(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

I did not get the names wor

Karen,

Thanks for pointing that out, muz hv missed it

i was so affected by this news and the whole afternoon cannot concentrate on work... so have decided to write this letter to the forum!

Govmt is always encouraging us to have more children. When we heard that the maternity leave has extended to additional 4 weeks, we are all rejoicing especially for those mommies who are conceiving now.

Now knowing that the additional 4 wks maternity package only take effect 1Jan09, all the mommies who are giving birth this year August onwards shattered.. When the last maternity package was announced in 2004 national day rally, government manage to backdate the new maternity package to August 2004. Therefore, I am wondering why this year is exception? Why is the government announcing something which is not yet effective? I rather the government announce the new package in November/Dec so that the effective date in Jan09 is not so far apart. And the disappointment from the new mommies are not so greatly affected.

I am now expecting my 2nd child in Oct 2008. I am full of disappointment! Thinking I can spend more time with my 2 babies at home with another additional 1 mth maternity leave.. but now my dreams are shattered… I should have waited longer to conceive if I know the maternity package will revise in Jan09.

I hope you can feel how we feel as a mother who is now still heavily pregnant. I sincerely hope that the government will look into it one more time and revise the effective date to August 08. It will make a lot of mother more happier, especially for those pregnant women who are due from now till Dec08. At least there are something worth waiting for.

I was unable to log in for the day and missed out the petition!

Pls include my name for any future petitions regarding the package

littlebluey,
excellent letter.. think is too late to include my name.. nonetheless, i think u shld email this letter to the media and let them publish coz personally i feel that unless PM Lee gets to see this letter if not it will be filter and throw into rubbish bin.

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

I din do much, juz gathering some points that the mummies have feedback.

I hope we can get what we deserved!

i will email Phylicia for the name list. Heard she got abt 125 names

Juz watched the news &amp; was so disgusted by the heading - 'Help For Every Kids'
Left out so many babies still have the face to put this kind of heading!

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mummies,

I managed to send "our letter" to a reporter and she has reverted, asking me how many names are signing the petition.

I really hope that we can get more names! So mummies, pls pls pls if you would like to join us in airing "our grievances" pls let us have your names/NRIC/EDD.

Many thanks

U may post in tis thread or PM me

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1652541.html?1219219476

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

I dun even want to watch the news, afraid I might get too agitated that I cant zz tonite hahahaha..

Appreciate it

karen,

you're a spelling/grammar nazi! hahaha...

lilbluey, i'm pming you my details. i don't know about my grievances.. do i just send you my name and details or must write letter?

i doubt the gahmen will try, if anything it'ld jut make news and forums interesting for a while but the petition worth a shot in numbers. i thought the rally was full of pepped up bs and how are you surprised at the disappointment. i like our pm but his speech stank of spin doctoring.

focus on bringing our children up happily.

i'm at 32 weeks today, i can't see some of the shorter students beyond my belly, i want to quit my God forsaken job. i dreamt i was bleeding last night and then it turned into some weird pseudo wet dream, damn weird.

ever woke up and thought about doing something else. in an alternate universe, i'm torn between erotic pole dancing and writing.. but i'ld probably take up writing, it's alot less effort, ha.

good night dear mommies. we all deserve better than this.

Pildough
occupational hazard :p in any case, I think the language plays a part in bringing across such a letter. That we're professionals and we're serious about our grievances.

Hi MsPiggy,

Thanks for the welcome
Am really excited. Its my first. Must admit I was more excited this morning when I read about the extra month... less excited now that its only available next year. Really hope they will take the petition and feedback to heart.

karen,

agree with you absolutely.

Ribena,

must be so nice to see bb with beautiful lips. Claudia sounds beautiful

lilbluey,

forgot to add in my mommy details in the pm.
edd: 15 oct, gynae: phyllis liauw, hospital: TMC, gender: girl

outcome of petition,

i don't gian the additional ML coz i don't think i can neg for more leave anyway but i want the bb bonus. i think it'ld helps lots.

<font color="119911">ribenali>> hey there! how u doing?? almost pop le ba! u staying at home yet? must be really exciting time for u and ur family =)

pildough>>i oso wan the bb bonus
$7k leh</font>

I juz recalled tat if our govt can spend so much for foreign talents to win us a medal, y r they stingy on their own sporean babies? Wanna 2 come in &amp; post the above comment &amp; saw tat JuzUs had anwsered my qns

OMG...really win liao loh, even adopted &amp; foreign children r better off than our poor kids
Real sad!

