(2008/10) Oct 2008

littlebluey,
I typed wrongly... I meant 800sgd.... 4000rmb.... kekeke.... and that is for the model 350.

nanny,
The quinny comes with infant carrier means no need to get the maxi cosi carseat? It cost so much more here.

<font color="0000ff">Pinkimum,

Wah then tht's expensive le wor!! oops they muz be thinking China got alot of rich pple who are willing to spurge on their Little Emperor and Empress

nanny,
I mean with the infant carrier, then the bb can use that with the stroller for the first 6months? And it can be use as car seat for the first 6 months?

littlebluey, vanilla,
Yeah. Everything here is expensive. So I need to stock up and buy my stuff before coming back here with the bb next time. Sweat.

pinkimum,
Yes the infrant carrier can be attached to the stroller and add as a infrant car seat. The stroller seat is detachable from the frame.

phtanus
Yeah! Capella family!!! Haha

forest
Thank kiddy palace sale should be till end June bah
I'll be getting a cot bed too, so that baby can use til about 4 years old - can convert to become a bed

everafter
I bought at Kiddy Palace Toa Payoh. Think $223. Bought with my bottles etc.

Mommies
Remember - if you go out alone with baby, you'll need a stroller that you can open and close with one hand. Easier that way. As for combi compared to capella, I feel that it's not really worth it to spend more for combi, though it's really lighter. I find the strollers narrower.

car seats

Mommies may want to consider getting a reversible car seat. I got one which can turn to face the back when baby is less than 9 months old, then turn to face front after that, until baby is 4 years old. The seats are fully reclinable too, so that baby can lie down when small vs. sit up when older. I think it's more worth it than getting an infant car seat and storing it in the storeroom after 4 months
just a suggestion

whitepaper,
can share which car seat you had bought? yours sounds good!!

hmmm... yeah.. maybe i'll get a cot bed too... will check out kiddy palace too!! tks!!

<font color="ff6000">pinkimum,

you're going to manage by yourself in China? how long is your hubby stationed there for?

my friend came back with her hubby once they realised she was preggers. not easy to manage without help overseas!</font>

forest

Can't remember the brand and model, definitely not one of the expensive ones! But of course still fulfill Singapore's safety standards. I got it at $296 at IMM Kids Mall. Got $220 voucher so in the end spent only $76! Mommies can try IMM Kids Mall. They have alot of reversible car seats. Combi also has reversible car seats. Think $799. Mothercare also has a good range, expensive though. I got a more affordable one so that I can change it anytime due to wear and tear etc.

wah $296 for a carseat must be quite tok kong...
I saw a capella one going for $134 but looks like quite an old model. and babies grow so fast... thinking of buying a bigger one...

dimpletot

My car seat can sit until about 4 years old leh! Tot quite worth it already. After 4 years old can sit booster seat already right?

mousebb,

Dun worry about ur son rashes. It will appear after kid having high fever. it will disappear within a wk. My pd did say it is something like "pai du". So dun worry. Did ur son feel it itch? My son last time will feel itch n pd did give him some 'special' lotion to apply.

My son also very stick to me. I also quite worry whether i can cope with 2. Like u, worry that I will neglected him.
i m also SAHM n the only one take care my son. Maybe we can share our experience/ encourage each other when 2nd is out.

Hi all mummy,
I m 2nd time mum and in my 19 wk. But I still not really get to feel baby movement, 3-4 days having 1 kick only. Is it ok? should I look for gynea? My appointment is 2 wks later and my gynea will be away next week. Am I worry too much? Thought 2nd time mummy can have the feeling quite fast leh... but i m not. can give me some advice?

forest,

if you do not want to spend alot on cot, you may consider buying 2nd hand cuz some of them may be in very good condition especially those wooden ones. Like mine, it's in almost mint condition thought have it for 2 years now.

My friend got it from salvation army for $25. she invested on a good mattress. Seen the cot, it's in very good condition.

for car seat, strollers, you may wish to check out at baby Hypermart at kaki bukit. they got really a good variety there and cost less than retail shops. bought my peg perego there for $500+. normal retail would be $700++

lili_fc

Regarding baby carrier, i tried many brands, combi ninna nanna, MIM, ergo. etc. ERgo is the best. Cost the most, but worth it. my dd loves it 300%. it's the only carrier that she really slept well in cuz baby is in sitting position, unlike other carrier that usually hangs on the crotch that is bad for the baby's spine.

I had been using it for more than 1 year until I got pregnant 2nd round. So I switch to MIM lately or hand-carry. Ergo used to be something I used everyday and can't leave home without it.

Good morning mommies

If you are looking for a sling, you can try this:

http://www.goo-ga.com/shop

According to my colleague who has tried it, it's very good. Many hollywood stars are using it too, and the material and shape is quite different from the usual sarong slings we see. But of course, the shipping cost from US is quite ex. I'm waiting for my colleague's order to arrive, then decide if I wanna get one. Aiming for the reversible pink polka dot one

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning Mummies
!
It's Friday!!!

Thanks, mummies! Had a good sleep last night! Everyone of us was like KO liao...

Karen
Thanks for sharing. His rashes seem to disappear quite a bit liao. The doctor at KKH gave him calamine lotion but so far I havent applied on him yet cos I dont think he feel itchy. I applied Johnsons &amp; Johnsons bb powder for him regularly to keep his body dry and cool. Yup yup...we shall encourage each other hor!

