(2008/10) Oct 2008

trace, littlebluey, nickypower,
Thanks. Will rest more these 2 days. Saturday will be flying off for a short trip.
Btw, I am not tall lah. Just that I started out abit underweight .

Anyone looking at the combi miracle turn?

Littlebluey,
i saw ur email.. tks! will do it tonite and reply u..

lili,
hehe.. the first time i had cramps, i also tot of not disturbing hubby, but after i told him the next day, he said i should just wake him lah... hahaha.. but i think its faster if hubby helps to massage when we get cramps... we feel better too!! heheheh..

dimpletot, phtanus, whitepaper, littlebluey,
so kiddy palace sales ends this weekend? wonder if motherhood will have better deals for strollers?? or should i just buy it at JL? I've already eyed the Capella one, with four wheel drive, reversible handle, foldable in 2 only... but i didnt take note of the model no... hahahah... :p :p

pinkimum,
good to know that all is well! wow, u did 3d scan.. did u have to pay extra for it?? hehehe.. how nice!

vanilla,
the BPA free plastic bottles are:
- Pigeon (only the yellow tinted bottles) which are available at the Jap dept stores...
- Bfree brands
- Medela bottles

these are the ones i know...

<font color="0000ff">Pinkimum,

Combi is well known for its lightness, definitely very easy to lug ard and wif its egg shaped cushion something like that..but we personally find that not very stable and it's pretty squeezy so ended up dn opt for it
but u definitely can take a look, quite a cool colour collection they hv got!

TraCe,
i forgot to comment abt ur hubby's co. too!! so good leh... pay for your delivery!! how i wish my co. is soooo pro-employee!!! dont even have nursing room ahhh.... wahahahaha

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Dun think motherhood will have a great deal as the stores..heard from some who went previously said there's nothing fantastic hmmm...so am thinking if it's worth the trip there?? I agree wth you it's faster when DH helps to massage when the cramps come

Anyone going to the fair on the first day??

One more BPA brand to add:

Dr Brown</font>

Forest,
Think OG also have some good deal for capella and combi strollers, their S228 is selling at $200 after discount, while stock last. But I dun think I saw the S226 there. U may want to consider pay them a visit, if OG is near ur place.

a colleague was telling me that it may not b necessary to get strollers so early.. n that a baby sling for the first 3 mths is sufficient..

she suggested buying one after baby's born so we can put him in n test whether it's wide enough for him.. ha.. guess that gives me more time to look ard for the models. i like combi too, but will keep more of a lookout for capella since so many recommend it

n wah..pinkimum..i'm envious..only 2kg?? i've put on 6kg since i last weighed a week ago! =S even my wedding ring's starting to feel a bit tight. now getting a little scared n trying not to snack too much.

forest,

yes..i m so envy too! being his spouse i m entitled 1.2k medical claim too..next time our bb oso same..good hor..

nickypower,
Actually still not cfm mickey... today bb's position couldn't see anything and I was having tummyache and more concerned that bb is okie. So after that then I realised I forgot to ask about the bb's weight. Keke...

forest,
I did not pay extra for the 3d scan. Didn't even know that it gona be the 3d scan since we didn't request for it. Actually it looks like its the same machine, just that the thingie that go around my tummy is different. But if we get the cd, then got to pay extra for that. Then I asked about the 4d scan, the sonographer said the 3d scan is clearer.

littlebluey,
I am certainly looking for a light stroller so that I can handle it myself. But just don't know stable or not...

nanny,
My hubby likes quinny too. But I thought it might be too difficult for me to handle when I go out alone.

Hi littlebluey

Hope you are feeling much better. Take this chance and rest more at home.
Me also jus woke from my nap.
Btw, me jus called paarent craft this morning and managed to changed my class to a wkend class instead. Service is so much better today.

Hi mummies, i was reading the discussion abt strollers. I'm considering the Combi miracle turn. Any feedback? I din do much research on strollers, too much variety, din noe wat to choose.

trace,
Yeap thanks, did tell the gynea that I will be flying around. She gave the go ahead

curioxete,
Nothing to be envious lah. I only started putting on weight in the 2nd trimester. So I think I should balloon soon.
I also have a few friends who suggested buying the stroller after the bb is born. So will have a better idea what to get. Think I will check out capella when back in Spore.

hi everafter

mine was the same. i used to put a long towel beside bed. whenever, I got the cramps at dawn, juz put it on the sole and put the toes back.. (if you can get up to start), i used UNABLE TO get up when i got cramps. Found swimming helps.

