(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
I remember one of the mummies mentioned before the cotton balls are selling at 3pkts for $5.00 at taka bb fair. Kiddy palace, JL and Robinsons are selling like $2.90/pkt for 100pcs.</font>

Purebliss,

Hope the dentist can help u out on ur gums woes.

Pildough,

Braxton hicks are usually painless, just a tightening of the tummy unless u are very sensitive to pain then u will feel a slightmenstrual cramp like feeling, the feeling will usually goes after a minute or so...... Real labour pain varies for different mommies or pregnancies. My first one feels like very very bad menstrual cramps x 100 times. My second one feels like stomachache (like gonna diarrhea) kinda feeling plus very bad backache. But no matter which sort of pain u have, it will start mild then increase in intensity.
If u are not going for epidural then u can choose to use Entonox or pethidine. Hehe I remember i thought of those contractions as waves and when it comes, i was 'riding thru each waves of pain until it recedes, then take deep breaths and relax before the next wave hit me again.

Hi Juz me,

wow u still left 4 weeks ah... better start soon...

i think is abt 29.90. i have got spring card so there is a 10% discount.

i think i veri kaisu... i have washed and ironed and fold everything.. even my hubby also say so...

<font face="tahoma"> Juz me,
I think shd be safe as long as we changed the bottles after several mths.

If unsafe, dont think Singapore will allow them to carry already. that's my thoughs

Hey mommies,

Can those who are not breastfeeding drink the papaya and fish soup too? I won't be breastfeeding but thought it sounds like a nice soup to cook for the whole family.

<font color="119911">chris>> no i week 33 mah, so 4 weeks to full term (week 37). edd is 1st oct childrens day =) i oso very ks coz already packed hospital bag haha juz that many other thing not done yet ;P waiting for my maternity leave that time stay home and do all these

mspiggy>> icic i oso got some avent bottles from my sis, now thinking dunno to use or wait til after baby 1 year when we dun nid to sterilise liao</font>

<font color="119911">gioanna>> u not bf but wanna make the soup then u may nid to be ready to feel engorged leh. i heard is painful and no fun!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Your DH oso so cute leh, hee hee...tell him muz do a few more times muhahahaha...

Diane,

No worries

Icylemon,

Me oso so sleepy! -_-""

morning mummies..

Dianne.. I think CC selling cheap wipes.. U can try to ask there...

Papaya with fish soup:
How to cook this soup arh??? only papaya n the fish will do???

Our bb gal has been having big movements since 2 nites ago when her daddy came home after work.

At 1st, I thou mayb it's juz my own thinking. But she response greatly again when DH came home last nite, as he start talking. We r wondering if she really starts to recognise our voices

Recipe for Papaya with fish Soup (from Moms in Mind Website)

PAPAYA SOUP

1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
100g raw peanuts ~ 1 handful?
(I use black beans now because the pediatrician advised me to avoid peanuts due to my baby's mild eczema)
1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
1 piece tangerine peel
4 slices old ginger
1.5litres boiling water
2 Tablespoons oil

Heat oil &amp; fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

Then put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant.

Then enjoy the drink!

Breast pump/ Lily padz...
For mummies who have not bought their breast pumps, I just read on the Aug thread that the Ameda Promo at TMC comes with a pair of Lily Padz!

<font color="0000ff">littlebluey</font> i slept at 12.30am last night, this morning woke up at 6am. feel like taking 1/2 day leave &amp; go back to sleep.

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

A more simple receipe gotten from the previous TV program :

1 Green Papaya, some fish bones + few slices of ginger - bring to boil and add salt/sauce to taste

forest - nice mtg you too! I thought the pillows were really nice!

btw ladies: Anyone bringing the steam steriliser to hospital? Is it necessary? For steaming the breast pump and bottles??

<font color="ff6000">anyone buying diaper bags?

I'm wondering where is a good shop to go and 'research', compare physical bags etc...

First few years at paragon?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Indeed, now buy the Ameda Pump at TMC, it will come with a free pair of Lilipadz
Still thinking if I ought to get it hee...