Re: car seat
We also bought our car seat from either bb kingdom or hypermart. As what Enya said, these 2 places have a good variety, various from cheap to exp types... Bought ours at around $340++ and can be used from 4mth - 4 years old. Think it is reversible also.

Stroller
Wow! Think a number of mummies here have chosen Capella stroller. My boy's one is orange colour cos we werent left with many choices that time, only left with green, red and orange. I supposed orange is a more neutral colour and chose orange lor!</font>

update here:
Will go take a look at the infant ctr after work &amp; likely confirm.

Tml go grap the ERGO Baby carrier....

$$$ go again.... /sigh haha

morning all mummies,

had gd bfast? hehe..i had mee goreng..yummy! was so hungry this morn!

this morn ard 5am, its my turn to hv leg cramps! it was terrible...i m struggling n massaging it on my own..HB busy snoring away n he's not feeling well too

rachel mum
yes, i heard will experience but nearer to due... my colleague experience that 2 weeks ago... she's likely due in 1/ 2 weeks time..

<font color="ff0000">lili_fc</font>, ya. i had tat during my 1st pregnancy when nearer to due date.

but i dun know Y this time is so much earlier.

then juz now happened to talk to a friend. she said she encountered the same problem as me too. having contractions at 2nd trimester.

she said is normal.

think i will observe the frequency then if get worst. will go &amp; see gynae.

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Mum
Hmm... I din know the contraction can start so early. Learn something again!
You must be careful hor. I heard of some gynaes will give some medicine to stop contraction if it starts too early.
I dont know how is contraction like cos never gone thru before...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I keep having heartburn wor... this feeling is like never go away leh. Maybe i should check with gynae when i go for checkup tomorrow.

Anybody's fingers feeling numb already? I started feeling it already.

rachel mum,
yes, i heard is normal.

And, if you are applying stretch mark cream, make sure you don't really "massage" your tummy since you experiencing contraction now... try to "tap" the cream on your tummy.

I heard from my colleague that is what her gynae told her as "massage" will activate/ encourage bb to come out .... hahha

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies

rachel's mommmy,
you feeling contraction now? better monitor closely and inform your gynae during next visit.

my colleague used to experience contraction in 2nd trim for her 2 sons and they are pre-matured borned at 32 weeks coz cant wait any longer... the contractions getting too strong.

mousebb,
take more soupy and less oily things and in the evenings dont lay down or sleep immediately after food. it's terrible feeling for heartburn. cool ice cream works for me ease that aweful feeling.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">TraCe</font>, ya, i oso worry.

<font color="ff0000">mousebb</font>, the pain is like come &amp; go. today the pain lasted me abt 2 hrs. now still in pain.

i had heartburn during my 1st pregnancy. not this pregnancy. like wat alot of ppl says... every pregnancy is different. for my case, 2 pregnancy totally different.

<font color="aa00aa">Ms piggy
My heartburn started with the japanese cup noodles which I took on wed night and somemore that day I slept very very late. Till now, the terrible feeling is still there. I dont know if softdrink has made it worse cos I keep drinking softdrink, trying to get rid of that terrible feeling. Hmm...this will give me a good excuse to have ben &amp; jerry ice-cream tonight!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Morning Ladies,

Icylemon,

Can I check with your how does contractions feels like, realised that I've been having tummyaches these few nights very uncomfy and ytd nite back was so achy
boo hoo hoo..head still feels heavy tdy muz be insufficient zz as I keep waking up to pee last nite...

Mousebb,

Glad to know that your boy is doing better

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Mum
Since the pain has lasted you for about 2 hours liao, suggest you give your gynae a call and see what he/she can advise you.</font>

rachel mum
perhaps you monitor &amp; if really bad, go hurry see gynae liao

i also do "massage" my tummy when i applied cream...

<font color="ff0000">mspiggy</font>, ya. i oso worried. haiz...

<font color="0000ff">lili_fc</font>, hmm... i have no idea abt stretch mark cream will activate early birth. but i know arousing too much of our nipples will cause early birth too.

i remembered ard 32 weeks. if we press our nipples, something glue glue de will flow out. i tot was fun. keep doing it. hahaha.... dun laugh at me hor.

then after tat, i will have contractions pretty often. if u attend antenatal class, mrs wong BB will ask you dun do tat so often. kekeke... once a while only.

<font color="aa00aa">Littlebluey
Thanks! How are you feeling today? Already back to work?

Trace
Will ask my gynae tomorrow when I go for checkup. Feel paiseh to sms him over this small matter. When I was expecting my boy, I also had heartburn problems frequently. I guess it depend on the food I eat and my bb's mood also. There were a few occasions when I had buffet dinner with friends and after that go home to sleep and feel ok. My hubby said bcos my girl doesnt like japanese cup noodles and is protesting! hahaha!</font>

<font face="tahoma"> mousebb,
try ice cream.. works for me. gassy drinks might make it worst.

littlebluey,
you also not feeling well. take care... rest more. *hugs*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Littlebluey
Opps...din see your earlier post. Still having headache, go see doctor again. I guess it is bcos you have insufficient sleep. Take care!</font>