(2008/10) Oct 2008

Littlebluey,

I will get 8 boxes then. How to transfer payment to you? Let me know the details ya.

Welcome Nickypower

For my #1, my button belly never pop out at all. For this #2, it is a bit pop out already.
So I think it depends pa.

<font color="0000ff">Blue Egg Milk Bag Orders:

Jasmine Tea - 8 boxes

Any more interested mummies, pls fill up your nick and no of boxes

Jasminetea- Ic ic... cos was thinking whether sure will pop up one anot!! ;p Cos tat time my hubby was asking me on this oso! ;)

Btw just curious, for the milk bags rite, if stored in the freezer comp, won't it get frozen and when we wanna use it, have to wait for it to de-freeze to become watery again b4 pouring into the bottles and heating up for the baby to drink?
Just feeling confused on this?? Any enlightenment?? ;D

TraCe- Heee same sentiments oso lor... Though I think milk bags are cheaper alt to getting more bottles for storage purposes and oso to save space in the fridge! ;p

<font color="0000ff">Trace/Nickypower,

You will need to thaw the frozen milk and place in it hot water, heat it up before pouring to the bottle for the bb to drink.</font>

ok thanks!

another ques, when do u gers think its adviseable for bb to drink breast milk? Drink for 3 mths enuff? or more?

Littlebluey,

Oic, so meaning tat once taken out from the freezer, put the milk bag in a bowl of hot water to thaw and heat up, b4 becoming watery form for us to pour into the bottle yah? Aft pouring into the bottle, still need to warm it up?? ;p

Trace,

Heard from some articles, think best is to breastfeed as long as u can, if not best for at least 6 mths bah... ;)

Just saw newspaper article that say Breastfeed babies are more intelligient!! ;D

<font color="0000ff">Nickypower,

Once the milk is heated/warm, there's no need to further heat it up after pouring into the bottle.

The best is to breast feed for a min of 6 mths

Nickypoweder,

yup, i heard abt it..but i hv a cousin who breastfeed her bb for a yr! OMG! the milk bcomes so diluted and fishy smell....some said bcos mum starts working n hv been eating outside food more often so the milk is not as healthy as before..not sure hw true is it

Littlebluey,

Ic ok ok thxs!! Much clearer now! ;) So how many milk bags one will used will oso depend on the mummy's mlik supply rite... Hmmm like tat oso hard to determine how many bags to buy... ;p

Trace,

Huh really ah...!! Become diluted and fishy!! Bit gross though to hear tat!! ;p Think it have to depend on the food tat mummy consumes..If one is determined to breatfeed, really have to watch her diet continously lor.. ;)

<font color="0000ff">Jollyhoppy,

The lady u mentioned is amazing!!

Yeah I agree, how much bags use will depend on the mummy's supply!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Safely Preparing And Storing Expressed Breast Milk

Be sure to wash your hands before expressing or handling breast milk.

When collecting milk, be sure to store it in clean containers, such as screw cap bottles, hard plastic cups with tight caps, or heavy-duty bags that fit directly into nursery bottles.

Avoid using ordinary plastic storage bags or formula bottle bags, as these could easily leak or spill.

If delivering breast milk to a child care provider, clearly label the container with the child’s name and date.

Clearly label the milk with the date it was expressed to facilitate using the oldest milk first.

Do not add fresh milk to already frozen milk within a storage container. It is best not to mix the two.

Do not save milk from a used bottle for use at another feeding.

Safely Thawing Breast Milk

As time permits, thaw frozen breast milk by transferring it to the refrigerator for thawing or by swirling it in a bowl of warm water.

Avoid using a microwave oven to thaw or heat bottles of breast milk

Microwave ovens do not heat liquids evenly.

Uneven heating could easily scald a baby or damage the milk

Bottles may explode if left in the microwave too long.

Excess heat can destroy the nutrient quality of the expressed milk.

Do not re-freeze breast milk once it has been thawed.</font>

Hi mummies-to-be,

All frozen milk will have the fishy smell no matter what food the mummy eats.

