(2008/10) Oct 2008

Vanilla,

Yes definitely, sometimes I feel bad that I am not contributing any income and still need DH to help with chores. But I guess the sacrifice in exchange for a bundle of joy will be worth it. I am looking forward to the baby's arrival then rethink what I would like to do career wise.

Vanilla Pod and Little Bluey,
Agree, as I have PCOS which attributes to infertility, I also seeked TCM treatments and fertility treatment. As I suffered a loss before, I just refuse to take chances this time around. It was not difficult to make the decision to quit to "yang tai" as nothing is more important at that point. Even though need to make adjustments to lifestyle I feel its worth the while.

Littlebluey,
Aiyo, what to do? All they can see is $$$$$$$, and yet we are not protected by the "rules and regulations". Think gov really need to do something, otherwise how to increase the child-birth rate in S'pore?
Ya, like what vanilla pod mentioned, my muscles probably went into spasm during HSG and cause the wrong diagnosis. But it may due to the incompetency of that doc. I was in pain when he performed the procedures on me, and i bleeded quite a lot after that! Guess what, I was requested to pay for the extra catherer used, wich cost abt $80+!!! So that hospital was black-listed by my hubby liao!

Vanilla,
Ei...we have 2 vanilla here ho...Yup, I got the temp job after approaching my ex-ex-boss, but meaning that i owe him a "ren qin" lo.

vanilla pod,
Hihi...i read about ur "story" in other thread, u are a brave mommy! And Elisha is a brave fighter too, am sure he will be all right, take care!
Ya...Glad that we finally made it after the roller-coaster journey! As compared to you, mine was not so jialat, but I fully understand ur pain. I also went thru a lap and a failed SO-IUI before conceiving naturally. Really think that govt shud do more to help TTC-ing couples and pregnant women, even the medisave scheme for fertility treatments!

JJmom,
Cant lay, coz like I mentioned above, they can easily use the "muscles spasm" as excuse to siam lo! Sigh..But anyway glad that my tubes are ok, otherwise may need to embark to IVF, thank god!

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Now just concentrated on welcoming the arrival of your bb, the rest wait till after delivery then decide

Phtanus,

I dun think the govt is doing enuf to help those couples, they only want us to pro-create but they never really examine deep into the issue..*sighs*

U din log a complaint? I think it's bad that you have to undergo distress after the procedure was administered...hmm..so unprofessional!

Lili_fc,
I have tried several of the baby gates to barricade my dogs when I have visitors. I have one from the brand "Lovely Baby" which I bought at Kiddy Palace, looks quite nice. The material is sort of like the Little Tykes material and is taller then the usual metal ones. But is only swings one way. Our other gate is from Toys R Us, although pricier it swings both ways and opens with a step and bump from the knee. Good when your hands are full carrying baby. Think the ones that most dept stores sell are Lucky Baby ones. I had one before but found it a little flimsy. My dog could open the gate if we forget to lock it.

<font color="0000ff">Some pple are just lucky to have no problems in conceiving but for some of us out there, it really took quite a while. It can be quite depressing when everyone ard you start to strike and you still have nothing on the report card!... haiz....

Tht's why some insensitive folks will never understand wat we are going thur

busy bee
o yes, i checked John Little and they said is Lucky baby brand.

i also keep a dog, just want to prevent my doggy go to bb room only. Toys R Us selling how much?

I also agree that the gov is not helping enough on the inferility medical cost here.
Many of my friends pay thousands &amp; thousands to go thru all the tests, treatments, med to TTC.
&amp; the stress &amp; pain they went thru, the worst part is some of them r still trying...sigh. Think emotional side they also need some professional help too.

Hi Phtanus - thanks! I am grateful that I have met alot of nice doctors in this entire journey..and my parents and MIL have been really supportive too. It is very sad that the govt only allows 3 medisaves for fertility treatment. (at a decreasing rate too) cos they claimed that one's chances will decrease after 3 tries. Well, I know of someone who does 11 IVF and now has a pair of twin boys!

I also had a very painful HSG - almost fainted 2X. Luckily got nurse to hold me to a chair to sit (with me dripping blood and dye)..not a nice sight!

That doc that does the HSG for u is really too much - still charge u for the "extra" dye whenn it is his/her fault for not doing it properly! HORRIBLE!

Busybee and Little Bluey - ya, after all the pain (mental, emotional and physical) -- nothing beats having a baby kicking inside us and one (or two) for us to hold in a couple of mths time. It is always diff for pple to understand what we have gone thru - the fears, the pain ...

the busy bee

Totally agree on that. Nothing is more important than our little bundle of joy.
Like u..i feel so gulity for making hubby slog so hard to earn the keep. B4 tat, me more 'xi guan' to earn my own $ and spend my own $, then now have to ask hubby for allowances and all. Still adapting...

Wau..quite lucky of u to get a part-time job. Tats reali nice of ur ex-boss.

