(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff6000">ooh. mspiggy, for JJB packabe you only have sienna swirls and perky perennials designs left is it? I was looking for a more tame colour leh...</font>

bbgoh

Dun worry lar..i am sure Dr ang will do a good job to deliver u and bb safely...keep us updated ok? My next check up is 12 Sep..sooo long...

Whitepaper

yes i also thot gynae's take on bb's weight are estimates lor. Becoz hor one of my fren's gynae told her her bb is 4 kg plus then have to go c section, end up the bb was only 2.9 kg at birth lor...then the same thing happened to my SIL too..go thru c section for nothing leh!

Diane

WHAT?! 4+kg become 2.9kg?! Alamak... really c section for nothing... That's what I'm afraid of... I'm aiming for natural delivery, and best without pain relief (hope I can do it lar, if buay tahan then no choice lor)...

<font face="tahoma"> lennie,
you have mail

dimpletot,
yap.. only those on the webstore is what we left hence doing clearance sale.

perky perennials is a nice color.

maybe she's sleeping in cos weather so nice to sleep.

gals,

I went CC just now and bought more stuff! finally bought my steriliser (Pigeon), more face towels, more bathing towels, laundry powder, small packet wet wipes, big packet wet wipes, ru yi oil... just so i hit the $150 for home delivery.

lili,

yes, Mt A can register too..but Mt A charging 38 bucks i think..whereas ICA is charging 10 plus..so hubby said he go ICA instead..haha

mspiggy,

very tempting! but bag must hubby can carry... haha... will discuss with him tonight.

on bb weight,

even 3.2kg looks like quite hard to squeeze out leh! OUCH.

i am also hot and sticky most of the time. was perspiring in CC just now even though there was aircon! guess our humid rainy weather doesn't help.

dunno after giving birth how. i think i will definitely bathe. in fact, in our antenatal class they said after delivery must bathe everyday in hospital.

dimpletot
so you gotten rapid steriliser at $95? did you get winnie to date the receipt later? must remind winnie to deliver the warranty card, cos' she left out mine the other time..

Let pray tat all our babies here will guai guai come out after full term

Ruffles, must b not easy to b in hospital so early but nvmind, as long as bb is safe &amp; sound. Then all your effort now is worth it
Jia you! Juz awhile more liao

Bbgoh, don't worry too much hor
Juz take gd care now, quite a few of us here r told to control our diet too, including myself

Mrs Lau,
Erm, Chen Shui Bian not a very good example to follow leh... See what happened to him now. If want should follow like Lee Kuan Yew. heehee! But I think LKY's name in chinese dun have 13 strokes leh. Maybe I'm wrong lah cos my chinese not very good also.

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

Juz hope she gets well real soon

RE: PILES

Drink lots of water, eat lots of fruits/vegetables to prevent/ease it...

Dunno if anyone shared this before...but this seems like latest update :

Paid Maternity Leave

Maternity leave will be extended from 12 to 16 weeks for all Singaporean births on or after 17 Aug 2008. Employers are encouraged to grant the extended maternity leave from 17 Aug 2008 and will be required to do so upon legislation.

For the first two confinements, the first eight weeks of maternity leave will continue to be employer-paid. The last eight weeks will be funded by the Government (capped at $20,000 per confinement, including CPF contributions). For the third and subsequent confinements, the full 16 weeks will be funded by the Government (capped at $40,000 per confinement, including CPF contributions).

The last eight weeks of maternity leave can be taken flexibly over a period of 12 months from the date of the confinement if there is mutual agreement between the employer and the employee.

A mother is eligible for the scheme if

The child is born on or after 17 Aug 2008;
The child is a Singaporean;
The child’s parents are lawfully married;

AND

She is a full-time, part-time or fixed term contract employee who has worked for her employer for a continuous duration of at least 90 calendar days before the birth of her child;

OR

She is self-employed and has been engaged in a particular business / trade / profession for a continuous duration of at least 90 calendar days before the birth of her child; and she has lost income as a result of not engaging in her trade, business, profession or vocation during the maternity leave period.
In addition, if she is

dismissed without sufficient cause within the last six months of pregnancy; or
retrenched within the last three months of pregnancy,
her employer would still be required to pay her maternity benefits.

Paid Childcare Leave

From 17 Aug 2008, paid childcare leave will be extended from two to six days per year for working parents with any Singaporean child under the age of seven, regardless of the number of qualifying children.