From the web: 3wt2%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/newborn/nbreastfeed/0,,3wt2,00.html
<font color="0000ff">Sometimes breastmilk does change in smell and taste after being frozen, seeming to smell sour, soapy or rancid. If care has been taken to properly collect and store your milk, it does not mean your milk is spoiled. The rancid taste and smell can be due to the breakdown of fats. The soapy smell may be the result of the freeze-defrost cycle in self-defrosting freezers. Scalding freshly expressed milk, without bringing it to a boil, then cooling it rapidly and freezing, stops the process of fat digestion. Though scalding the milk will not improve the smell or taste, it may be more readily accepted by your baby</font>

Hi mummies-to-be,

During my previous pregnancy, I will take the required amt of milk needed out from the freezer 1 night b4 and put them in the fridge. By the next morning, the milk should be lesser icier and easily to heat up.

jollyhoppy,
Wah 2 yrs w/o using any pumps!! Really must salute her!!! =) If I can BF for 6 mths I happy liao!! ;p

Littlebluey,
Thxs for the info!! =) It's helpful!!

everafter,
Think can't put the milk bag in the stove to heat bah..cos the milk bag is made of plastic so not too advisable... Think those aft boiled or hot water shld be sufficient enuff..?

blur,
Hmmmm breastfeeding is really not easy, many things to take note.. ;p
But usually mummies will just stored freshly expressed breastmilk into bottles/milk bags b4 putting into the fridge rite...?
If more than 4 hrs, have to put in the freezer compt rite, otherwise can just out in the normal section of the fridge?

<font color="0000ff">Nickypower,

Tis thread is to share info with one another

Jollyhoppy,

Hope to close order by tis wkend, maybe by Fri??

My fren juz sms me and tell me that she use abt 2-3 bags a day, she juz gave birth 3 wks back so now accumulative abt 40++ bags le

Hi all, this is my first post in the forum! I'm a FTM, expecting a baby boy, and just passed my 20 weeks mark..

Littlebluey, pls add me to your list of orders for the blue egg milk bag. I would like 8 boxes too, pls. THanks!

<font face="tahoma"> nickypower,
expressed breastmilk can be keep at fridge level for up to 8 days.

we shd not boil breastmilk else excess heat can destroy the nutrient quality of the expressed milk.</font>

<font face="tahoma"> littlebluey,
your frd is really power! am so envious! wish i have that much supply this time round

<font color="0000ff">Blue Egg Milk Bag Orders:

Jasmine Tea - 8 boxes
Eunice - 8 boxes

Any more interested mummies, pls fill up your nick and no of boxes as well as your email addy so that I can compile the orders and send you an email regarding the mode of payment </font>

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

I think it's willpower leh, she told me she latch and express every day so that got alot of milk hahahaha

Littlebluey,

I m still thinking if i shld buy or not? wait i din use..my HB gog to scold mi for wasting money again

my baby doesnt latch at all and i have to expressed every 3 hours. there's supply but never so much during the 1st mth!

hello mummies,I'm new to this thread. was not successful at BF for first child. Pls share tips. How does CL help if we insist on BF for first month? Thanks!!

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

My fren told me she latch and express that's why got so much milk, think diet oso play an impt part, heard alot of soups + fluids will increase milk supply wor

Hi featherG,

Welcome....Yup agree tat confinement lady role in breastfeeding is oso one of my main concern.. ;) Especially during night/sleeping time etc..
Heard tat some CL not very pro-breastfeeding one... So I hope mine is very encouraging into breastfeeding.. ;)

yes, baby is the best pump! if can latch will be BEST!

yes also, diet plays a very impt part. yap... i had lots of soups (green papaya + fish soup) during confinement ;)

Hi featherG,
ask CL to prepare more green papaya + fish soup for you

you can expressed milk, and ask CL to warm up for nightfeeds if you're not sleeping with baby. </font>

Wow, the thread really moving fast!

mspiggy, elchwong, everafte, bbgoh &amp; dimpletot,
I start have that ard 12weeks! But mine is a dark line with hair lay (although not very dark, but still visible)! Wonder when it will go away?!

Littlebluey,
I am thinking to get some milk bag from you after reading mommies' message here. But will it be too early to get now? How can we decide how much we need? Sorry ho...I am an inexperienced MTB, hee...

<font color="0000ff">FeatherG,

Your CL shd know where to get it and wat kind of fish to cook with the green papaya

Regarding the linear thing, I dun hv it yet wor ;p

Phtanus,

I'm juz getting a couple of boxes to standby like wat Jasminetea and Eunice have order