(2008/10) Oct 2008

Curioxete:
Agree with forest that being slightly heavy it won't affect bb's health. More of whether can go for natural birth or not. Don't worry yet, maybe you happen to eat more during this month before your check up? Just watch ur diet from now.

Buffy:
Thanks for sharing more about hypnobirthing. I have emailed Ginny and waiting for her reply. I am interested in the book by Gina Ford you mentioned too.

Jolwk:
No lah, normally its the 1st time mums who have more things to buy, thats why I asked if you 1st time.

hi mummies, i'm a bit confused.. i c u all mention glucose test?
wats it abt huh? is it a 1 time off test?
n how the test goes?
cos everytime i visit my gynae i take this urine test which i was told to c my sugar levl in urine..
like that i still need gluscose test?
i also was told if take too much "bu" bb will grow very big so i also nv take too much bird nest..
btw any mummies interested to try yoga for mummies?
my hb refuse to go with me..
my fren say the yoga centre she having lessons got a 1 time trial at $32 for mummies.. thinking to try cos got ppl say ais delivery dunno how true

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning Mummies
!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
Yesterday, only went to Marina Square to get 2 pairs of Crocs shoes for my hubby's nieces for their birthday present nia. It was quite a boring weekend for me

Curioxete
One of my hubby's nieces was born at 3.885kg and his sil was able to do it thru natural birth somemore. So dun worry too much. Just watch out your diet from now onwards, should be ok. One of my friends' bb was also quite big and hence doc suggested her to induce on 37 weeks and bb also come out pink and healthy.</font>

Good Morning Mummies!

I have 2 sleepless night during the weekend...

Everafter, dun worry, after u give birth can shed weight.

<font color="aa00aa">Everafter
Dont worry so much! There's nothing much that we can do about our weight at this stage cos if we are hungry, we have to eat. We cannot starve the bb mah.

Purebliss
What happened? Your boy not sleeping well?

good morning all mummies!
hope we have a great week ahead at work &amp; at home...
do you all "sweat" alot?

curixete,
your bb very big lei... but so long healthy, no worries... did gynae say anything else?

forest,
ya, thank God no need to do the test lor...

mousebb, my hubby... trying to act "hero"... over weekend, watch movies until 2.30am to 3 am plus then sleep... Then during his sleep time, making his own personal orchestra... WAKES my boy and me up. Whole night cannot sleep.

Thanks for the encouragement..

mspiggy,
no, i hvnt heard of dr tsai, but i'll go check him out.. thanks..
my urine test has been ok so far, so my gynae didnt ask me to do a glucose test leh..sigh.

forest,
thks..ha..i guess i'm beginning to experience the start of motherhood...it's a path of WORRY..the gynae didnt mention it'll affect bb's health lah.. just tt bb's a little disproportionate to my size, so i may hv to go for c-sec..i was juz feeling paranoid n guilty wondering whether it's bad for him to be too big. =7

oh..it's an accumulation of events tt led me to decide to change gynaes..she was previously sarcastic when i raised a concern during 1 of my previous visits..i was q.shocked..anw..after talking to a doula, i realise i wldnt b comfortable with a doctor who doesnt like being questioned..n i shd find one who matches my ideal of a natural birth, n will be more supportive/respectful of my wishes..actually ur gynae was also recommended by the doula.
but tink i'll try dr lai out 1st, cos he's a gynae+nutritionist..

thanks jetude n mousebb..no more chocs n sweet stuff for me now.. =7

Jennifer, u mean bird's nest is v.bu??? i thot it's just 'zi run' n gd for bb's complexion..oops..i've been taking quite a bit of it..maybe i shd stop..

honestly curioxete - you want a larger baby than a small one
Gd that he is growing very well. Easier to handle when born! Pending on his size and your pelvic size, your gynae will be able to advise if c-sect or normal delivery will be best for both of you. Don't worry. For me, I worry my gal will be too small

morn mummies...

toking abt overweight bb..i m starting to get worried too!!

forest,

my hubby likes to b flattered..haha so i purposely bought it..

bbgoh,

i dunno leh..i ordered but haven transfer the money yey :p but 19 bucks ok..i oredered 1 pc onli..