Icylemon,

I went to bed ard 11 pm, but think by the time I zz alrd 1130 pm, then awoken by the stoopid cramp at 6 am then go back to zz till 745 am..so tired...hmmm

Ruffles,

Some mummies said not require becos milk supply won't come in so fast! But I guess it all boils down to individual...

<font color="ffff00">Hi Mommies!!!</font>
<font color="#E77471"> hw are u gals doin? hopin all of u here are fine!!

BTW mommies, which brand of diapers u all let ur little ones usin? which is better? currently i'm usin mamy poko and i find that it's too ex. was tinkin to change to another brand but all the brand didn try b4. so wanna ask for ur opinion. so, any suggestion?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Mommies,</font>
<font color="#E77471"> wow.. all of u here seems like gettin ready for ur new arrival liao wor~ i only pack my bb's clothes, mittens n bootes n hood blanket. nt yet pack mine.

anyone here hve realise that as ur bb grow bigger, their movement seems like nt so active? my bb movement seems like decreasin. but nt as bad as less den 10 counts a day. ^_^</font>

<font color="0000ff">Rebecca,

How've u been? never see u for quite some time alrd?

Heard that Nepia is affordable and comparable to Pampers

Rebecca, heard from other moms, nepia &amp; petpet not bad for NB. Heard some using NTUC for older kids during day time too.

Littlebluey,

Me too, want to wait and see how milk supply is like. Dun want Pump to end up as white elephant in store room. But I was reading about mummies from Aug thread who also held back buying the pump and regretted. Rushed out to buy the pump cos engorgement too painful! Sigh Confused....

Rebecca,
compared the prices of NB diapers at NTUC and found that Mamypoko to be not bad. $19.90 for 52 pieces plus I like that it has the poo poo pocket, the cut in for umbillical cord and pooh cartoons! But otherwise I think Goon seems like a good alternative.

JJmom.. baby can hear us liao leh... so they will react when they heard familiar voice...

The busy bee.. thks for the recipe....
How much is the Ameda pump huh??? Duo one??

Breastpump..
I saw KKH sell really cheap pumps for Medela.. the sales told me their product are US one.. that's y cheaper..

Littlebluey.. yrs seems simpler wor.. shall do that in case I forget how to do... thks ya...
btw, can we drink now??

dimpletot.. I bought a organizer bag as diaper bag in spree (Luxmag ) at $14.. maybe u can keep a look out if u interested...

mint and Karen,
i'm not an moe teacher, i'm a sped teacher seconded to a pri sch, abit different from sno coz i'm not a school employee, i work for a vwo so not involved lor in PSLE oral.

Juz Me,
no priority for me but gimme i also dun want. school with name got more to lose, more kiasu, alot more work. i'ld rather go to schools like fernvale or naval base where the principals are more supportive of their teachers in project work, process oriented rather than results and including children with disabilities into mainstream. eh eh, but if mint and karen work in these schools and it is not the case, must let me know hor. keke

Diane and anyone who might be interested,

Pigeon stuff at taka fair: i paid
8.90 per veg/bottle cleaner refill
6.90 per box of laundry powder
9.90 per box of breastpads (36 + 6)
19.90 for a box of 6 pack babywipes with chamomile refill
11.76 per big dispenser bottle of veg/bottle cleaner
4.40 small bottle of veg/bottle cleaner

dunno whether that much cheaper or not, next time i go cheng choon

i'm not much of a shopper but my biggest mistake was when the sales girl asked me what i was looking for, i told her i have no idea, what does she think i'ld need.

haha -pildough points to self <-- sucker- i'm telling friends if got war, i will have no food but breastmilk and alot of breastpads and food grade safe detergent.

anyway taka arranged for delivery 10 a.m - 1 p.m today, they arrived at 10.55 a.m. with everything. on time.

Diane and mousebb,

to clean baby's bottom after pee or poo right? are wool balls better or wool squares (like those watson ones). my mom said first few months just use hot water and cotton wool to clean in case baby's skin becomes sensitive to chemicals in wipes. any truth? it sounds more cost saving.

how does one clean baby girls? wipe back to back only then front to front only like adults? then hor, must use latex gloves? sorry lah, all these questions. when i first started working, i started in childcare then i changed and cleaned the tods, so centre policy wear gloves.