There is also another exercise you can do, you stand straight, put 1 leg forth, bend it, then push your body forward until you feel the calf muscle of the other leg being stretched. can do it against the wall. It really helps 100%. I used to do it everyday.

Enya, the stretching exercise that u mention is exactly the same that my hubby showd me yesterday! But hor, my back is aching badly and i dun feel like moving lor :p so i jus lie on bed and my hubby stretch my legs for me :p

For those who used or bought NUK btls, is there a different size for diff fluid? Like milk and water? I bought all size 1 leh

Tracy

i believe IRON pills are the culprit to body heatiness...constipation etc. Good to take calcium pills because baby really needs it for bones development. otherwise, your baby will absorb from your body and mummies will risk of oestoporisis (dunno if correct spelling)..when older.

Littlebluey,
huh... so, might not be worth visiting motherhood huh?? hmmmm....

Phtanus,
really? OG has good deals too? then i'll visit too.. think this weekend is 1 of the weekends with sales too right? cant rem with which credit card le... *confused*!!

TraCe,
WOW... ENVY X 10!!! i also wanna know your hubby's company leh... can tell me? honestly, i wanna change my job after i deliver.. cos my co. really not pro family... so, mummies... if u have recommendations for next year... do let me know!! wahahaha...... wow, im super kiasu and kiasi!! kakakaka...

pinkimum,
i see... but its good to see 3d scan!! and u r right, we must get a stroller thats light enough for us to handle when we are on our own...

lili,
my baby seems more active after lunch also.. been feeling some movements too!! ekekeke...

yup yup..good hubby...i learnt those from antenatal class..cuz was suffering for bad sciatica that time (no.1), couldn't do much exercise.

Ask your hub to massage your calf muscles, and your foot/sole/toes..whenever you got cramps. my hub used to do it for me.

Hi Trace,
Have been considering whether to take on 1 bedder as well since my DH's co. covers up to 2.5k on the delivery. I am looking to have an elective c-sect and am worried the final bill will be sky high in event of complications... But the privacy is definitely nice. Any idea what is the average bill like for 1 bedder at tmc?

Any advice?

Strollers....
Came across this stroller which seems impressive on ebay. Any one know about this brand, Just Junior? Planning to go down to showroom to try it out.
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=140234070968

oh yes, are all of you getting a baby cot too?? some ppl tell me its a waste... but i find that bb will be so pitiful if there's no baby cot for them to sleep in?? hahaha

Hi Nanny..

Don't really think newborns need playpen, cuz the only thing they do is lie on their back or on their tummy. However, they do need one when they start to flip their body over (around 4 months)

A baby cot will usually do the job for newborns.
or if you want to save money, they got those 2 in one..playpen (NOT WOOD one)/ bed for babies.

nanny

my SIL also passed me a Quinny Buzz. She said can use from infant onwards leh. But the stroller looks big! Heard that its quite expensive.

Littlebluey, Pinkimum, glad tat u both r feeling better liao.

vanilla pod, I would advise u to skip BFree milk bottle coz of the need to clean the tube in the center of the bottle. Not easy to keep it clean esp when u r doing confinement.

Enya,

my poo today very smooth..cos i drank apple juice aft my lunch..heheheh

busy bee,

y dun u wait till the admission letter comes 1st? or u might wanna ask the hospital. I m gog for Mt A. They gave me the letter indicating hw much is the doc fees for the delivery, medisave can deduct how much n oso brochures on the room rates..since got 2.5k its good! make full use, mayb u juz hv to top up a little..

forest,

wads yr preference of job?

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Am feeling better after the nap thanks

Pinkimum,

Quinny not bad but quite bulk and heavy as well!

Forest,

Tht's y am wondering if anyone is going on the 1st day then can update us?

I think currently for OG, they have discounts if u hold the StanChart c/c previously was Amex..</font>

Nanny

Btw, i am also thinking of getting a playpen. I saw that kiddy palace has offer. Cant remember the model but its on offer now at $109 excluding mattress. Its drak blue in color with 2 adjustable heights. Not too bad. You can go and take a look.

hi forest..i bought a wooden cot for my gal..she only slept there for 1 month.. then moved her to sleep beside me, cuz was breastfeeding and i had c-section. very tiring to get up and carry her to the bed/chair every 1.5-2 hours to bf. Sometimes, I was so sound asleep that I couldn't hear her cry in the cot. so better that she sleep beside me.