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
I also kena disturbed by my hubby's snoring on the other day. And hor, my boy also snores when he sleep! Die lah... how am I going to have a peaceful sleep huh???</font>

Purebliss, i knw, i knw! hehe...sometimes my hubby snore then i will go press his nose when he's noisy! After awhile, he stopped automatic! :p

hi mommies. good morning! it's monday and yes i am feeling blue ... dun wanna work, especially if your bosses are crazy and unreasonable!

i see some of us had eventful weekends but i guess just like most of us, this weekend seemed really uneventful. i had been having heart burn for like 7 days already and i had yet to recover lor!

but i hope all you working mommies and mtbs have a nice day ahead!

Morning ladies...

Curioxete:
I would also suggest what some of the other girls are suggesting here too.

Also my that paper urine test has been OK but still, my gynae's practice is that everyone must do glucose test which is more accurate.

I did glucose test and though it was within the normal range but on the slightly higher end of normal. The clinic told me to track what I have been eating and to control my diet so that it does not cause any complications in the later months (can u imagine, normal range still must control) - less carbs (less white rice, more brown stuff so I have substituted white bread with brown for my brekkie), no empty sugar (meaning no soft drinks for me which I do not even take to begin with), no milo/horlicks, more selective about fruits (i think one of the mummies mentioned no pale coloured/yellow coloured fruits).

So, I am just thinking if the glucose test would be useful for you but in the meantime, you may like to also do what I am doing... and drink loads of water.

Yah, I also heard good reviews on Paul Tsai for doulas, but I know you prefer female gynaes? So, maybe u really need to ask around already.

Also, bigger babies do not necessary mean sure C section so on this end, ya, i understand what u mean about having a doc who is a bit more supportive towards natural birth. 'Cos FYI, one of my colleagues here, had a natural drug free birth for her child - all of 3.8kg. And I do know one of Ginny's client delivered a BB above 4kg and it was like mid 4 kg some more.

Forest/jetudes:
The book is called The New Contented Little Baby.

Forest:
It is a bit different from what we are being taught in the B/Fg class as the ladies there are feeding on demand. I read thru Gina Ford's thoughts and experience on this and found hers to sound quite logical and I personally have friends who went on this method and they were able to settle their BBs down into a routine where no night feeds were needed and the BB also sleeps the whole night thru just like Littlebluey's friend's experience.

So I think I am gonna finish up the book and give it a try to see if it works for me and my BB 'cos each BB is different lor...

How was the class on Sat.?

<font color="0000ff">Ohayo Mummies,

Curioxete,

As long as bb is growing well and healthily, shdn't be a cause for concern, most prob he's absorbing all the nutrients from you, the weight goes to him instead of you!
The most he will be a big baby...natural delivery is still an option unless your gynae think otherwise!..Maybe deviate slightly from your current diet then monitor and see how...

Forest,

I oso went to OG after going to pray at Waterloo Street, ended up only got a new pillow for myself muhahahahaa...

Everafter,

Sure???!!! Hmmm....dun worry too much lar, diet after the delivery!!

Lili,

I sweat like crazy -_-""

thanks ruffles.. that's what my MIL says too..he'll be easier to take care of when born..
(no idea why tho?) haha..yea..i was initially wondering whether my bb will b too small..n my hubby was like 'women r so hard to satisfy..not happy if he's too small, not happy if he's big..' haha.. =P

everafter, my hubby doesnt snore (yet) but my father does n i know my mother tried all sorts of ways to make him stop. 1 way tt was effective for my father was to push him when he snores, to sleep on his side (instead of lying on his back). u can try n see if it wks for ur hubby!

thks buffy!
yeah, i may try the glucose test aft i switch docs lah..tho i already don't take white bread nor soft drinks, n drink milo without sugar..(but i guess milo powder itself is pretty sweet). hv been eating a lot of fruits n indulging in desserts whenever i feel like it..cos i've only put on 10kg so far.. thot it's not that excessive.. was lulled into complacency by the urine test, i suppose. =7

haha..i've given up on trying to find a female gynae who's pro-b/feeding n pro doulas..the doulas i spoke with say it's rare..n my best bet is paul tseng or fm lai..
wah! mid 4kg!! eh.. okie..i'm going to try to speak with ginny when my hubby's bk 2 weeks later..will aim for natural birth la..

the book sounds interesting..will go buy it after i'm done with all my bb info reading..think there's so much to read n do still, n not a lot of time left..