<font color="119911">Chris>> hey looks like our edds very near! when will u start your maternity leave?

rebecca>> i stocked some Small size pampers coz some time back there was some sale at shop and save and giant. but i really dunno which brand good leh. but thats the brand used by the hospital i delivering in. heard depends on individual babies.
jjmom>> ntuc brand dun have for NB/small babies? i see petpet oso no NB size leh. issit use the small?</font>

Also - when should we start buying the nursing bras? Am worried the breasts will grow even bigger from till birth leh

juz me

yup the bb is my fren;s first child wor...envious hor that her labour so short.

mspiggy

i also bought avent bottles. The trick is to pour the room temp water first before adding hot water. So the BPA tingy will not be too high. Dun pour hot water first into the bottle..

CC

I think i lost the address. Can anyone provide me? thanks!!

Rebecca

I bought some nepia during the motherhood fair few mths ago. Dun know whether good or not even though my sil told me its good and cheap. Maybe u waner try?

Dimpletot

u giving birth at which hospital. If at TMC, think they will give a bag or somethine. So need to buy since the diaper bag will be hanging at the stroller most of the time. But if u really want to buy nice nice ones, think mspiggy has some lobangs. Cant remember the brand....heehee

hi juz me,

i going to start on sep 24 provided if my boy won't come out early... unless the sunday rally got more maternity....

Hi Ruffles,

i bought mine abt 8 mths plus... the auntie at spring told our breast size will be abt same..

i just bought Buckwheat pillow for my bb. They selling in our office...Now, i have 1 beanspout &amp; buckwheat pillow liao...

<font color="ff0000">rebecca</font> think i will be letting my NB using drypers for the day time &amp; mamy poko for the nite time.

so far lil Rachel still using mamy poko.

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot</font> mspiggy's lobang is jujube. think she has others too.

Tweety,

TMC promo for the Ameda is $318 for duo electric pump. Heard Ameda is relatively good and comparable to Medela PIS which is double the price.

Yeah Littlebluey's recipe is indeed simpler. Shall try it out!

Pildough,
Agree with your Mum, I read in the book "first time parents" by Miriam Stoppard that first couple of days to clean baby with cooled boiled water using cotton balls.
However, when i mentioned it to some friends it seems that it is not widely practiced here. Most people start bathing their babies once they get home from the hospital.
Cleaning babies gals is from front to back, think the latex gloves depends on your preference?

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

I'm actually contemplating btwn the Medela Single Electric Pump vs Ameda Pump becos I dunno how the supply will be like and I dun want it to end up as a white elephant in the storeroom either..most imptly, whether I can perserve i b/f is still another tacky issue -_-" *sighs* DH keeps telling me dunnit to rush into it first, but I dun want to get it last min too...

Tweety,

The Ameda Duo Pump is selling for $318 currently at TMC pharmacy with a pair of free lilipadz, it's a 20% discount till end mth according to my fren who check out for me

gioanna,

i'ld be going for c-section on 2nd oct, general anesthesia..

i have a question for c-section mommies. how long does it take to wake up from g.a, is bb drowsy from the drugs to latch and feed properly, how do they remove the placenta since natural.. you birth it. i read horror stories of nurses or doctors who pull out the placenta in a hurry and cause bad infection.

pildough

woa thanks for the info on the prices man! helpful!

Hmmm personall i think cotton wool or pads are the same. I agree with ur mum tat the wipes may be more rough for bb's delicate skin. Traditionally cotton wools are used to clean bb after they poo poo..i saw my mum used cotton

To clean bb girls, i think shld be from front to back. If back to front, will introduce bacteria into their vagina.

Littlebluey,
my hubby was just lazy lor...

everafter,
tonight, we both go back and tekan our hubbies.. must make them make full use of what they learnt!! wahahahahah... *evil me*

Ruffles,
yes yes... it was really pretty!! i kept starting at the pillows and smiling.. wahahha.. before receiving it, i wasnt sure if the design and the threads i picked matches and will turn out nice.. luckily, it turned out much better than i expected!! ehehe...

re: breast pump
i think its better to latch our babies on at the hospital.. cos' then they will help us to "inform" our breasts to work harder and generate more milk.. although the pumps are supposedly designed to work like baby's suckling, i believe nothing works better than our baby... ;) in addition, we can also practise the latching on in the hospital, and if we have difficulties, can get the nurses or the lactation consultants to help us then...