I actually removed 1 side of the panel and use it as a day bed/ nursery decoration. put her bears toys there for display. Sometimes she will still go there and lie down looking at the musical hanging toys like when she was a baby.

afternoon all...

been busy this few days. manage to get some time out to post.

how's everyone?

<font color="0000ff">littlebluey</font>, glad to know tat u r feeling better.

Thanks Trace,

Just wondering normally when does gynae discuss about which hospital/ type of room? When do we get the admission letter. Pardon my ignorance, just see a lot of discussion on this but I am still clueless.

Seems like capella strollers quite gd and popular. I was looking around and saw the Combi miracle stroller at kiddy palace. The price seems to a bit steep compared to capella. Any feedbacks on Combi?

busy bee,

i m not too sure..for my case, the nurse auto book the delivery suite for me..u might wanna check with the nurse?

Enya,

yup, i do drink prune juice..but i hate honeydrew..haha so i dun dare to drink honeydew juice

the busy bee,
wow.. another lucky one! hehe..

TraCe,
preference? just something that suits my background? im in IT, but doing regional training and support, and also doing process audit, project management, etc.. hehehe... def need lobangs after delivery.. kakak.

Littlebluey,
thats true... if any mummies going to motherhood on the first day, pls post updates here!! tks!

Enya,
hmm.. so ur girl only slept in the cot for a month... sigh, dunno if i should buy yet... still thinking.... hmm..

Vanilla,
actually for Combi, i have the same comments which was posted by Littlebluey... we also find it not as sturdy.. and the wheels are smaller... it is definitely lightweight though.. so, u have to go and shop around to see what catches ur eyes...

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Combi is lightweight and definitely easy to bring abt, moreover they hv their egg like cushion think to cushion shocks or something like that. But the downside is becos it's quite light, it's not very stable which something I personally dun feel secure. I tested the stroller and find that even thou it's light but I dun feel any security in it *hee*

To add on, I think the stroller is abit small and narrower (wat happen if your bb grows bigger or maybe they are on the heavy side)the space will become quite squeezy, so unless u are opting for some models which are wider and more spacious

vanilla,
We were also looking at Combbi miracle? How much is it at kiddy palace? It costs 400sgd here in china. So expensive.

nanny,
How much did you pay for the Quinny?

Littlebluey,
Think the quinny looks nice and more stable. But I don't think I can handle it when I go out alone. Since I gona be SAHMTB, think I will be out with the bb alone more often. Hehe.

Btw, do your gyneas measure your tummy huh? Today is the first time I got measured leh.

Hi littlebluey

Ya i like Combi cos its lightweight, and also cos its reversible, similar to Capella. But the price of Combi seems steep. Am actually making a comparison between this two brands. Also, i wanted lightweight, easier on my back, since i got back probs.

if you really want one that is sturdy..and good, the good brands will be maclaren, peg perego etc. can go to hypermart etc to see. they got more range of strollers there. and relatively lower prices.

For my case, i prefer lighter stroller as my baby gets bigger and heavier. difficult to bring up the bus and curbs..with shopping bags etc

DO get one that is easy to fold. My combi can be folded with 1 hand easily.

Diane,

Wow.. so generous of your SIL.. ya it's quite ex as compared to other stroller. Hubby likes it a lot. Also it's our first baby. Tend to spend more.

<font color="0000ff">Pinkimum,

I think it's cheaper in China for the Combi Miracle becos so far the cheapest I see is $500+ or more than $400 definitely!</font>

Hi pinkmum

There are two models for Combi miracle turn - 350 &amp; 450. The model 350 cost around $400 +, while the 450 cost around $600 plus. I din see much of a difference except an additional cushion for support + the egg cushion for the model 450.

Enya,
Ya looking for those that has 2 layers, top layer more for infant.

pinkimum,
Bought mine at harbour front Mothercare for $798. Comes with a infant carrier.

Diane,
Ya saw that at kiddy palace too. I was at SengKang outlet, they have a few on offer now. one even come with mattress and cost $109