<font color="0000ff">Curioxete,

We women are born "natural worriers" hahahaha... can't help but think think think all the time! *mao dun* hee ;p

Tht's why my DH said sometimes I very hard to please muhahahahaha ;p

<font color="aa00aa">Curioxete
I guess shldnt be a problem cos TMC is ver pro in b/feeding and they always encourage mummies to tbf their babies.
I dont mind the bb to stay with me during day time but would prefer my bb to go back to the nursery in the night time so that I can catch up some sleep while still in hospital. Am thinking to express out the milk (if have) and pass it to the nurse to feed for me during night time. Btw, only if you opt for 1 bedded then you can choose to do so if I remember correctly.</font>

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies

curioxete,
Forget to share.. dont worry too much abt bigger babies. I delivered my boy naturally with vacumn, he weighs 3.91kg.

Yes, lots of good reviews on Dr Tsai. You can go find out more. </font>

<font face="tahoma"> Hi everafter,
realised i dont have your contact no yet. do you mind PM your contact no to me so that easier to arrange for collection for your JJB and shawl?

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Will be bringing my own pump there since I already bought it. You can borrow from TMC but as usual, they will charge you rental later.

Littlebluey
Yes, for the first few days (usually the 2nd day after you delivered), the colostrum will come in. At this pt of time, we would need our bb to stimulate our nipples for us hence help to bring in the milk supply faster.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">re:colostrum
My fren told me colostrum is very good for treating jaundice. I din know it the last time and when to throw it away cos thought only can give milk to bb. Mummies, pls dont throw it away. Even if not for jaundice, heard colostrum is very nuritious for babies.</font>

Like what mousebb said, our breast milk will take some time to come but b4 that there is colostrum which is even better for bb.

Heard we should try to start to latch bb on within 45min after the delivery if we can, to stimulate faster milk supply.

Littlebluey:
I am not sure if Popular carries it but 'cos I am a border's preferred member, I got some discount. Additionally, they often have promotions where for e.g. Buy 2 books at 20% off and then 3 at 30%? That was when I got this book lor. Kekekekekekkekee...

Curioxete:
Yah, I am having the same 'problem' here 'cos I also have tons to read but too little time! Previously, I used to take the public transport so at least I can read on the bus, these days, I drive so no reading time except at night! :7

Yah, maybe a good idea to take the glucose test because really, I do not have a sweet tooth at all - dun take soft drinks, dun like carbs (have always been more pro on protein and fibre than carbs) and I dun even take desserts! (Choc gives me migraine!!!) But for the past 2 weeks, i was taking a bit of honey 'cos I was having a sore throat on and off so maybe tats why the reading was on normal-high. Anyhow, the clinic was just being nice lor, pre-empting me. I have since stopped my honey!... :p

Sianz, Monday Blues...

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

Thanks for the info !

Everafter,

For Manual Pump rental, heard it's FOC...but for the others they charge $30 a day tht's wat a fren of mine told me when she delivered recently

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Thxs! Will go check out Popular first, if really dun have then will hit the town, so lazy to go down Orchard hahahahaha ;p

You bought Medela PIS right? It's very easy to use. For a start, on the motor to a low speed and 1st phase will be stimulation and after that, will start the pumping process. You can then adjust the speed to you own comfort. The nurses there should know how to use it also.</font>

Btw, my hubby was the one who taught me how to use the pump cos I'm always lazy in reading the instruction.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Littlebluey
What? $30 a day! Wow, very exp leh!!! Then I must remember to bring mine liao.</font>

Good morning mummies!!
i'm feeling really upset and angry now with my boss... what a great start for my week!!! i'm really done with her... grrrrr!!!

jennifer,
for my gynae, i'll only be required to go thru the glucose test if i fail the urine strip test at every visit... so far, im ok.. (touchwood).. hehhe.. so, no need to do glucose test.. im having my next checkup this sat.. so hope i'll be ok too!

lili,
i sure sweat alot!! never in my life have i sweat sooo much ah!!

mousebb,
hehehe.. i was at Marina Sq on sat too.. errrmmm.. after OG.. hehehe.. and i got 3 sets of bb clothings too.. :p

Purebliss,
u r not alone.. my hubby's good in orchestra when he's sleeping too!!!

Lennie,
aiyo.. did u ask ur gynae abt ur heartburn?? take care ya!!

Buffy,
honestly, i thought the session last sat wasnt as interesting?? maybe its my personal view?? hahahah.. :p

thanks for the title of the book!! i'm keen to check it out too!!

Littlebluey,
hehehe.. me n my hub also went to pray at Waterloo St prior to heading to OG!! kekek..

curioxete,
oh, so dr. paul tseng is recommended by your doula ahhh.. hehe..

ya.. u can try out dr. lai and if all else fails, u can visit dr. paul tseng lor.. but i think u should meet them soon and evaluate which one suits u best.. since we are heading into the last trimester already..