I also cant sleep tonite. Still fuming!
Worst still, supposed to go on course on thurs &amp; fri BUT becoz the lady covering me is also going, end up i had to let her go. N my boss still can tell me wait for the next round when most of the dates are filled. My coy got a policy that everyone will be entitled to 5 training days BUT for my case, becoz im taking maternity leave, im exempted from that 5 training days policy.
This is discrimination!!!!!!

Hi littlebluey,

i have PM u my friend's details.

She was hoping the date could be backdated to Aug like in 2004. Though its her third child and baby bonus is similiar, but the 4th mth of ML would allow her more time to stay with her baby...

thks!

getting too frustrated to sleep...
sigh!

I really really cannot believe even the adopted and foreign children r getting better treatment than our babies.

This I really cannot down it!!! Y is our vy own govt willing to pro-rate for foreign kids &amp; save on our vy own sporean babies???!!!

That Li Jia Wei denied that she is a sporean at an interview in BeiJing after winning the medal.

So she is more priced than our babies? After all the $$$ she got from us that can cover for so many sporean babies?

my hubby went to amk this evening to kaypoh. Cos he wasn't a resident from amk, so weren't able to register at the meet-the-people session.

Like wat one mummy mention in the petition thread, the MP suggested that its best we go individually to our own MP, so i think am making a trip down to meet the MP on my side here this coming Friday. Perhaps can help submit the petition list as well. Meanwhile, pls keep the names pouring in..we need more names!

<font color="aa00aa">Taysetsuri, Jus Us
Good morning gals! I have no choice but need to wake up early to feed my boy and wake my hubby up to work.</font>

<font color="119911">facebook was mentioned in PM's speech and reach is also available on facebook. pls do support and join our group in facebook?

<font color="aa00aa">Our govt has also forgotten all the SAHMs who gave up their jobs to look after their babies/kids! Sigh! </font>

Morning Mummies...
I still not feeling well today and last night take care of my boy whole night long.

Mousebb, last nite my FIL and DH say govt will never recognize SAHM.. they are encouraging women to go out and work and how will they give incentives to SAHM.

Juz_Us, all of us are banging wall this time. Even adopted babies get money and we, giving birth one... dun even have a single cent at all. Initially not so hot... now very hot cos adopted babies or foreign babies who backdated become Singaporean are entitled. FAINTZ!!!!

so angry when i see the report in today.

whatever the cut=off, there will always be those who felt that they were left behind. we hope that they understand that we need to start at some place.

<font color="119911">hi all mummies, pls take care of yourselves first ok?
dun fall sick else oso tough on our unborn child</font>

Hi Littlebluey

Can u pls add me to yr list?
EDD:10 Oct 08
Hosp: Mt A
Gynea: Dr C H Koh

Pls include me in the petition as well. Thk u.

Good Morning Mummies!!

My hb is gng to check with his pregnant colleagues and ask them to join in the petition.
Is it still in time to join in the petition?

My Hb even said we should go ont he street to ask for support..

Juz me
I'm on face book

Hi All!

gals, keep those Name/IC/EDD rolling into my email at [email protected]

if we can hit abt 500ppl, i think we have a stronger case.

went to the meet the people last nite.. there were 10 mummies and some daddies... in the end only the AMK mummies got to go in.. i was so pissed and tired by 11.20pm i decided to go home.. we were only told at 11pm that we cant go in as a grp and cant see the AMK MP.. either he is too high and mighty or we are not worthy enuff his audience.. well, the AMK mummies will update later.. watch out for it..

till then, i hope we can collect 500 names!!

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Better take good care of yourself. Dont go too near to your son otherwise the two of you are going to spread to each other. Tell your maid to take care of him for the time being. I know it is difficult but bo bian. We cannot afford to fall sick at this stage.

Actually SAHMs lugi a lot cos since we are taking care of our kid ourselves, we dont even get childcare/infant care subsidy. We already helped them to save a lot le. My hubby was telling me no point getting upset over this issue cos no matter what we do, most likely the govt is not going to change their mind this time. Also, the govt will say "they can never please everyone".

I feel that the Unpaid Infant Care Leave sounds very silly. If the working parents have enough annual leave to take, why should they take UNPAID leave instead? And if one really needs it, the one week is never sufficient.</font>