Rachel's Mummy, Littlebluey,
im also about to fall asleep le...

thanks busybee,

even bathing newborns. i saw gaia products at the baby fair. mom also told me just warm water can already, scared disturb skin's natural ph.

gosh, abt 7 more weeks to go. reading what the mommies are doing and preparing, i ought to go wash the truckload of clothes. does anyone encounter the storage space problem since we dont have enough space to put aside a wardrobe specially for baby e.g. ikea storage boxes..

does anyone have pictures to show how they organse their baby stuff? keke

Diane,

no problem! Just reading off my receipt, hope it ain't wrong.

it's time for forest to take a nap... @@

my mil is cooking a chicken vegetable rasem.. mmmmm... going for my 4d scan later. i hope bb is not too big not to be able to see anything.

what's for lunch, mommies?

Littlebluey,
My SIL had initially bought the Medela Swing and found it not powerful enough. Ended up having to get another pump (dual pump). As I will be SAHM, I was thinking of just have bb latch on. No hassle of sterilising pump part etc. Also kiasu in missing out on TMC's current promo. Really seems like a good deal!

Pildough,
You are not alone. I have been using the baby's cot as a storage bin. Have not sorted out or washed any of her stuff. About 50 days to go, I better get cracking this weekend!
Regarding GA, my SIL was groggy all day of her C-sect and only became alert to see baby the next day. So I don't think latching on the delivery day is possible? Other experienced mummies might want to share their experiences?
Have u considered c-sect epidural? I will probably be opting for that if I am not delivering naturally. Have not confirmed my dates tho.

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Maybe he's tired after a day's work bah....maybe u ask him to massage for you then u will do the same back
Else u play the "weather game" lar keke

Busybee,

I've the same sentiments as you, I've a fren who's using the Medela Single Electric Pump and she said not bad</font>

littlebluey... Me also don know if should get a pump now... Saw a good deal at KKH last night.. Medela single electric selling at $129... Mini electric duo selling at $255 at CC...

Wonder which one is better...

<font color="0077aa">THANKS MUMMIES!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Littlebluey,</font>
<font color="#4C787E"> i'm doin well. juz that gettin more n more tired, stress n excited!! LOL!!

<font color="aa00aa">JJmon,</font>
hmm.. but nepia izzit kind of ex? noe wat, my bb are all smal size bb. they cnt even wear the NB size diapers. only drypers den can fit in. headache!!!

<font color="119911">BZ bee,</font>
hmm..i like the mamypoko poo poo pockettoo. but mostly is coz of the design. hehe... so hve been usin that since my boy was born until my #2. but the price is quite ex leh. it's only worth it whn there's promotion or offer. even if there a cut in for umbillical cord, both my boy n my gal cnt fit the size as it too big for them. i need to actually fold it. so that the diapers wont drop whn we carry them.

<font color="ff6000">Hi Juz Me,</font>
wow... so fast u already start to stock up. me still like enjoy life. haha.. everytin throw to my hubby settle. coz i ask him to stock in, he say dun wan. so once the bb is born. let him handle it lor.. coz i cnt go out n help him ma.. haha...(evil wife)

<font color="000000">Rach's Mum,</font>
hmm.. y izzit that u wanna let ur bb use drypers in day n mamypoko in nite? izzit that drypers will hve leakage if too long didn change?</font>

<font color="119911">me eating jap curry katsu rice now ;P later 12 noon must meet students
hai so have early lunch, actually my tummy was already grumbling hee..

littlebluey>>think the best compromise is to scout all the pumps first and decide on one and id a few places that sell it. but dun buy yet lor. then when u nid, u know exactly where to get. coz first month i think not so crucial coz we can always feed direct instead of use pump? but i will be using ameda dual electric pump

rebecca>> ya lor haha i sucker for sale items ;P</font>