The first three days will be employer-paid and the last three days government-paid (capped at $500 per day including CPF contributions).

A parent is eligible if

The child is below seven years of age on or after 1 7 Aug 2008 (includes adopted and step children);
The child is a Singaporean and;
The child’s parents are lawfully married

AND

The parent is a full-time, part-time or fixed term contract employee who has worked for the employer for a continuous duration of at least three calendar months;

OR

The parent is self-employed and has been engaged in a particular business / trade / profession for a continuous duration of at least three calendar months; and has lost income as a result of not engaging in the trade, business, profession or vocation during the childcare leave period.
For frequently asked questions, click here.

New Infant care Leave

From 17 Aug 2008, a working parent will be able to have six days of unpaid infant care leave if he or she has a Singaporean child under the age of two, regardless of the number of qualifying children.

A parent is eligible if

The child is below two years of age on or after 17 Aug 2008 (includes adopted and step children);
The child is a Singaporean;
The child’s parents are lawfully married

AND

The parent is a full-time, part-time or fixed term contract employee who has worked for the employer for a continuous duration of at least three calendar months

Parents with children under the age of two can apply for paid childcare leave in addition to the unpaid infant care leave.

Government-Paid Adoption Leave

Adoption Leave was introduced on 1 Aug 2004 to allow working mothers (both employed and self-employed) to take four weeks of leave to care for their adopted newborn aged six months and below. The Government will reimburse the employer up to four weeks of salary, capped at $10,000 (including CPF contributions), if they grant the mother the leave. The Government will reimburse the mother directly if she is self-employed.

A mother may take the four weeks of Adoption Leave flexibly or in a continuous block within a period of six months from the date of birth of the adopted child.

A mother is eligible for the scheme if

The adopted child is born on or after 1 Aug 2004;
The adopted child is a Singapore citizen or becomes one within six months of the Adoption Order being granted;
She has fewer than four other living children (excludes adopted and step children) at the point of application of Adoption Leave;
She is lawfully married.

AND

She is a full-time, part-time or fixed term contract employee;

OR

She is self-employed and has been engaged in a particular business / trade / profession; and she has lost income as a result of not engaging in her trade, business, profession or vocation during the maternity leave period.

From 17 Aug 2008, the birth order restriction will be removed from the list of criteria for Adoption Leave. Even if the mother has four or more other living children, she can be eligible for Adoption Leave.

www.family.gov.sg/MnP.
Last updated on 28 August 2008
Best viewed using IE 5.0+ or Netscape 6.0+

Privacy Statement | Terms of Use © 2004 Government

oh dear... Rachel's Mummy,
do rest well and get well soon!!

Trace,
thanks for the link on the raspberry tea.. i just bot it last Sat.. and will start drinking it...

lili, Trace,
i also have piles.. think it wldnt go away.. my mum says.. after delivery, must walk more.. and it may disappear after that... just cross my fingers and hope it does go away!!! :p

Littlebluey, dimpletot,
i also think im gonna bathe manzz.. cant stand being sticky or not clean... very uncomfortable.. and i cant imagine latching bb on for bfeeding if i aint clean leh... :p

forest,

i oso ordered it when i ordered the nursing bras.. :p will drink mayb end of the mth..

i will defintely shower! wif my mum's approval..but she said need to get those med thingy to shower..

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Where did u get the raspberry tea from?

If the piles dun go away, hv to undergo laser treatment to get rid of it, it's very common in pregnancy to develop piles, becos apart from those calcium, multi-vits which are heaty, our body oso generate alot of heat and becos we sit most of times, very easy to kenna them...*bleh*

Cookie, does it means that now regardless coming yr end... then childcare leave already effective? Meaning, no proration of 6 days.. straight away the daddy is entitled to 6 days??????

Wah, if like this, hubby got enuff leave to cover throughout my maternity.

mint, Littlebluey,
like Trace mentioned, i bot it at Moms in Mind.. i actually popped down to their showroom last Sat (since it was open).. and bot 2 nursing bras.. and 2 packs of the raspberry tea..

kinda sad, cos their padded multi way bra doesnt fit me at all... the wireless padded ones fit me though.. and i bot 1 cup bigger.. wahahaha.. dunno if my cup will grow that big or not.. but my hubby says better to buy bigger, since the 1 cup smaller seems not much bigger for my current size nia...