Vanilla,

I get emotional sometimes feeling useless. But DH has been very reassuring.

Elchwong,
I am also curious about these 2 diaper brands,I signed on for a sample for Goon diapers. But not sure abt Nepia. Believe there are several Oct 08 mummies are supporters of this brand. Wonder if the Goon wipes are good, reviews too please. I love the penguin case it comes in plus its cheaper than pigeon wipes.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Think during tis period of time, it's very important to have our DH's support!!
Becos the course of pregnancy is never an easy one to start with.

halo mummies

anyone subscribe to the magazine mother and baby in Jul 08 issue? Quite good deal apparantly. $66 for 1 year of subscription then will get 3 packs of huggies diapers worth $50 in return. Jul's issue also have free gifts like a tote bag, and a teether, nail clipper or feeding spoon.

I signed up already.

the busy bee,
I'm thinking of ordering from Nepia (1 NB, 1 Small $14 each) and Goo.N (1 NB, 1 Small)...wonder if I should change the Nepia Small to Medium...

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

I signed up for the magazine during the Motherhood fair in Mar, but when I rec'd my July issue in the mailbox, it never come with any free gifts leh..

Littlebluey

supposed to have wor. U can call them at 64815286 to ask.

Its mother and baby magazine. Not motherhood magazne ok?

Elchwong,
Several friends highly recommend Mamypoko also,but I was warned by a friend that as baby was using pampers at hospital they might be resistant to change of brand. So I am still not sure whether to wait and see. Heard TMC gives 1 pack of Pampers for us to take home. As for Nepia, I thought minimum qty per order on their website is 4 packs?

Yeah, it was the Mother and Baby's magazine wor..but I din rec'd anything only the tote bag nia...hmm...

bbgoh

Dr Ang tried to do a 3D scan for me but bb not cooperative wor. U can try and ask him for the scan too. Its included in the package

i share the same sentiments as all of u... our govt really seems to be pretty out of whack on alot of matters.. and the voices of the people are always ignored...

Littlebluey,
i agree.. DH support during pregnancy is def v important.. !

Diane,
ur bb is of a good weight hor... hehehe.. my baby seems small.. only 600g, but gynae says is average.. so, should be ok..

the busy bee,
Yup for Nepia it's 4 packs minimum...I'm sharing with a friend thus it's 2 each...don't dare to commit too much of a same brand in case baby really gets sensitive...

I called and check with them alrd, they say due to limited stock only those sold at the News stand will rec'd the free gift! hmmm..

Elchwong,

Agree... think I might just pick up a pack at meidiya to try first.

Diaperbags...
Noticed that most mummies bought feminine looking bags. But I foresee DH carrying the bag too so I was thinking of getting something more gender neutral. Any recommendations?

Found one I quite like, saw it on Parents magazine (US publication) called The sidekick. It doubles as a diaper bag and baby carrier. Anyone heard of it. Reviews?

1524931.jpg

forest

ur bb also 24 weeks? My gynae did say bb is growing well but he warned me against eating too much carbo...heehee because i put on a lot of weight since the last visit 4 weeks ago...

Hi Busy Bee,

Just to check, can share where you signed on for the Goon samples? My bro and SIL are using it for my 6 months old nephew and he seems to like it so far and they have tried many different brands.

Littlebluey

hmmm...they shld give priority to subscribers mah...so stingy hor?...never mind lar, the teether, nail clipper and plastic spoon looks cheap anyway...haahaa..i just thot the 3 packs of diapers worth $50 quite worthwhile.

Is it necessary to get milk bags? If so, I really regret not getting any from Littlebluey's previous spree...

What brand should I get?

Thanks Diane for the lobang!

I just went for my detailed scan this morn - bb is doing well and weighs 465 g at wk 22. Doc said she is of avg weight. It seems my ger put on 200g in 2 wks! Yeah!! I was a bit worried abt her growth.

Ruffles

u r welcome.

ur gal's weight looks ok. My bb boy was abt 450g at week 21. So more or less around the same also

They mentioned something like it's btwn 2 different parties - Mediacorp &amp; the distributors etc...so due to limited gifts, only those bought at the newstand will get the free gift, abit double standard hor..but nvm lar...normally those free gifts cant be that good anyway as what u say :p hahaha..

But the Diaper gift for the subscription is worth it wor...the other time at the fair it's one oso one of the gift item when one subscribe to it

Littlebluey

I think they offer to those who bought at the newsstand so as to entice new subscribers bah. So all those who already subscribed are not so important to them anymore. Well i guess that the reality of it all.

oh my boy just did a somersault in my tummy. haahaa

diane,

i shall go petrol kisok see if i can grab any of the magazine..haven read this mag before..i enjoys reading motherhood mag..

littlebluey

ya mine too!! perpetually moving and kicking. Sometimes he kick so hard i will be startled. At night also. Then morning when my husband wakes up, he will wake up with the father and starts tumbling around...quite funny actually...heehee