">limkoh</font> worst come to worst. tailor made. mite be abit ex but should be better. if not use current bedsheet, ask those tailor to sew in rubber for u. make it into fitted sheet.

elchwong,
the link i provide jus now is buying from US so i still thinking shld buy mah.. if buy oso for the 9oz one coz no pt buy 4oz one will be useless veri fast lor.

i think i am abit earlier than u.. i oso not sure got see u mah.. anyway my next appt will be 2 wk later which is on 16 sep. u leh?

forest,
ya lor.. so shiok can take nap.. but i cant imagine my workstation tmr when i go back sure messy one.

Rachel's Mummy

Ya loh... guess if really cannot find.. bo bian.. will just buy cloth and put on top...

I was browsing thru the net... saw the standard sizes in the market are US sizes (47.2 inches X 23.6 inches/120cm X 60cm)...

mine is UK sizes(52 inches X 28 inches/ 120cm X 60cm).

hopefully can buy off the shelf, no need so 'ma fan'

limkoh_p,
Mine's also 52 inches X 28 inches cot....so I got my cot sheet from the brand 'Cheeky Bon Bon' with the exact measurements...

i juz woke up..came bk ard 3 plus..n went for a nap..littlebluey oso sms me..she has to be monitored for 1-2 days.poor ger..

i m given admission letter and oso hv to do homeowork (bb movement chart). today had my blood test too ..to test haemoglobin..did my ctg n vaginal test to see got infection..it seems like gog thru my last round of detailed scanning..nw hv to see gynae every fortnight liao..

finally i went Red star for dim sum, it was good!!! hehe..n went CC and ocean to get the rest of the items..things almost bot..n can start packing my things oredi.....

Hello mummies!! Just got back from hospital after visiting Sheralyn.

Hope littlebluey gets well soon! Cause i was also admitted due to contractions and was also put on the drips.

Re: disposable panties

i suggest buying and stocking up! Hahaha. i bought those cotton wants from watsons. quite comfy to wear. even till now still wearing. cause at times will stain the panties then i dun wan pple to help me wash cause confinement they say cannot bend all this. so yup.. i bought alot to stock up.

Updates bout my girl. She's doing well. Drinking 35ml already. Just now had the chance to feed her. Hehe. And doc says shld be able to come home in a weeks time. =)

jjmom2008, forest,
decided on keeping ur hair long already? lol.. my mum gave me hope that i can wash my hair in two weeks time using some herbal thingy. i told her i bth already.. the hair super oily lor..

candle
wow! that is good news. take more pics of your lit angel and keep us updated with her progress.

mommies
i can back from my chkup today. 33w6d - bb rebekah is approx. 2.5kg. think at this rate, she may well be a 3.2-3.5kg bb at birth

btw, just wondering if anyone is interested to spree on Gymboree stuff. if you do, pls PM me. They are having some very good clearance at US$10 and US$20. I want to get some stuff, but am not spending enough to max the shipping fee.

litbluey
hope you feel better and take care

<font color="aa00aa">Candle
Really happy to hear that your little gal is drinking well
!

Lennie
Your bb is of good weight! Just went to Mt E to visit my fren who gave birth this morning. She is very garang, natural birth w/o epidural or any other pain relieve. Peifu! </font>