Littlebluey,
ya.. actually my GP told me have to laser lor.. but haizzz.. lets see if my mum's suggestion would work.. never before had it.. and kena becos of pregnancy.. i find it very "din deh"... :p :p

Trace,
ya.. my sinseh says will give me herbs to boil for showering... but im wondering.. hows the herb smell like :p

LiLi
I had piles for previous pregnancies.. and also natural delivery. But with cream and medication it will recover within a week or so. Of course there are really bad times..

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Juz hope that your mum's method work

Apart from using the herbs to bathe, we can oso boil lemongrass + ginger to pom pom...

hows everyone? finally got the time to login.

piles - heng i dun hv.. touchwood but i have veri veri bad outbreak on my back.. basically the whole back is with pimples.. so ugly leh.. used to hv a smooth back one

trace,
the MIM link u provide seems to be more ex leh.. i buy the small cooler bag and ice brick from carrefour seems to be cheaper leh.. maybe that time i buy got discount? cant rem liao..

btw, any mummies having "false contraction" been feeling pain/cramp since last sat which make me forgo my seminar at pan pac hotel

also, beening the first time mummy i realli dunno how shld the feeling be and wat shld i do

Candle, storeberry

Congrats!!!
Hope ur babies will be in the pink of health and happie!

Cookie, Trace
Me oso perspire like mad. I used to be able to sleep with just a fan on, but these days I need air-con plus fan! My mum keep nagging at me, but i cant help it! sometimes after shopping, i came back all wet! so hot!

bbgoh,
my baby is big oso.. at 33 wks plus, hes weighing 2.4kg. Gynae say may deliver earlier or need C-section, but i am keeping my fingers crossed. I would reallie wish to try natural delivery...

Whitepaper,
I oso went to isetan yest to get the Karmy pjs

theres 20% discount, so its ard 12.50 per piece...hmm, seems like giant is cheaper, i must go check it out!

Btw, my HR say will implement 16 weeks maternity leave, but 1st 8 weeks immediately after childbirth, next 4 weeks over 6 mths period, last 4 weeks over 1 year period. As for the 6 days childcare leave, may be pro-rated, they have yet to establish the guideline with the govt. I am a bit confused abt the pro-rated part though :p

btw, i just told my boss i would be taking a ml a week earlier b4 my edd.. but the response is " cant you take it later?" sigh, listen liao, low morale

anyway, just learn something from some of my frens, when doing confinement n drinking the red dates water, we must sit down n drink! if not will cause the tummy to expand due to gravity and tummy will be big. anyone heard of this b4?

herbs to bath - can buy at those TCM hall they got sell one.. already pre-packed

i will be asking my mum to buy 10pkts for me.. hehe :p

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

I have them more frequently tis days, did a CTG last Thurs diaoz...

Now I'm on medication to prevent early labour! *touch touch wood*

Juz hv to rest more..hmm

Trace, Forest,
Do we really drink up to 4 cups of this raspberry leaf tea per day?

I will definitely bath too but with the herb bath from TCM.

I had piles b4 so I m also quite worried tat after all the pushing during delivery, I will get it again too. Anyway nowadays I already have some blood stain after I pooed

raspberry leaf tea :

I think Mrs Wong did mention not to drink too much of this raspberry leaf tea. Something abt losing more blood during delivery or something.

Those who r still attending her class, mayb can check with her again? Thanks

trace,
oic... hmmm i havent even start to drink coconut and already having cramp/pain liao.. so still thinking shld drink mah.. guess raspberry tea i no need to drink liao bah.

littlebluey,
huh u taking medication ah? seeing my gyne tmr evening will ask him abt this.. hope can no need to eat and jus give me rest

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Yeah, I'm on medication becos the CTG reveals I got 'irritable uterus' dunno wat tht means as well hmmm...but I think as a precaution my gynae juz gave me medicine to eat...

thanks mummies

i m not worrying abt bb weight &amp; diet thg, wat i most worried is the c-section as its consider as complication case

just pray hard bah

<font color="0000ff">Bbgoh,

Dun worry unduly, let nature takes it course, am sure u are in gd hands!

Juz dun think too much, muz relax and look fwd to the arrival of your bb

Any1 order from Nepia directly for the diapers yet?

I tried calling but no 1 pick up lei, told me to leave msg but din get back to me wor...

<font face="tahoma"> Hi JJmom,
I've ordered from Nepia, there's a lady who answered my call. I got the diapers already.

You just called? Maybe you try again before 5pm tomorrow. </font>